• USD ($)
  • English

Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Karlovy Vary (Carlsbad)

Karlovy Vary (also known as Carlsbad) is a charming spa town about a 2 hours west of Prague, all higgledy-piggledy Art Nouveau buildings and wealthy Russian tourists. Legend has it that Charles IV discovered the spring while out hunting with his ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very enjoyable despite the rainy weather!

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Dianne
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We enjoyed this tour. The guide was very informative. The glass factory was very interesting and their showroom was very impressive. Carlsbad is very beautiful.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

wambeggy
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Karlovy Vary is a destination that one really should spend more time in and overnight at least. It is a fascinating place with a funicular to give views over the town. As it is a spa town, time should be made available to at least try the waters, and have time to 'check out' the town.
Moser Glass is also manufactured here and the visit to the factory and museum is worthwhile, but the retail shop may be slightly dangerous (to the wallet). They make some fascinating glassware - especially the blue that may turn mauve with different light.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a lovely trip. The lunch was good and the guide was knowledgeable. This town is a little gem.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Very nice, recommended

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Our tour guide was very sweet, but for the limited amount of time we had to spend in Karlovy Vary, she wasted too much of it by chatting with some of the people in our group instead of guiding us through the town. We finally arrived at our reserved restaurant which our group would eat in, and it was a low-end buffet and the place smelled terribly. My husband and I decided to go off on our own and meet the group back at the designated time to return to Prague. We ate where we wanted and toured the town at our own pace. If you can go with the group, break away and meet them later, its worth doing.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Beautiful and relaxing, not to miss the wafers ~ highly recommended.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Vasilios L
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

The visit to Mossel Glass was interesting and seeing their Gallery of past works was interesting but way out of the price range of most people. Then the visit to the township was great as there was also a car rally happening on the same day. Walking the main street was so great as the variety of building nesseled in the valley so so nice. Great to also have an opportunity to sit in a park to lisen to some music. The itinerary means you have plenty of time to explore at your own time but for some it can easlierly become boring. Especialy if you get the tour guide that we had. He spoke often in a boring monotone and when asked a queston that was not on the script he would often resort to saying "I am a city person and I do not know the answer." This then means it makes it hard to add customer interest to improve the total experince. Karlov Vary is beautiful but maybe with some other tuor guide.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Guide was terrible. Lunch which was included was terrible

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

While in Prague, my friend and I took approximately three tours, but this was by far the worst tour! The bus picked us up at the hotel and brought us to a central meeting spot. We then waited for another bus to bring us to Karlovy Vary. There was both an English speaking and a Spanish speaking tour guide on the bus, which was fine because we were a small group. I imagine if the group was larger, it would have been very difficult to hear anything. The tour guide was nice enough, but I would hardly call him a guide, more of a chaperone. He gave a little bit of history about Prague itself, and then when we got to Karlovy Vary he walked slowly through the town. The guide was unable to answer questions and it seemed that he needed to stick to his script. When an elderly woman needed to take a break he became completely flustered and continued the tour with little regard for the woman. The tour also indicated a visit to the Moser glass shop, which meant as we walked by the shop the tour leader said "This is the Moser Glass Shop." We did not stop in to see anything. The bus which was promised to be air conditioned was not! It was incredibly hot, with no circulation at all. When we asked the bus driver to turn on the air conditioning he appeared upset. Overall, I would not recommend this trip to fellow travelers. The town itself was quite lovely, and would have been great to see at our own pace. If you are interested in seeing Karlovy Vary, make an appointment at a spa and take public transportation to the town!

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Yet another outstanding tour and tour guide! the spa wafers are a must! We brought three boxes home to enjoy! Lunch was very tasty and the restaurant service was great.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We went by a van rather than a couch, not very comfortable for trips of 2+ hours one way.

Guide is OK and lunch is included.

Visiting the "glass museum" and watching the production of hand-made glass products are not very interesting. I would rather spend the time in walking around the town.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Karlovy Vary was a beautiful spot. There were many interesting things to see. I would like to return and spend some time at a spa. The Moser Glass factory was wonderful. It is gret that that our takes you right up close to the glass blowing. The drive was good. Unfortunately while the guide was knowledgeable his presentation was boring ad often repetitive. I am sure there are better guides, to bad we did not get one.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

I enjoyed the tour surprised many people dont comment about it, enjoyed the guides food recommendation but i got tired of seeing springs. though and it rained...lol...

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The trip to Karlovy Vary was most enjoyable. The tour was a lovely size at 23 people. The guide was well informed and easily understandable. We became used to the three language (English/French/Spanish) guide translations. The lunch was served efficiently and was very good. My constructive feedback is that the name of the local tour group appear on the email voucher. The "yellow kiosk" as a meeting place was helpful but I was initially not sure that it was the correct tour.

M. Hutchinson

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message