Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Charles Bridge (Karluv Most)

Even when it's groaning under the weight of sketch artists, jazz musicians, trinkets and tourists, there's no resisting the charm of the Charles Bridge ('Karlův most' in Czech). Its 500 meters (1,640 feet) link the Old Town with Castle Hill and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A enjoyable tour of a fascinating Prague landmark by a very knowledgeable guide who said she spoke 8 languages and guided in 6. The tour included a quick tour of Prague by bus in which the guide pointed out local important historical landmarks. It should be noted that whilst we were picked up at a central point in the city at the conclusion of the tour you are left at the castle, so you need make your own way back to the city about a 15 minute walk across the historic Charles Bridge.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great tour for getting acquainted with the city. You go around the city by mini bus and then the rest is a walking tour around Prague Castle/Charles Bridge/Old Tower Square areas.

There are some steep inclines around Prague Castle so be sure you are ok with that.

I didnt like that we had to wait at each spot for the tour guide to same everything again in French for the 2 people in the group when I booked the tour in english.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We were in a minivan of about 15 people. The first hour or so was spent driving around looking at the sites and picking up other passengers. We were dropped of at the castle and walked down towards Charles bridge and on to the clock tower. Our tour guide was knowledgeable. Good first tour to get an idea of what you may want to go back and explore on your own.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Feel very let down and disappointed by this tour. First of all the cruise itself is essentially a 15 minute jaunt to Charles bridge, you then turn around and come back!! We then looked forward to our guided walk through the old Jewish Quarter but to our surprise we were bid farewell getting off the boat and left abandoned on the river side quite far out of town!!
Luckily we had spent the morning familiarising ourselves with Prague already and proceeded the long walk back to the old town square by ourselves.
I'm sure there are much better boat tours than this in Prague. Having used Viator many times before with brilliant results, this is a very big disappointment for us. Let's hope the other two trips we have booked this week fair better than this one! Fingers crossed!

Doing what: Prague Vltava River Afternoon Tea Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Most enjoyable.the city looked fantastic by night and Charles bridge was the highlight.

Doing what: Prague Night Tour and River Vltava Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We booked the Small Group City Walking Tour of Prague with Tereza of Urban Adventures. There were 7 in the group which was ideal. The tour was well structured with 2 hours walking around the Old City, followed by a boat ride, then a walk across Charles Bridge, a great lunch and beer, then finishing with a tour of Prague Castle and Cathedral, altogether 6 hours, which seemed to go very quickly. Tereza was extremely friendly and had a great sense of humour. She got to know each of us personally and had a real sense of pride in sharing her city. She gave us various options of what we wanted to do which also was great. Overall a great tour experience and thank you Tereza once again for making it so enjoyable. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Prague City Walking Tour Including Vltava River Cruise and Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We were very disappointed in this tour. The sites we thought we were to be taken to were for the most part drive by. Sometimes so fast we could not locate what the driver was pointing out. The guide who took us through the castle was very good. I was sorry not to have gotten his name. We were surprised, and somewhat unhappy to have to walk from the castle to Charles Bridge. It was a long hike. One group had to leave the tour as they could not make the walk.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

We drove around the city and it was difficult to see some of the sights that the guide pointed to/talked about from the bus. Maybe better to have an open-top bus for this kind of tour. We walked from the Castle all the way to Charles Bridge which was nice. Would have been better if given some free time to explore the Castle though. Guide was knowledgeable but spoke in a monotonous tone so hard to keep up.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Easy location to find in Prague to pick up tour. Guide was very good. Great itin to use motor coach to go
up to castle and then have great walk down the hill and across Charles Bridge. Very Informative.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

This tour was absolutely horrible. The bus started in republic square and took us literally in a circle around prague where we glimpsed over a few monuments and nothing worth noting. We didn't even go to the Dancing building! We literally went in a circle to pick up passengers - that was the extent of the 'bus' portion.

Our tour guide was an older lady who spoke both German and English, well barely. Right off the bat she made it very clear that she liked the German and spoke very little english the whole time. She was speaking in German most of the time and would even crack jokes making the entire bus laugh while keeping those who spoke other languages in the dark. She had no enthusiasm for anything, not the culture, not Prague, not the history, nothing. She made her stance very clear on her old beliefs. She even crossed the line a few times speaking about Jewish stereotypes and telling off 2 guys on our tour who were from South America that their people talk to much so they have to make sure they know who is in change - her. She was abolsutely ridiculous - truly an old bat that needs to retire. I could not believe that Viator would affiliate with a tour company like this.

AS for the walking portion. My husband and I left half way through. Our tour guide made us stop at a music university for refreshments' and a break. I'm sure she got a cut. Because we could not go into the castle the rest of the tour was a waste of time. We just walked the reminder of the Charles Bridge on our own and made our way to republic square.

i gained absolutely NOTHING from this tour. I suppose if you are German you might have, but as for the rest of us I could not tell you one thing i learned. Anytime we had a question she shut us down and told us that this tour is only about prague. Ridiculous.

Going forward I will think twice about taking a Viator history tour.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I really like the itinerary! The bus tour first took us to all the major attractions in the city and dropped us off at the castle. From there, the tour guide did an excellent job taking us to the best spots in the city including the Charles Bridge, Astronomical Clock, and the Castle area. Very knowledgeable guide who went above and beyond...

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Dr Yi Ren
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It is one of the best tour I did in Europe. It is really well organised and tour guide was really knowledgable, friendly and professional. It is a great orientation of the city. Perfect balance with bus tour to start with then walking tour through the Castle then down to Charles bridge and end up in old town. It was really well timed as we see changing the guide at Castle, 1pm clock show at old town square. Thank you! Best city sightseeing tour so far!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour was great, bus via town and up to the castle then a walk down hill across the bridge to the clock. The female guide spoke way to fast on the bus that it made it to hard to hear and un enjoyable but over all a good tour... Haven't been on any others in Prague but maybe worth looking into other options.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Well done...views of the city+crossing the Charles Bridge at night was magical!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our tour of Prague Castle was truncated somewhat because it was October 28th, a special National Day, and the Army had a dedication for all new graduates. We were delivered to the Castle by bus and walked into the main square which was packed with people, soldiers and bands, which restricted our movement and castle access. Nevertheless, our guide was excellent, and kept the 10 of us together, and on track. The Castle complex is enormous, but we didn't get to go INTO the castle at all, just walk around the buildings, into the Magnificent Cathedral, a second Church dedicated to the local St John of Nepomuk (I think), and the Golden Alley, a street of Artisans, where we could buy trinkets. We walked back to the Charles Bridge, via a restaurant (customer pays) with magnificent view over Prague City, where we had tea and coffee. As tour numbers weren't known before the tour began, we had no booking at the restaurant, which was unfortunate as it was very busy. We managed to find seats for everyone, but not all together.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour half on the bus and then walking back to the old town via Charles bridge. Our guide was very knowledgeable and made the whole day a delight. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Combo bus tour around Old/New Towns was informative orientation. Walking portion starting at Cathedral/Palace brought us back for a more detailed visit via the tram recommended by our guide. Walking down from the palace through Little town and across the Charles Bridge to Old Town Square provided a great flavor of cultural activities/opportunities. A little rain at the end of the walking tour did little to dampen our anticipation of the hourly spectacle of the Old Town Square clock where our tour culminated with plenty of nearby choices for lunch. Check out the restaurant below ground level in the municipal hall just outside the Powder Tower in Namesty Republicky Square; the Hall is also a great concert venue with cultural options directly across the square in the Ballet/ Opera House.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Nice to be on the river but not quite what we were sold. No tea. Only coffee. One cake. No choice. 45 minutes on river and barely went past Charles Bridge. Actually went in circles for a bit, with all the other boats. Wouldn't recommend it

Doing what: Prague Vltava River Afternoon Tea Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The tour information was really good. The only thing I missed was the drop back to my hotel but on the other side dropping us to Charles bridge was also perfect. My husband and I really loved the information that our guide Theresa gave us.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was very knowable and spoke perfect English. She also took us across the Charles bridge and explained everything. well worth the trip.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I was only in Prague for a day and wanted to see as much of the city as I could. This tour gave me exactly what I wanted! The coach ride up to the castle was very informative and gave me an opportunity to see parts of the city I would not have seen on my own. After we were dropped off a the castle, we were able to see the changing of the guards, the castle grounds and the cathedral. The walk down to the Charles Bridge and into the town was equally pleasant and I learned a lot about the city's history. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see Prague!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Amana
Belgium

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The tour is OK, a pleasant cruise along the river, the buffet dinner is not bad, and the background live music is nice. There are long waiting times though at the passing through the sluice-gates, it takes up about half the cruise. Your guide really doesn't have much to tell you - it's more nice scenery than historical buildings. The really amazing bit was the final half hour, when it is finally dark, and the Charles Bridge, the Castle, the St Vitus Cathedral, the concert hall and other Prague buildings shine spectacularly in the night and are mirrored beautifully in the river. Probably worthwhile just for that.

Doing what: Prague Night Tour and River Vltava Dinner Cruise

Norm
USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

For the first-time visitor to Prague (which describes me) this is a great way to orient yourself to the city. It's a lot of walking, but you'll traverse the city from New Town to Old Town to the Jewish quarter, and then cross the river into Mala Strana and Kampa after stopping for lunch and a short boat tour of the river around Charles Bridge. (This part of the tour, actually, was my least favorite. Crowded boats, lots of wait time to board, and not much new information. But great photo ops!) Our guide was very well-informed and personable and was able to answer all our group's questions with no trouble. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Prague City Walking Tour Including Vltava River Cruise and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour and guide. Started out driving around city then finished walking around castle, down to Charles Bridge then finished at the Astronomical Clock.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Driving around the sites seemed quite rushed , but a good way to see all the key sites. This tour included a walking tour of Prague Castle down to Charles Bridge and back to Republic Square - this aspect was very good - but you need to be up for the walk - it's a good hour!

Tour guide was again very knowledgeable and informative - especially given he was covering two languages!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message