Famed for its beautiful Vieux Port, or Old Port, this seaside city in the south of France is beloved by travelers and locals alike. Unlike more glamorous locales like Nice and Paris, Marseille is much more relaxed and accessible to non-natives. It ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 392 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My partner and I really enjoyed the day with our guide. It was an amazing day of sight seeing and enabled us to visit a lot of highly recommended places. I would very much recommend this tour to someone who doesn't have a lot of time in Provence and wants to capture the highlights.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had an absolutely excellent day on this tour! I was travelling alone, and the group for the tour was 8 people and the tour guide Carol. As the forecast for the day was pouring rain for the afternoon, she rearranged the usual schedule for the day to accommodate this and I think this helped the experience of the day very much as we got to visit Roussillon and Gordes without it pouring down rain on us the whole time. We did catch a little bit of a rain, but no where near as much as we would have had she not changed the order of the day. Carol was knowledgeable and friendly, and approached some awkward situations within our small group regarding meeting times politely and with patience. As the Lavendar field photo stop would be viable since those fields have been closed, she allowed a quick photostop at a smaller Lavendar field and then also showed us another castle on the way to Pont Du Gard. It was certainly a very busy, jam-packed day but all the places we visited were interesting and the three towns were very beautiful. An excellent day trip, would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

LOVED THE WHOLE DAY. TOUR GUIDE VERY GOOD AND WENT TO ALL THE PLACES WE NEEDED TO SEE. COUCH AND DRIVER VERY GOOD.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour from Marseille. The guides were very knowledgeable and the scenery was magnificent. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone traveling to Marseille.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour of the Calanques from Marseille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent tour including all the centres of interest that we had pre-identified. The tour guide allowed appropriate time at each stop and was very cheerful and helpful - even included a visit to Senanque Abbey on request.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, guide was great, and did a brilliant job, particularly considering she had to drive the mini bus as well as be a tour guide. Very knowledgeable and professional. Enjoyed the entire trip, the Amphitheatre at Nimes, The Maison Carree temple, the walk around the charming town of Uzes, but the highlight of the tour for me was the aqueduct Pont Du Gard at the end of the trip, awesome! Would thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

If you only have a short time this half day tour is worthwhile to do to experience a small part of Provence. It is a beautiful area, the historic towns embedded on the top of a hill and of course The Pont Du Gard. Even though we have seen it before you can never get enough of this magnificent site.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Sorry for delay in review. Great tour great day. Francoise (sp?) was lovely and did a good job - felt sorry for her having to try talk over 2 very rude constantly talking guests in the front seat which meant it was difficult for the others of us to hear Francoise talking. Felt the day was just a little bit rushed, however there was a lot to fit in and we had to keep on the move. Pick-up was exactly on time and the vehicle was perfect for our sized group. No complaints (except for rudeness and lateness of several of the other travellers which is outside Viator's control!!)

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I wanted to give this tour 5 stars, and it was very good, the guide Melani went out of her way to ensure we visited some great lavender fields. However, for me personally there was a very big disappointment, that we didn't visit the Senanque Abbey, as per the iconic picture on the website, and as per the itinerary. I had actually been spurred on to book the holiday to Provence, at the early part of July, and take this tour, in order that I would be able to see this specific, beautiful vista. When I booked via the website, the tour info was very specific about the dates that they would visit the Senanque Abbey, 15th June to 15th July only so I booked within that period. When I got on the tour and specifically asked when we would be going to Senanque Abbey, the guide told me that the lavender had been pulled up this year in front of the Abbey, so, if I insisted on going she would take us, but that actually there was nothing to see in the way of lavender there! I had to agree that there was no point, and no on else wanted to go under those circumstances either. I felt that knowing this was the case, the local tour company should not have used this iconic picture on the Viator website, and it should not have been in the itinerary that it was to be visited. Very misleading and for me personally very disappointing. But you cannot take away from the beauty of the lavender, and the sunflowers. That was worth seeing.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Emanuel was a great tour guide. He had a lot of enthusiasm for the city and was very knowledgeable. He took us to some interesting calanques withing the city limits and we feasted on delicious food at a local, but free from tourists, restaurant. Despite this, I was disappointed with the tour, we visited the calanques within Marseille, but ended at the beginning of the national park where the famous and most beautiful calanques begin. I wish I had known this before the tour, as I may have spent my money elsewhere.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour of the Calanques from Marseille

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The sites are interesting. But not too happy with our tour guide. We signed up for a English speaking tour and there were 2 french speaking tourists out of 8 and the tour became mostly french speaking at the end.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Pick up went exactly as planned. Jam-packed itinerary and well worth it. Good driver and guide. No complaints. two years running now with Viator. Will always book with you.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Viola! Lavendin was blooming only at this time, but the vibrant fields of purple were just as gorgeous. (lavendin is a hybrid of fine lavender) the museum at the end was a nice touch and the shopping in the village Sault was excellent. Tip: buy lavender goods at the market with cash -- they're just as excellent quality but without the high prices at the museum shop! visited many lovely villages which were also scenic, making it not just a day full of lavender, but Provence in general.

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message