Famed for its beautiful Vieux Port, or Old Port, this seaside city in the south of France is beloved by travelers and locals alike. Unlike more glamorous locales like Nice and Paris, Marseille is much more relaxed and accessible to non-natives. It ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 459 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The lavender tour was great! Our driver (Sarah) was very nice. Rousillon and Gordes were picturesque.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was very good and we had a very friendly and patient tour guide Sara. We enjoyed the day and highly recommend the tour and tour guide.
Asanga and Sangetha

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. Had plenty of time at each stop and guide was pleasant.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Julien, our guide was superb!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was exactly what I was looking for; transport, a little local info and time to explore independently.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Best tour of our trip! Worth doing when in Avignon!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An excellent afternoon tour of Provence, stopping at various places on the way to walk around and take photographs.A very informative and pleasant driver/guide. Really worth the money!!

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The half day tour of Provence was excellent. We were picked up at the appropriate time and the travel guide was knowledgeable and friendly. There is, however, always the dilemma between seeing a host of different, interesting sights versus the actual amount of time being allowed to appreciate all those sights. Whilst we loved the tour as a whole, we did feel that we were time pressured and would perhaps have liked, say half an hour longer at each stop. Altogther, though, we would recommend this wholeheartedly to other travellers.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour including Roman ruins in Orange and Arles, and the unique hill top city of Les Baux. Enough free time to roam about and take in all the history.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Saw many interesting sites, including the mental hospital near St. Remy were Van Gough was committed for a while and the actual areas and scenes where he painted many pictures, the hilltop cities of Gordes and Les Baux, and the Roman aqueduct called Pont du Gard.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nicolas was knowledgeable with interesting facts to share. We had sufficent time at all 3 sites. The van was comfortable.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful, we traveled to many places in one day with the freedom to see the countryside with a guide that new so many facts. We never would have seen as many important and interesting sights and seen the wonderful Provence area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Electric Bike Tour from Marseille to the Calanques was our favorite day of a wonderful trip! My daughter and I were with a group of 5 other guests and the wonderful tour guide, Lionel. Lionel and Emmanuel the owner of the company taught us everything we needed to know about the bikes and Lionel kept a good pace that everyone was able to manage. The stops he chose and the info that he gave us on each stop were great...good info in English and French. We had time to explore the areas where we stopped and had a delicious lunch with the group at the restaurant. Great fun!

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Hilltop villages, lavender, enough free time to look around and enjoy, what a great day! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a highlight of our trip to France. Carole was an amazing guide! She is really an historian, not simply a guide - add knowledge to great driving skills. We would HIGHLY recommend this trip!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour - Nicolas gave lots of interesting and useful information, helpful maps and then left us to explore - perfect!

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really nice! Learned a lot of things at the museum.
Views at Gordes and Sault are absolutely gorgeous!
The guide Sarah was helpful and nice. She was a very responsible person as well. This trip is highly recommended!

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Jim in Lakeside ... 
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lots to see in so little time. This is a two part trip. The first trip occurs in the morning and goes North of Avignon to Lavender country, and several nice towns. then it's back to Avignon to drop off half-day participants and to pick up others. The second trip goes South to more towns, including the mental hospital Van Gogh stayed, and the Pont du Gard.

Most of the stops were rushed, some no more than 20-minutes. As for St-Remy, the Van Gogh stop, you get a quick walk-by a couple of Roman monuments, you look in to the courtyard of the mental hospital, and then hop back in to the van to go to the next stop.

The highlight of the tour was the stop at the Pont du Gard, where we had over an hour to hike up to the overlook of the Roman viaduct. This was a rigorous hike, but the sights and photo opportunities were well worth the effort.

Tip for the traveler - bring a lunch or be prepared to waste the stop at Baux en Provence because you get about a half an hour to eat and hike through the town.

Our suggestion to Viator would be to make this two full day trips, add another stop or two each day, and allot time for lunch. Our tour guide, Jeremy, was well versed in the lore associated with the stops we made, and answered all questions posed to him. He did the best he could within the time constraints.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

If I were able to do this tour again, I would have done the second half where you visit the various villages in the area. My tour guide Carol wrong spelling was top drawer. She spoke English really well also. I highly recommend the second half of this day tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a very nice trip, our guide Ann was very nice and she knew lot of things about the sites we visited the only minus was that we didn't have time to eat, but we survived...I recommend this tour to everybody

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The itinary was very good and our guide Victorine was very knowledgeable, competent and gracious. However one couple overslept and made our guide wait for them, putting us at least 30 minutes off schedule. Victorine was pleasant about it , but it made a difference for her snd for the rest of us.

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed the day, felt rushed at the Les Baux village in the morning and too much time at villages in the afternoon......wasn't impressed with coming back to Avignon to drop half day passengers off and pick up more...left in van in very hot conditions......Emily our Guide very informative and friendly

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A great day spent seeing the sights, maybe a little more time in each place in the morning would have been better

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour is a lot for one day. I know I chose it, but it was because the shorter ones say visit Gordes OR Roussion and I wanted both, or at least Roussion. The problem is you only get about 20-30 minutes to explore each village so we didn't get to see much due to stress of getting back in time.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide was very well-informed and gave good commentary but not overbearing. We had good amounts of time at our stops - in the lavender fields which were lovely and in Rousillon. Great way to get a good flavour of the farming in the area too and to see the countryside

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message