Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Konopiste Chateau

Built in the 13th century, the Konopiště Chateau was originally built in the Early Gothic era on the model of a French castellum near Prague. Renaissance and Baroque reconstruction changed the castle into a grand stately home. At the end of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely amazing! The castle was one of the most interesting castles I have ever visited. The weapons collection is unbelievable. I would definitely like to go back some day.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

It's a nice place to visit, no regrets there. But we were picked up 45 mins late and ran into traffic. Our guide let us watch the birds of prey, only to miss our tour by 5 mins :- Got replaced by another tour not what we had booked and not in French as we had requested. And after that we didn't even have enough time to visit the garden.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Driver was helpful, accommodating and good. Actual tour fell short of expectations. We weren't even shown the medieval weapons collection as mentioned in the description. It seemed like a rip off and felt cut short. The guide didn't explain things, which she said she would touch on later, but then never did. We were herded through quickly in a huge group. Note that photography is not allowed inside the chateau. The gardens were also a disappointment, no flowers at all in August, perhaps because of the drought though? If the thought of seeing thousands of dead animals disgusts you, definitely skip this tour. It was recommended to me, but I would not recommend it to others. The man Franz Ferdinand seems like he was a ruthless, yet cowardly killer many of his hunts were baited and assisted and the majority of our group left feeling awkward and a little sick inside. :p

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I very much enjoyed seeing this castle and learning more about it's owner. I felt badly since I was the only one to take the tour on this day.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The tour is a van ride to/from the base of the castle.You then pay For a shuttle up to the castle itself. The tour of the castle was fantastic and informative but done by a castle guide. Tour price includes additional exhibits but we never got to see these our guide took us back to the van after.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Interesting if you like weapons and animal trophies! Pretty run down - if you have seen chateaus in France this is a poor cousin. Wouldn't put it on the must do list

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

We were picked up at the designated location at the correct time. We had a guide and a driver. No one else had booked the tour so we had a private tour. The guide was informative and kind. The trip took 50 mintues to the castle. There is no good place to take a picture of the castle as shown in the image here. The opportunity diod not exist. Inside the castle was just OK. No pictrures were allowed inside but there were may animal trophies. I believe she said he had killed over 30,000 animals in his life. The most interesting part of the castle was the extensive armor room. It was equipped with all types of weapons and armor including armor for horses which we found interesting. I gave this event a two star rating because the castle is surrounded by trees and there are no good pictures of the exterior of the castle and no pictures were allowed insdie. The garden was a mess because it was not in season. The pond or lake around the castle was drained last year and no signs of it being filled up again. We expected more.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

NICE CASTLE BUT TOUR VERY SHORT . YOU HAD TO PAY EXTRA TO SEE THE REST OF THE CASTLE

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Konopiste Castle is incredible. One huge 'man-cave' with animal trophies everywhere. All sorts of hunting equipment was on display and the craftsmanship in the old guns was unbelievable. Timber wall panelling, ceilings etc made this a spectacular day. This is a must see destination. As to the tour service - well it was the worst we have ever experienced. It turned out we were the one persons on the bus and the guide, Edward, was not at all happy to be on duty. He gave no commentary all the drive to and from the venue. On arrival he ran up to the castle and we were left to struggle up the long hill walk to get there. We found him at the castle entrance and he gave us entry tickets. He told us what time to meet him where we were dropped off, and he then disappeared. Go on this tour for the castle but don't expect much from the bus guide. It is a pity they do not allow photos in the castle since they would be great to show friends who may then be interested in making the tour.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was wonderful. He not only gave us a fine trip to the castle but he made it a riding tour as well. He stopped at interesting places at our request and others at his recomendation. He was knowledgeable and interesting. Thums up here.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was an easy trip from Prague. Our your guide was good. We enjoyed the castle.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great day-trip from Prague. Interior of castle is more impressive than Prague's Castle.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Unexpectedly well preserved castle with a lot of things to see inside.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Quite an interesting guided castle tour as we learn so much about history and life of the previous owners of the castle. It was like a private tour as there were only 4 of us in the group for English-speaking guide.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is a must see day excursion out of Prague for travelers who want to understand the history of this beautiful country. Our guide was fantastic and gave us a really good insight into every day life in the Czech Republic. A really nice break from the crowded tourist scene in Prague.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Interesting and caring guides. Beautiful castle. Disgusted they have a captive live bear in horrible conditions on the grounds.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a great tour of the castle. Castle guide was really good and we had a great afternoon even though the weather was not kind to us. We were a very small group however our travel guide was not so good - even so the trip was worth it as this was a fantastic location with a great castle guide.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This castle was a hunter's dream come true. Our guide Maria was great and there were just the 4 of us on a small bus, which made it great.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

An interesting tour though one paced. The castle was different to the many others I visited whilst travelling through neighbouring countries. This castle was more realistic and not "glitzy" like the many others. The weapons and armament display was awesome. The history of the man obsessed with the shooting of animals was quite simply disgusting. But it is a worthwhile visit as it seems to be off the mainstream "tourist" agenda.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

The tour of the castle itself was good and it is very interesting but a very long drive in both directions versus the time at the castle itself which was quite short by comparison. Also no photos allowed to be taken inside castle which is disappointing.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A really beautiful castle and some of the most amazing armory. The tour was well organized and the information was very interesting.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Overall a nice visit to this impressive castle of franz ferdinand ! Our only critique was that the tour of the interior involved only the rooms showing the armory and collections of animal trophies from his hunting. After 4-5 rooms of this it became repetitive for the hour tour. The tour did not include a visit to the private chambers of the Ferdinand family and a stroll around the gardens which would have been nice. A tour of these areas is available to any visitor that are not part of the booked tour who go on their own. It is still an impressive visit but we personally would have liked the tour company to provide a more comprehensive experience than just the armory and hunting rooms. It is a short drive from Prague so there is plenty of time to make the tour more detailed in the time alloted.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The trip was a lot of fun. We got picked up right in from of where we were staying, and our driver Daniel was a pleasure. We were the only two on this trip, but it would have been comfortable with other people in the van as well.

Konopiste Castle was great. Incredible history, especially the weapons collection in the tour. My wife and I also enjoyed the looking at the shooting range and the fact that there was a bear in the moat. I would recommend this!

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Would not recommend this tour to anyone. The guide from the bus spoke very poor English. Once at the castle we were passed on to the castle guide. She spoke better English but knew very little about the exhibits and the castle, it felt like she memorized a poem start to end and she was just reciting it. There are plenty of weapons, flasks, armors and hunting trophies, but it feels like such a waste that they are not really explained properly. Sadly, you are not allowed to take pictures of the interiors, that would have saved a bit of the experience. After the castle visit you are ushered into the castle shop and after a 10 minute walk to the road you are left in a souvenirs area while you wait for the bus for another half an hour. Our small 4 person group was very disappointed in the human element of the tour.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The castle was great and it was good to be outside the city only down side was it was the last day the castle was open for the season but the souvenir and cafe were closed already

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message