Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Town (Stare Mesto)

The center of ancient Prague, the Old Town (Stare Mesto) makes a popular starting point for walking tours of the city, sprawled along the eastern banks of the Vltava River and connected to the Lesser Town by the grand Charles Bridge. A key part of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing.....far exceeded our expectations! It included all the important areas of this beautiful city, which was good for us as we only had one full day in Prague. Our tour guide, Niki, was extremely knowledgeable and very, very personable. He was open to all our questions and gave us so much background information about what we were seeing. The length of the tour was perfect....you didn't realize how much territory you had covered until it was over and you were looking down at the city from the castle. Niki took us to a great little restaurant for lunch where we were able to enjoy a delicious Czech meal. We highly recommend this tour as we were not disappointed in any aspect of it......from our wonderful tour guide to all the great historical sites! Truly a day, and city, we will always remember!

Doing what: Small-Group Prague City Walking Tour Including Vltava River Cruise and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My wife and I booked this tour looking for the details and historical background of Prague. When we arrived, Theresa was waiting for us and to our surprise we were the only ones booking for that day, so we had Theresa all to ourselves. She could not have been better as a guide and I highly recommend her. She was friendly, enthusiastic and very open to our needs and questions. She gave us lots of tips, general information, and a full historical and architectural background of the city. Since our group was only the two of us and where ahead of the planned schedule, she showed us much more of the city compared to the original plan and even stayed longer than the scheduled finish time of the tour. Theresa is very knowledgeable and gave us objective information for you to make your own opinion on things. She will even make you questions after a short explanation to see if you are paying attention and following, which we found very pleasant and insightful. Theresa by far has been our best tour guide and we highly recommend her as well as the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Prague City Walking Tour Including Vltava River Cruise and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Peter, our tour guide was very knowledgeable and loves Prague. He took us to actual places where real legends happened listed in the book "77 Legends of Prague" in English. We bought the book at the bookstore he recommended on Wenceslaus (sp) Square. We got a completely different perspective of Prague at night. it wasn't scary - our 10 year old daughter loved hearing the historical stories. We saw the John Lennon wall and talked about recent history in Prague with Peter. Peter was great!!!! Thanks!

Doing what: Prague Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Highly recomended, more of an historic tour but gives you a very good overview of Prague. Lots of walking, but awesome!

Doing what: Prague Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Our guide was filled with facts and historical knowledge that made for a fabulously informative and interesting tour. The extent of her Palace portion of the tour was great.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Carol D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Our tour guide was absolutely terrific. He is a historian and certainly knows his stuff. He made the tour very enjoyable with his historical accounts of the different areas of Prague, and with his knowledge of Prague Castle.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

We were picked up on time and our tour guide Sarah was very knowledgeable - pointing out places of interest and sharing good historical facts. It was a comprehensive tour which would have been much better in clement weather.Overall it was good value for money and a good introduction to lovely Prague

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Tour was by minibus for about an hour and a quarter and then on foot for another hour and a half. The guide spoke English and Czech. On the minibus we found that the guide seemed to spend much more time on the Czech language than on the English. Often by the time he got around to giving details of an historic site in English we had gone well past it.
The part of the tour on foot was marred a little by the cold and strong wind. However, there was a much better commentary in English and this part of the trip was the more worthwhile.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

The guide was not very good when compared with the other guide from the walking tour. He was too sarcastic about certain historical elements, and no one needs that. Also, the tour to the abandoned athletic complex should be removed from the tour.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The guide was not knowledgeable about many facts and tried to make up stories about sights or historical figures he did not know about. He did not know that we were two professors who knew quite a bit about Prague's architecture, literary history and political and social histories. Too bad. Again, it oriented us to places that we went back to on our own so as an introductory tour it was fine.

Doing what: Small-Group Prague Walking Tour: Old Town, Wenceslas Square and Jewish Quarter

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Was very quick and skipped one of the most important and historical landmarks of the entire city, St Vitus Cathedral. The tour guide was okay, was all over the place and most of the sightseeing was just "quick look out to your left". Tour guide spent most of the time speaking in German for two German people out of 10. Would not recommend this one, there are dozens you can find on the day that are much better they're every where and very detailed compared to this one.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Lisa C
Canada

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2010

I'm positive Prague is full of history however you'd never have known it from this tour. The first hour at least was spent being toured around the city, having only shop, restaurants and hotels pointed out as places of interest. Something tells me that the 4 Seasons Hotel in Prague is not a lot different than the one in London or Toronto or LA and I'm fairly certain it is not historically significant to Prague. In addition to this, and even after booking an English tour, the guide spent at least 75 of the time speaking Germany to the other members of the group. Several times, we needed to remind him repeat what he'd just said in English. Not worth it. From what we understand after the fact, the way to go in Prague is book a private tour. More expensive but you get what you pay for. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message