Alcobaça is a pleasant town with a jumble of medieval and modern architecture and a largely pedestrianized center, but its main attraction is undoubtedly Portugal’s first monastery, founded here by the country’s first king, Alfonso Henriques, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

thomas h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very pleased with this tour. Tour guide knew his material, answered all our questions, and made the trip stress free. We learned about the foods, the people, and the spirit of Lisbon Yes, and the places we went to see. The difference is in such a short period he brought his city to life and gave us the best of it. Have traveled a great deal would recommend this guide doing this tour.

Doing what: 6-Day North Portugal Tour: Porto, Braga, Fátima, Coimbra, Guimaraes, Aveiro and Batalha, from Lisbon

hanna s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

it was relaxing and informative, We saw a lot with the stress of waking up at six or sept oclock,

Doing what: 6-Day North Portugal Tour: Porto, Braga, Fátima, Coimbra, Guimaraes, Aveiro and Batalha, from Lisbon

Kathleen S N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved our Fatima tour. We found the driver and tour guide both to be friendly and well-informed. All of our stops were places we had wanted to visit. Our guide was one of the best we've ever had. Thank You!

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

JAM A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our trip was fantastic. Our guide Tiago was excellent, . His English was extremely good and it made our understanding of our tour knowledgeable. We were a family of 8 so we had the tour for ourselves. enjoyed very much.

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

Rhonda P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Knowledgeable and attentive guide. Great tour about 10 hours long. Try and find a less touristy lunch spot, as it is your choice, and maybe that would speed things along. Monastaries were amazing, as well as the beach in Nazare. Top notch!

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

rrosenblith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Outstanding! Pedro, our guide was excellent. We saw everything in the itinerary in a very relax, unhurried way. Our driver was very good and courteous. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

PATRICIA T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

The four of us enjoyed a wonderful day in the Portuguese countryside. We were picked up on time by a very knowledgeable and personable guide. Our first stop was Fatima. We spent a couple of hours here and then proceeded to a world heritage site where we saw the tomb of Prince Henry the Navigator. For lunch we stopped at the lovely seaside village of Nazare. From here we toured a medieval walled city . We all agreed that this day was the highlight of our trip to Portugal.This is the only way to see these sights especially if you have a group of four or more not only is it economical but you get to see so much more of Portugal..

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

Frank H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The van was on time when he picked us up at our hotel. One of the pluses of this tour was our guide, not only was he knowledgeable but also very friendly and spoke perfect English. Because this was a private tour he offer us the flexibility of pretty much customizing the tour by determining the length of time we wanted to spend at each place visited. We had a fantastic lunch in Nazare right on the beach. A fantastic private tour.

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

Evelyn P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our tour was fabulous. Our driver was personable, spoke good English, was a good driver, and timed all our stops well.

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

Lesley H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

It didn't help that our bus broke down at our first stop and we had to wait for a couple of hours for another bus to arrive. That meant we arrived in Lisbon very late which made it a very long day and we missed out on that nights entertainment. The rest of the tour was fine with the guide and bus driver being very good.

Doing what: 4-Night Portugal Tour from Madrid Including Lisbon and Fátima

Emmanuel F

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We had an excellent tour guide Ismael and driver Cata both were very friendly and helpful. We did not get great directions for picking up the tour 'Bus station at Plaza Orient', but this was our second tour with a local tour company, so we knew where to go. The first day was quite boring apart from a single interesting stop in Trujillo the other stops were 'toilet stops' and included lunch at 'petrol stations' along the highway. I understand why the tour has to do this it is a long drive from Madrid to Lisbon, but I would have stayed longer in Trujillo to include lunch, and ditch the cafeteria food stop. We also did not get our initially requested 'double bed' at the hotels despite the tour guide having this 'paperwork', and the Hotel Lutécia front desk staff were dismissive apparently, 'double' means two people, not a double bed. Breakfast was moderate fare, and dinners were not included, although given the bland fare provided on the other tour hotel food for US tourists?, this was a mixed blessing, permitting us to sample local more delicious fare. Days 2 and 3 were much better, with a good morning city tour of Lisbon and then free time day 2, and then a full day of site visits on day 3 Óbidos, Alcobaça, Nazaré, Batalha. Day 4, a free day in Fatima, was personally speaking too long a time to spend there, but others with a more religious inclination may disagree. Day 5, another long trip back to Madrid, was better than Day 1, including a stop in Cáceres with options for lunch. Overall, a tour I would recommend, but that I would modify slightly if I was arranging. We had a small group, and that made it also a friendlier experience.

Doing what: 4-Night Portugal Tour from Madrid Including Lisbon and Fátima

Dorothy B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This tour was good. But it can be booked as day trip. Not enough to see for 2 days. It ended in Fatima. They drop you there and pick up is 530pm the next day. not much to do in this city except see the shire and shop.The hotel was very nice, the food was good
. I did find a tour out to the village where the children grew up. so I took that but it is only a 1/2 day tour and you pay extra 19 per person it is worth it.
I would recommend booking this tour as a day trip unless you plan on taking the side tour to the village.

Doing what: 2-Day Sacred Portugal Trip: Fátima, Batalha, Sítio, Nazaré and Óbidos, from Lisbon

diana s

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The world heritage monasteries of Alcobaca and Batalha are simply not to be missed. These are awe-inspiring structures and we thoroughly enjoyed learning about their fascinating histories. The tour also provided brief stops at Nazare Village with a view of the wild coastline and Obidos, with its medieval castle. We benefitted greatly from a private tour with a guide all to ourselves.

Doing what: Alcobaça, Batalha, Nazaré, Obidos Day Tour

Risty K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Two day trip is a must if you want more than one hour in Fatima. Lunch provided was excellent and much more than expected. Good, local, sit down, three course meal! We chose superior hotel and accommodation was "superior" and location was excellent.

Doing what: 2-Day Sacred Portugal Trip: Fátima, Batalha, Sítio, Nazaré and Óbidos, from Lisbon

Patricia B J

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Portugal was very interesting, full of beauty and history. I would definitely recommend this tour. I was very disappointed with our guide, and that we had two people that spoke Spanish and two that spoke Portuguese. It was very annoying to have to listen in three languages on an English speaking tour. It made it very difficult to comprehend what she was telling us, as her English was difficult. She did not introduce us or suggest seat rotating.

Doing what: 6-Day North Portugal Tour: Porto, Braga, Fátima, Coimbra, Guimaraes, Aveiro and Batalha, from Lisbon

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The guide was knowledgeable and personable.

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

Remedios E

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The Tour Director was not detailed in instructions. There was day, we did not know what time the pick up was. I tried to text but no reply. I just wished that the group be concentrated with one language so time is not wasted in speaking in different languages. This comment applies to all tours!

Doing what: 4-Night Portugal Tour from Madrid Including Lisbon and Fátima

Mimoelgendy

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

You must change the program and include Portugal city tour because then program was very boring

Doing what: 6-Day North Portugal Tour: Porto, Braga, Fátima, Coimbra, Guimaraes, Aveiro and Batalha, from Lisbon

JOSE F Brazil

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Interessante, mas muito corrido. Uma maratona. Merece revisão da validade de algumas paradas.

Doing what: 6-Day North Portugal Tour: Porto, Braga, Fátima, Coimbra, Guimaraes, Aveiro and Batalha, from Lisbon

Judith K

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Guide in Madrid and on to Lisbon was just OK - he didn't seem too interested or concerned. Guide in Lisbon to end of tour was excellent can't remember her name. I did, however, find it very annoying that she had to say everything in 3 languages so there was a great dealing of talking always going on.

Doing what: 4-Night Portugal Tour from Madrid Including Lisbon and Fátima

Terasak T

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

There were some pitfalls of information organization to clients and among staff that make mistakes about picking up and getting wrong bus. It made delaying the journey. Otherwise was excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Portugal Tour from Lisbon: Fátima, Sintra, Évora, Cascais and Estoril Coast

Joan L

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I suggest that the individual days are selected, rather than this 3 day tour. We had different guides and companions each day, rather than the whole group experience.
Also, it got rather tiring having so many languages. The guides did well to cater to everyone, but it dragged things out a bit.
The company seemed disorganised as far as the accommodation and pickup were concerned. Maybe they had only just started offering this deal, but no-one seemed to know much about us.

Doing what: 3-Day Portugal Tour from Lisbon: Fátima, Sintra, Évora, Cascais and Estoril Coast

robynbtt

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Enjoyed the tour and extra time the overnight in Fatima provided ... possibly could of come back to Lisbon a little earlier the next day

Doing what: 2-Day Sacred Portugal Trip: Fátima, Batalha, Sítio, Nazaré and Óbidos, from Lisbon

Denise S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

I had the impression that this was a 3 day tour- but it was 3 one day tours...each day we had to go to a central location and join day trippers- there was 1-1/2 hours each morning to assemble and organize each new group...the day in Evora was led by an unorganized, but pleasant woman-but unfortunately we didn't get as much out of the trip as we could have, and hoped for...the day trip to Fatima had a great tour leader, but a very busy schedule...and Sintra day trip was pleasant....all 3 days we had a very nice lunch

Doing what: 3-Day Portugal Tour from Lisbon: Fátima, Sintra, Évora, Cascais and Estoril Coast

Linda W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

I would go to all the same places again but would not go on the three-day, large group tour. We were picked up each day at 8:10 AM but were taken to a transfer center where we had to get on a different bus which was apparently determined by how many people spoke what languages. By the time we left for the tour, it was 9:30-9:45. It just made the day too long. The guides for this tour were knowledgeable and friendly for the most part. However, one of them was rude to me when I suggested she group people by language for the tour of the palace. We speak English and were at the back of the group so did not hear any of her explanations. She told me I should push through the group to get at the front and then discussed me with one of the workers at the palace. The guide to Evora was pleasant but took part of the group into a cathedral and went to look for another part of the group. We were 2 minutes late to the meeting place and could not find anyone. We thought we had been left which sort of panicked us. You are with a different group each day. The Portugal countryside is very pretty and we enjoyed it very much but would take a small group or private tour next time. We were so tired from the long day when we returned to our hotel that we were not able to get out and really see Lisbon.

Doing what: 3-Day Portugal Tour from Lisbon: Fátima, Sintra, Évora, Cascais and Estoril Coast

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message