Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Prague Old Town Square (Staromestske Namesti)

The Old Town Square (or Staroměstské náměstí) is quintessential Prague, and the star of most of the photos you would have seen of the city. Coming out onto the huge square after negotiating the dim mazes of the Old Town's lanes, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was wonderful. Our tour guide Eva was informative, up beat, and able to answer any question we asked, not only about Mozart but about anything Czech! Amazingly my wife and I were the only two on the tour which lasted 3 full hours and covered the old town, the lesser town, and more.
Eva kept us moving and it was a long walk, but she paced things for our age ( we are in our 60's).
Meeting Eva and taking the tour paws the high point of our Prague trip.
Don't waste time thinking about it... Just do it!

Doing what: Prague Walking Tour Following in Mozart's Footsteps

HannahBLondon
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great introduction to Prague. The minibus was comfortable and very modern, and the guide was extremely informative and knowledgable. We saw all of the main sights of Prague, and particularly enjoyed the fascinating walk around Prague Castle, St Vitus Cathedral and the Old Town. The guide went out of his way to be helpful at the end, giving us advice and directions on how to get back to our hotel from the finish point (which was at the Astronomical clock), as well as helpful tips and recommendations along the way of other things we could see and do in Prague whilst we were there. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Prague for the first time.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

The tour was supposed to be 3 hours ending at old town square where our hotel was but after 2 hours the guide flicked her hans at everyone on the tour and said "all finished now off you go" We were all a little stunned and not sure what she meant so she repeated it. We were no where near Old town square and only 2/3 way throughout he tour which as previous reviews had said was not really a ghost tour but more of a history tour. There was also a french couple on the tour so half of the tour was in french and half in english which meant we only got one hour of what should have been a 3 hour tour. We have taken several victor tours which have all been fantastic and this made this even more disappointing. I really wish we had just found one of the ghost tours on the street led by someone dressed up.

Doing what: Prague Ghost Walking Tour

wambeggy
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An insight into to the 'darker side' of Prague. A good coverage of the old town and Jewish area with a reasonable amount of walking, but certainly not a difficult walk - more like a well timed wander with dialogue.

Doing what: Prague Ghost Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Another excellent tour!

The tour starts at the Powder Tower and ends at the Castle. 3 hours passed so fast that we have not even noticed. You'd see everything that is important to see and know about in Old Town and New Town, then you'd walk over Charls' bridge, then to the Castle.

Very rich history, various architecture styles well preserved, a lot of interesting facts. All kudos to the guide who was extremely knowledgable and accomodating: if the group expressed an interest to learn more about particular thing or to sneak into a site that was along our path but not necesserely part of the tour, she would not only allow that but provide all detail about the subject in question like that was part of the tour.

Highly recommended!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Prague's Royal Route

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

There were only 4 people on our tour and the two women with my husband and I spoke Italian and we spoke English. Our tour guide accommodated both of us as he spoke both languages,Prague is beautiful and so interesting. The highlights of the tour -Charles Bridge,St. Nicholas, the Clock,artists' island,Church of the Children,Ulatava River,Old Town Square,Republic Square,Smiricky Palace,Municipal House,Powder gate and National Theatre. He allowed time for picture taking but kept us moving so we could see everything. This was a great tour.

Doing what: Historic Prague Walking Tour including King's Route and Charles Bridge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

What a great way to start my trip in Prague. I got to Prague late in the afternoon, jet lagged and tired. I took and nap and then went on this tour. Not really a "Ghost" tour, more of a "Legends" tour. But, also a great way to get your bearings for the rest of your stay in Prague. My guide was very informative. There were 3 of us on the tour, so it was very personal. We saw Old Town, the Jewish Quarter and the Charles Bridge. We were supposed to walk across the bridge and see part of Lesser Town, but I was tired and the couple wanted to have dinner. So be stopped at the Charles Bridge. My guide even walked me to the metro and road part of the way back to the hotel with me. If you are expecting ghosts and ghoulies, this is not the trip for you. But, if you want to have a better understanding of the layout of Prague and some of it's history, sign up now!

Doing what: Prague Ghost Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Great guide, very informative. Would definitely recommend this tour as a start to see Prague, but be sure to spend more time in the castle area, lesser town and old town.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Did this tour our first morning in Prague, a great way to get to know our way around the old town area. Only complaint was that the guide was very soft spoken, difficult to hear at times. Prague is such a glorious city, easy to walk around. Would recommend this tour to any new visitor.

Doing what: Historic Prague Walking Tour including King's Route and Charles Bridge

Susan S
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

We were more than half an hour late leaving. The tour guide had to explain everything in English then German and sometimes it was hard to understand which language he was speaking in. The guide spoke very quickly in one tone and was very hard to understand so we didn't learn any of the history. The guide did know all his facts but we found he rambled on too much. All of the other tours had headphones like the ones we had on our Rome tours. When we arrived in the old town we just sat on the bus whilst he talked and we didn't know what buildings we were supposed to be looking at. Overall we were very disappointed with the tour after the fantastic guides we had in Rome; it has put me off booking a tour again. I certainly wouldn't recommend it as there were plenty of cheaper tours in Prague.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This was wonderful! The guide was involved and maximized our trip. We saw a lot and his additional suggestions or information was also helpful for the area. The changing of the guard and tour of St. Vitus were a bonus. We loved that it was offered in the morning, this allowed us to understand the city for the afternoon. It would have been perfect if it included more about the Old Town, maybe even a quick walk around it.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Michael S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

A n excellent tour! We saw the highlights of Prague, the castle, the cathedral, the old town square with its clock, the Jewish quarter, all very good, and advice for when you went back to look closer in person later. I recommend this tour to anybody, not too much walking either!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

This was a good introduction to Prague. Started off with a bus tour. The walking part was a tour of Prague Castle, and then there was a bus ride back to the Old Town covering the Jewish ghetto on the way. It was a good introduction, so next time I am going to go for more detailed trips.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message