• USD ($)
  • English

Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Karlovy Vary (Carlsbad)

Karlovy Vary (also known as Carlsbad) is a charming spa town about a 2 hours west of Prague, all higgledy-piggledy Art Nouveau buildings and wealthy Russian tourists. Legend has it that Charles IV discovered the spring while out hunting with his ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was incredible, I never imagine how beautiful could be this place. We really enjoy it very much.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Food was awful. City was beautiful and guide was so so.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Karlovy Vary is a beautiful town. The excursion starting well with the driver showing up for the hotel pick up right on time. Once we moved to the shuttle allocated for the English tour we found out that it will be in three languages. The guide Irina was rude, condescending and behaved very unprofessional during the tour. The female driver was curt and nervous the whole day. Overall the atmosphere was tense and we couldn't wait to return to Prague.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Good morning, regrettably it was not a good experience. The City was fabulous, the sites were amazing however the tour guide was a BIG disappointment. When he spoke in the bus it was hard to understand what he was saying. He was rude and standoffish when I politely asked when we would be arriving at our destination. When we got to Karlovy Vary and he walked us thru some of he streets it was at an almost running pace, I walk fast but some of the others in the group were falling way behind. On the way back to Prague he got on the bust and sat down without saying one word and went to sleep. The bus stopped and we were let out at a different place than the place where we got on the bus originally. The place is SO beautiful and it has so much to see and so much beauty and history to bask in and unfortunately this Guide, in my estimation, ruined it. I would think with the top notch reputation that Viator has, it would have a handle on the tour guides it employs. I have used Viator many times in the past, unfortunately this tour did not leave a good impression and unfortunately it will be something that weighs in on my decision to use Viator again in the future.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Nice places but in good weather. Plus the tour guide who barely can walk.

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The city was very nice.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a great day trip if you want to see the other areas of interest besides Prague. The town was fairly concise and you can walk its entire length in no time. There were plenty of shops to go in, some of which were on the higher end. Our tour guide was nice and informative. We had a beautiful day and a nice lunch.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very enjoyable despite the rainy weather!

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Dianne
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We enjoyed this tour. The guide was very informative. The glass factory was very interesting and their showroom was very impressive. Carlsbad is very beautiful.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

wambeggy
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Karlovy Vary is a destination that one really should spend more time in and overnight at least. It is a fascinating place with a funicular to give views over the town. As it is a spa town, time should be made available to at least try the waters, and have time to 'check out' the town.
Moser Glass is also manufactured here and the visit to the factory and museum is worthwhile, but the retail shop may be slightly dangerous (to the wallet). They make some fascinating glassware - especially the blue that may turn mauve with different light.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a lovely trip. The lunch was good and the guide was knowledgeable. This town is a little gem.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Very nice, recommended

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Our tour guide was very sweet, but for the limited amount of time we had to spend in Karlovy Vary, she wasted too much of it by chatting with some of the people in our group instead of guiding us through the town. We finally arrived at our reserved restaurant which our group would eat in, and it was a low-end buffet and the place smelled terribly. My husband and I decided to go off on our own and meet the group back at the designated time to return to Prague. We ate where we wanted and toured the town at our own pace. If you can go with the group, break away and meet them later, its worth doing.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Beautiful and relaxing, not to miss the wafers ~ highly recommended.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message