• USD ($)
  • English
Porto sprawls along the Douro River, where multi-colored houses adorned with lacy wrought-iron balconies line the promenade. At its heart lies charismatic Ribeira, a tangle of streets buzzing with life and crammed with castles, churches, bars and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a truly memorable day trip - and as seasoned travelers, we have been on many, so we know how they tend to be. Our guide, Maria, picked us up at the hotel promptly at 8 and we were off to an amazing place with all the insider information one could hope for! Maria was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions thoughtfully and with a love for her city and her country that made us love it there, too! It truly felt like we were spending the day having a conversation with a friend instead of going around with a tour guide. Everything we needed to know to take in the sights and experiences that were important to us was covered by Maria's expertise - she even guided us through one of her favorite fortresses in the area, making time for some quick shopping for Portugal's wonderful textiles - and she graciously also served as our interpreter and negotiator! We could not have had a better experience - and most certainly could not have such an authentic experience trying to do this on our own in just a day's time! Highest recommendations to Maria and her company!!

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Tour is very good. There were just three of us and the driver/tour guide was wonderful. She made a couple of stop to show us some historical sites and gave us a comprehensive history of the area. We just missed the swinging of the incense burner at the Santiago Cathedral, which is unfortunate. I think the time spent in each location was sufficient to get a lay of the land and then to go back on your own. Would highly recommend the as a great day trip.

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a nice day trip from Porto to see some interesting areas close by. Our guide, Claudia, was amazing and I am sure she is not paid as much as she should be. Her facility with languages was amazing and the way she included everyone in her explanations, even alternating the order she gave them in, was appreciated. Lunch was the best tour lunch we had and I think Living Tours is a well run group. These two sites have much historical significance and interest and are well worth visiting.

Doing what: Guimarães and Braga Day Trip from Porto

Jennifer G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Even in Winter this tour was amazing. There were only 6 of us and I was told the maximum is 8 people so it's a personalised tour and you don't feel like sheep. We stopped in Amarante and enjoyed some Portuguese cakes, a church and a market. We also stopped at the Nossa Senhora dos Remedios church which was beautiful, make sure you climb up or down all the steps - beautiful surrounding forest!! There were 2 wine tasting stops which were great and a very filling and delicious lunch in Paseo de Regua. We also had a couple of viewing stops to take lovely photos! Our guide was very knowledgable and so friendly!! She answered any questions we had. Overall, the tour was a fun, relaxing day trip which was extremely good value. My boyfriend and I are only 19 and 20, but the other people on the tour were in their 60s and all travellers involved (no matter what their age!) had a ball!

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Traveled December 15th. This day trip was long but it was worth every minute. Our guide Maria was very knowledgeable and friendly. Enjoyed learning the history of Santiago de Campostela. Stopped on the way back to Valença and Viana do Castelo. Great smaller towns to visit. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Santiago de Compostela and Viana do Castelo Day Trip from Porto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

excellent day trip. Tour guide was knowledgable and trip was exactly the right length of time.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We had an excellent one-day trip in Douro Valley at the end of May. The guide Paula did a terrific job. Strongly recommend!

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This was one of the best day trips I've ever experienced. The guide, Marta, was very knowledgable and personable. She went out of her way to make the day relaxing and full of small, pleasant surprises, like stopping at a roadside stand for a snack of fresh figs. The lunch restaurant was excellent and the length of the tour was just right enought to feel like I got to see everything without being so long that I lost interest.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Good Day Trip but would have liked less time wine tasting and more stops for photos andto admire the scenery along the way there.
The lunch provided was good and it is a beautiful region to visit.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Great guides who went over and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our day trip. Venues were beautiful and the food was great.

Doing what: Day Trip to Douro

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message