Famed for its beautiful Vieux Port, or Old Port, this seaside city in the south of France is beloved by travelers and locals alike. Unlike more glamorous locales like Nice and Paris, Marseille is much more relaxed and accessible to non-natives. It ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 524 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great value for money would recommend this tour

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

bobbin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very interesting day no crowds off season would recommend this tour

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Anita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was excellent. Her knowledge of the area - fun facts too - was terrific. We had a good time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Justin C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Pick up was on time. I had a lovely afternoon driving around the Avignon countryside. Great for a snap shot of the country side if you are time constrained.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

CMagee United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was a wonderful way to complete our vacation in Provence. We cycled the bike does 95 of the work to historic and scenic locations in Marseille, then headed along the coast to a National Park called 'End of the World' by the locals. At our first coffee break I love French coffee we bought sandwiches which we had for lunch at a small village harbor. On the way back we climbed to a famous cathedral for panoramic views of the city. Our guide was friendly, informative, and fun to cycle with. Very good English. Overall, a relaxing, healthy, fun six hours of exploring the Marseille coast.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

glclark1

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We had a great time but went on a monday and most of the shops in the villages were closed

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

DENNIS H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Could not asked more of a tour guide. Five stars great tour

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Aix-en-Provence Tour from Marseille

xianghong c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

we visited the Lavender field on the 12 August which is about the end of the season. Our guide was awesome, he did his best to help us find 2 fields although it was pouring... hope we get back next year and see you again !!! many thanks

Doing what: Small Group Provence and Lavender Museum Day Trip from Avignon

Nancy k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Despite the wet weather, the sites were interesting and the guide was fabulous. She gave us the information we needed without being intrusive and gave us the freedom to explore each site ourselves. The bus was comfortable and a good size for the 8 passengers. The length of the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Yana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

There was a splendid tour, rather informative, and at the same time relaxing and very well organized. How was it possible to visit so many fantastic places within the single day so many impressions, emotions and memories. Thanks to the excellent guide Julien our multinational group was feeling nothing but comfort and relaxing in this trip. Julien is the true professional, ready to answer any question, with very friendly and attentive attitude to each person in his group. I am really thankful to Viator and to Julien for this Grand Day in Provence, - such tours can be definitely strongly recommended to everybody.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Robert W USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Description said guide would walk with us. Not true. Basically just drove us around, just pointed us in a direction. Arrived at Pont Du Gard when it was too dark to see properly

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Robert W USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Description said guide would walk with us. Not true. Basically just drove us around, gave us a ticket or pointed us in a direction. Arrived at Pont Du Gard too late to see the informational video.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Manu was great. You can tell he loves his city. He knows the legends, the local stories, and all the details. He even gave us dinner recommendations.

The tour took us all around town, let us experience the city, showed us the coast and park, and enjoy the great Marseille weather. We were thoroughly pleased. We stopped for lunch at a great restaurant he gave us the choice between a nice restaurant and sandwiches and we all agreed a great restaurant was the way to go.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour to the Calanques from Marseille

Will V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

From the pick up at hotel Carol was a fantastic guide explains all the history . All the stops for us was well worth doing and so glad we did this tour Special stNd out was the Roman Aqua Duct bridge with the sun setting .thanks Carol we loved our tour on our 33 rd anniversary from Carol and Will Australia

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Nina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was amazing. I met amazing people and my tour guide Melanie was extrotinary. Her smile and personality made the day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Mark G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Went to beautiful sights in Provence while staying in Avignon. The tour was the highlight.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

Bronwyn f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A fabulous itinerary. My only suggestion would be to make it a full day tour with more time especially at the castle. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon

christopher v

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

good tour..turned up on time, interesting itinery, enough time in each location, really enjoyed the trip

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Giuseppe P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We enjoyed every aspect of the tour, but it involved a lot of travelling. It became a very long day. It may be better spread over two days with adequate time for a lunch break in one of the pituresque villages.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Linda Jean F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great tour and guide/driver. I would have loved a little more time in Nimes, Uzes, and Pont du Gard.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Robert D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

I fully expected our guide to guide, to inform us about the sites we would be seeing. But her narration was sparse. The audio guides were helpful, but we had a long drive and I felt she could have done a bit more. One really good aspect was that she did her best to accommodate our desire to see the Maison Carre, so we really appreciated her efforts.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Giovanna G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

We enjoyed the trip, but felt rushed. The driver/guide was great. Would have preferred to skip the lavender museum and spend more time in Gordes. We expected to be out all day, but ended up being combined with others who had only booked half day excursions which meant going back to Avignon for drop off/pick up at noon and grabbing a quick lunch to eat in the car rather than a relaxed lunch in Les Baux as per the itinerary write-up. We were not advised in advance or given an opportunity to change our dates. This was very disappointing!!! The places visited were fantastic - customer service on the part of the tour operator very poor!!!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Anthony C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Our particular tour did not cover some of the attractions as listed, in fact the only attraction that we saw in Nimes was the Amphitheater. Too much time was allowed in the Amphitheater and also in Uzes, where we were just left to wander the town after a very brief descriptive overview of the main sights. What we did see was very good and that added to the frustration of not seeing more of the sights in Nimes.
The Pont du Gard, an exceptional engineering feat, was a highlight of the tour.

Doing what: Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès

Darren N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to experience Provence in a day!!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Philip D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent, well paced and good range of stops.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message