Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Karlstejn Castle

The Gothic Karlstejn Castle sits high atop a hill, looming over the village of the same name 18 miles southwest of Prague. Charles IV, King of Bohemia, founded the castle in 1348 as a kind of safe for the Imperial Regalia and for his personal ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent Trip. Really enjoyed the 35k bike ride. Karlstejn Castle was a real surprise. Ride is 95% flat along river banks. Our tour guide, Sasha was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Even though it was raining on the day, it was still most enjoyable. Sasha, the tour guide was great. Even though we were the "oldies" in the group, he made sure we were not left behind.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was fantastic, very informative about history and local sites. The bike ride was beautiful, and well worth the time to experience the countryside outside of Prague. I would say that you should know that the route is not as flat as described. It can be a little challenging to ride on cobblestone streets and through some areas of heavy morning traffic in Prague, and there are inclines along the route that would be difficult for inexperienced riders. People with bad knees, like myself, may find the hilly parts of the ride challenging and the pace too fast. Our guide did adjust the pace when needed however. Overall it was a great experience which I would be willing to do again. My husband did not find the ride challenging, but he is very used to hill riding and road racing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

18 miles is a lot of biking when you're not used to it, be aware that you will probably be saddle sore for a few days afterward. That being said, biking through the countryside was beautiful. Our guide, Travis, was quite knowledgable about Czech history and culture. There were only a couple of big hills to deal with, the majority of the ride was fairly flat. The tour price does not include entrance to the interior of the castle. You can get into the exterior courtyard and look around the outside but a tour of the interior is an extra cost and the tour is conducted once an hour. We chose not to do the interior tour. The train ride back to town was quick and easy. All in all this was an excellent tour and was the highlight of our Prague vacation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip was an absolute 5 star perfect day for all (2 parents, 2 kids age 15 and 17).

Easy to find the start location. Bikes were selected for our height...and the bikes were of good quality. Brief fitting of saddle height. Then a short ride thru Prague to test the fit and a short tour of several local buildings. Then we set off along the Vltava.

The route is flat and very scenic. 32 km in distance. We stopped periodically to regroup and 1 20 minute stop for refreshments about halfway I had a beer.

At Karlstejn we had a fabulous lunch and then the castle tour which was excellent.

Then a 5 minute ride to the train station in Karlstejn, and a 45 minute train ride back to Prague. Then 5 or 10 minutes more cycling back to the start location.

The guide was excellent. Friendly, patient, informative.

Truly a fantastic day, perhaps our best day in the Czech Republic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Daniele our tour guide was great. It wasn't a bad ride at all so even if you are an intermediate rider you will be fine. Very happy that we took a train home.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour. Was a long and hot day, but our time was not diminished by uncooperative weather! Daniel was an excellent guide and made this trip so much fun. Lunch was good and Karlstejn Castle was beautiful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a perfect tour, especially made possible by our exceptional tour guide, Sasha!
Would highly recommend it to others looking for a different way to see and learn about
Prague and it's surroundings than a typical bus tour. Would not have changed a thing...

Dr. Bob Nelson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was a great escape from the city. Our tour guide was Nick and he was really knowledgeable about Czech history and customs. I don't think there was a question that he could not answer! If you want to see a different side of the Czech Republic and a pretty cool castle stuck in the middle of some mountains, I would definitely recommend it! Make sure you're ready for a good amount of biking!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was almost an hour getting on the road from the Municipal Square and we had to then pick up someone at Old Town Square for some unaccountable reason. The guide on the way out was a bit loquacious but kept things moving. Everyone should be warned that the "walk" up to the castle from the parking area is not easy. And not for the faint of heart. Be warned. At the castle, there was another long wait. That said, the young man who showed us around the castle was absolutely terrific. Alas, I didn't get his name. A wonderful history lesson.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Wonderful wonderful day. Daniel, our tour guide, was knowledgeable, fun and organized. Made new friends and saw Prague and its countryside by bike. Would recommend to anyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour was great and we loved our guide, Nazar. I would recommend the tour for active people though. There were quite a few hills and the walk to the castle itself is quite strenuous. The castle and surrounding village are both beautiful. It was neat to see the countryside on the ride there.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Disappointment. The trip started an hour late and ended 30 minutes early. It was suppose to be a 4 ½ hour trip, it was only 3 hours. We never got to go inside the castle, but only viewed it from the outside. I think they cut the tour short because of the late start. Then the tour guide lied (Wahoo) he said they don’t allow tours inside the castle because of humidity in the summer. Yet tours were going into the castle at that time. And you could buy tickets to go into the castle. When I comforted the tour guide on this he said there was nothing he could do about it and we had to return to Prague in a few minutes. First time Viator user and likely last time.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great way to spend some time out of the busy city and see another side of the Czech Republic. The ride was an easy ride although it is very tiring. The restaurant stop was perfect for local Czech cuisine and the tour guide was very easy going. He made sure the equipment was ok and stopped several times to make sure all guests were doing well. The price does not include the tour of the Castle so be prepared to pay additional for a tour of the castle.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

The guide was not very good. Her english was also not good . She had little knowledge about the castle.
The castle initself is not very great. We were for 2.5 days in Prague and I would not recommend this for such a short trip. Not good for value of money !

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message