Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Karlovy Vary (Carlsbad)

Karlovy Vary (also known as Carlsbad) is a charming spa town located about two hours west of Prague and full of Art Nouveau buildings and wealthy Russian tourists. Legend has it that Charles IV discovered the spring while out hunting with his dogs ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 116 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gillian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Beautiful place and worth visiting, we were lucky with the weather

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Christina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Beautiful place. Great tour guide, too.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Susan P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

I am so glad I did this trip. The Moser factory was very interesting and the town of Karlovy Vary is extremely beautiful. The reason for the low rating was with the tour company and driver and guide itself. The driver scared us by driving like a maniac. He was driving at over a 100 miles an hour often in his quest to pass every vehicle we came across.. The guide was ok, I felt sorry for him. We were a group of 3 couples all speaking a different language which was a bummer. The 2 hour drive there the guide rarely had a chance to breath explaining everything three times. When we were in the town Karlovy Vary it took much more time to get through all the explanations he needed to do in three languages taking up more of our free time in the city. Driving into the city you drive up some hills that had beautiful views of the city and it would have been nice to have a stop to take some pictures of the town. Lastly our racecar driver dropped our guide off about 10 minutes before we were back to our pickup location. Thought this was odd and also did not give us a chance to tip the guide. All in All, I would highly recommend you both the moser glass factory tour and visiting Karlovy Vary.... maybe not with Martin Tours though.

Doing what: Day-Trip to Karlovy Vary Spa with Walking Tour from Prague

Chuang-Ye H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent. The guide, a retired engineer, was an extremely knowledgeable and considerate gentleman while the towns we visited were all elegant, beautiful and interesting.

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

Natalie L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Definitely worth it. The price and what you get to see if pretty amazing. The mineral water tasting is a unique experience, and while the actual taste of the water is definitely interesting, its something different. The stop over in the Mosser Glass Factory was interesting, and they don't push you too much on what buy items. You do understand why its the glass is so expensive when you see the labor involved to create such items.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Sabine E

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Uncle Yan our guide was the best.... very knowledgeable man... with professional English... we liked Karlovy vary very mush... very beautiful place..... very nice experience.....

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

BINA Z United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Mohammed D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

do it only if you got nothing better to do and you are staying in Prague,
like the city doesn't offer much to see.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Scott K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

The use of the word Tour here is incorrect. This is actually just a private ride to KV and back to Prague. KV is absolutely beautiful, and I would love to return, but I would not buy this package. There are cheaper ways to get to town. My wife and I were expecting an english speaking guide to take us around KV and drop us off at different sites. Instead, we arrived in town, our driver who didn't speak much english, as designated dropped us off near the main part of KV, and asked when we wanted to meet later that day. This was not the service we thought we paid for. While I would recommend going to Karlovy Vary, I would not recommend getting there using this package, unless Viator uses a new service to provide a guide as well.

Doing what: Private Karlovy Vary Day Trip Including Light Refreshments from Prague

andreina s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent!

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Laura

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great trip! Jan, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable. He gave us interesting information about Prague and whatever areas we were passing through on our way to Karlovy Vary. The coach was comfortable and the ride was about an hour and a half each way. The first stop, the glass factory was interesting, but the best part, of course, is Karlovy Vary itself. It has a very special beauty and is a place I'll never forget. Lunch was pretty good too. I would highly recommend this Karlovy Vary trip!

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Nela B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Very pretty place but next time I would just catch a bus. Tour guide wasn't very informative. We stopped in glass factory where we were meant to be watching how they make the glass, but the factory was closed, so we just looked at display and watched 20min documentary. I would have skipped this if It wasn't included in the tour.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Mary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was excellent. Tour guide was knowledgeable. I would choose them again if I go back to Prague.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Chris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent and picturesque tour. Petr the guide was very informative and entertaining. Both towns were postcard perfect and are highly recommended

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

Stephanie M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

,very nice day our guide knowledgeable.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Adam S Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Both destinations were very nice but not a lot of guidance from the driver/guide - basically left on my own for most of the day. More effort from the guide would have made the tour better.

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

Nan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Nice tour for one time visit. Enjoyed the glass blowing demonstration. Lunch was mediocre and delayed which seemed strange since all had pre-ordered on bus that morning. City is super clean with beautiful flowers. Possible to swim at spa if you like.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Jerrold L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fascinating. Guide was excellent.

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

MOHAMED A M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent arrangement, very decent and knowledgable guide. Fantastic place. Very good restuarant and lunch!

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Cristina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Karlovy Vary is a must see. Excellent tour. The lunch was good. The trip to the glass factory was very interesting. We loved our guide, Camilla. She had a lot of information to share with us.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Amanda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour! It was nice to get out of the city and see some of the Czech Republic. Karlovy Vary should not be missed!

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Terry

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Karlovy Vary was lovely and worth visiting. If you want more time in the the town do a trip without the visit to the glass factory.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Housewifetravel United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I got lucky twice on booking group tour but getting a private, bcz of luck of tourists. Even with hall group it would be very nice trip. Worth it !!!

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

Manish A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

everything was perfect , tour guide was perfect , please keep option for vegetarian food

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message