Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Prague Castle (Prazsky hrad)

What is called Prague Castle (or Pražský hrad) is actually a huge complex containing museums, churches, palaces, and gardens. The immense Gothic cathedral of St. Vitus is dominant on the skyline. The Castle complex, high on its hill above ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 209 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lotta M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very nice and knowledgeable guide and great to get the fast pass to enter all locations. Beautiful castle and so much to learn!!!

Doing what: Skip-the-line: Prague Castle Admission Ticket

Colin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Petra was very informative and gave us a great insight into Prague and especially The Castle.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Charles V W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and was able to provide interesting history and stories along the way. The first part of the tour provides an overview of all of Prague from a comfortable air conditioned bus that eventually stops at Prague Castle. The rest of the tour includes an overview of the castle and then a leisurely walk down the hill and across Charles Bridge.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

alcstone001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful tour! Guide gave us a lot of history. Showed us many sites around the area by the castle too!

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Learned and saw a lot of the city with this tour. The bus portion gave us a great overview of the sights of Prague, then the walking tour from the castle to the old town center was very enjoyable. Our guide really knew her stuff. Outstanding and enjoyable.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Lorraine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a great tour of the St Vitus castle. Our guide was great and there was so much to see. Long lines for those who di not have a guide.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Lorraine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A great tour of the castle and St. Vitus cathedral .Wwe were so glad to have had a guide. That castle and church is huge!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Trista H

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This was a good value for a general overview of the castle and a few other main sites in the city. Guide was insightful and shared many unique and interesting stories of her own.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Barbara G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

When we arrived we were there just in time to see the changing if the guards, but we were asked to stay together and were unable to see. We thought it was because there was so much to see in so little time. Our guide took us through the castle grounds and gave us some information about what we were seeing. She didn't seem very invested in what she was doing, interacting very little with her guests. She answered questions when she was asked. My husband and I don't need a lot of breaks, so we didn't feel a 20 minute break was necessary. I'm sure there were guests that appreciated it, we thought it was a waste of time. After the 20 minute break we had time to explore Golden Lane. My husband and I looked in the store fronts and at the exhibits. After that, we tried to go into the Toy Museum-but there was a charge. We didn't feel we should have to pay to get in as we had already paid an entrance fee for the tour. We left after that because we didn't see the point of waiting some more at the meeting place where the tour would end. I'm glad I have Rick Steves' guide book because I can now find more information about what we saw.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Joyce L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

All this did was give us tickets to the castle without waiting in line. The lines were not bad that day

Doing what: Skip-the-line: Prague Castle Admission Ticket

Neil Z. P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

For us, Not worth the extra 5. Our Hotel warned us that the lines could be hours long. so we used this service and arranged our tickets. When we arrived, we found the lines to be non existant so basically we paid an extra 5 per person so save no time. Indeed we basically had to arrange our entire day to be at a particular spot for a 10 minute window. so for us it proved to be a waste of time and money. the actual tickets are only good for 4 of the 10 buildings. non of the buildings were very impressive as far as current conditions go. We ended up paying an extra 5/person for a private tour.
With above as background the greeter was VERY nice and did give a clear overview of what we were buying. I just can not recommend doing it basis our experience. But then again I would have skipped the castle if I had it to do again too

Doing what: Skip-the-line: Prague Castle Admission Ticket

Kenneth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

So much to see, lots of things to take in. Would recommend taking a morning tour so you can spend the rest of the day in the castle and walking the surrounding area.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Kyla W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great experience. The Clarion Hotel was clean, had friendly staff, a hot, delicious, buffet breakfast and was within walking distance of transit 45 min to the airport by subway and bus - very simple to use transit, the main square 10 min, Charles bridge 15-20 min, astronomical clock 15 min, restaurants and anything you might want to see. There were great local pubs near by. The City Highlights tour was incredible. It started off as a bus tour around the city, showing us the important areas, then we were taken to the castle district, where we walked the rest of the tour. Beautiful views, architecture. Our tour guide Rene was knowledgeable, personable, funny. An excellent experience!

Doing what: 2-Night Prague Experience with City Highlights Tour

Washington C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great way to get to know the city. The castle was incredible. We highly recommend.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was very interesting and our guide was very knowledgeable. It is A LOT of walking - 3 hours... not much time for sitting, sipping a hot wine or visiting the museum shops. This is a great way to explore the castle and learn the history of the royal families and reigns. The guide was also helpful in recommending a local restaurant in Lesser Town where the tour ended for good, authentic Czech food and cold beer... perfect ending to the day.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Nathaniel O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Out of 5 tours I've booked through Viator, the Prague Castle Walking Tour is by far my favorite. The guide even gave us a couple extra hours and some great advice on where to find the best food and drink in town. Would definitely book again!

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Kathryn B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

I wasn't expecting the first of 3 hours to be a bus tour, however it was a great way to see the city. I quite enjoyed the last 2 hours walking from the Castle down to the Square. Previous commenters suggested going this tour on the first day - I wish I would have done that, although I still had a fantastic time doing this on my 3rd day in Prague.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We really enjoyed the beautiful city of Prague!
We booked the tickets in advance on Internet. The tickets remain valid 48 hours from the moment you hop on the bus. The bus stops are a little difficult to find, so start at the Old city square and follow the employees of the CY.
We really enjoyed the guided tours. Thomaz did the castle tour, a very enthousiastic and good tour guide! Also Neill did a great job with the Jewish Quarter tour, very interesting.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Robert G

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Bus tour was good but bus cannot access some of the oldest most historic parts of town, however Prague Castle and Jewish quarter tours were excellent

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Robert T M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

I always think a Hop On-Hop Off tour is a great way to get an initial overview of a city. The tour was very good, especially the tour guide who showed us the Prague castle and the tour guide of the Jewish Quarter was incredible with her vast knowledge of the subject. However, my big complaint is with the confusion regarding the pickup stop for this particular company. It was difficult to find and not near the other tour companies.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Prague Hop-On Hop-Off Tour: Jewish Quarter and Prague Castle Tours plus Vltava Cruise

Anthea P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Useful introduction. Enjoyed watching changing of the guard and the castle area

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

prempais India

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

This tour is worth it. In half a day you get to see the sights of Prague and decide what you want to spend more time on. The tour takes one by coach up to the castle and then there is a walk back down over the Charles Bridge and back into the main square.
It would have been good if at least the tour allowed a visit to the inside of the Prague Cathedral if not the Castle

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

dudahad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The kiosk and bus were easy to find in town and the bus dropped us off inside the castle. Helen was very knowledgeable and willing to answer all our questions along the way. She also gave us good directions for walking back to Old Towne on the Charles Bridge. Just wear comfortable walking shoes as the cobble stones on the sidewalks and streets can wear you down!

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Roger G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I hope this review sticks this time. I've tried to post it twice before but for some reason it didn't take. We toured Prague Castle on the 3 1/2-hour walking tour in August, and I can't recommend it highly enough! Our guide, Sarah, was a fount of knowledge about the castle buildings and events that happened there, and brought the old church and other buildings to life. For me perhaps the most fascinating part of the tour was her brief history of the Czech Republic, which she gave before we began the tour, simply to give us some context about her country's place in history. I'm a bit of a history buff, particularly about WWII and the subsequent Soviet occupation of eastern Europe which Sarah rightly said should be called central Europe, thus explaining why it has been invaded and taken over so frequently throughout the centuries. It was so interesting to hear her factual yet passionate recital of how things went from one who lived under the communist regime and through the Velvet Revolution. There were 3 Spanish-speakers in our fairly large English-language tour group, and I feared a lot of time would be lost since Sarah had to give the information in two languages. However, she was masterful at managing the group, giving time to explore and take pictures to the English speakers while she spoke to the Spanish-speakers and vice versa. There was never a lull and I give her high marks for handling that situation so beautifully. We felt that this tour was the high point of our short stay in Prague, and highly recommend it to anyone. And if you get Sarah as your guide, you win the jackpot!

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Lucy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We found our contact to get the tickets to the castle easily and he was very friendly and explained everything very clearly.
The castle was overwhelmingly beautiful you have to go .Also get a hot chocolate in the courtyard outside it was heaven in the winter when its cold.
Great trip would go back.

Doing what: Skip-the-line: Prague Castle Admission Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message