Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana)

Malá Strana is the area that meanders down from the Castle Hill to the Vltava River. A literal translation of its name would be 'Small Side' but its most often called the Lesser Side. Unfair? Well, while it might not have the grandeur of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 238 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We enjoyed this tour despite the Castle being closed for the Czech National day!!!! Some members of the tour were very upset by this as they had bought tickets just the day before when the tour operator must have know this. We felt sorry for the guide who bore the brunt of this complaint although it was not her fault.
Other than that we found the guide knowledgeable and interesting which made the tour very good.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our tour of Prague Castle was truncated somewhat because it was October 28th, a special National Day, and the Army had a dedication for all new graduates. We were delivered to the Castle by bus and walked into the main square which was packed with people, soldiers and bands, which restricted our movement and castle access. Nevertheless, our guide was excellent, and kept the 10 of us together, and on track. The Castle complex is enormous, but we didn't get to go INTO the castle at all, just walk around the buildings, into the Magnificent Cathedral, a second Church dedicated to the local St John of Nepomuk (I think), and the Golden Alley, a street of Artisans, where we could buy trinkets. We walked back to the Charles Bridge, via a restaurant (customer pays) with magnificent view over Prague City, where we had tea and coffee. As tour numbers weren't known before the tour began, we had no booking at the restaurant, which was unfortunate as it was very busy. We managed to find seats for everyone, but not all together.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Prague Castle walking tour.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

I am sure that on most days this is an interesting tour of Prague Castle and its buildings. However for us it was not.

We started by seeing the changing of the guard and then proceeded to St George's Basilica where things began deteriorate! The tour was not billed as bilingual and our tour group of around 10 contained 8 English speakers (not all English) and 2 Germans and the problem was that each fairly detailed description was given first in English and then German which rapidly became tedious with lengthy waits between sights. There was a general restlessness amongst the group because of this and people kept wandering of during the German parts which led to further waits. After what seemed a very long tour of the Basilica (which we later realised was to fill in the time) we were then informed that the Old Royal Palace was not open that day but could look aound the outside. This caused further dismay in the group a few of which were very vocal in their discontent. The guides response was "this is a working castle and things close'. I think people felt that this should have been explained at the time of booking. The guide then seemed to lose all interest in what she doing! It was obviously not her fault and I think she was upset by the groups dissatisfaction.

So my advice would be check that the tour is solely in your language and that everything is open on the day you propose to visit.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour and great Guide. This was our first time on a Segway and our Guide was wonderful. She stopped regularly and told us a lot of Pragues history.

Doing what: Prague City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I went with 8 friends and we had the best day of our lives. Seriously, it was so so much fun and well worth the price.

Doing what: Prague City Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour guides were wonderful, other than explaining the sites they also gave us local information on restaurants and shopping.

Doing what: Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was pretty good, would have been better if the castle tour was longer and I could have found the guide. But, the hop on hop off was a good way to get familiar with the city

Doing what: Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We especially enjoyed that the tour was private and that we could talk to our guide about the city and the people, but had taken the Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour the day before and there was a bit of overlap. I wouldn't recommend travelers take both tours.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Mala Straná, Prague Castle and St Vitus Cathedral

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Nice time- our tour guide did very well with the history of Prague and was great at answering odd questions about history -

Was a little long for our tastes, so we actually left a bit early and headed out to lunch at the castle!

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The walk through the castle and the cathedral were interesting but not overly spectacular. Golden Lane was a tourist trap selling the usual items at high prices with low value. The tour was worth doing if only to find out what was inside the buildings that have a commanding view over the city. Just don't expect to be overly impressed.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Good tour
Some narrow streets for pm tour

Doing what: Prague City Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Anna was a very good and knowledgeable guide.

At the beginning of the tour we circled around the Old City of Prague for about 50 minutes to pick up people who were a short walk from the original pick up point. This seemed a waste of time. There was commentary during this time, but it was general and didn't relate specifically to the tour topic.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Stuart R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Good tour with a very knowledgable guide. Weather was good which added to the experience in outdoor areas and in respect of views

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour was good and covered the right information/site to be seen. Do not miss the Castle guided visit and the Jewish Quarter... both are very good with knowledgeable and nice guides (Thomass nailed it). The boat tour was not as good as expected and the staff very 'cold' and not enthusiatic to have us on board. There is no audio on the boat and no guides, so the 45 minutes tour become redundant pretty fast.

Doing what: Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message