Prague Castle, Europe’s largest, is a looming presence in the heart of the Czech capital. The word “castle,” however, is a little misleading. This is a rambling complex big enough to incorporate its own cathedral (the beautiful St. Vitus) which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 411 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

fantastic day in this gem of a town. not to be missed when visiting Prague.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Nice guide, peacefull village, great castle

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We had a wonderful tour. Our guide , Decklin, was fabulous. He has a great personality and was very informative and fun! Would suggest his tour

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Terrific!! Our van driver was cautious and helpful. Tour guide, Renee, was wonderful..... filled us in on anecdotes and good historical information. Gave suggestions as to what to do with our time..... and made sure we all got to tour of the castle, which was delightful. A long, fulfilling and memorable trip.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Beautiful place, a must see. Tour was great with ample time to check out the town.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We enjoyed this tour despite the Castle being closed for the Czech National day!!!! Some members of the tour were very upset by this as they had bought tickets just the day before when the tour operator must have know this. We felt sorry for the guide who bore the brunt of this complaint although it was not her fault.
Other than that we found the guide knowledgeable and interesting which made the tour very good.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our tour of Prague Castle was truncated somewhat because it was October 28th, a special National Day, and the Army had a dedication for all new graduates. We were delivered to the Castle by bus and walked into the main square which was packed with people, soldiers and bands, which restricted our movement and castle access. Nevertheless, our guide was excellent, and kept the 10 of us together, and on track. The Castle complex is enormous, but we didn't get to go INTO the castle at all, just walk around the buildings, into the Magnificent Cathedral, a second Church dedicated to the local St John of Nepomuk (I think), and the Golden Alley, a street of Artisans, where we could buy trinkets. We walked back to the Charles Bridge, via a restaurant (customer pays) with magnificent view over Prague City, where we had tea and coffee. As tour numbers weren't known before the tour began, we had no booking at the restaurant, which was unfortunate as it was very busy. We managed to find seats for everyone, but not all together.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Prague Castle walking tour.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

The tour itself was great - well organised and very knowledgeable guide. Could perhaps have been done in a larger bus as it was a full tour and the bus was rather overcrowded. Have to admit was a little disappointed with the town. Had been looking forward to visiting Cesky Krumlov after continually hearing about the place from people who had visited. Had been expecting so much more. Maybe it was because we had visited Karlovy Vary the day before and had been completely won over by this beautiful town.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

I am sure that on most days this is an interesting tour of Prague Castle and its buildings. However for us it was not.

We started by seeing the changing of the guard and then proceeded to St George's Basilica where things began deteriorate! The tour was not billed as bilingual and our tour group of around 10 contained 8 English speakers (not all English) and 2 Germans and the problem was that each fairly detailed description was given first in English and then German which rapidly became tedious with lengthy waits between sights. There was a general restlessness amongst the group because of this and people kept wandering of during the German parts which led to further waits. After what seemed a very long tour of the Basilica (which we later realised was to fill in the time) we were then informed that the Old Royal Palace was not open that day but could look aound the outside. This caused further dismay in the group a few of which were very vocal in their discontent. The guides response was "this is a working castle and things close'. I think people felt that this should have been explained at the time of booking. The guide then seemed to lose all interest in what she doing! It was obviously not her fault and I think she was upset by the groups dissatisfaction.

So my advice would be check that the tour is solely in your language and that everything is open on the day you propose to visit.

Doing what: Prague Castle Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the highlight to our visit to Prague! Sasha was our bike guide, and he was friendly, knowledgable, and really helpful. The bikes were in great condition, with really good gears. The bike ride was beautiful! And the train ride back was a fun way to end the tour. I would do this again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I really enjoyed the bike tour. Before heading out to Karlstejn we rode around old town Prague. The ride along the river was really nice. Mostly flat and easy with a few easy hills. A very nice way to see the countryside. We stopped mid way for a beer break which was a nice treat. The guide was a nice young guy originally from Ukraine. I forgot his name but he was a real nice and knowledgeable guy and the info he shared about of the area was very interesting. If I get to return to Prague, I'll definitely join this bike tour company again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour out to Cesky Krumlov was very interesting and I really enjoyed the day. CK is well worth the visit.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An excellent tour. Very pleasant, knowledgeable guide. Cesky Krumlov is a wonderful town to visit. We would love to go back. Wish we had booked an overnight tour in order to get the most from our visit.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I loved Karlstejn Castle! Our guide was very informative and told some very interesting stories about the area. It turned out that there was a wine festival going on that day so her job was made much more challenging by the crowds. However she handled it very well by setting up meeting points, waiting in strategic places to direct each of us, and got us all back to Prague again!

Doing what: Karlstejn Castle Half-Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message