• USD ($)
  • English

Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Karlstejn Castle

The Gothic Karlstejn Castle sits high atop a hill, looming over the village of the same name 18 miles southwest of Prague. Charles IV, King of Bohemia, founded the castle in 1348 as a kind of safe for the Imperial Regalia and for his personal ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was almost an hour getting on the road from the Municipal Square and we had to then pick up someone at Old Town Square for some unaccountable reason. The guide on the way out was a bit loquacious but kept things moving. Everyone should be warned that the "walk" up to the castle from the parking area is not easy. And not for the faint of heart. Be warned. At the castle, there was another long wait. That said, the young man who showed us around the castle was absolutely terrific. Alas, I didn't get his name. A wonderful history lesson.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Wonderful wonderful day. Daniel, our tour guide, was knowledgeable, fun and organized. Made new friends and saw Prague and its countryside by bike. Would recommend to anyone!

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Bike Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour was great and we loved our guide, Nazar. I would recommend the tour for active people though. There were quite a few hills and the walk to the castle itself is quite strenuous. The castle and surrounding village are both beautiful. It was neat to see the countryside on the ride there.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Bike Trip from Prague

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Disappointment. The trip started an hour late and ended 30 minutes early. It was suppose to be a 4 ½ hour trip, it was only 3 hours. We never got to go inside the castle, but only viewed it from the outside. I think they cut the tour short because of the late start. Then the tour guide lied (Wahoo) he said they don’t allow tours inside the castle because of humidity in the summer. Yet tours were going into the castle at that time. And you could buy tickets to go into the castle. When I comforted the tour guide on this he said there was nothing he could do about it and we had to return to Prague in a few minutes. First time Viator user and likely last time.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great way to spend some time out of the busy city and see another side of the Czech Republic. The ride was an easy ride although it is very tiring. The restaurant stop was perfect for local Czech cuisine and the tour guide was very easy going. He made sure the equipment was ok and stopped several times to make sure all guests were doing well. The price does not include the tour of the Castle so be prepared to pay additional for a tour of the castle.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Bike Trip from Prague

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

The guide was not very good. Her english was also not good . She had little knowledge about the castle.
The castle initself is not very great. We were for 2.5 days in Prague and I would not recommend this for such a short trip. Not good for value of money !

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

glen
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2013

Not a bad day

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Karlstejn is beautifull castle. Trip was well organized definitly worth the money. Thanks

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Better done in Summer not late October since they close off part of the castle.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent if you like cycling in the wilderness

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Bike Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

It was fair. I like the tour guide. Very old man with good knowledge. Wish to spend more time with the castle and do the Tour #3 tower tour, but there is not enough time.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great experience. Awesome guides who spoke great English. Fun ride at a reasonable pace. Beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Bike Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Pretty exhausting, but worth it. I had an enjoyable company. Bare in mind that the entrance fee to castle is not included.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Bike Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

The castle itself is great, medieval, the location is in the forest, very pretty. The actual tour of the castle is 50 minutes long with the local guide in the castle, but during the trip the tour guide gives you a lot of information.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was one of the top highlights of our trip to Europe. The ride was beautiful and fun. There were really nice people in our group and our guide Yaakov was terrific! When we got to Karlstejn we had a really delicious lunch at a cafe there (included in the price) and then toured the castle. It was an all day event, but great. Loved it!

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Bike Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message