San Ignacio Mini
San Ignacio Mini was originally founded in 1611, and moved to the current location in 1696. Hewn from beautifully carved red sandstone, it was designed to both protect and convert indigenous Guaranis, primarily children, to Catholicism. The remains of a magnificent church, as well as sleeping and living quarters, can all be explored on a guided tour.
After the Spanish Empire evicted the Jesuits in 1767, the recciones were systematically destroyed and forgotten. The ruins, rediscovered in 1897, have been partially restored. A nightly light show spectacular tells the story of Guarani life inside these crumbling walls.
Tours & Tickets
Spend a day outside of Puerto Iguazú and discover the rich history of the Iguassu Falls region. Learn about the famous Jesuit mission of 1632, which aimed ... Read more
Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
Duration: 10 hours (approx.)