Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Karlovy Vary (Carlsbad)

Karlovy Vary (also known as Carlsbad) is a charming spa town about a 2 hours west of Prague, all higgledy-piggledy Art Nouveau buildings and wealthy Russian tourists. Legend has it that Charles IV discovered the spring while out hunting with his ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 94 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour! It was nice to get out of the city and see some of the Czech Republic. Karlovy Vary should not be missed!

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Housewifetravel
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I got lucky twice on booking group tour but getting a private, bcz of luck of tourists. Even with hall group it would be very nice trip. Worth it !!!

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

everything was perfect , tour guide was perfect , please keep option for vegetarian food

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

We can visit only 2 streets in Karlovy Vary and it was not enough free time to see more.
Buses, guide and food was OK.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The guide was so lazy didn't introduce much things to us, we came back to Prague 3 hours before estimated time, and we had to wait for her all the time during the tour time, e.g. Wait for her playing with pedestrian's babies, wait for her toilet needs. But those are nice and beautiful cities tho.

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

sydneyboi
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

I really wanted to like this long day trip, however - we were supposed to leave on the bus back at 430pm but out of the group of 30 some people complained they didn't have enough time to explore the towns. The tour guide said at the begginging of the day we would come back at 430pm but we didn't end up leaving till 515pm. Due to this and hitting heavy traffic on the way back no doubt occurred from leaving later I missed out on my dinner plans arriving back at 8pm, not impressed! This only added to an already very long day.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulous tour.. The sights of Karlovy Vary are fantastic. Such a beautiful place. The entire tour was awesome. The guide, Jan was really friendly and tried to accommodate all our requirements. I highly recommend this tour. Viator provided this tour via the tour company.

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a nine hour tour from Prague to the Karlovy spa area with lunch included. The tour was exactly what we wanted. Karlovy was a beautiful town; shopping was great, and our lunch was very good. The architecture of Karlovy is definitely worth seeing, and we would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great trip...Highly recommend.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Bad weather and a weak guide meant this was a very limited tour. The tour consists of walking around the two spa towns and sampling the water (they drink it) at the locations. These are dominantly Russian tourist sites, as they seem to be the dominant crowd in the area. Very attractive locations, and an opportunity to see some countryside outside of Prague.

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Karlovy Vary is just beautiful - could have stayed much longer than the tour allowed. Plenty of free time to long around which is always a bonus. The visit to the Moser Glass Factory was actually the reason we chose the tour and we were not disappointed. It was A long day but well worth it. Can definitely recommend Karlovy Vary and this tour.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

It's just a village. Not much to do for 2 hours free time..

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day trip from Prague. Glass factory was fascinating. Lunch was very tasty. Friendly tour guide.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

KARLOVY Vary is the most interesting place to visit. Beautiful! Don't miss gong to the Grand Pupp Hotel where James Bond made several movies and the " Last Holiday" was made.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Excellent guide. Very friendly/amusing/informative. Meal at hotel just so-so, but the rest was very good.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

There was way too much time for shopping

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Don't bother with this tour its all bad and I really can't think of anything good to say. At our second stop I asked if there was a bathroom and was promptly told no get on the bud and wait an hour and a half. At one stage we lost a member of our party and the tour guide said to the upset partner "you should of taken better care of him" and refused to offer any assistance in locating this lost chap. The glass factory was ok, the hot springs were nothing, lunch was disgusting and you have to pay for your own drinks. The town is lovely but there was way too much time for shopping. Then on the way home our bus broke down and we were kicked off and told to walk the 3kms home with no other option given. So no save your money and do a different tour.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Karlovy vary was definitely worth visiting, very pretty. The trip was well organised but the lunch could have been better.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very interesting tour, good guide, and comfortable pace. Lovely scenery during trip and beautiful old buildings in villages. Yummy Czech wafers - wish I had bought a few boxes of them. Loved the fact that there was such a variance in the things we did on the tour

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was incredible, I never imagine how beautiful could be this place. We really enjoy it very much.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Food was awful. City was beautiful and guide was so so.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Karlovy Vary is a beautiful town. The excursion starting well with the driver showing up for the hotel pick up right on time. Once we moved to the shuttle allocated for the English tour we found out that it will be in three languages. The guide Irina was rude, condescending and behaved very unprofessional during the tour. The female driver was curt and nervous the whole day. Overall the atmosphere was tense and we couldn't wait to return to Prague.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

the purpose of my trip to Karlovy vary was to go to the spas. Our guide wasn't helpful at all. we told him we had brought our bathing suits and wanted to go to the spa. we went for lunch and left our bathing suits etc. on the bus thinking we would go back to the bus and he would take us to the spas. the bus left and we spent the rest of the day wandering about the city. we told him we were very disappointed we weren't told about the option of going to the spas or just walk around the town. He just waved his hands and said "Oh well" the town was great but very unhappy with our guide.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Good morning, regrettably it was not a good experience. The City was fabulous, the sites were amazing however the tour guide was a BIG disappointment. When he spoke in the bus it was hard to understand what he was saying. He was rude and standoffish when I politely asked when we would be arriving at our destination. When we got to Karlovy Vary and he walked us thru some of he streets it was at an almost running pace, I walk fast but some of the others in the group were falling way behind. On the way back to Prague he got on the bust and sat down without saying one word and went to sleep. The bus stopped and we were let out at a different place than the place where we got on the bus originally. The place is SO beautiful and it has so much to see and so much beauty and history to bask in and unfortunately this Guide, in my estimation, ruined it. I would think with the top notch reputation that Viator has, it would have a handle on the tour guides it employs. I have used Viator many times in the past, unfortunately this tour did not leave a good impression and unfortunately it will be something that weighs in on my decision to use Viator again in the future.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message