Fort San Felipe was built in 1564 by order of Philip II of Spain and is Puerto Plata's oldest surviving building. It was a formidable construction, designed to strike fear into any would-be-invader's heart. Its 2m- (7ft) thick walls, squat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

SUSAN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great experience taking the City Tour with Cable car ride.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Ernest B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The tour was nice but a bit rushed. We could have had some more time at each stop, especially at the top of the hill - so much to see in just a few minutes! Also, the trip was advertised as including a visit to the Brugal rum factory but that did not happen. At least we did stop by a supermarket to get our booze.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Mercedez C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

LaNita G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This tour was awesome. Our guide was great. The only thing is that they take you to places where they want you to buy things. It was very commercial.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Mary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great time in the city and the view from the cable car is breath taking.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Regina Ann N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Really good trip. Was a bit disappointed that they no longer take you to the rhum factory. But the guide took us to a supermarket where the rhum prices were really good. They were not pushy and didn't request a tip. Very friendly guide with lots of interesting facts about the city.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

W. Felton A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The tour was great. A little too long for the elderly. It was not easy getting in and out of bus. No buildings with elevators and stairs are hard. This should be understood at the time of booking.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

DAWN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I am scared to death of heights but figured that this tour was a must when in Puerto Plata. It was scary as hell but well worth it! I booked a few tours through Viator and was extremely satisfied with the service provided and value for the money!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and over view of Puerto Plata and the surrounding area. Hugo was a great guide and gave us real information about living in the Dominican Republic.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Stephanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Matias our guide was amazing and very knowledgable of the area! Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Evelyn M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was ok but it's more of a shopping tour than a historical one so be sure to bring money!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Lisa V

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

eatonten

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a great tour guide...nice clean bus. It was exactly what we were looking , would recommend to any one.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Alan B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

khakiwelch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great tour! We saw many aspects of Puerto Plata and the downtown area, the trip up the mountain side was spectacular!! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

miranda l

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Guide was hard to understand. Didn't make things very clear . Amber museum run down, cigar factory just part of museum. Jewelery shop try to sell sell sell. No cable car ride canceled .

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Jean E

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very good but we had rainy weather

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide was very nice and did not attempt to hustle for a big tip at the end.He deserved it and he received it.This city tour is quick but highlights everything you expect.The cable car ride to see the replica of was the scariest yet most amazing thing I have every experienced.The rum factory stop was cool because we got some good deals in the store after the brief tour and free samples.The amber factory was intresting and included a cigar rolling experience for some.Overall,good tour but wish we could have explored the Mount Isabella site more.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Willie J

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

UNFORTUNATELY THE CABLE CAR WAS SHUTDOWN FOR MAINTENANCE. TOO MANY AGGRESSIVE VENDORS ON SOSAU BEACH TO ENJOY THE SCENERY BUT THE REST OF THE TOUR WAS GREAT and EDUCATIONAL!!!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

SHERYLL D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was good. Our tour guide is very nice, friendly and would definitely like to use them again when we go back to Dominican Republic.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Jonathan L

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

There were good parts about this excursion as well as fairly dull and forgettable parts. The stop at the brewery was really worthless. We got off of the bus, and were asked to stand outside for about a half hour or so listening to an in-house guide going over everything that goes on in the facility; of which you're not allowed to see. And then of course you're generously invited to buy the beer at the shop. The amber/mineral was only slightly better; at least they had items to touch and feel. They could have easily skipped both places and given everyone more free time to spend walking around the city itself. I did find the Amber Museum and Cigar factory interesting. The fortress was nice for taking pictures. Of course the highlight of the excursion was the Cable Car ride up the mountain.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

B. Dawn Q

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We got to see lots of Puerto Plata. Unfortunately we had to spend some of our day shopping as our suitcases did not arrive with us two days before and we were desperate to shop for things like a bathing suit. Our Guide was wonderful in helping us do this. The top of the mountain was shrouded in clouds so we couldn't see anything from above - but we did find a XXXL bathing suit up there!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

william j USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

We generally enjoyed the tour but were told in the description and again on the voucher that lunch was included. No lunch, and 7 hours it to long to go with nothing to eat or even a bottle of water

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Manuel U

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

I gave it a 3 stars rating to be generous. Most of the time is spent in rum and jewelry factories that mask the store trying to sell the products. It is like going shopping experience, even thought the amber and Larimar museums are nice to see. There was no lunch includded, even thought it was mentioned like part of the deal. The best part for me was the visit to the city center and the cable car ride with amazing views. I would recommend adding more sightseen of the beautiful Puerto Plata area and surroundings, and less shopping experience.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

asplenda

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Very nice tour. We saw alot of different places. Be aware of the people who act as security at the church area....they offer to take your pictures but want "tipped" for it afterwards.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message