Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

St Vitus Cathedral (Katedrala svateho Vita)

St. Vitus (or Katedrála svatého Víta) is the biggest and most important church in Prague, the pinnacle of the Castle complex, and one of the most knockout cathedrals in Europe. It's broodingly Gothic, with a forest of spires and a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was excellent. He gave the tour in Spanish and English. He was very knowledgeable about the history of Prague Castle and St. Vitus Cathedral. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our tour of Prague Castle was truncated somewhat because it was October 28th, a special National Day, and the Army had a dedication for all new graduates. We were delivered to the Castle by bus and walked into the main square which was packed with people, soldiers and bands, which restricted our movement and castle access. Nevertheless, our guide was excellent, and kept the 10 of us together, and on track. The Castle complex is enormous, but we didn't get to go INTO the castle at all, just walk around the buildings, into the Magnificent Cathedral, a second Church dedicated to the local St John of Nepomuk (I think), and the Golden Alley, a street of Artisans, where we could buy trinkets. We walked back to the Charles Bridge, via a restaurant (customer pays) with magnificent view over Prague City, where we had tea and coffee. As tour numbers weren't known before the tour began, we had no booking at the restaurant, which was unfortunate as it was very busy. We managed to find seats for everyone, but not all together.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The walk through the castle and the cathedral were interesting but not overly spectacular. Golden Lane was a tourist trap selling the usual items at high prices with low value. The tour was worth doing if only to find out what was inside the buildings that have a commanding view over the city. Just don't expect to be overly impressed.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Combo bus tour around Old/New Towns was informative orientation. Walking portion starting at Cathedral/Palace brought us back for a more detailed visit via the tram recommended by our guide. Walking down from the palace through Little town and across the Charles Bridge to Old Town Square provided a great flavor of cultural activities/opportunities. A little rain at the end of the walking tour did little to dampen our anticipation of the hourly spectacle of the Old Town Square clock where our tour culminated with plenty of nearby choices for lunch. Check out the restaurant below ground level in the municipal hall just outside the Powder Tower in Namesty Republicky Square; the Hall is also a great concert venue with cultural options directly across the square in the Ballet/ Opera House.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

bad organisation; the tour is not programmed so we,ve got to queue with all the other tourists ; we chose not to visit the cathedral because we would have had to wait for 3 hours. We were all fed up; some people chose to quit before and we did some time after them ; the guide thought he had a great sense of humour and in fact was making remarks regarding other people not belonging to the group, calling them lookers and fools. All things considered very poor indeed, a waste of time and money

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

HannahBLondon
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great introduction to Prague. The minibus was comfortable and very modern, and the guide was extremely informative and knowledgable. We saw all of the main sights of Prague, and particularly enjoyed the fascinating walk around Prague Castle, St Vitus Cathedral and the Old Town. The guide went out of his way to be helpful at the end, giving us advice and directions on how to get back to our hotel from the finish point (which was at the Astronomical clock), as well as helpful tips and recommendations along the way of other things we could see and do in Prague whilst we were there. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Prague for the first time.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Our guide was very knowledgable however her English was hard to understand and she spoke very softly. The castle itself was not what we thought it would be. Disappointed that we saw more cathedral then castle.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I was only in Prague for a day and wanted to see as much of the city as I could. This tour gave me exactly what I wanted! The coach ride up to the castle was very informative and gave me an opportunity to see parts of the city I would not have seen on my own. After we were dropped off a the castle, we were able to see the changing of the guards, the castle grounds and the cathedral. The walk down to the Charles Bridge and into the town was equally pleasant and I learned a lot about the city's history. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see Prague!

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

I was really disappointed with this tour. I booked an English tour, and after leaving over 40 minutes late, it turned out that our joint English/Italian tour guide really didn't speak English very well. While she would go on and on in Italian, her English description would be a sentence or two at most. And those sentences would be in broken English that were next to impossible to understand. As we were walking around the cathedral, another woman had a tour book that gave us far more information than our tour guide. After about an hour, I gave up and split off the tour to do my own this. Definitely a waste of money.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent tour!
Great guide, perfect timing (you reach the castle just in time for the guard ritual), just about right amount of information (past and present), one of the most beautiful cathedrals in the world, sense of stepping into medieval time, perfect views...

Highly recommended!

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Was very quick and skipped one of the most important and historical landmarks of the entire city, St Vitus Cathedral. The tour guide was okay, was all over the place and most of the sightseeing was just "quick look out to your left". Tour guide spent most of the time speaking in German for two German people out of 10. Would not recommend this one, there are dozens you can find on the day that are much better they're every where and very detailed compared to this one.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

This tour gets you into all the ticketed parts of the complex, including St Vitus’ cathedral, the palace, and St George's Basilica. The pace felt a bit slow and we didn't quite expect our guide to take a lunch break in a three hour tour, but overall worth doing.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Even with large weekend crowds, moving about the Prague Castle was a breeze, the guide knew all the tiny details of the complex, showed us a lot of hidden treasures, and was able to keep up with Cathedral queue, Guard-Change sched, lunch-break craziness, and Gold line crowds.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

My sister and I really enjoyed our tour of Prague, guided by Jana. She is an excellent guide. We saw many sights in beautiful Prague, and had plenty of time to explore the amazing Cathedral and Castle. It was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Prague in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Very knowledgeable tour guide, small group - beautiful cathedral and castle. Learnt a lot about the history of the country.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message