Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana)

Malá Strana is the area that meanders down from the Castle Hill to the Vltava River. A literal translation of its name would be 'Small Side' but its most often called the Lesser Side. Unfair? Well, while it might not have the grandeur of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 327 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was very interesting and our guide was very knowledgeable. It is A LOT of walking - 3 hours... not much time for sitting, sipping a hot wine or visiting the museum shops. This is a great way to explore the castle and learn the history of the royal families and reigns. The guide was also helpful in recommending a local restaurant in Lesser Town where the tour ended for good, authentic Czech food and cold beer... perfect ending to the day.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We really enjoyed the beautiful city of Prague!
We booked the tickets in advance on Internet. The tickets remain valid 48 hours from the moment you hop on the bus. The bus stops are a little difficult to find, so start at the Old city square and follow the employees of the CY.
We really enjoyed the guided tours. Thomaz did the castle tour, a very enthousiastic and good tour guide! Also Neill did a great job with the Jewish Quarter tour, very interesting.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Jerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. She kept tour moving at a pleasant pace so we were able to see everything we were supposed to see. Afterwards, she helped us navigate our way back to our hotel which was in a very difficut area to find.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Lindsey H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This tour was definitely worth taking -- our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the area. We enjoyed walking the Royal Route at a leisurely pace, and taking in the sights of the city.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Prague's Royal Route

Robert G

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Bus tour was good but bus cannot access some of the oldest most historic parts of town, however Prague Castle and Jewish quarter tours were excellent

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Robert T M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

I always think a Hop On-Hop Off tour is a great way to get an initial overview of a city. The tour was very good, especially the tour guide who showed us the Prague castle and the tour guide of the Jewish Quarter was incredible with her vast knowledge of the subject. However, my big complaint is with the confusion regarding the pickup stop for this particular company. It was difficult to find and not near the other tour companies.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Christina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. Went my first day to see where I wanted to go back to on my own. I recommend it.

Doing what: Prague City Sightseeing Tour

chris.chase United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

very interesting and informative, excellent guide

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Neil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We greatly enjoyed our tour despite rainy conditions. Our guide, Michal, was very friendly, engaging and knowledgable. This tour was our highlight of our visit to Prague and we highly recommend Absolute Walking Tours.

Doing what: Small-Group Prague Walking Tour: Malá Strana, Prague Castle and St Vitus Cathedral

Jerry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Just arrived in Prague and decided to take an orientation tour. It provided an excellent overview of the city and all the various neighborhoods. Tour guides were well informed and very friendly. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Ken P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very knowledgeable guide. Small group of only 9 people made for a very enjoyable experience as we were able to hear our guide and get to know the other folks on the tour . Guide provided just the right amount of information. Excellent experience!

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

dudahad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The kiosk and bus were easy to find in town and the bus dropped us off inside the castle. Helen was very knowledgeable and willing to answer all our questions along the way. She also gave us good directions for walking back to Old Towne on the Charles Bridge. Just wear comfortable walking shoes as the cobble stones on the sidewalks and streets can wear you down!

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Roger G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I hope this review sticks this time. I've tried to post it twice before but for some reason it didn't take. We toured Prague Castle on the 3 1/2-hour walking tour in August, and I can't recommend it highly enough! Our guide, Sarah, was a fount of knowledge about the castle buildings and events that happened there, and brought the old church and other buildings to life. For me perhaps the most fascinating part of the tour was her brief history of the Czech Republic, which she gave before we began the tour, simply to give us some context about her country's place in history. I'm a bit of a history buff, particularly about WWII and the subsequent Soviet occupation of eastern Europe which Sarah rightly said should be called central Europe, thus explaining why it has been invaded and taken over so frequently throughout the centuries. It was so interesting to hear her factual yet passionate recital of how things went from one who lived under the communist regime and through the Velvet Revolution. There were 3 Spanish-speakers in our fairly large English-language tour group, and I feared a lot of time would be lost since Sarah had to give the information in two languages. However, she was masterful at managing the group, giving time to explore and take pictures to the English speakers while she spoke to the Spanish-speakers and vice versa. There was never a lull and I give her high marks for handling that situation so beautifully. We felt that this tour was the high point of our short stay in Prague, and highly recommend it to anyone. And if you get Sarah as your guide, you win the jackpot!

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Rachel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Would recommend

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Tim M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Guide was lovely but unfortunately felt we missed a bit due to the guide having to speak in two different languages.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We really enjoyed tour, guides were very helpful and informative, English widely spoken, a great way for first time visitors like us to see most of the major sites. Would highly recommend and we will be returning.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Lauren E K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The guide did an excellent job!

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

john w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent! Very knowledgeable, energetic guide with a LOT of interesting things to say! He just talked a little too fast in his excitement in wanting to educate us.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Cathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Prague was absolutely magical. Metamorphis Hotel was just the greatest location, the furnishings were Old World and elegant. We had a view of the spires of the square, like looking at the castle at Disney World, but real. Everything just magical.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Dawid D Namibia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very good. Guide was good. Tourists too many!

Doing what: Small-Group Prague Walking Tour: Malá Strana, Prague Castle and St Vitus Cathedral

Kris K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great tour guide! Tour was made 'better' because of the enthusiasm of the tour guide.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Marian L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Really informative

Doing what: Prague City Sightseeing Tour

Jacky W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Good start to the holiday to get an idea of the main things to see in the city. Got out of the bus for half an hour at the palace.

Doing what: Prague City Sightseeing Tour

Maia S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

I enjoyed this tour because it was pretty in depth. Got a good amount of time in the Cathedral. It did go significantly longer than it was supposed to - by about 2 hours. That's my only complaint.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

bobburrows747

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

good way to see Prague in a day We usually use this method via Viator at cities we visit Peace of mind by booking before and easy to find the staring points. Enjoyed the Jewish walk with an excellent guide

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message