The Estremadura town of Nazaré hugs the western Atlantic coast, a traditional Portuguese fishing village turned popular summer resort and surfer’s paradise. The long sweep of sandy beach is backed by a long esplanade and a cute white-washed, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 149 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Although Fatima was a long trip about 2 1/2 with a comfort stop it was well worth it. Seeing Fatima for the first time was like seeing the Vatican for the first time. VAST! Very spiritual. We were given time on our own which was exactly enough time. We stopped in Nazare a beautiful beach town for lunch and free time. Great shops and numerous restaurants. Other stops were at Batalha Monastery - we were there in time for the changing of the guards of the unknown soldier. This place was so beautiful, I wish we had more time here. And finally a stop in Obidos. A beautiful Medieval walled town with quaint streets, numerous shops and a wall you can walk 1,565 meters long but slipery. We were a little off schedule but no fault of the driver. Andre Marques was an excellent tour guide/driver. The van sat 9 including the Andre and very comfortable. The van was equipped with a microphone so everyone including the last row could hear - but he loved his music as well! He was very gracious and I highly recommend him and his company.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I had a fantastic day on this tour. Firstly, our guide was fantastic he was friendly, well organised and put in lots of effort so we had a good time. The touring van was comfortable and the driving was safe.

The itinerary was well balanced and we saw some really beautiful scenery which would be difficult to reach without a guide/ touring van. In addition to Nazare and Obidos, Fatima was also interesting and we spent just the right amount of time there.

Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved this day trip and a special thanks to our guide Rita, who made it a memorable experince. First stop was Fatima where we got about an hour, but would have liked to have at least another 30mts. Nazare and Obidos were spectacular. Lunch at Nazare is worth a mention.Rosa dos Ventos restaurant served us a sumptous sword fish grill, the taste of which will remain with us for quite a while. Obidos is another beautiful and lively town where we got a taste of ginja liquer.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Obidos is gorgeous white village in castles wall...beautiful beaches in nazare n try a seafood stew w pasta local specialty there for lunch! ... Fatima has the modern church n the original Virgin Mary but unfortunately preparing for the big anniversary so can't go in. Checkout the hidden museum .

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our day one trip to Sintra from Lisbon was fantastic. Pena palace is worth visiting. Cascais Bay and Cabo da Rocas views are amazing!! Lisbon visit will be incomplete without Sintra.
Our heartfelt thanks to our tour guide Fred who made the entire Day trip to Sintra a worth one, he arrived on time at the meeting point, speaks very good English, very knowledgeable, informative and kind to everyone. Throughout the journey he gave us lot of extra information. The food at the restaurant for Lunch, sweets and Gelatos Fred suggested were mouthwatering and we enjoyed a lot. Thanks Fred for making Sintra trip a wonderful and memorable one and thanks for taking some nice pictures of me. Excellent trip !! It was a great tour and highly recommend it.
The 2nd trip to Fatima, Nazare and Obidos was ok, the trip didnt start on time and couldnt see much in Fatima due to ongoing mass, but Obidos was really good and we had plenty of free time to walk around. Our guide Martin was quite informative but in the bus we could hardly hear him although he was using the microphone.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

great tour guide Peter. Had plenty of free time at Fatima and Nazare and Obidos. I recommend this tour

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was wonderful for this trip. He explained where we were going and the historical significance of it. We were picked up from a central Lisbon restaurant and driven in small, nice passenger van. There were 8 of us in the group, and that was perfect! Such beautiful sites.
The cherry liqueur Ginjinha in Obidos is the best we tasted around Portugal, so make sure you buy it from the tasting shop that you do when you enter the town. We bought two bottles to bring back to the States and bought our own chocolate tasting cups in the States due to being afraid they would break in transit. The castle walls are neat and you can climb on them, however it is windy so keep that in mind if you are wearing a skirt!
Fatima was very nice, but the church is closed until 2017 to get it ready for the Popes visit for the 100 year anniversary of the apparitions. But, you can go to the back of the Chapel and see the graves of the three children. There are nice and unique shops if you go behind the Berlin Wall display and walk past the little shops and go into the town 25 yards. We found an artistic shop with locally made statues and glass rosary beads in another one and everyone was friendly.
Nazare is a beautiful beach and has nice restaurants along the board walk. Make sure you go to the local artisan shop and buy local items! Its pricey, but has nice things made in Portugal.
We met people from around the world and kept seeing them around Lisbon after the tour, which was nice. We met two sisters from Australia that I wish wed gotten their contact info!!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great way to see Fatima in a day along with 2 other great stops. Enjoyed both Obifosand Nazareth as well.
tour guide was great.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Meeting point was easy to locate, even though this was our first visit to Lisbon. Our guide, Nuno, was excellent! His knowledge of history and culture allowed for discussion and insightful answers to our questions. The tour is a good mix of sightseeing through the countryside, visiting historic sites, and free time to have lunch in Nazare, shopping in Obidos. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nadia was wonderful. She gave us just enough info, but not an overload. She provided lots of little interesting facts and was able to answer all questions. The pace of the trip was just right. Fatima was nice, but to the non religious, too commercial. Batalia was awesome. Nazare, I could have stayed there! Sun, ocean, fresh fish! And Obidos was the icing on the cake. What an intriguing little town. I did climb up to the walls. Not recommended for everyone!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a fantastic tour. We saw sights we didn't know existed. Our guide was fantastic and able to communicate to all of the people on board the mini bus. Only 9 people on the tour. Small group which is exactly what we wanted. Our guide took us to a restaurant in Nazare. The fish was fantastic! The locals made us all feel at home. Gus is to be congratulated on making our tour a memorable event! Thank you Gus!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Definitely the best way and very good value the first day was with the guide juan very knowledgeable and helpful.The main thing for me was only small group so maximum 8 people in the minibus so no hanging about etc on other bigger coach tours or missing people.Pena palace is a gem,after juan specially told me instead of in the lunch hour as i had brought my own food was to go see quinta da Regaleira although not on the itinerary definitely worth going to.Then in the afternoon we went to cabo da roca spectacular sea views.Then onto cascais more free time definitely try the ice creamsantiniand too soon on our way back to lisbon.
As for the next day met luis our guide again very knowledgeable and helpful also liked answering questions on the journey to these places so dont be shy asking.This time we first went to fatima a place of pilgrimage.Then onto batalha monastery definitely worth paying the little extra to see all the extras.Then onto nazare amazing sea views and free time9amazing fresh seafood.Then in the later afternoon onto obidos a quaint walled town reminded me alot of avila.A few hidden surprises a castle thats actually a hotel and an old church thats know a bookshop.Definitely visit the chapel there.Again time too quickly on our way back to lisbon.Even though at certain times the heavens literally opened up in no way did this spoil the trip.A little tip check the weather for the day and if even the slightest possiblity of rain take precautions.I am sure you will have a great time as we all did and once again thanks to juan and luis.As for the company Inside Lisbon would definitely use them again when i am sure to return

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Definitely the best way and very good value the first day was with the guide juan very knowledgeable and helpful.The main thing for me was only small group so maximum 8 people in the minibus so no hanging about etc on other bigger coach tours or missing people.Pena palace is a gem,after juan specially told me instead of in the lunch hour as i had brought my own food was to go see quinta da Regaleira although not on the itinerary definitely worth going to.Then in the afternoon we went to cabo da roca spectacular sea views.Then onto cascais more free time definitely try the ice creamsantiniand too soon on our way back to lisbon.
As for the next day met luis our guide again very knowledgeable and helpful also liked answering questions on the journey to these places so dont be shy asking.This time we first went to fatima a place of pilgrimage.Then onto batalha monastery definitely worth paying the little extra to see all the extras.Then onto nazare amazing sea views and free time9amazing fresh seafood.Then in the later afternoon onto obidos a quaint walled town reminded me alot of avila.A few hidden surprises a castle thats actually a hotel and an old church thats know a bookshop.Definitely visit the chapel there.Again time too quickly on our way back to lisbon.Even though at certain times the heavens literally opened up in no way did this spoil the trip.A little tip check the weather for the day and if even the slightest possiblity of rain take precautions.I am sure you will have a great time as we all did and once again thanks to juan and luis.As for the company Inside Lisbon would definitely use them again when i am sure to return

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Definitely the best way and very good value the first day was with the guide juan very knowledgeable and helpful.The main thing for me was only small group so maximum 8 people in the minibus so no hanging about etc on other bigger coach tours or missing people.Pena palace is a gem,after juan specially told me instead of in the lunch hour as i had brought my own food was to go see quinta da Regaleira although not on the itinerary definitely worth going to.Then in the afternoon we went to cabo da roca spectacular sea views.Then onto cascais more free time definitely try the ice creamsantiniand too soon on our way back to lisbon.
As for the next day met luis our guide again very knowledgeable and helpful also liked answering questions on the journey to these places so dont be shy asking.This time we first went to fatima a place of pilgrimage.Then onto batalha monastery definitely worth paying the little extra to see all the extras.Then onto nazare amazing sea views and free time9amazing fresh seafood.Then in the later afternoon onto obidos a quaint walled town reminded me alot of avila.A few hidden surprises a castle thats actually a hotel and an old church thats know a bookshop.Definitely visit the chapel there.Again time too quickly on our way back to lisbon.Even though at certain times the heavens literally opened up in no way did this spoil the trip.A little tip check the weather for the day and if even the slightest possiblity of rain take precautions.I am sure you will have a great time as we all did and once again thanks to juan and luis.As for the company Inside Lisbon would definitely use them again when i am sure to return

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Definitely the best way and very good value the first day was with the guide juan very knowledgeable and helpful.The main thing for me was only small group so maximum 8 people in the minibus so no hanging about etc on other bigger coach tours or missing people.Pena palace is a gem,after juan specially told me instead of in the lunch hour as i had brought my own food was to go see quinta da Regaleira although not on the itinerary definitely worth going to.Then in the afternoon we went to cabo da roca spectacular sea views.Then onto cascais more free time definitely try the ice creamsantiniand too soon on our way back to lisbon.
As for the next day met luis our guide again very knowledgeable and helpful also liked answering questions on the journey to these places so dont be shy asking.This time we first went to fatima a place of pilgrimage.Then onto batalha monastery definitely worth paying the little extra to see all the extras.Then onto nazare amazing sea views and free time9amazing fresh seafood.Then in the later afternoon onto obidos a quaint walled town reminded me alot of avila.A few hidden surprises a castle thats actually a hotel and an old church thats know a bookshop.Definitely visit the chapel there.Again time too quickly on our way back to lisbon.Even though at certain times the heavens literally opened up in no way did this spoil the trip.A little tip check the weather for the day and if even the slightest possiblity of rain take precautions.I am sure you will have a great time as we all did and once again thanks to juan and luis.As for the company Inside Lisbon would definitely use them again when i am sure to return

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great! We were able to spend enough time at the sites and even the food at nazare was really good. I would recommend it to my family and friends.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great experience. Pedro was a good guide , very knowledgeable, and gave us an insiders feel of the towns of Fatima , Nazare aNd Obidos. Highly recommended tour while in Lisbon!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a wonderful time on this day tour. It was the best way to visit these sites in such a short amount of time. It gives you a good sense of each city. I would love to go back to Nazare for an extended stay! The seafood and scenery was spectacular. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Everything was organized very well and very punctual. I wish we were back there!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

All in all you get small bits of four locations in a short time.Highly recommended. Francisco was very knowledgeable, good driver and took good care of all of us.We spend only an hour in Fatima which may not be enough if you are very religious as mass alone takes around 35 mins.Nazare would require more than an hour ideally to explore have lunch and enjoy the beach.I would have loved to walk the walls of Obidos leisurely but it takes more than an hour for that.the tour was well worth it! Enjoyed it immensely.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I was lucky enough to do the full day trip to Fatima, Batalha, Nazare and Obidos with Luis. He was knowledgeable, interesting and spoke passionately about the places we visited and Lisbon in general. Fabulous tour and brilliant guide.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was excellent -- great knowledge of the local area with interesting tidbits and observations. His recommendation for lunch in Nazare was one of the best meals we had in Portugal. Enjoyed stops at Nazare and Obidos the most. We felt that the tour was well-paced with lots of time to fully appreciate the various stops. When it was foggy later in the day, the guide offered us options for the route back. Overall a very successful day.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We truly enjoyed a very full day of history and exploration on this tour. Lunch was included in a delightful restaurant by the sea in Nazare. Our tour guide, Anna, was very knowledgeable and imparted useful information inherent to our visit of different sites. The tour was well paced and gave us time to explore without being rushed.
Sincerely,
Michael and Anna
Canada

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was fantastic. The driver/travel guide, Andres, was very efficient and has a good personality. We enjoyed Fatima, Nazare, Bathalha and Ovidos. It was full but the tempo was relaxed and unhurried. It is weel worth the fee!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

There were six of us on this tour which made it very nice. Fatima was overwhelming. When we arrived mid-morning, 65,000+ people were there, an outdoor Mass was being celebrated, choir was singing, and more and more people kept arriving. It was a very moving experience. Nazare was good for lunch and we drove to the coast to the spot where surfers surf 40-foot waves at certain time of the year.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is highly recommended!!! Our tour guide, Ana, is very informative and accommodating. She spoke four languages during the tour - Portuguese, English, Spanish, and German.

These are the good points of the tour:
1. Pickup - was very convenient. Pickup was on time from the Lisbon hotel.
2. Content - we went to Obidos, Alcobaca, Nazare, Batalha, and Fatima. It was a lot of places in one day. There were also a lot of stories along the way to give context to the site, history, and the characters.
3. Fatima Factory - where religious articles can be bought is a very good stop.
4. Language - the English tour guide was very good.
5. Lunch - was served in the seaside village of Nazare - seafood was served.
6. Drop Off - drop off was also convenient and directly to the hotel.
7. Value for Money - with the sites, content, and experience you are getting with this tour - this is the best value for money you can get. Partner this up with a Lisbon City Tour, you definitely will have a very memorable Portugal experience.

Additional points to note:
1. If you are after one place and would like to spend more time in that place, like Fatima, it will be better if you took a different tour that will take you there.
2. The Fatima factory of religious articles duration is pretty brief. Again maybe because the tour packs a lot of content.
3. Not enough time to absorb and appreciate the sites - again because the tour packs a lot in a days trip.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message