• USD ($)
  • English

Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Konopiste Chateau

Built in the 13th century, the Konopiště Chateau was originally built in the Early Gothic era on the model of a French castellum near Prague. Renaissance and Baroque reconstruction changed the castle into a grand stately home. At the end of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is a must see day excursion out of Prague for travelers who want to understand the history of this beautiful country. Our guide was fantastic and gave us a really good insight into every day life in the Czech Republic. A really nice break from the crowded tourist scene in Prague.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Interesting and caring guides. Beautiful castle. Disgusted they have a captive live bear in horrible conditions on the grounds.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a great tour of the castle. Castle guide was really good and we had a great afternoon even though the weather was not kind to us. We were a very small group however our travel guide was not so good - even so the trip was worth it as this was a fantastic location with a great castle guide.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This castle was a hunter's dream come true. Our guide Maria was great and there were just the 4 of us on a small bus, which made it great.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

An interesting tour though one paced. The castle was different to the many others I visited whilst travelling through neighbouring countries. This castle was more realistic and not "glitzy" like the many others. The weapons and armament display was awesome. The history of the man obsessed with the shooting of animals was quite simply disgusting. But it is a worthwhile visit as it seems to be off the mainstream "tourist" agenda.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

The tour of the castle itself was good and it is very interesting but a very long drive in both directions versus the time at the castle itself which was quite short by comparison. Also no photos allowed to be taken inside castle which is disappointing.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A really beautiful castle and some of the most amazing armory. The tour was well organized and the information was very interesting.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Overall a nice visit to this impressive castle of franz ferdinand ! Our only critique was that the tour of the interior involved only the rooms showing the armory and collections of animal trophies from his hunting. After 4-5 rooms of this it became repetitive for the hour tour. The tour did not include a visit to the private chambers of the Ferdinand family and a stroll around the gardens which would have been nice. A tour of these areas is available to any visitor that are not part of the booked tour who go on their own. It is still an impressive visit but we personally would have liked the tour company to provide a more comprehensive experience than just the armory and hunting rooms. It is a short drive from Prague so there is plenty of time to make the tour more detailed in the time alloted.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The trip was a lot of fun. We got picked up right in from of where we were staying, and our driver Daniel was a pleasure. We were the only two on this trip, but it would have been comfortable with other people in the van as well.

Konopiste Castle was great. Incredible history, especially the weapons collection in the tour. My wife and I also enjoyed the looking at the shooting range and the fact that there was a bear in the moat. I would recommend this!

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Would not recommend this tour to anyone. The guide from the bus spoke very poor English. Once at the castle we were passed on to the castle guide. She spoke better English but knew very little about the exhibits and the castle, it felt like she memorized a poem start to end and she was just reciting it. There are plenty of weapons, flasks, armors and hunting trophies, but it feels like such a waste that they are not really explained properly. Sadly, you are not allowed to take pictures of the interiors, that would have saved a bit of the experience. After the castle visit you are ushered into the castle shop and after a 10 minute walk to the road you are left in a souvenirs area while you wait for the bus for another half an hour. Our small 4 person group was very disappointed in the human element of the tour.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The castle was great and it was good to be outside the city only down side was it was the last day the castle was open for the season but the souvenir and cafe were closed already

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Nice trip if you have extra time. Problem with the guide, very limited ability to speak English.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Charissa
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

My experience on this tour was average. There was only myself and 2 Italian ladies, and the guide had not been informed that I was an English speaker, although she did try and accommodate me in her explanations. At the castle itself, the tour wasn't great. We were given audio guides and lead through one room at a time, along with a Czech couple receiving a spoken Czech tour right next to us which made it quite distracting! The castle itself is pretty interesting (the sheer amount of taxidermy/hunting "trophies" sets it apart from any other I have visited) but the "tour" aspect of it was a bit rubbish. At the end, our original guide tried to get us to look in a shop and eat something at this cafe thing, and then gave us cards for a restaurant in Prague and said to mention her name. Average day. Probably worthwhile to make the trip by yourselves if it works out cheaper.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was a wonderful side trip into the countryside outside of Prague. I am so glad we did this and Marie, our tour guide, was wonderful and knowledgable. Once we were inside the castle, we had another tour guide and she was really good too. The castle is filled with interesting artifacts and a huge collection of guns and knives dating back to the Middle Ages. We enjoyed walking around the grounds of the castle after our tour. On our short walk to the castle, we saw the beautiful lake that is on the property and the views were breathtaking. I would highly recommend this tour as a fun way to see something different on a trip to Prague, and at just four hours, it is not a huge time commitment. We really enjoyed it!

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

I was very beautiful, but we did not see very much of the castle. The tour was shorter and different for the English speaking verses the Native tounge.

Doing what: Konopiste Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message