Johannesburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Kruger National Park

One of South Africa’s premier attractions, Kruger National Park is famous the world over for the extent and diversity of its wildlife. The “Big Five” of game are all there: buffalo, elephants, leopards, lions, and rhinoceroses. A world-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Konopiste Castle is incredible. One huge 'man-cave' with animal trophies everywhere. All sorts of hunting equipment was on display and the craftsmanship in the old guns was unbelievable. Timber wall panelling, ceilings etc made this a spectacular day. This is a must see destination. As to the tour service - well it was the worst we have ever experienced. It turned out we were the one persons on the bus and the guide, Edward, was not at all happy to be on duty. He gave no commentary all the drive to and from the venue. On arrival he ran up to the castle and we were left to struggle up the long hill walk to get there. We found him at the castle entrance and he gave us entry tickets. He told us what time to meet him where we were dropped off, and he then disappeared. Go on this tour for the castle but don't expect much from the bus guide. It is a pity they do not allow photos in the castle since they would be great to show friends who may then be interested in making the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was wonderful. He not only gave us a fine trip to the castle but he made it a riding tour as well. He stopped at interesting places at our request and others at his recomendation. He was knowledgeable and interesting. Thums up here.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was an easy trip from Prague. Our your guide was good. We enjoyed the castle.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great day-trip from Prague. Interior of castle is more impressive than Prague's Castle.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Unexpectedly well preserved castle with a lot of things to see inside.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Quite an interesting guided castle tour as we learn so much about history and life of the previous owners of the castle. It was like a private tour as there were only 4 of us in the group for English-speaking guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is a must see day excursion out of Prague for travelers who want to understand the history of this beautiful country. Our guide was fantastic and gave us a really good insight into every day life in the Czech Republic. A really nice break from the crowded tourist scene in Prague.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Interesting and caring guides. Beautiful castle. Disgusted they have a captive live bear in horrible conditions on the grounds.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a great tour of the castle. Castle guide was really good and we had a great afternoon even though the weather was not kind to us. We were a very small group however our travel guide was not so good - even so the trip was worth it as this was a fantastic location with a great castle guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This castle was a hunter's dream come true. Our guide Maria was great and there were just the 4 of us on a small bus, which made it great.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

An interesting tour though one paced. The castle was different to the many others I visited whilst travelling through neighbouring countries. This castle was more realistic and not "glitzy" like the many others. The weapons and armament display was awesome. The history of the man obsessed with the shooting of animals was quite simply disgusting. But it is a worthwhile visit as it seems to be off the mainstream "tourist" agenda.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

The tour of the castle itself was good and it is very interesting but a very long drive in both directions versus the time at the castle itself which was quite short by comparison. Also no photos allowed to be taken inside castle which is disappointing.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A really beautiful castle and some of the most amazing armory. The tour was well organized and the information was very interesting.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Overall a nice visit to this impressive castle of franz ferdinand ! Our only critique was that the tour of the interior involved only the rooms showing the armory and collections of animal trophies from his hunting. After 4-5 rooms of this it became repetitive for the hour tour. The tour did not include a visit to the private chambers of the Ferdinand family and a stroll around the gardens which would have been nice. A tour of these areas is available to any visitor that are not part of the booked tour who go on their own. It is still an impressive visit but we personally would have liked the tour company to provide a more comprehensive experience than just the armory and hunting rooms. It is a short drive from Prague so there is plenty of time to make the tour more detailed in the time alloted.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The trip was a lot of fun. We got picked up right in from of where we were staying, and our driver Daniel was a pleasure. We were the only two on this trip, but it would have been comfortable with other people in the van as well.

Konopiste Castle was great. Incredible history, especially the weapons collection in the tour. My wife and I also enjoyed the looking at the shooting range and the fact that there was a bear in the moat. I would recommend this!

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message