Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Prague Castle (Prazsky hrad)

What is called Prague Castle (or Pražský hrad) is actually a huge complex containing museums, churches, palaces, and gardens. The immense Gothic cathedral of St. Vitus is dominant on the skyline. The Castle complex, high on its hill above ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Good tour to do first thing to get your bearings ! Also stoped at st virus cathedral as well as the castle so gave us some time to have a quick look around

Doing what: Prague City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I really like the itinerary! The bus tour first took us to all the major attractions in the city and dropped us off at the castle. From there, the tour guide did an excellent job taking us to the best spots in the city including the Charles Bridge, Astronomical Clock, and the Castle area. Very knowledgeable guide who went above and beyond...

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This tour was terrible the tour guide was very unprofessional. First she wanted to drive us in her private car because she didn't want to walk up the hill! we declined this and wanted to actually experience the walking tour! The woman was talking about lots of things and there was some history in her speech but most often she spoke of illegal drugs, getting her son drunk on absinthe when he was a toddler, and making racist, sexist and bigoted comments about the people surrounding us. We found it highly embarrassing to be walking with her and couldnt wait to leave. There were only three people on the tour and all of us couldn't actually believe this womans conduct. When we finally got up to the castle the tour guide then stopped to eat lunch at a cafe while we waited for her to continue the tour. The tour went an hour and a half over the recommended time because she stopped every 5-10minutes to have a rest as we were walking. We would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Prague's Royal Route

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Provided little information beyond simply pointing out locations and describing where the bus will be turning next. Visit to Prague Castle was much the same. We only visited the castle grounds with no other visits as indicated in the tour description. One of the worst tours I have been on and will not be recommending the tour or company in the future.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Dr Yi Ren
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It is one of the best tour I did in Europe. It is really well organised and tour guide was really knowledgable, friendly and professional. It is a great orientation of the city. Perfect balance with bus tour to start with then walking tour through the Castle then down to Charles bridge and end up in old town. It was really well timed as we see changing the guide at Castle, 1pm clock show at old town square. Thank you! Best city sightseeing tour so far!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A great introduction to Prague. The bus tour was informative but the real highlights were the English guide on the castle tour and particularly the young Albanian girl on the Jewish Quarter tour. Excellent value for money with enthusiastic committed staff throughout.

Doing what: Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgeable. Castle and church beautiful.
Only downside was the coooold weather which was beyond their control.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour was great, bus via town and up to the castle then a walk down hill across the bridge to the clock. The female guide spoke way to fast on the bus that it made it to hard to hear and un enjoyable but over all a good tour... Haven't been on any others in Prague but maybe worth looking into other options.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was excellent. He gave the tour in Spanish and English. He was very knowledgeable about the history of Prague Castle and St. Vitus Cathedral. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great way to see/hear about this city if you are short on time. You drive around for about an hour, maybe more then get dropped off at the castle. Tour that for a bit then walk back to the city stopping at various locations throughout. We had our daughter in a stroller and it worked out just fine...a few difficult parts due to stairs but nothing brutal by any means. Tour guide was knowledgeable and helpful and even walked us to a restaurant he recommended at the end.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our Prague Castle Walking Tour. Our guide, Helen, was very knowledgeable about the sights and helped us understand the history of Prague and how the Castle and the surrounding area fit into the context of that history. It was nice to see the Changing of the Guard. Our group had less than 10 people and was conducted in English.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Anna was excellent and a Prague native. The tour took us to the highlights and spent about the right amount of time at the castle. My only complaints (otherwise I would rate this tour a 5) were that we spent far too much time at the café at the castle (she said we'd stay 20 minutes, but we stayed at least 40--she and some of the group actually ate lunch); and then at the end we were rushed to get back to the drop-off point. Also, I don't like when the guides tell you their tip is not included in the tour price. It's like pressure to give them something. Because of the excess time spent at the café, we did not. Would have given her a tip if not for that because she was very knowledgeable. Prague is an amazingly beautiful city, and I do highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We enjoyed this tour despite the Castle being closed for the Czech National day!!!! Some members of the tour were very upset by this as they had bought tickets just the day before when the tour operator must have know this. We felt sorry for the guide who bore the brunt of this complaint although it was not her fault.
Other than that we found the guide knowledgeable and interesting which made the tour very good.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our tour of Prague Castle was truncated somewhat because it was October 28th, a special National Day, and the Army had a dedication for all new graduates. We were delivered to the Castle by bus and walked into the main square which was packed with people, soldiers and bands, which restricted our movement and castle access. Nevertheless, our guide was excellent, and kept the 10 of us together, and on track. The Castle complex is enormous, but we didn't get to go INTO the castle at all, just walk around the buildings, into the Magnificent Cathedral, a second Church dedicated to the local St John of Nepomuk (I think), and the Golden Alley, a street of Artisans, where we could buy trinkets. We walked back to the Charles Bridge, via a restaurant (customer pays) with magnificent view over Prague City, where we had tea and coffee. As tour numbers weren't known before the tour began, we had no booking at the restaurant, which was unfortunate as it was very busy. We managed to find seats for everyone, but not all together.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Prague Castle walking tour.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message