Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Prague Castle (Prazsky hrad)

What is called Prague Castle (or Pražský hrad) is actually a huge complex containing museums, churches, palaces, and gardens. The immense Gothic cathedral of St. Vitus is dominant on the skyline. The Castle complex, high on its hill above ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 194 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was very interesting and our guide was very knowledgeable. It is A LOT of walking - 3 hours... not much time for sitting, sipping a hot wine or visiting the museum shops. This is a great way to explore the castle and learn the history of the royal families and reigns. The guide was also helpful in recommending a local restaurant in Lesser Town where the tour ended for good, authentic Czech food and cold beer... perfect ending to the day.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We really enjoyed the beautiful city of Prague!
We booked the tickets in advance on Internet. The tickets remain valid 48 hours from the moment you hop on the bus. The bus stops are a little difficult to find, so start at the Old city square and follow the employees of the CY.
We really enjoyed the guided tours. Thomaz did the castle tour, a very enthousiastic and good tour guide! Also Neill did a great job with the Jewish Quarter tour, very interesting.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Robert G

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Bus tour was good but bus cannot access some of the oldest most historic parts of town, however Prague Castle and Jewish quarter tours were excellent

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Robert T M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

I always think a Hop On-Hop Off tour is a great way to get an initial overview of a city. The tour was very good, especially the tour guide who showed us the Prague castle and the tour guide of the Jewish Quarter was incredible with her vast knowledge of the subject. However, my big complaint is with the confusion regarding the pickup stop for this particular company. It was difficult to find and not near the other tour companies.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Anthea P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Useful introduction. Enjoyed watching changing of the guard and the castle area

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

prempais India

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

This tour is worth it. In half a day you get to see the sights of Prague and decide what you want to spend more time on. The tour takes one by coach up to the castle and then there is a walk back down over the Charles Bridge and back into the main square.
It would have been good if at least the tour allowed a visit to the inside of the Prague Cathedral if not the Castle

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

dudahad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The kiosk and bus were easy to find in town and the bus dropped us off inside the castle. Helen was very knowledgeable and willing to answer all our questions along the way. She also gave us good directions for walking back to Old Towne on the Charles Bridge. Just wear comfortable walking shoes as the cobble stones on the sidewalks and streets can wear you down!

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Roger G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I hope this review sticks this time. I've tried to post it twice before but for some reason it didn't take. We toured Prague Castle on the 3 1/2-hour walking tour in August, and I can't recommend it highly enough! Our guide, Sarah, was a fount of knowledge about the castle buildings and events that happened there, and brought the old church and other buildings to life. For me perhaps the most fascinating part of the tour was her brief history of the Czech Republic, which she gave before we began the tour, simply to give us some context about her country's place in history. I'm a bit of a history buff, particularly about WWII and the subsequent Soviet occupation of eastern Europe which Sarah rightly said should be called central Europe, thus explaining why it has been invaded and taken over so frequently throughout the centuries. It was so interesting to hear her factual yet passionate recital of how things went from one who lived under the communist regime and through the Velvet Revolution. There were 3 Spanish-speakers in our fairly large English-language tour group, and I feared a lot of time would be lost since Sarah had to give the information in two languages. However, she was masterful at managing the group, giving time to explore and take pictures to the English speakers while she spoke to the Spanish-speakers and vice versa. There was never a lull and I give her high marks for handling that situation so beautifully. We felt that this tour was the high point of our short stay in Prague, and highly recommend it to anyone. And if you get Sarah as your guide, you win the jackpot!

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Lucy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We found our contact to get the tickets to the castle easily and he was very friendly and explained everything very clearly.
The castle was overwhelmingly beautiful you have to go .Also get a hot chocolate in the courtyard outside it was heaven in the winter when its cold.
Great trip would go back.

Doing what: Skip-the-line: Prague Castle Admission Ticket

Michelle G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

good bike tour! we only did the 1/2 day, so we didn't go up to the castle.

Doing what: Prague Bike Tour

Alan B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our guide Petra was friendly and informative. The bus ride part of the tour is a little daunting due to the cobbled streets but lets you see more of the city. The walk through Prague Castle and down to the Old Town Square was enjoyable. Remember, this is a survey tour only. It lets you see those things you want to return to later for a closer look.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Scott K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great way to see the highlights of Prague. My wife and I only had a few days in town, and this provided a way to see the main attractions of the city. We then used the information gained to plan the rest of our stay and see different sights again. One thing to note, be prepared to walk. The tour drives you through town and then drops you off at Prague Castle. You then walk through the castle and down through the town to St. Charles Bridge. This was fine for my wife and I, but some of the others on board seemed to be caught off guard by this.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Scott K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great way to see the highlights of Prague. My wife and I only had a few days in town, and this provided a way to see the main attractions of the city. We then used the information gained to plan the rest of our stay and see different sights again. One thing to note, be prepared to walk. The tour drives you through town and then drops you off at Prague Castle. You then walk through the castle and down through the town to St. Charles Bridge. This was fine for my wife and I, but some of the others on board seemed to be caught off guard by this.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Cathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Prague was absolutely magical. Metamorphis Hotel was just the greatest location, the furnishings were Old World and elegant. We had a view of the spires of the square, like looking at the castle at Disney World, but real. Everything just magical.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

peter-scott

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great tour especially the walking tour down from the castle culminating at the fabulous clock in the city square at midday!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Andrew B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Initially we had difficulty finding the stops as there are at least two other hop on type tours. Once we figured everything out however, the bus tour worked out very well. Guides were great particularly Tomasc at the castle! Boat cruise was short and not very informative.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Theodore E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

I was very close to giving this tour a 1 star except that it did enable us to go inside the castle. We had been inside the church with our Monogram tour group although we did get further into the church with this tour. We actually left the tour about 2/3 through it as the guide was hard to understand and somewhat annoying in his delivery. He did seem to be very knowledgeable, but his delivery grated, and without whispers we had a hard time hearing as he spoke away from us, not to us.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Sharon R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The best part about this tour was getting a ride up to Prague Castle. The tour guide was difficult to hear and understand, as well as he didn't provide a great commentary.Wish I had just stuck to the free tour and gone with Great Prague Tours instead.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Gerald D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Seeing Prague from the river, at night, was spectacular. The castle on the hill was lit up in a fashion that takes your breath away. Our tour guide Vushi was very knowledgeable and helpful describing what we were looking at. Floating under the Charles Bridge was also memorable. The buffet was excellent. Well done!!

Doing what: Prague Night Tour and River Vltava Dinner Cruise

Gerald D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I like the way this was set up: First, a bus tour of the Jewish Quarter and the Old and New Towns to understand the layout of the city for further reference. Then the bus takes you to Hradcany Castle and drops you off. Then the rest is walking around the castle spectacular, down through the Lesser Town, across the Charles Bridge and ends at the Old Town Square. This was well done. We learned so much from our guide, who was able to answer every question we had about Prague history.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Moustafa G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very nice tour. The only thing brochure does not explained properly that it is two hour bus ride and two hours walking. I suggest Viator rate the difficulty of their tours as they do on cruises. One easy two a bit difficult. Three not recommended for senior citizens because of strenuous walk. Some people on our tour could not do two hours walk and had difficulty getting down stairs from castLe
E. Tour guide was very good and understanding so she took the time to wait for elderly people, other than that I loved the tour

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

CLIVE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We purchased the 48hour ticket which included a river cruise, walking tour of the Jewish quarter and walking tour of Prague Castle. On arrival we were met by an English speaking guide who gave us ear phones to listen to English commentary of the history of Prague and its landmarks. However, the guide gave additional interesting information based on her local knowledge. We sat for the completion of the Tour which was an hour and a half. This gave us our geographical bearings of the City and also helped us decide which places we wanted to prioritise to see on our visit as we were only there for a long weekend. On the advice of the Guide we stayed on the bus for a second tour and got off at the Jewish quarter in perfect timing for our walking tour of the Jewish quarter. The guide was well read, clearly had a passion for his subject and was articulate and informative. He then took us straight to the River cruise. The views were lovely, but there was no guide and therefore no information regarding the lovely buildings were passing. The following day we got back on the bus and took the stop to the castle where we were met by a fantastic,energetic guide who took us to witness the changing of the guards and then an interesting informative tour of Prague castle. The guided tour was about an hour and a half, but on advice of the Guide we stayed on site and visited the monastery and it brewery where we sampled the dark beer. We then visited the theological library which costs a crona,but well worth its as when you enter the scene is jaw dropping in terms of architecture, art work and the precious and priceless nature of the books held there. We then took a very pleasant walk down the hill through gardens and stunning views to King Charles bridge.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Mary Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent...guide was very knowledgable ...English speaking tour....highly recommend....on bus first to view sites for about an hour...then castle and walking tour from there to old town...put viewing many other sites on the way

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Duane A Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

An excellent tour. It was great to see one of the largest castle complex in the world. We visited the cathedral, the old royal palace, the romanesque church and the Golden mile. It was a very comprehensive tour of the palace. The guide was very good and an enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message