Puerto Plata or “Port of Silver” was so named by Christopher Columbus in 1502 because of the misty silver hue created by the leaves of an indigenous tree.  While the island might not have had any silver back then, it is raking in the moolah from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I am scared to death of heights but figured that this tour was a must when in Puerto Plata. It was scary as hell but well worth it! I booked a few tours through Viator and was extremely satisfied with the service provided and value for the money!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and over view of Puerto Plata and the surrounding area. Hugo was a great guide and gave us real information about living in the Dominican Republic.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a wonderful time, boat ride is exciting, beach was busy, snokeling was amazing. Also enjoyed the bus ride thru the countyside it was long about an hour from puerto plata.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were shown a great time by our tour guides. The sandbar and snorkeling is a great experience, especially for not experienced snorkelers. You get all of your equipment on the sandbar/island, and you have a guide with you at all times. If you want, I'd suggest buying an underwater camera there as the guide will take pictures of you while you're beyond the reef. Also, Alberto was a great guide giving fun facts and solid info as we went along. A great trip all around

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Matias our guide was amazing and very knowledgable of the area! Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful!!!! But wear sunblock! Got the most sunburned out this trip. Best snorkeling experience and speed boat experience.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was ok but it's more of a shopping tour than a historical one so be sure to bring money!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a great tour guide...nice clean bus. It was exactly what we were looking , would recommend to any one.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great tour! We saw many aspects of Puerto Plata and the downtown area, the trip up the mountain side was spectacular!! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Staff was good! Only rum drinks. Catamaran needed my social legs.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Guide was hard to understand. Didn't make things very clear . Amber museum run down, cigar factory just part of museum. Jewelery shop try to sell sell sell. No cable car ride canceled .

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

It was terrible.Why would you call a sand bar an island.Also I don't think it was safe.As I was getting out of the boat the driver took off.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Great crew. Nice boat. Very enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very good but we had rainy weather

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved this trip. It was a long ride from Sousa but worth it. Paridise island was one of my favorite parts of our trip.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide was very nice and did not attempt to hustle for a big tip at the end.He deserved it and he received it.This city tour is quick but highlights everything you expect.The cable car ride to see the replica of was the scariest yet most amazing thing I have every experienced.The rum factory stop was cool because we got some good deals in the store after the brief tour and free samples.The amber factory was intresting and included a cigar rolling experience for some.Overall,good tour but wish we could have explored the Mount Isabella site more.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

ONE OF THE GUIDES WAS GREAT, HE TOOK MY FRIEND AND I DOWN ALONG THE REEF AND AWAY FROM THE GROUP SO WE COULD SEE MOST OF THE AREA AS WE SNORKELED.IT WAS BEAUTIFUL.I FELT HE WENT OVER AND BEYOND SHOWING US THE AREA SO WE HAD A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Awesome trip! a bit too long and lacking in the food and beverage options, but beautiful tour! great staff!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

UNFORTUNATELY THE CABLE CAR WAS SHUTDOWN FOR MAINTENANCE. TOO MANY AGGRESSIVE VENDORS ON SOSAU BEACH TO ENJOY THE SCENERY BUT THE REST OF THE TOUR WAS GREAT and EDUCATIONAL!!!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very nice the best vacation ever

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was a blast. The crew was awesome and made sure we had an amazing time. The snorkeling was a lot of fun. One of the crew helped teach me how to go all the way under the water when snorkeling which ive always wanted to try.
We surely will be booking another catamaran through them.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Was AMAZING! The boat tour of the mangrove trees was very cool, the drive was fun and the snorkeling breathtaking. Everyone is super friendly and makes sure you have Cuba Libre in hand anytime you are not fully submerged ;) The lunch was disappointing but I was also not feeling the best that day, so maybe combo. Overall I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message