Famed for its beautiful Vieux Port, or Old Port, this seaside city in the south of France is beloved by travelers and locals alike. Unlike more glamorous locales like Nice and Paris, Marseille is much more relaxed and accessible to non-natives. It ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 539 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall an excellent tour. Marc was very knowledgeable about Provence and we learned a lot about the region. We were with a nice group which helped make the day very enjoyable. Marc arrived on time, the vehicle was comfortable we were not in back seat though, we got back on time and Marc's English was excellent.
Comments:
Felt a little rushed during day and would have liked more time in a couple of places.
There was one cliuent on a half day tour, the rest of us were full day. Therefore had to return to starting point which may have been the reason we were short on time. Suggest having tour with people who have same schedule.
For a!most 300 kind of expected lunch would have been provided or at least some beverages.
in spite of these comments would highly recommend tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Kelly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great pace! Great sites! Great guide(Julien). My only recommendation would be to swap the lavender museum for a wine tasting or cheese tasting. This tour was exactly what I was looking for. I only had 36 hours in Provence and with work, didn and #39;t have time to research a trip. A taste of Provence.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lots to see and very enjoyable. Good site choice. Friendly, upbeat tour guide, Violet.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Evelyn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was very good and our guide was great. This tour gave the background of the areas. I t allowed me to see more and would be better able to choose one or two spots to revisit.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Violette was knowledgeable friendly and flexible. As we were the only guests in the afternoon she was able to make some changes to eliminate attractions we had already seen, thus increasing our overall enjoyment.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was great. He gave us excellent advice about how to spend our time, answered our many questions and offered great background on the sites. Like all tours of this type, it can seem rushed but it is a great way to see these types of interesting places if you don't want to drive yourself and have limited time--the tour makes great use of the time you have.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Joan H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed our tour, as the amount to see seemed just about right. Yet, did not need to spend so much time at the Lavender museum and store. Violette was a nice tour guide.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Violet was wonderful, competent, and informative. We would highly recommend this tour especially if you are not traveling with a car.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide Emanuel gave us an amazing Grand tour of Provance. His knowledge of the places he took us and the surrounding areas was excellent. The weather was beautiful which added to the experience. Overall it was an enjoyable day. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see places outside Avignon.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great value for money would recommend this tour

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very interesting day no crowds off season would recommend this tour

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Gina Huang Taiwan

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Winter is very cold and the store are closed, it's not interesting.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Anita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was excellent. Her knowledge of the area - fun facts too - was terrific. We had a good time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Justin C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Pick up was on time. I had a lovely afternoon driving around the Avignon countryside. Great for a snap shot of the country side if you are time constrained.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

CMagee United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was a wonderful way to complete our vacation in Provence. We cycled the bike does 95 of the work to historic and scenic locations in Marseille, then headed along the coast to a National Park called 'End of the World' by the locals. At our first coffee break I love French coffee we bought sandwiches which we had for lunch at a small village harbor. On the way back we climbed to a famous cathedral for panoramic views of the city. Our guide was friendly, informative, and fun to cycle with. Very good English. Overall, a relaxing, healthy, fun six hours of exploring the Marseille coast.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

glclark1

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We had a great time but went on a monday and most of the shops in the villages were closed

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

DENNIS H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Could not asked more of a tour guide. Five stars great tour

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Aix-en-Provence Tour from Marseille

xianghong c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

we visited the Lavender field on the 12 August which is about the end of the season. Our guide was awesome, he did his best to help us find 2 fields although it was pouring... hope we get back next year and see you again !!! many thanks

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Nancy k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Despite the wet weather, the sites were interesting and the guide was fabulous. She gave us the information we needed without being intrusive and gave us the freedom to explore each site ourselves. The bus was comfortable and a good size for the 8 passengers. The length of the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Yana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

There was a splendid tour, rather informative, and at the same time relaxing and very well organized. How was it possible to visit so many fantastic places within the single day so many impressions, emotions and memories. Thanks to the excellent guide Julien our multinational group was feeling nothing but comfort and relaxing in this trip. Julien is the true professional, ready to answer any question, with very friendly and attentive attitude to each person in his group. I am really thankful to Viator and to Julien for this Grand Day in Provence, - such tours can be definitely strongly recommended to everybody.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Robert W USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Description said guide would walk with us. Not true. Basically just drove us around, just pointed us in a direction. Arrived at Pont Du Gard when it was too dark to see properly

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Robert W USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Description said guide would walk with us. Not true. Basically just drove us around, gave us a ticket or pointed us in a direction. Arrived at Pont Du Gard too late to see the informational video.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Manu was great. You can tell he loves his city. He knows the legends, the local stories, and all the details. He even gave us dinner recommendations.

The tour took us all around town, let us experience the city, showed us the coast and park, and enjoy the great Marseille weather. We were thoroughly pleased. We stopped for lunch at a great restaurant he gave us the choice between a nice restaurant and sandwiches and we all agreed a great restaurant was the way to go.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

Will V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

From the pick up at hotel Carol was a fantastic guide explains all the history . All the stops for us was well worth doing and so glad we did this tour Special stNd out was the Roman Aqua Duct bridge with the sun setting .thanks Carol we loved our tour on our 33 rd anniversary from Carol and Will Australia

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Nina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was amazing. I met amazing people and my tour guide Melanie was extrotinary. Her smile and personality made the day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message