Famed for its beautiful Vieux Port, or Old Port, this seaside city in the south of France is beloved by travelers and locals alike. Unlike more glamorous locales like Nice and Paris, Marseille is much more relaxed and accessible to non-natives. It ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 548 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emma M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I didn and #39;t end up going on this tour. They called to say that there were no other bookings so I was moved onto another, I was then late for that one due to train delays. I called them and they moved me to the next day. Was a wonderful experience, Remy was an excellent guide. Loved every second of it.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Gail E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly and she really personalized the tour for each participant. This was a very nice way to see how people in this area of France live and we enjoyed the relaxing pace of the tour.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Aix-en-Provence Tour from Marseille

Michael

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was one of our very favorite tours on our 19 day vacation!! The drive to the village was absolutely gorgeous and Florence, our guide gave us many opportunities to take pictures as she shared information about the trip. Once we arrived, the village was AMAZING! We strolled up to the top and back down we did not hike to the castle, but it looked gorgeous. The shops were amazing! Truly a lovely experience with a great guide!

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Private Tour of Les Baux de Provence

Alexander L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

3 interesting and different villages, Rousillion, Gordes and Le Baux but maybe cut the time down at each to 30 mins which would give an extra half an hour at the Pont du Gard as we did not have enough time to see the exhibition which looked very interesting.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Denise M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The pick-up at the hotel was on time and our guide, Melanie, was lovely. She was very knowledgeable but did not spend the entire time talking, giving us time to enjoy the countryside as we drove from town to town. I loved seeing all the places we went, but would have liked a little more time exploring. Of course, that would mean cutting out one of the stops. Hard choices!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Susan P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Small group tour gave a great chance to experience this ancient area.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

niljana

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This excursion was very interesting, a bit short but interesting. Word of wisdom, if you want to stay longer at one place instead of going to the next, private tour of course, be insistent, otherwise you will not be heard. We were disappointed in the short amount of time allowed to visit Les Baux de Provence a charming and historic location. The olive oil attraction was not hot on our list we would have gladly skipped it for more time at Les Baux de Provence.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Private Tour of Les Baux de Provence

chapter.4

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Was disappointed that the company did not have other people interested in this tour. They kindly transferred my booking to the Luberon and Lavender Museum tour. The hilltop towns of Gordes and Roussillon were beautiful and worth the visit.

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

Fernando

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Got to see at least two medieval cities, most interesting.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall an excellent tour. Marc was very knowledgeable about Provence and we learned a lot about the region. We were with a nice group which helped make the day very enjoyable. Marc arrived on time, the vehicle was comfortable we were not in back seat though, we got back on time and Marc's English was excellent.
Comments:
Felt a little rushed during day and would have liked more time in a couple of places.
There was one cliuent on a half day tour, the rest of us were full day. Therefore had to return to starting point which may have been the reason we were short on time. Suggest having tour with people who have same schedule.
For a!most 300 kind of expected lunch would have been provided or at least some beverages.
in spite of these comments would highly recommend tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Kelly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great pace! Great sites! Great guide(Julien). My only recommendation would be to swap the lavender museum for a wine tasting or cheese tasting. This tour was exactly what I was looking for. I only had 36 hours in Provence and with work, didn and #39;t have time to research a trip. A taste of Provence.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lots to see and very enjoyable. Good site choice. Friendly, upbeat tour guide, Violet.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Evelyn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was very good and our guide was great. This tour gave the background of the areas. I t allowed me to see more and would be better able to choose one or two spots to revisit.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Violette was knowledgeable friendly and flexible. As we were the only guests in the afternoon she was able to make some changes to eliminate attractions we had already seen, thus increasing our overall enjoyment.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was great. He gave us excellent advice about how to spend our time, answered our many questions and offered great background on the sites. Like all tours of this type, it can seem rushed but it is a great way to see these types of interesting places if you don't want to drive yourself and have limited time--the tour makes great use of the time you have.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Joan H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed our tour, as the amount to see seemed just about right. Yet, did not need to spend so much time at the Lavender museum and store. Violette was a nice tour guide.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Violet was wonderful, competent, and informative. We would highly recommend this tour especially if you are not traveling with a car.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide Emanuel gave us an amazing Grand tour of Provance. His knowledge of the places he took us and the surrounding areas was excellent. The weather was beautiful which added to the experience. Overall it was an enjoyable day. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see places outside Avignon.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great value for money would recommend this tour

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very interesting day no crowds off season would recommend this tour

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Gina Huang Taiwan

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Winter is very cold and the store are closed, it's not interesting.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Anita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was excellent. Her knowledge of the area - fun facts too - was terrific. We had a good time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Justin C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Pick up was on time. I had a lovely afternoon driving around the Avignon countryside. Great for a snap shot of the country side if you are time constrained.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

CMagee United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was a wonderful way to complete our vacation in Provence. We cycled the bike does 95 of the work to historic and scenic locations in Marseille, then headed along the coast to a National Park called 'End of the World' by the locals. At our first coffee break I love French coffee we bought sandwiches which we had for lunch at a small village harbor. On the way back we climbed to a famous cathedral for panoramic views of the city. Our guide was friendly, informative, and fun to cycle with. Very good English. Overall, a relaxing, healthy, fun six hours of exploring the Marseille coast.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

glclark1

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We had a great time but went on a monday and most of the shops in the villages were closed

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message