Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Terezín Concentration Camp (Theresienstadt)

Terezín started life as a fortress town, built to protect Bohemia from Prussian attacks. But it's more familiar in the public imagination as Theresienstadt, the so-called 'Paradise Camp' used by the Nazis as a transit camp during WWII. It was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 227 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I always thought I would never want to go to a concentration camp but it was situated in the country of my father and the impending Nazi invasion was the reason my grandparents came to America. The tour was excellent. Very thorough and thought provoking without being too traumatic for me emotionally. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

...A sobering yet rich in history tour. Rose our guide at the small fortress - the prison camp - was excellent in telling the stories of what went on there...Mind you this was a prison and transfer camp in WWII and though many people perished it was not the death camps that we know of ....This tour should not be missed

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an incredibly moving experience. This is a must see for anyone visiting Prague. You get a real perspective when you stand before cell 12 and when you visit the large fortress and see the Jewish ghetto and how they were forced to lived. Fantastic tour. Some parts of history should never be forgotten. This tour will move you regardless of your nationality.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Every detail was right. We took a beautiful van to the sight with our tour guide, Sara , narrating along the way. She was extremely knowledgable and timed the various sections of our tour perfectly.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I had never been to a concentration camp before and it was a very humbling experience. From the prison to the Jewish Ghetto and museum, the living conditions were just deplorable. At the end of the prison tour we saw a Nazi propaganda movie and at one point it told how Hitler annexed the Sudetenland from Czecholslovakia because 90% of the people living there were German-speaking Czech. It just startled me to the bone because of recent political events in the Ukraine.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour guides were very informed and answered all our questions.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting trip, highly recommend.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a tour all world travelers need to take. Terezin was a holding camp for Prague's Jews and Jews from other parts of Europe. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. The only drawback was the tour needed to be at least an hour longer so one could take in the images and stories at the museum. If you take this tour make sure to visit the Jewish Quarters first, especially the Pinkas Synagogue, now a museum, which lists the names of the 77,000 Czech Jews killed in the Holocaust. The tour began and ended at Republic Square. Spend some time at the Square to enjoy the Municipal House's beautiful interior and restaurants. The gift shop has a clean and free restroom.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour is good, it takes an hour to get there on the bus,
both the guide on the bus and the guide round the camp were good,
This trip is an eye opener and shocking at times, its hard to imagine how anybody survived.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour was very informative and would not miss this opportunity. It lasts about 5 hours total. Every inch of the concentration camp along with photos, poems are explained. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good, excellent guide, very knowledgable

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour! Very interesting and worth doing. You get there by bus with a tour and at Terezin there is a local tour guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

One of the best tours I've been on ... well worth the money. Our tour guide was very friendly, caring, patient and knowledgeable.

The small and large fortresses have some excellent articles and content and the Ghetto Museum was fascinating to visit, very thought provoking .....

Terezin itself is fascinating and while a contrast to Prague itself, understanding some of the history made my overall visit more worthwhile.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

looked after very well from beginning to end tour guides were very helpful and informative.Trip not too far out of Prague. Interesting day out

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide was excellent. He was very well educated and knew the history of the annihilation of the Jews in Europe.

The van was comfortable.

I highly recommend this tour to any one interested in World War 'll.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message