Alcobaça is a pleasant town with a jumble of medieval and modern architecture and a largely pedestrianized center, but its main attraction is undoubtedly Portugal’s first monastery, founded here by the country’s first king, Alfonso Henriques, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved our Fatima tour. We found the driver and tour guide both to be friendly and well-informed. All of our stops were places we had wanted to visit. Our guide was one of the best we've ever had. Thank You!

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our trip was fantastic. Our guide Tiago was excellent, . His English was extremely good and it made our understanding of our tour knowledgeable. We were a family of 8 so we had the tour for ourselves. enjoyed very much.

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Knowledgeable and attentive guide. Great tour about 10 hours long. Try and find a less touristy lunch spot, as it is your choice, and maybe that would speed things along. Monastaries were amazing, as well as the beach in Nazare. Top notch!

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Outstanding! Pedro, our guide was excellent. We saw everything in the itinerary in a very relax, unhurried way. Our driver was very good and courteous. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

The four of us enjoyed a wonderful day in the Portuguese countryside. We were picked up on time by a very knowledgeable and personable guide. Our first stop was Fatima. We spent a couple of hours here and then proceeded to a world heritage site where we saw the tomb of Prince Henry the Navigator. For lunch we stopped at the lovely seaside village of Nazare. From here we toured a medieval walled city . We all agreed that this day was the highlight of our trip to Portugal.This is the only way to see these sights especially if you have a group of four or more not only is it economical but you get to see so much more of Portugal..

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The van was on time when he picked us up at our hotel. One of the pluses of this tour was our guide, not only was he knowledgeable but also very friendly and spoke perfect English. Because this was a private tour he offer us the flexibility of pretty much customizing the tour by determining the length of time we wanted to spend at each place visited. We had a fantastic lunch in Nazare right on the beach. A fantastic private tour.

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our tour was fabulous. Our driver was personable, spoke good English, was a good driver, and timed all our stops well.

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Two day trip is a must if you want more than one hour in Fatima. Lunch provided was excellent and much more than expected. Good, local, sit down, three course meal! We chose superior hotel and accommodation was "superior" and location was excellent.

Doing what: 2-Day Sacred Portugal Trip: Fátima, Batalha, Sítio, Nazaré and Óbidos, from Lisbon

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Portugal was very interesting, full of beauty and history. I would definitely recommend this tour. I was very disappointed with our guide, and that we had two people that spoke Spanish and two that spoke Portuguese. It was very annoying to have to listen in three languages on an English speaking tour. It made it very difficult to comprehend what she was telling us, as her English was difficult. She did not introduce us or suggest seat rotating.

Doing what: 6-Day North Portugal Tour: Porto, Braga, Fátima, Coimbra, Guimaraes, Aveiro and Batalha, from Lisbon

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The guide was knowledgeable and personable.

Doing what: Private Tour to Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca or Batalha and Fatima

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I suggest that the individual days are selected, rather than this 3 day tour. We had different guides and companions each day, rather than the whole group experience.
Also, it got rather tiring having so many languages. The guides did well to cater to everyone, but it dragged things out a bit.
The company seemed disorganised as far as the accommodation and pickup were concerned. Maybe they had only just started offering this deal, but no-one seemed to know much about us.

Doing what: 3-Day Portugal Tour from Lisbon: Fátima, Sintra, Évora, Cascais and Estoril Coast

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Enjoyed the tour and extra time the overnight in Fatima provided ... possibly could of come back to Lisbon a little earlier the next day

Doing what: 2-Day Sacred Portugal Trip: Fátima, Batalha, Sítio, Nazaré and Óbidos, from Lisbon

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

I had the impression that this was a 3 day tour- but it was 3 one day tours...each day we had to go to a central location and join day trippers- there was 1-1/2 hours each morning to assemble and organize each new group...the day in Evora was led by an unorganized, but pleasant woman-but unfortunately we didn't get as much out of the trip as we could have, and hoped for...the day trip to Fatima had a great tour leader, but a very busy schedule...and Sintra day trip was pleasant....all 3 days we had a very nice lunch

Doing what: 3-Day Portugal Tour from Lisbon: Fátima, Sintra, Évora, Cascais and Estoril Coast

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

I would go to all the same places again but would not go on the three-day, large group tour. We were picked up each day at 8:10 AM but were taken to a transfer center where we had to get on a different bus which was apparently determined by how many people spoke what languages. By the time we left for the tour, it was 9:30-9:45. It just made the day too long. The guides for this tour were knowledgeable and friendly for the most part. However, one of them was rude to me when I suggested she group people by language for the tour of the palace. We speak English and were at the back of the group so did not hear any of her explanations. She told me I should push through the group to get at the front and then discussed me with one of the workers at the palace. The guide to Evora was pleasant but took part of the group into a cathedral and went to look for another part of the group. We were 2 minutes late to the meeting place and could not find anyone. We thought we had been left which sort of panicked us. You are with a different group each day. The Portugal countryside is very pretty and we enjoyed it very much but would take a small group or private tour next time. We were so tired from the long day when we returned to our hotel that we were not able to get out and really see Lisbon.

Doing what: 3-Day Portugal Tour from Lisbon: Fátima, Sintra, Évora, Cascais and Estoril Coast

Joey
Philippines

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Elena is the tour guide from hell! She was rude to the passengers, telling people over the microphone to stop talking while she is talking. She also individually approached those who were late in coming back to the bus to scold them. Apparently, I was the only one from the group who was staying overnight in Fatima, and when I asked her about the arrangements, she quickly shrugged that the company did not tell her anything about it. When she did find out the details, she told me to cross to the other side of the Fatima sanctuary with my luggage to check in by myself, because according to her the bus is too big to go there. But in fact, another bus went near the hotel to pick me up the next day!

As to the tour itself, 50 minutes is too short to enjoy Obidos. It should also be made clear in the description that the cloisters of Batalha are NOT included in this tour. There were not much information or guidance given in Fatima -- I was just left on my own on the second day except for the transfer back to my hotel. I definitely think this tour could have been better with a different guide.

Doing what: 2-Day Sacred Portugal Trip: Fátima, Batalha, Sítio, Nazaré and Óbidos, from Lisbon

Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and are sorry to hear that your tour experience was unsatisfactory. We rely on your honest feedback to help ensure the value and quality of our travel experiences. Based on your concerns, we have contacted our local tour operator to address these concerns with them personally and will continue monitoring feedback from our travelers.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message