Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Prague Castle (Prazsky hrad)

What is called Prague Castle (or Pražský hrad) is actually a huge complex containing museums, churches, palaces, and gardens. The immense Gothic cathedral of St. Vitus is dominant on the skyline. The Castle complex, high on its hill above ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 153 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Knowledgeable tour guide. I liked the fact that the first half was a bus tour and for the second half we were dropped off at the castle on the top of the hill. After touring the castle, we walked down the hill very comfortable walk and viewed the sites in more detail. We saw a lot in the half-day tour. Thank you.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Nouny
Egypt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A wonderful trip back to the medieval ages. Walking through the castle walls was an extravagant feeling!

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We were very disappointed in this tour. The sites we thought we were to be taken to were for the most part drive by. Sometimes so fast we could not locate what the driver was pointing out. The guide who took us through the castle was very good. I was sorry not to have gotten his name. We were surprised, and somewhat unhappy to have to walk from the castle to Charles Bridge. It was a long hike. One group had to leave the tour as they could not make the walk.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

I've done Segway tours all over the world and am accustomed to getting a LOT more information from my guide than we got on this trip. There was no training for us only because we told them that we'd done it in the past. Wouldn't recommend this for a first-timer because of the crowds. We ended up going about 30k during the trip. Our guide was a student and while her English was good, she really didn't have a good grasp on the history of the area and it seemed her main purpose was to take us to designated spots and point them out with no explanation. Several times we'd stop and she'd only say, Beautiful view! Take picture! Would have appreciated more explanation of things beyond This is the Lennon Wall, and We are at Prague Castle. Please be back in 27 minutes. I still maintain that the Segway is THE BEST way to see a city! Awesome vehicle but obviously you can't expect a great tour guide every time you do a tour.

Doing what: Prague City Segway Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

This totally depends on what you're expecting from a tour. The tour itself was time at 5-hours. The first half of this tour was entirely in the car with the guide pointing out various buildings and/or sites and giving a brief history. No time for stops, picture taking, etc...It wasn't until the second half of the tour, when we arrived to Prague Castle, before we got out of the car. Luckily, this was a nice, somewhat cool day with just a bit of rain. Not unexpected. I say we were lucky because, the walking part of the tour was the second half. No time at all was given for getting drinks, restroom break or, even further exploration of any of the sites we visited. We were lucky we only waited about 20-minutes to get through the line into Prague Castle. If it would've been a warm day this would've been miserable. And, the walk through this part of the city would've been even worse on a warmer day with no chance for a drink break. The walking part of the tour went from Prague Castle, and, ended up at the Astronomical Clock Tower back near where we started. So, look at this on a map and, you'll see what I mean. If you DO decide this tour during the warmer months, definitely take a pack with cool drinks along with. The tour guide herself was very knowledgeable, though. But, at the end, she didn't waste any time taking off. I turned to give her a small tip and she was already walking off.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

We drove around the city and it was difficult to see some of the sights that the guide pointed to/talked about from the bus. Maybe better to have an open-top bus for this kind of tour. We walked from the Castle all the way to Charles Bridge which was nice. Would have been better if given some free time to explore the Castle though. Guide was knowledgeable but spoke in a monotonous tone so hard to keep up.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Easy location to find in Prague to pick up tour. Guide was very good. Great itin to use motor coach to go
up to castle and then have great walk down the hill and across Charles Bridge. Very Informative.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The bus tour was good and fairly comprehensive but the stops are not well marked and, when I went in April, the bus frequency was only hourly, making quick hop-offs/ hop-ons impractical. The highlight for me was the Prague Castle tour. The guide knew his stuff and his presentation was interesting and entertaining. Luckily, the castle tour is coordinated with the bus, so there's no waiting at the end of the castle tour.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great way to see the castle for a first timer like me

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This trip was made a 5 star by the tour guide. We were the only people on the tour. She was a tentative and knowledgeable. The tour of the castle was splendid and because of the guide we learnt a lot. We couldn't have asked for a more spectacular day both in tour and weather.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Prague is a beautiful city and has been on my bucket list for years. The Castle was amazing and the tour guide did an excellent job.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Good tour to do first thing to get your bearings ! Also stoped at st virus cathedral as well as the castle so gave us some time to have a quick look around

Doing what: Prague City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I highly recommend this trip. It was informative - thanks Tomasz Prague Castle and Neil Jewish Quarter for being excellent tour guides and on the whole, the trip was great value for money. Also the Vltava cruise is a great way to see the city. I really enjoyed my day and know who to book with on my next city break.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

This tour was absolutely horrible. The bus started in republic square and took us literally in a circle around prague where we glimpsed over a few monuments and nothing worth noting. We didn't even go to the Dancing building! We literally went in a circle to pick up passengers - that was the extent of the 'bus' portion.

Our tour guide was an older lady who spoke both German and English, well barely. Right off the bat she made it very clear that she liked the German and spoke very little english the whole time. She was speaking in German most of the time and would even crack jokes making the entire bus laugh while keeping those who spoke other languages in the dark. She had no enthusiasm for anything, not the culture, not Prague, not the history, nothing. She made her stance very clear on her old beliefs. She even crossed the line a few times speaking about Jewish stereotypes and telling off 2 guys on our tour who were from South America that their people talk to much so they have to make sure they know who is in change - her. She was abolsutely ridiculous - truly an old bat that needs to retire. I could not believe that Viator would affiliate with a tour company like this.

AS for the walking portion. My husband and I left half way through. Our tour guide made us stop at a music university for refreshments' and a break. I'm sure she got a cut. Because we could not go into the castle the rest of the tour was a waste of time. We just walked the reminder of the Charles Bridge on our own and made our way to republic square.

i gained absolutely NOTHING from this tour. I suppose if you are German you might have, but as for the rest of us I could not tell you one thing i learned. Anytime we had a question she shut us down and told us that this tour is only about prague. Ridiculous.

Going forward I will think twice about taking a Viator history tour.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I really like the itinerary! The bus tour first took us to all the major attractions in the city and dropped us off at the castle. From there, the tour guide did an excellent job taking us to the best spots in the city including the Charles Bridge, Astronomical Clock, and the Castle area. Very knowledgeable guide who went above and beyond...

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This tour was terrible the tour guide was very unprofessional. First she wanted to drive us in her private car because she didn't want to walk up the hill! we declined this and wanted to actually experience the walking tour! The woman was talking about lots of things and there was some history in her speech but most often she spoke of illegal drugs, getting her son drunk on absinthe when he was a toddler, and making racist, sexist and bigoted comments about the people surrounding us. We found it highly embarrassing to be walking with her and couldnt wait to leave. There were only three people on the tour and all of us couldn't actually believe this womans conduct. When we finally got up to the castle the tour guide then stopped to eat lunch at a cafe while we waited for her to continue the tour. The tour went an hour and a half over the recommended time because she stopped every 5-10minutes to have a rest as we were walking. We would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Prague's Royal Route

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Provided little information beyond simply pointing out locations and describing where the bus will be turning next. Visit to Prague Castle was much the same. We only visited the castle grounds with no other visits as indicated in the tour description. One of the worst tours I have been on and will not be recommending the tour or company in the future.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Dr Yi Ren
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It is one of the best tour I did in Europe. It is really well organised and tour guide was really knowledgable, friendly and professional. It is a great orientation of the city. Perfect balance with bus tour to start with then walking tour through the Castle then down to Charles bridge and end up in old town. It was really well timed as we see changing the guide at Castle, 1pm clock show at old town square. Thank you! Best city sightseeing tour so far!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A great introduction to Prague. The bus tour was informative but the real highlights were the English guide on the castle tour and particularly the young Albanian girl on the Jewish Quarter tour. Excellent value for money with enthusiastic committed staff throughout.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgeable. Castle and church beautiful.
Only downside was the coooold weather which was beyond their control.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour was great, bus via town and up to the castle then a walk down hill across the bridge to the clock. The female guide spoke way to fast on the bus that it made it to hard to hear and un enjoyable but over all a good tour... Haven't been on any others in Prague but maybe worth looking into other options.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was excellent. He gave the tour in Spanish and English. He was very knowledgeable about the history of Prague Castle and St. Vitus Cathedral. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great way to see/hear about this city if you are short on time. You drive around for about an hour, maybe more then get dropped off at the castle. Tour that for a bit then walk back to the city stopping at various locations throughout. We had our daughter in a stroller and it worked out just fine...a few difficult parts due to stairs but nothing brutal by any means. Tour guide was knowledgeable and helpful and even walked us to a restaurant he recommended at the end.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our Prague Castle Walking Tour. Our guide, Helen, was very knowledgeable about the sights and helped us understand the history of Prague and how the Castle and the surrounding area fit into the context of that history. It was nice to see the Changing of the Guard. Our group had less than 10 people and was conducted in English.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Anna was excellent and a Prague native. The tour took us to the highlights and spent about the right amount of time at the castle. My only complaints (otherwise I would rate this tour a 5) were that we spent far too much time at the café at the castle (she said we'd stay 20 minutes, but we stayed at least 40--she and some of the group actually ate lunch); and then at the end we were rushed to get back to the drop-off point. Also, I don't like when the guides tell you their tip is not included in the tour price. It's like pressure to give them something. Because of the excess time spent at the café, we did not. Would have given her a tip if not for that because she was very knowledgeable. Prague is an amazingly beautiful city, and I do highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message