Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Karlstejn Castle

The Gothic Karlstejn Castle sits high atop a hill, looming over the village of the same name 18 miles southwest of Prague. Charles IV, King of Bohemia, founded the castle in 1348 as a kind of safe for the Imperial Regalia and for his personal ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tana D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Well worth the trip. Beautiful castle. Would not have done it on my own. Definitely recommend for castle enthusiasts

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Benjamin W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great little half day out and our guide was very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

prempais India

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We truly enjoyed this tour. We were lucky that our trip was on the day of the annual wine festival. The castle was full of people dressed in medieval costume, jugglers and a parade of the King and his court on horseback in armour. It was a good day

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Don G S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was very professional and knowledgeable. The transportation first rate and the driver polite and professional. We enjoyed the experience very much.

Doing what: Private Tour: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Tour from Prague

Anthony C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great guide, lovely half day trip

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Marilyn B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Bike Trip from Prague

Martha H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful tour. Our guide was not only very knowledgable about the castle- but gave us a short history lesson on the way there and back.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Mojisola A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Lovely day and ride to the castle. Very knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Matthew A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Excellent experience. Easy ride, beautiful destination. We had a very small group, so we were able to tailor the experience to suit our preferences.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Bike Trip from Prague

Katya C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The site is very interesting and I suggest a visit, but the guide we had was not the best. Also, the village is picturesque and we would gladly have an extra hour for lunch there but it was not planned. We had an hour before our tour and could've spent it in a village. All together this trip could be packaged a bit better. Inthusiastic and positive guide would help also.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

kjeriley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I really enjoyed this bike tour- it's the third of it's kind that I've done, but was definitely the longest. Eighteen miles in the saddle is decent length trip, especially for those unaccustomed to riding for that long. There were about 3 hills that were fairly steep that required a little extra umph to get up. Our small group of 5 elected not to tour the castle, just admire the grounds and buildings. What they neglect to tell you is that there is a pretty steep walk to get up to the castle- no moat needed to keep this place safe!

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Bike Trip from Prague

Sagnik K D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour of a medieval castle. Great exterior with a somewhat spas interior, but still a great historical site. Very knowledgeable guide. Buy a carriage trip to the castle as walking on a hot day is a pain. Carriage is cheap.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

ROXANNE G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!! I would highly recommend it if you like to bike and want to see Czech in a different view.

The tour can be up to 10 bikers but when we did it, it was only my husband and I. It was great! We bike often so we were able to keep a good pace and ended early. There are a few breaks during the bike ride. There are a few uphill sections. You go through a bunch of different terrain- smooth bike path, city cobbles stones, rocky pavement, and uneven surfaces. I wouldn't recommend it for beginner riders.

After biking 22 miles, it was a little tiring to climb the steep hills to get to the castle but worth it! Nice view. We opted not to go into the castle as we have seen others before and just spent time browsing the many shops along the way. which I found was cheaper than in Prague city center. Eg. Shirts were 150-200kc.

Jacob, our bike/tour guide, was excellent. He gave us good explanations of everything and catered to our level of biking ability. The restaurant we stopped at was excellent. Try the chicken noodle soup and chicken schnitzel. Its amazing!

The train ride back to Prague was relaxing. It was a few minutes from the castle area. There is a train car for bikes so it wasn't bad. 40 min ride and then another 5 min bike back to the shop. Praha Bike Shop is a few minutes walk from Old Town Square which was convenient for us

There was an issue on start time- Viator's voucher says 9am but they said it really starts at 9:30 and that Viator got it wrong. So we had to wait a little longer than expected. I would recommend calling the bike shop when you arrive to confirm meeting time to avoid any confusion.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Bike Trip from Prague

Kimberly Craig S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

As we were unable to find the office to meet at by using their easy directions, we did not arrive in time, despite allowing 45 minutes and trying to call the office repeatedly. Even a lovely helpful local could not make out where the office was from the directions we had printed from the booking.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Bike Trip from Prague

Adam S Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The castle is amazing from outside and well worth a visit however this tour does not include the best rooms inside, so if you want to see these you will need to ask and pay extra.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Elle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience highly recommend this.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

forcora

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Now I know what Gothic means as opposed to other architecture styles. The guide was good about answering questions and adding details!

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Gary J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The castle was very interesting, but tour was poorly organized. Had to hike up very steep hill quickly then wait for one hour because tour operator didn't have entrance until 11:40. No headphones were provided. Very difficult to hear the guide. Suggest you drop off in the village meet at the top.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

phyllis.reid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very enjoyable tour and very private only 6 of us. Our tour guide Helene spoke in English and Italian. She was very knowledgeable about the Czech Republic and describing the countryside along the drive. Once at the castle, we had an internal tour guide who was very knowledgeable about the castle and Charles the IV. Very interesting!

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Paola T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed our time. We were part of a small friendly group and our guide was excellent. The castle and village nearby are great. Really worth going.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Paola T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed our time. We were part of a small friendly group and our guide was excellent. The castle and village nearby are great. Really worth going.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Paola T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed our time. We were part of a small friendly group and our guide was excellent. The castle and village nearby are great. Really worth going.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Paola T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed our time. We were part of a small friendly group and our guide was excellent. The castle and village nearby are great. Really worth going.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Paola T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed our time. We were part of a small friendly group and our guide was excellent. The castle and village nearby are great. Really worth going.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message