Prague ATTRACTIONS See all

Terezín Concentration Camp (Theresienstadt)

Terezín started life as a fortress town, built to protect Bohemia from Prussian attacks. But it's more familiar in the public imagination as Theresienstadt, the so-called 'Paradise Camp' used by the Nazis as a transit camp during WWII. It was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 420 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing !!!!!! would do it again in a heart beat

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Robert T M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I definitely recommend this tour. The tour guides were very knowledgable and provided an interesting learning opportunity regarding the history of this camp. Their English was also very good.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Lyndon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

our guide was fantastic!!

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Sharon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A 5 star tour led by a very well informed guide. A must see camp because it was not an extermination camp but rather a transit camp. The train ride made us feel that we were being transported to the camp although it was a passenger train and did NOT end at the camp.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour Including Admission to Ghetto Museum And Magdeburg Barracks

Raelene J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

it is a must do tour.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

chris.chase United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

very interesting incite to the evils of the past, excellent guide.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

ELLEN s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Guide was terrific. Vans were great. Loved having the snacks. We will recommend this trip to others

Doing what: Private Trip to Terezin from Prague

Caryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Tour was very professional and everything ran really smoothly. The guides were great and really helpful.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Anthea P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent tour very informative guide. Thank you

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Jessica W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Overall it was a well organized and informative experience. My husband and I were impressed with the friendliness and knowledge of the staff, both our general tour guide as well as our tour guide within Terezin itself. We feel it was a well worth it, extremely sobering experience and highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Judith S P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A moving experience and a must see. We did not get to visit the crematorium on this trip because there was a special state visit on this day but still a good value. English speaking guides very good.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Lynn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide on the bus out to Terezin was excellent, with a good command of the history. His English was also quite good. At Terezin, our local guide, a young woman, also did an excellent job of profiling the history of the fortress and its use as a collection point for World War II Nazi political and genocide purposes. Very informative and very moving. You could tell that the guide, a Czech national, was very invested in this particular chapter of her country's long and troubled history. We would definitely recommend this tour to those who want to better understand what the Nazis were all about from 1933-45, and the impact they had on then Czechoslovakia, as well as the rest of Europe.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Gail D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guides were able to handle this sensitive and very sad subject in a comprehensive and respectful manner.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic trip. Great information given by Helen on way to Terezin. Tour in the Camp was very interesting and humbling and the guide was fantastic, I would recommend it to everyone. Anne and Dave from Dubin

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Deborah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was well worth the time. A sobering experience, but an important one. Drive was not too long, and the tour was the right length of time.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

robert v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

professional, friendly, very informative, on time

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Peter L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Going to Terezin is probably going to be something that sticks with me for years. It wasn't an enjoyable tour per se, coming to physically see the conditions the prisoners had to live in and get an experience on what life was like in camps like this was a real eye-opener and quite difficult to stomach I found the crematory particularly saddening.

We had two guides along the tour. The first, a lady whose name I cannot remember, gave us bits and pieces of information as we made our way to the camp by coach. Though her English was far from fluent, it was still understandable and highly interesting.
Our second guide, I believe her name was Denisa, who showed us around the small fortress was phenomenal. Her passion, knowledge and interest were extremely clear to see. She's exactly what you want in a guide.

After the small fortress tour, we went back over to the big fortress and to the museum which I felt was a little disappointing, but nonetheless it was still a highly interesting trip and one I'd recommend to anyone coming to the Czech Republic.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Thierry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very moving,sad.....
Everybody should take this tour and stop complaining about little things in their life.....and enjoy what they have.....

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Gumby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Recommend the tour, the local guide was wonderful and made the day one to reflect on the past, great job Givi!

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour Including Admission to Ghetto Museum And Magdeburg Barracks

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a very somber and moving experience. Well worth the trip.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Grace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was excellent. She was informative and provided a great perspective on Terezin. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Brian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We found the tour very informative and interesting. It makes you realise the suffering and hardship endured. The whole tour was good value for money.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Nigel J L B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A salutory lesson of man's inhumanity to man. The guide through the small fortress was informative and did emphasise the early history of the structure as well it use during WW2. The large fortress and museum were interesting and the Ghetto Museum gave an emotive display of the suffering in WW2.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great day!! Rene was marvellous. His knowledge and passion were addictive.
We were a little bit rushed a couple of times but I think he just wanted to expose us to the whole site.
Highly recommend.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

sheldon s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very interesting and informative guide, Johan. Well organized and definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Terezin Concentration Camp Day Tour from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message