Prague has few green spaces in its Old Town (Staré Mésto) except the delightful Franciscan Gardens, which are tucked behind Wenceslas Square and provide a respite from the busy city streets. Some of the city’s largest parks are within an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We took a train from Prague - wonderful scenery - to the historical town of Cesky Krumlov, which is a UNESCO World Monument. Cesky Krumlov has a wonderfully furnished castle - the Masquerade Hall was totally unexpected. The gardens were also beautiful. We went in May - it was perfect for walking the whole town. I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

AN WET INTERESTING DAY
We arrived at the meeting point in Prague and joined one of two buses on the tour - the smaller one - and met our local guide who was very good giving extensive commentary on the 1/5 hours drive to Cesky Krumlov through the Czech countryside. She explained development of the lake systems by past emporers which was interesting.
She was not keen to walk UP though the castle so organised to get us dropped of at the top of the castle gardens so we had a downhill walk through the castle. (Nice)
Our guide talked us through the castle grounds and the various parts of the castle. Our tour also included a guided tour of the castle rooms (by a castle guide) and we then had free time in the afternoon to explore the town.
After lunch and numerous downpours we continued our downhill walk to board the bus and travel back to Prague.
All in all a good day considering the weather.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

This was a great trip to Vienna for the day. It is a long bus trip, 4 plus hours each way. Our trip started out fine until several people on the tour forgot their passports and then the tour guide (who we would be with for the next 14 hours) began to berate people in English and Russian for the next twenty minutes. Be sure to take your passports along to avoid this!

After a long bus ride with one stop for a break we finally arrived to Vienna. After a drive through town you have about an hour at the Schonbrunn palace to explore the gardens. There is no time to explore inside the palace, but the ground are beautiful. There is a little snack bar inside the palace grounds where you can get large Pretzels and Apple Strudel to sustain your tour. The bus then takes you on a tour of the famous Ringstrasse where you get to see all the great sites of Vienna. Our guide then provided a walking tour through the downtown from the Hofburg to St. Stephens cathedral and then gave us about two hours of free time. While downtown we visited the gift shops, had Vienna iced coffees, and soaked up the essence of Vienna. We got back to Prague after eleven. Overall it is a long trip, but if you have limited time it a great taste of the city.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Great day trip tour! I had a great time on this tour! The tour guide was knowledgeable and fun. I wish the tour was a bit longer and that we could have had more time to check out the gardens.

Doing what: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

We started out by walking to a corner and standing there while he talked for 20 minutes. So, while the tour was somewhat interesting and we did see some places we did not see on the mainstream city tour, some of the hidden passageways were shortcuts through shopping malls. We did see some beautiful gardens of a church and learn some interesting facts, though. So, all that being said, I would have expected more "hidden" gems for the price. If the price were lower, I would have given a higher rating.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Hidden Prague

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

We were on the Prague-Vienna same day bus tour on Sunday, July 21. The tour guide was enthusiastic and warm, with an appropriate amount of commentary during the long bus ride and when in Vienna. My only problems with the tour is that there was not enough time to get a proper taste of Vienna. We got a chance to see the Schoenbrunn palace gardens, but not enough time was given to have a tour of the palace. In the heat, it would have been nicer to spend the time in the palace, especially if tickets for the tour had been purchased in advance. In addition, participants should be warned that Vienna basically shuts down on Sundays, The only things open during our short "free time" in Vienna on Sunday, were some restaurants and a few tacky tourist souvenir shops.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

It was a cold and rainy day. We left at 9am and stopped at a rest stop about 10:30am. However, since we had just eaten breakfast before getting in the van, we were not interested in eating at that time. When we got to Dresden, it was quite crowded because it was their Labor Day. The line at the art museum was 15 minutes long and the guide did not want to wait on it. So, I said I was more interested in the porcelain anyway, we headed there. When we were done there, we looked at the art museum and the line was still there; so, we walked around the castle gardens. We then went to the local shopping mall and walked around there for awhile. Around 3:30 I asked the guide if we could go to a restaurant that accepted credit cards so that we could have lunch/dinner, which we did. Afterwards, I just said that we could leave Dresden at that point because we were very tired from walking so much. We were the only two on the tour and I think it would have been much better if additional people were on it so that it wasn't so much one-on-one with this particular tour guide.

Doing what: Dresden Day Trip from Prague

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Our tour was on our first wedding anniversary and it all started out well...small group size with an informative guide. The initial city tour then Prague Castle left you wanting to know more. The lunch overlooking the city was excellent quality only 2 other people opted for the full day so was very pleasast experience, spectacular views and perfect weather.
Then we were collected by our guide and walked down the city through lovely gardens towards our boat trip.
So the boat trip we took without the guide she would be waiting on the shore when it was completed so off we went with our inclusive beer and had pleasant views from the river.
On return to the shore....NO GUIDE waiting for us!!!!!
This was around 5PM we waited, the 4 of us looking around but we had been DITCHED by our GUIDE!!!!
We waited over 40 mins as we couldn't believe it was happening....but with dinner reservations on the other side of Prague we made our way back courtesey of my trusty K+K Hotel map!!!
It was such a let down to a lovely day and we took another tour the next day to fill in the bits we missed on the end of our day tour-Jewish Quarter, Old Town Sq, etc.
The explanation given when we complained the next day......she went to the toilet!! Not good enough for a reputable company in a very compteative marketplace. MUST DO BETTER

Doing what: Full-Day Tour to Prague Castle and Vltava River Cruise with Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

Dreadful. Totally disorganized. Left half an hour late in a minibus. Six passengers crammed in plus guide and driver for four hour drive to Vienna. The drive reached speeds of 190 kph. Frightening. Arrived at Schombonn Palace and told to go look at the gardens. The guide did not accompany us. The guide in the minibus told us she was not our guide but was there for the two French passengers. We were told our guide was with three other passengers in his own car. We then list our guide and half an hour after the agreed meeting time we finally got our guide. We were then driven for another half hour to different part of Vienna for a walking tour. By this stage my wife and I left the tour. The next day we met one of the passengers and he told us they were shown a couple of things and then told they were on free time. Apparently the French passengers left the tour. Dreadful experience and I could recommend the attitude of the tour operator staff. Avoid them.

Doing what: Vienna Sightseeing Day Trip from Prague

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message