Located in the High Estremadura region of central Portugal, Batalha is an attractive town with plenty of excellent shops and restaurants surrounding one of Portugal’s most sacred sites. The Monastery of Santa Maria da Vitória was commissioned ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing. My favorite is the church at Batalha - so beautiful! The tour was well planned!

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is highly recommended!!! Our tour guide, Ana, is very informative and accommodating. She spoke four languages during the tour - Portuguese, English, Spanish, and German.

These are the good points of the tour:
1. Pickup - was very convenient. Pickup was on time from the Lisbon hotel.
2. Content - we went to Obidos, Alcobaca, Nazare, Batalha, and Fatima. It was a lot of places in one day. There were also a lot of stories along the way to give context to the site, history, and the characters.
3. Fatima Factory - where religious articles can be bought is a very good stop.
4. Language - the English tour guide was very good.
5. Lunch - was served in the seaside village of Nazare - seafood was served.
6. Drop Off - drop off was also convenient and directly to the hotel.
7. Value for Money - with the sites, content, and experience you are getting with this tour - this is the best value for money you can get. Partner this up with a Lisbon City Tour, you definitely will have a very memorable Portugal experience.

Additional points to note:
1. If you are after one place and would like to spend more time in that place, like Fatima, it will be better if you took a different tour that will take you there.
2. The Fatima factory of religious articles duration is pretty brief. Again maybe because the tour packs a lot of content.
3. Not enough time to absorb and appreciate the sites - again because the tour packs a lot in a days trip.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a wonderful trip, the pick up at the hotel was very easy, the bus was very comfortable, and our guide was extremely pleasant and knew the history and facts of the area.
Obidos is a beautiful city with a lot of history and very picturesque.
Nazaré is a beautiful town with great ocean views, the lunch was excellent.
Batalha is a very impressive monastery with a lot of history.
Fátima is a very impressive sanctuary and moving experience, we were able to attend mass and receive Holy Communion.
The tour was excellent and I will recommend it.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Sean M
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Obidos is an awesome village wish we could have spent more time there Nazare is breath-takingly beautiful wish we could have spent more time there Batalha was historic & in an interesting locale wish we could have spent more time there Fatima is commercialized and OVER-RATED! Overall, spending 80 euros person on this tour was overpriced, especially by Portuguese standards. Unfortunately all the companies work together so they got you by the shortcurlies...

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We were not able to visit Batalha on this trip because it was closed on May 1st. I think I should have been alerted to this fact before I bought the package. I still wanted to go to Fatima, which was open, but the package I took to get there should have been discounted since it could not be fulfilled as described.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great opportunity to see wonderful different places in one day. Good driver, excellent guide and superb food in Nazarè. A little disappointment for non visit to cloister in Batalha due to restricted time at our disposal. A tour to be made when in Lisbon!

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We loved Obidos and absolutely adored Nazare and were a little disappointed with Fatima. The tour was well organized though. Batalha was great.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

IT WAS COLD IN THE MEDIEVAL VILLAGE OF OBIDOS BUT ENJOYED THE LOCAL CHERRY LIQUEUR GINJA W/ CHOCALATE CUPS.THE WALLS REMINDED US OF AVILLA IN SPAIN.ALCOBACA WITH ITS MONASTARY AND BIGGEST GOTHIC STYLE CHURCH WERE VERY INTERESTING IN LIGHT OF THE TWO TOMBS.WE LIKED OUR LUNCH IN NAZARE AND THE COMPANY.THE BATALHA MONASTERY WAS ANOTHER GOTHIC MASTERPIECE.FATIMA IMPRESSED US THE MOST AND I CAN SEE WHY IT ATTRACTS MILLIONS OF CATHOLIC PILGRIMS AND TOURISTS EVERY YEAR.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

We really enjoyed this trip and it was worth it. Especially the lovely lunch option. Even our teenagers loved it. Only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because of the guide and the tour of the church in Batalha did not include the area where Henry the Navigator is buried. You had to pay extra for that and we were lead to believe it was included. Our tour guide did not actually accompany us thorough the sights. She woulld would try to tell us everything about the sight before sending us off on our own. Okay if that didn't cut in to our time. By the end, we just waited to find out our meeting time and place and then would leave so we could see as much as possible before heading back. We did a lot of tours with this company and all the guides were great, except her. Wish we remembered her name. But don't let that stop you. This is worth doing especially if you are not in the area for a long time.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

Obidos was great, lunch at Nazare was very good, Fatima was nice. We don't recommend Alcobaca and Batalha as much, we'd rather have spent additional time in Obidos.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

This was a good survey tour. There was not enough time for me in each location so I will have to go back and explore in depth. Obidos was delightful - a picture postcard at every turn. I was very impressed with the lunch in Nazare. The meal was delicious and the staff of the restaurant friendly and accommodating. Alcobaca was marvelous, and our guide - who had an impressive command of four languages - gave a very informative tour. Fatima was fascinating. I am not religious but my traveling companions were, and they got to attend Mass in the basilica. Only Batalha was somewhat of a disappointment, not just because of the lack of time, but because there were extra charges to visit the cloister and chapel.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Long day trip, visiting several different sites . Obidos is a nice little village to visit but the stopover is too short. The lunch at Nazare was good but again not much time to explore the village and it is time to continue the tour to Batalha and Fatima with the latter having the longest layover time.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This trip is something of a mixed bag. Obidos is a fantastic place to explore with its narrow streets and the time here was just right. Nazare is a nice village, but the lunch is dire, the restraurant does not overlook the sea and the service is very slow. You could probably buy better in one of the other restaurants nearby. The church at Batalha is worth seeing and again the time here was just right.

Fatima should be the jewel in the crown of this tour, but for me it was the biggest let-down. You are taken firstly to a horrible factory shop selling really tacky touristy rubbish trading on the Fatima name. Why we are made to endure 20 minutes in this hell-hole I really do not know.

Fatima itself is very disappointing. I expected to see a shrine that has been venerated and left exactly as it was when Our Lady appeared to the shepard children. Instead they have turned it into a tourist attraction witrh a massive modern church and a garish vewing area at the shrine. We were given an hour and 15 minutes and I was bored by 20 minutes.

The tour guide was also a very no-nonsense older lady and her school-teacher like ways did not go down well with everyone, especially as she seemed to favour the Brazilian contingent in our party over everybody else. I spent the tour listening to a very disgruntled elderly American genetleman who was at pains to let me know what he thought of her.

All in all, the tour takes you to places that you probably should visit, just to say that you have been there, but it probably could be scaled back a bit and I felt that it was a bit pricy for what you got. However, it was a nice coach so it wasn't all bad.

Would I recommend it? Probably not in its present form and at its current price, but if they dropped the factory tour and the awful lunch and dropped the price accorindly then yes I would recommend it as there are some nice sights on this trip. Do not get your hopes up too high and you will probably find this tour ok.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Our bus didn't have air conditioning so we didn't leave until 10:00. The day was too long. It was worth while seeing Obidos, and Nazare. Batalha was a waist of time. It would have been nice to stay longer in Obidos - stay and have lunch. Overall the day was too rushed with too many places to see. We didn't get back to our hotel until 9:30 p.m. - too long.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

The places are fantastic, but I was not totally satisfied. We did not have almost any time in Obidos and Batalha, but we were given more than one and a half hours in Fatima. It was not meant to be a pilgrimage after all.
The bus, our guide, the lunch - everything else was OK, only the proportions of the program were not.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

Obidos, Nazare, and Batalha were worth doing, but not enough time. Fatima is a site for "very religious people" and we are far away from that. Spending 1 1/2 hour there looking at contemporary, mediocre, religious architecture was a waste of our time.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

time in Obidos was very short.we barely had time to see the fortress.Nazare was just a stop for lunch,also no chance to walk at the seaside and enjoy the picturesque village..the time was spend at the souvenir shop.:(:(.I guess the trip was not well organised.we really missed so many nice things.at Fatima it was great,we had enough time to see everything and also attend a mass.at Batalha,it was Ok.
all in all the tour was OK,it could be better.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

We were deeply disapponted.We were sold to Gary Line tour with 38 tourists speaking 4 different languages. No professional guide was provided. We were taken to the sites but wandering around by ourselves. No access to the monasteries of Alcobaca and Batalha despite entrance fees were included.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

We were expected entrance to areas where there was a need to pay to selected areas in mosteiro de Alcobaca and mosteiro da batalha. (Since in your description was enterance fees for these 2 mosteiro and entry to the general area is free)
In addition, our drop off was v late and far from our hotel.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The places are nice, but the time in Óbidos and the monasteries was too short, with much time in Fatima and a store. The main problem was that I choose this tour because it included the entrance fees to the two monasteries, but we only visited the churches of batalha and Alcobaça. We paid for it but

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Joey
Philippines

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Elena is the tour guide from hell! She was rude to the passengers, telling people over the microphone to stop talking while she is talking. She also individually approached those who were late in coming back to the bus to scold them. Apparently, I was the only one from the group who was staying overnight in Fatima, and when I asked her about the arrangements, she quickly shrugged that the company did not tell her anything about it. When she did find out the details, she told me to cross to the other side of the Fatima sanctuary with my luggage to check in by myself, because according to her the bus is too big to go there. But in fact, another bus went near the hotel to pick me up the next day!

As to the tour itself, 50 minutes is too short to enjoy Obidos. It should also be made clear in the description that the cloisters of Batalha are NOT included in this tour. There were not much information or guidance given in Fatima -- I was just left on my own on the second day except for the transfer back to my hotel. I definitely think this tour could have been better with a different guide.

Doing what: 2-Day Sacred Portugal Trip: Fátima, Batalha, Sítio, Nazaré and Óbidos, from Lisbon

Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and are sorry to hear that your tour experience was unsatisfactory. We rely on your honest feedback to help ensure the value and quality of our travel experiences. Based on your concerns, we have contacted our local tour operator to address these concerns with them personally and will continue monitoring feedback from our travelers.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message