Prague Castle, Europe’s largest, is a looming presence in the heart of the Czech capital. The word “castle,” however, is a little misleading. This is a rambling complex big enough to incorporate its own cathedral (the beautiful St. Vitus) which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 525 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Well worth booking. A very passionate and informative guide (Anna).

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour to this beautiful medieval town. Our guide Gustav was so informative and had a wonderful sense of humour. Only down side was the number of people in the palace tour.....about 3 times too many and the guide was very difficult to understand. Festival of the Rose was on during our visit and this gave us the added bonus of medieval music and parade.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience, very nice guide.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful learning experience. Wear comfortable shoes and agree to any suggestions the cook suggests when eating at a local restaurant. Fresh grilled fish was memorable.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Do not miss. MIchelle was a fantastic guide and answered all of our numerous questions. We usually prefer audio guide tours but due to the huge number of items to see, this tour is a great option. Michelle was by far our best tour guide ever.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. the bus was wonderful, clean, new, and air conditioned and the guide very knowledgeable. We were very happy that we booked this tour. The entire town was a treasure to see and we would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Interesting day tour so much history. Long drive there from Prague 3 hours each way. Guides knowledge excellent. If you have plenty of spare time do tour scenery along way not very interesting.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Cesky Krumlov was a lovely day out though long. Our guide was very knowledgable and enthusiastic but at times, hard to understand. The castle tour was awesome. Value for money.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very interesting place to visit and with a good tour event better

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgable and the castle is amazing. There was a good deal to see and learn about. We were there for over four hours....and didn't even realize it. Very interesting.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Cesky Krumlov - magical place well worth visiting: 5 stars
Tour: 3 stars - too short given the lengthy travelling time 3 hours there and 2.5 hours back. Less than 5 hours in the town. Next time, we would stay overnight as there is so much more to see. Surely the tour company could find a better place for a health break than a gas station on the side of the highway? And why not leave Prague one hour earlier at 8 am which would increase time on site by 20.
Tour guide - 2 stars because I'm in a generous mood - surely the most disinterested tour guide on the planet. Spent almost the entire trip to the town talking to the driver and told us very little about the country or its history. Gave us minimal information on site. Made us feel like we were a burden.
Guide inside the castle - 5 stars. Looked like he was 16 years old but knew a huge amount when questions were posed and was both funny and enthusiastic. Wanted to trade him for the tour guide on the bus.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The guide was excellent. Cesky Krumlov has unfortunately become a tourist haven. It was pouring rain, there were mobs of people, we had no idea it would be so strenuous and that we would not be allowed to sit out the parts that required extreme effort walking up steep hills and lots of steps. It was very disappointing!

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

BB
United States of America

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed the small town and the castle but it is a long 2 1/2 hour bus ride each way. You could see all of the village in about 2 hours. It was a long day. The tour guide was ok. I think he got miffed that people were not paying 100 attention to him. There again I think they need younger people. He told me to rate the trip on trip advisor and he would know if I did or not. So here it.........

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

Adam S
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The castle is amazing from outside and well worth a visit however this tour does not include the best rooms inside, so if you want to see these you will need to ask and pay extra.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

For that big castle complex I think that the tour was very short and very superficial. There was no additional information given to us, not much more than This is building A, This is church B, there is this house.
After a nearly 4 hour tour you aks yourself, what did we learn actually. I think that the audioguide in the castle complex would have given us much more and wouldn't have cost that much, wouldn't have been boring.
Also we booked an English tour and because of a French couple who also have booked the English tour it was annoying to hear everything in French.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The tour started 15 minutes late, due to 2 late arrivals. Everyone on the tour showed up at 8:45 AM as requested on the tour information sheet, except for one person, who did not show up until 9:00 AM which was the time the tour was scheduled to start/bus was scheduled to depart. What made it worse was that the guest asked the tour guide to wait for her friend, whom she lost between their taxi ride together and the meeting place. The tour guide told the group that we had to wait for the last person which people were not happy about. The lost guest showed up at 9:15 AM..late because she was too busy taking pictures and lost
track of her friend. We were not happy that the tour guide delayed the start of the tour because of the late guest.
The tour itself, was okay, nothing to write home about. It was hard to hear, much less understand the tour guide, as he spoke very fast and his English was not easy to understand. Also, as he did not have a microphone, unless you were close to him, you could not hear what he was saying. I would suggest providing the tour guides with microphones and well as something they can hold up, so the people in the tour group, can see where the tour guide is.
The tour to the castle, was the most interesting part of the tour. However, again, the tour guide was hard to understand due to his accent.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The tour guide was an elderly lady and she was utterly boring. Her English also was not great. She seemed like she had no interest in the tour itself but was more concerned that everybody was on time and did not make the rest of the tour late. Her explanations were as if she was reading out of a textbook and she had no enthusiasm. There was too much free time in the town. I would have liked a more well rounded tour with more explanations about the history and details rather than just letting us wander around aimlessly. I felt like I was paying just for the transportation to the town and nothing else. On top of that, the tour guide for the castle had terrible English. He seemed like he was simply memorising a text and spitting it back out for us. There were way too many people in the castle tour and it was hard to really see all the rooms with everyone crowding in it. I was very disappointed with this tour and had hoped for much more.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Okay, not great. More than twenty people on a small bus. Two hour drive to Cesky Krumlov. Guide spoke English and Russian. Pointed out a few things on the drive and provided some historical information. In town there was a short walkabout and pointing out of highlights and then we were left on our own for about 90 minutes until our time to tour the castle. The castle tour was led by a castle guide whose English was adequate at best. More than 35 people on the castle tour which was way too many - hard to move in the rooms and see the objects because of the crowd. Then back to the bus and long drive back.
What was wrong - bus too small, two languages, not enough information given on drive to Cesky Krumlov, I suppose there were things to see in the town but we were really just left to wander about the town without the guide, 22:1 ratio is too many, castle tour and guide underwhelming and too many people. Before this trip, people raved about Cesky Krumlov but we just found it disappointing.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I very much enjoyed seeing this idealic medieval village center and the castle. The guide was very good about giving details.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Private Tour: Prague City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I liked the tour, the bus and the guide very much. The only comment would be to let us know that going up the tower is not part of the tour. But guided tour of castle was good as well, though MOSTLY we enjoyed YOUR guide. Thank you.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience highly recommend this.

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a beautiful place, full of history. Throughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything went so smoothly. I loved the bus ride through the countryside to and from Cesky Krumlov. The first views you get of the city are drop dead gorgeous. Enjoyed the whole experience and would recommend it for sure.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message