Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Charles Bridge (Karluv Most)

Even when it's groaning under the weight of sketch artists, jazz musicians, trinkets and tourists, there's no resisting the charm of the Charles Bridge ('Karlův most' in Czech). Its 500 meters (1,640 feet) link the Old Town with Castle Hill and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Easy location to find in Prague to pick up tour. Guide was very good. Great itin to use motor coach to go
up to castle and then have great walk down the hill and across Charles Bridge. Very Informative.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

This tour was absolutely horrible. The bus started in republic square and took us literally in a circle around prague where we glimpsed over a few monuments and nothing worth noting. We didn't even go to the Dancing building! We literally went in a circle to pick up passengers - that was the extent of the 'bus' portion.

Our tour guide was an older lady who spoke both German and English, well barely. Right off the bat she made it very clear that she liked the German and spoke very little english the whole time. She was speaking in German most of the time and would even crack jokes making the entire bus laugh while keeping those who spoke other languages in the dark. She had no enthusiasm for anything, not the culture, not Prague, not the history, nothing. She made her stance very clear on her old beliefs. She even crossed the line a few times speaking about Jewish stereotypes and telling off 2 guys on our tour who were from South America that their people talk to much so they have to make sure they know who is in change - her. She was abolsutely ridiculous - truly an old bat that needs to retire. I could not believe that Viator would affiliate with a tour company like this.

AS for the walking portion. My husband and I left half way through. Our tour guide made us stop at a music university for refreshments' and a break. I'm sure she got a cut. Because we could not go into the castle the rest of the tour was a waste of time. We just walked the reminder of the Charles Bridge on our own and made our way to republic square.

i gained absolutely NOTHING from this tour. I suppose if you are German you might have, but as for the rest of us I could not tell you one thing i learned. Anytime we had a question she shut us down and told us that this tour is only about prague. Ridiculous.

Going forward I will think twice about taking a Viator history tour.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I really like the itinerary! The bus tour first took us to all the major attractions in the city and dropped us off at the castle. From there, the tour guide did an excellent job taking us to the best spots in the city including the Charles Bridge, Astronomical Clock, and the Castle area. Very knowledgeable guide who went above and beyond...

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Dr Yi Ren
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It is one of the best tour I did in Europe. It is really well organised and tour guide was really knowledgable, friendly and professional. It is a great orientation of the city. Perfect balance with bus tour to start with then walking tour through the Castle then down to Charles bridge and end up in old town. It was really well timed as we see changing the guide at Castle, 1pm clock show at old town square. Thank you! Best city sightseeing tour so far!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour was great, bus via town and up to the castle then a walk down hill across the bridge to the clock. The female guide spoke way to fast on the bus that it made it to hard to hear and un enjoyable but over all a good tour... Haven't been on any others in Prague but maybe worth looking into other options.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Well done...views of the city+crossing the Charles Bridge at night was magical!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our tour of Prague Castle was truncated somewhat because it was October 28th, a special National Day, and the Army had a dedication for all new graduates. We were delivered to the Castle by bus and walked into the main square which was packed with people, soldiers and bands, which restricted our movement and castle access. Nevertheless, our guide was excellent, and kept the 10 of us together, and on track. The Castle complex is enormous, but we didn't get to go INTO the castle at all, just walk around the buildings, into the Magnificent Cathedral, a second Church dedicated to the local St John of Nepomuk (I think), and the Golden Alley, a street of Artisans, where we could buy trinkets. We walked back to the Charles Bridge, via a restaurant (customer pays) with magnificent view over Prague City, where we had tea and coffee. As tour numbers weren't known before the tour began, we had no booking at the restaurant, which was unfortunate as it was very busy. We managed to find seats for everyone, but not all together.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour half on the bus and then walking back to the old town via Charles bridge. Our guide was very knowledgeable and made the whole day a delight. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Combo bus tour around Old/New Towns was informative orientation. Walking portion starting at Cathedral/Palace brought us back for a more detailed visit via the tram recommended by our guide. Walking down from the palace through Little town and across the Charles Bridge to Old Town Square provided a great flavor of cultural activities/opportunities. A little rain at the end of the walking tour did little to dampen our anticipation of the hourly spectacle of the Old Town Square clock where our tour culminated with plenty of nearby choices for lunch. Check out the restaurant below ground level in the municipal hall just outside the Powder Tower in Namesty Republicky Square; the Hall is also a great concert venue with cultural options directly across the square in the Ballet/ Opera House.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Nice to be on the river but not quite what we were sold. No tea. Only coffee. One cake. No choice. 45 minutes on river and barely went past Charles Bridge. Actually went in circles for a bit, with all the other boats. Wouldn't recommend it

Doing what: Prague Vltava River Afternoon Tea Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The tour information was really good. The only thing I missed was the drop back to my hotel but on the other side dropping us to Charles bridge was also perfect. My husband and I really loved the information that our guide Theresa gave us.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was very knowable and spoke perfect English. She also took us across the Charles bridge and explained everything. well worth the trip.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I was only in Prague for a day and wanted to see as much of the city as I could. This tour gave me exactly what I wanted! The coach ride up to the castle was very informative and gave me an opportunity to see parts of the city I would not have seen on my own. After we were dropped off a the castle, we were able to see the changing of the guards, the castle grounds and the cathedral. The walk down to the Charles Bridge and into the town was equally pleasant and I learned a lot about the city's history. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see Prague!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Amana
Belgium

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The tour is OK, a pleasant cruise along the river, the buffet dinner is not bad, and the background live music is nice. There are long waiting times though at the passing through the sluice-gates, it takes up about half the cruise. Your guide really doesn't have much to tell you - it's more nice scenery than historical buildings. The really amazing bit was the final half hour, when it is finally dark, and the Charles Bridge, the Castle, the St Vitus Cathedral, the concert hall and other Prague buildings shine spectacularly in the night and are mirrored beautifully in the river. Probably worthwhile just for that.

Doing what: Prague Night Tour and River Vltava Dinner Cruise

Norm
USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

For the first-time visitor to Prague (which describes me) this is a great way to orient yourself to the city. It's a lot of walking, but you'll traverse the city from New Town to Old Town to the Jewish quarter, and then cross the river into Mala Strana and Kampa after stopping for lunch and a short boat tour of the river around Charles Bridge. (This part of the tour, actually, was my least favorite. Crowded boats, lots of wait time to board, and not much new information. But great photo ops!) Our guide was very well-informed and personable and was able to answer all our group's questions with no trouble. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Prague City Walking Tour Including Vltava River Cruise and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour and guide. Started out driving around city then finished walking around castle, down to Charles Bridge then finished at the Astronomical Clock.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Driving around the sites seemed quite rushed , but a good way to see all the key sites. This tour included a walking tour of Prague Castle down to Charles Bridge and back to Republic Square - this aspect was very good - but you need to be up for the walk - it's a good hour!

Tour guide was again very knowledgeable and informative - especially given he was covering two languages!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

One must be a good walker for this tour. All the sights are seen from the bus until it reaches the Castle. From the Castle the tour becomes a walking tour. You are guided through the Castle's church and grounds, down the Castle stairs and over to the Charles Bridge, where the tour ends. One is left to make their own way back.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

This tour was a disgrace. We thought at first it was in English and a separate tour in german. However the 6 people combined , I know English, German and we think Dutch was spoken. Regardless there was no history of Prague taken Into account that is The history of ww2 and the Russian occupation. Every statue, monument bldg was shown,, no relevant history. Relevant history was ignored. The tour leader was boring not engaging and I almost felt sorry for her. She seemed as bored as we were. She repeated in the beginning all the monuments as we stopped for the van to pick up new passenger, of which there were none. Think of a recording that cannot readjust itself. We missed the Terezin Camp as we left berlin a day later. Loved your Berlin tour and actually took the concenrtration camp tour with Mike in Berlin which you offered. We changed from a different tour. Therefore expected the same quality in Prague. Is there some reason ww2and the Russian occupation were not addressed. Standing on the Charles Bridge before we left this group....not a word of history.....just the statues. Very odd, disappointing and a waste of time.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

Poor. I would not recommend this to anyone.Our guide, I will name and shame her "camilla" was lack luster itself. She only told us about two bridges and one of them was the Charles bridge. She didn't interact with us as a guide.Food was poor. Australian ladies we shared a table with made our evening

Doing what: Prague Night Tour and River Vltava Dinner Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

At first the trip was fine. The bus took us from the meeting point to the castle. We arrived in time for the changing of the guards, but missed most of it. Then the guide took us through the castle ad told us a lot of interesting things, but if you had a question he could not answer, so after a few I gave up. I think he only knows what he is supposed to tell and nothing else.
When we came to the Golden Streets he apparently was in a hurry because rain was coming and we did not get any time to even look in the shops.
The tour was supposed to end at the Charles Bridge, but he said goodbye at the metro station and only pointed the way to the bridge and the tour ended half an hour early. We think that was because it was raining really hard by now.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Another excellent tour!

The tour starts at the Powder Tower and ends at the Castle. 3 hours passed so fast that we have not even noticed. You'd see everything that is important to see and know about in Old Town and New Town, then you'd walk over Charls' bridge, then to the Castle.

Very rich history, various architecture styles well preserved, a lot of interesting facts. All kudos to the guide who was extremely knowledgable and accomodating: if the group expressed an interest to learn more about particular thing or to sneak into a site that was along our path but not necesserely part of the tour, she would not only allow that but provide all detail about the subject in question like that was part of the tour.

Highly recommended!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Prague's Royal Route

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

It was a typical walking tour of a castle which was rushed. The guide was knowledgeable but not enthusiastic, which made the tour somewhat boring. This tour includes the castle and waking tour down to the Charles bridge. Since we already had a city walking tour the day before, we stayed in the castle area and did not follow the group, which was a good decision. We had a wonderful lunch in a cafe overseeing the entire city and had a plenty of time to take pictures.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great morning. Lots to see. Guide very good. Worth the visit and a nice walk back to Charles bridge.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

our first night there and found that we really didn't need to do this tour. You can get the views of Prague form just going over the bridge, and the food was ordinary as was the entertainment.

Doing what: Prague Night Tour and River Vltava Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message