Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Karlovy Vary (Carlsbad)

Karlovy Vary (also known as Carlsbad) is a charming spa town about a 2 hours west of Prague, all higgledy-piggledy Art Nouveau buildings and wealthy Russian tourists. Legend has it that Charles IV discovered the spring while out hunting with his ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Karlovy Vary is just beautiful - could have stayed much longer than the tour allowed. Plenty of free time to long around which is always a bonus. The visit to the Moser Glass Factory was actually the reason we chose the tour and we were not disappointed. It was A long day but well worth it. Can definitely recommend Karlovy Vary and this tour.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

It's just a village. Not much to do for 2 hours free time..

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day trip from Prague. Glass factory was fascinating. Lunch was very tasty. Friendly tour guide.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

KARLOVY Vary is the most interesting place to visit. Beautiful! Don't miss gong to the Grand Pupp Hotel where James Bond made several movies and the " Last Holiday" was made.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Excellent guide. Very friendly/amusing/informative. Meal at hotel just so-so, but the rest was very good.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

There was way too much time for shopping

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Don't bother with this tour its all bad and I really can't think of anything good to say. At our second stop I asked if there was a bathroom and was promptly told no get on the bud and wait an hour and a half. At one stage we lost a member of our party and the tour guide said to the upset partner "you should of taken better care of him" and refused to offer any assistance in locating this lost chap. The glass factory was ok, the hot springs were nothing, lunch was disgusting and you have to pay for your own drinks. The town is lovely but there was way too much time for shopping. Then on the way home our bus broke down and we were kicked off and told to walk the 3kms home with no other option given. So no save your money and do a different tour.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Karlovy vary was definitely worth visiting, very pretty. The trip was well organised but the lunch could have been better.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very interesting tour, good guide, and comfortable pace. Lovely scenery during trip and beautiful old buildings in villages. Yummy Czech wafers - wish I had bought a few boxes of them. Loved the fact that there was such a variance in the things we did on the tour

Doing what: Czech Spas of Karlovy Vary and Marianske Lazne from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was incredible, I never imagine how beautiful could be this place. We really enjoy it very much.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Food was awful. City was beautiful and guide was so so.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Karlovy Vary is a beautiful town. The excursion starting well with the driver showing up for the hotel pick up right on time. Once we moved to the shuttle allocated for the English tour we found out that it will be in three languages. The guide Irina was rude, condescending and behaved very unprofessional during the tour. The female driver was curt and nervous the whole day. Overall the atmosphere was tense and we couldn't wait to return to Prague.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

the purpose of my trip to Karlovy vary was to go to the spas. Our guide wasn't helpful at all. we told him we had brought our bathing suits and wanted to go to the spa. we went for lunch and left our bathing suits etc. on the bus thinking we would go back to the bus and he would take us to the spas. the bus left and we spent the rest of the day wandering about the city. we told him we were very disappointed we weren't told about the option of going to the spas or just walk around the town. He just waved his hands and said "Oh well" the town was great but very unhappy with our guide.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Good morning, regrettably it was not a good experience. The City was fabulous, the sites were amazing however the tour guide was a BIG disappointment. When he spoke in the bus it was hard to understand what he was saying. He was rude and standoffish when I politely asked when we would be arriving at our destination. When we got to Karlovy Vary and he walked us thru some of he streets it was at an almost running pace, I walk fast but some of the others in the group were falling way behind. On the way back to Prague he got on the bust and sat down without saying one word and went to sleep. The bus stopped and we were let out at a different place than the place where we got on the bus originally. The place is SO beautiful and it has so much to see and so much beauty and history to bask in and unfortunately this Guide, in my estimation, ruined it. I would think with the top notch reputation that Viator has, it would have a handle on the tour guides it employs. I have used Viator many times in the past, unfortunately this tour did not leave a good impression and unfortunately it will be something that weighs in on my decision to use Viator again in the future.

Doing what: Karlovy Vary Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message