Puerto Plata or “Port of Silver” was so named by Christopher Columbus in 1502 because of the misty silver hue created by the leaves of an indigenous tree.  While the island might not have had any silver back then, it is raking in the moolah from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Abigail P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

High recommend this. Amazing crew. Just touch up on better music to play for the younger crowd 20-30 yr olds.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

amholms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a large group and the guides were wonderful. The weather wasn't very helpful so a few people weren't feeling well and the crew took exceptionally good care of them while entertaining the rest of the passengers. They kept everyone's spirts up and really enjoyed what they did.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Jessica P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Hugo was amazing. He told us who to avoid and what to look out for. Great guy!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

jayne f

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great trip out go in the morning

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Garreisha W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was worth the $50 you get a guide into the city. You visit a cigar shop, Amber factory, and cable car. It was an all day tour but it was worth it if you have never done it.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

shane C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

our trip was a disaster our pick up time was 745am waited till 830am no one showed up to pick us up so the front desk at our hotel blue bay villas dorados called the company so the company of the tour sent a taxi to pick us up we got picked up at 845am then the taxi drove like a maniac to catch up to the tour bus finally caught the tour bus witch was very embarrassing getting on the bus late making the bus wait for us then got the on tour bus and the guides spoke mostly only german and Spanish hardly spoke English hardly understood anything about the tour then we arrived at our destination and your add on viator says we would board a beautiful catamaran that's why we booked this one because it said catamaran but we boarded a speedboat instead witch was very disappointing then after we left the island we went through the mangroves and had no idea what was being said again about them because they spoke german and Spanish again and then the drive back same thing german and Spanish
This makes us think we don't want to book an excursion through viator in the future for other destinations we will be visiting in the future very disappointing trip especially when this happened on this trip to Dominican witch we got married at our resort and this was our wedding and honeymoon vacation

Doing what: Cayo Arena Day Trip from Puerto Plata

Ryan E

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good for it's price although they should do the cable car in the morning and give you more time at top of mountain. Reason for going in morning is cause it always gets cloudy by about noon and it's not all day like stated...

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Amanda M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This was a really good tour but was not a full 8 hours. There also was no Brugal tour. Please update your site on that. Everything else was amazing. Beautiful views from the cable car. And the San Felipe Fort was awesome.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Richard R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I will go to social media if you do not contact me.
The tour was poor and the tour was 4 hours not 8 as you advertised.
Richard

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Antoine B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Happy with the tour. The hosts are ambassadors, nothing but the best.

Doing what: Puerto Plata Safari Adventure

Gladys Fuentes ...  United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We drove around the city and sightseeing places , we went to the grocery store to stock up on food, water and beer. Visited the rich town, then we went to the Larimar Amber Cigar factory, passed by the Brugal rum factory, the Port of San Felipe and end the cablecar Teleferic. It was interesting to learn about the city of Puerto Plata, but what I liked most was the ride on the cable car where I could see the whole city, sightseeing and its beaches, the most beautiful was Christ the Redeemer equal to or copy of Rio de Janeiro . I recommend this tour very interesting.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Francesca G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience! Captain and crew were tons of fun!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Deborah C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Our trip was great. Wish we had seen more of the island though.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Lisa B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Loved the boat ride through the mangrove forest

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

Simon O

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Nice and safe tour, but in my opinion a shoppingtour for all-inclusive tourists!!!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

jess

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome crew. Amazing time snorkeling. Would highly reccommend this catamaran excursion!!!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

SUSAN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great experience taking the City Tour with Cable car ride.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Ernest B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The tour was nice but a bit rushed. We could have had some more time at each stop, especially at the top of the hill - so much to see in just a few minutes! Also, the trip was advertised as including a visit to the Brugal rum factory but that did not happen. At least we did stop by a supermarket to get our booze.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

chefkerry

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This was a nice day on a Catamaran. The crew was personable and went out of their way to make sure that everyone had a good time.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Mercedez C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Tara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

HIGHLY recommend this trip for you if you love the sun, the sand, and snorkeling. So much fun and so worth it.

Doing what: Cayo Arena Day Trip from Puerto Plata

Eric C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The beach was really nice and the water beautiful. i did expect that the private island that we were snorkeling off of was going to be more of an island and not a sand bar with some huts. I would include that in the description so people know not to bring a lot with them. The boat ride to a from the sand bar was also very rough on the buttocks. I would tell people to bring extra towels to sit on during the ride. Other than those small things it was a great day out

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

LaNita G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This tour was awesome. Our guide was great. The only thing is that they take you to places where they want you to buy things. It was very commercial.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Mary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great time in the city and the view from the cable car is breath taking.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Regina Ann N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Really good trip. Was a bit disappointed that they no longer take you to the rhum factory. But the guide took us to a supermarket where the rhum prices were really good. They were not pushy and didn't request a tip. Very friendly guide with lots of interesting facts about the city.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message