Situated in southern Bohemia, the small city of Český Krumlov was added to the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 2002. During the communist era, the city fell into disrepair, but since the Velvet Revolution it has been returned to its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 375 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

A long day but worth it to see this beautiful town. Our guide was very informative. His delivery was a bit dry but we certainly learnt a lot. Just enough free time in the town to have a nice lunch then wander the streets and shops. Then after meeting in the centre, it was off to the Palace for beautiful views over Cesky Krumlov and then a guided tour of the palace. Didn't get back to Prague until 7pm. Long day but good day!

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent Tourist Guide!!! She was very knowledgeable about the City and was adept t shepherding a large crowd of tourists. Also, she was very personable! Highly recommended not only for the tour guide but also for the impressive preserved architecture of Cesky Krumlov!

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everything falls nicely as scheduled. A City blends out of myth, legend and reality....Viator makes my dreams come true. Thank you Almighty God.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a great experience. Visiting a beautiful city in Southern Czech Republic. A must see.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great day with an excellent guide Sarah, who managed to keep all 17 of us together and updated with two differant languages.
It was a long day but very enjoyable.
I also want to mention our bus driver Henri. He did a great job and I felt very comfortable.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A long trip at 10 1/2 hours. Excellent guide and worth the time. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An absolutely wonderful experience. The guide gave us a quick overview of the castle and town, gave us time for lunch and shopping on our own, and directions to return for the castle tour. This was a very long day, but the bus rides came us a chance to see the countryside, relax, sleep, and talk to other people on the tour. The guide at the castle was terrific. The tour proceeded at a comfortable pace despite very steep inclines in some places.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

Lesley P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very long day, very hot and bus not very comfortable. But very glad I went. The town had beauty on every corner and atmosphere. Would have liked to stay a few days. Our guide was good and knowledgable.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

You could tell our guide loved his job. He was very passionate about the information he presented to us. The castle tour was interesting and although it wasn't my favorite tour it is definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Charming town in southern Check Republic! Quite a contrast to Prague and for that reason very enjoyable!

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

1- The tour guide was come tent and friendly. If you like Castles, then I recommend to take this tour.
2- Tour is recommended for people who like to see more than sightseeing in the Prague and like to know more about country side of the Czech Republic.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

This was a good tour. Our guide was very informative and helpful. The only problem was the weather - much too hot and that made the tour less enjoyable.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

For the 2.5 hr drive each way in a small mini bus, overall we thought it is overrated.

Its less of a castle and more of a quaint medieval town. It does have great views and some cool architecture but kind of a let down after reading all the great reviews that you 'must see if you love castles'. I actually enjoyed Karlstekn castle better in this visit to Czech.

We had about 2 hours of free time and after an hour lunch at Piazza Cafe good soup and pizza, we walked around and found ourselves waiting in the square for 40 min bc there wasn't really much else to do.

The tour of the inside of the castle was ok. You cant take any pictures and lasts almost an hr. Tour guide was informative. You get a bathroom break on way to Cesky Krumlov but not one on the way back.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Tour was OK but the bus although air-conditioned was inadequate. Suitable only for small adults and children.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour to this beautiful medieval town. Our guide Gustav was so informative and had a wonderful sense of humour. Only down side was the number of people in the palace tour.....about 3 times too many and the guide was very difficult to understand. Festival of the Rose was on during our visit and this gave us the added bonus of medieval music and parade.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience, very nice guide.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. the bus was wonderful, clean, new, and air conditioned and the guide very knowledgeable. We were very happy that we booked this tour. The entire town was a treasure to see and we would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Interesting day tour so much history. Long drive there from Prague 3 hours each way. Guides knowledge excellent. If you have plenty of spare time do tour scenery along way not very interesting.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Cesky Krumlov was a lovely day out though long. Our guide was very knowledgable and enthusiastic but at times, hard to understand. The castle tour was awesome. Value for money.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very interesting place to visit and with a good tour event better

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Cesky Krumlov - magical place well worth visiting: 5 stars
Tour: 3 stars - too short given the lengthy travelling time 3 hours there and 2.5 hours back. Less than 5 hours in the town. Next time, we would stay overnight as there is so much more to see. Surely the tour company could find a better place for a health break than a gas station on the side of the highway? And why not leave Prague one hour earlier at 8 am which would increase time on site by 20.
Tour guide - 2 stars because I'm in a generous mood - surely the most disinterested tour guide on the planet. Spent almost the entire trip to the town talking to the driver and told us very little about the country or its history. Gave us minimal information on site. Made us feel like we were a burden.
Guide inside the castle - 5 stars. Looked like he was 16 years old but knew a huge amount when questions were posed and was both funny and enthusiastic. Wanted to trade him for the tour guide on the bus.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The guide was excellent. Cesky Krumlov has unfortunately become a tourist haven. It was pouring rain, there were mobs of people, we had no idea it would be so strenuous and that we would not be allowed to sit out the parts that required extreme effort walking up steep hills and lots of steps. It was very disappointing!

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

BB
United States of America

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed the small town and the castle but it is a long 2 1/2 hour bus ride each way. You could see all of the village in about 2 hours. It was a long day. The tour guide was ok. I think he got miffed that people were not paying 100 attention to him. There again I think they need younger people. He told me to rate the trip on trip advisor and he would know if I did or not. So here it.........

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The tour started 15 minutes late, due to 2 late arrivals. Everyone on the tour showed up at 8:45 AM as requested on the tour information sheet, except for one person, who did not show up until 9:00 AM which was the time the tour was scheduled to start/bus was scheduled to depart. What made it worse was that the guest asked the tour guide to wait for her friend, whom she lost between their taxi ride together and the meeting place. The tour guide told the group that we had to wait for the last person which people were not happy about. The lost guest showed up at 9:15 AM..late because she was too busy taking pictures and lost
track of her friend. We were not happy that the tour guide delayed the start of the tour because of the late guest.
The tour itself, was okay, nothing to write home about. It was hard to hear, much less understand the tour guide, as he spoke very fast and his English was not easy to understand. Also, as he did not have a microphone, unless you were close to him, you could not hear what he was saying. I would suggest providing the tour guides with microphones and well as something they can hold up, so the people in the tour group, can see where the tour guide is.
The tour to the castle, was the most interesting part of the tour. However, again, the tour guide was hard to understand due to his accent.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message