• USD ($)
  • English
Puerto Plata or “Port of Silver” was so named by Christopher Columbus in 1502 because of the misty silver hue created by the leaves of an indigenous tree.  While the island might not have had any silver back then, it is raking in the moolah from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 38 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

There were good parts about this excursion as well as fairly dull and forgettable parts. The stop at the brewery was really worthless. We got off of the bus, and were asked to stand outside for about a half hour or so listening to an in-house guide going over everything that goes on in the facility; of which you're not allowed to see. And then of course you're generously invited to buy the beer at the shop. The amber/mineral was only slightly better; at least they had items to touch and feel. They could have easily skipped both places and given everyone more free time to spend walking around the city itself. I did find the Amber Museum and Cigar factory interesting. The fortress was nice for taking pictures. Of course the highlight of the excursion was the Cable Car ride up the mountain.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The speaker was too loud to fully understand everything the commentator said, but it was informative. The bus was comfortable and the driver competent. The speed boat driver was polite and competent. The stay on the island was a tad long given the lack of things to do. The drive through the mangrove was awesome ! The cigar factory visit was informative but we were disappointed with the mama juana -- it tastes terrible, not like the pleasant drink we were offered on arrival. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We got to see lots of Puerto Plata. Unfortunately we had to spend some of our day shopping as our suitcases did not arrive with us two days before and we were desperate to shop for things like a bathing suit. Our Guide was wonderful in helping us do this. The top of the mountain was shrouded in clouds so we couldn't see anything from above - but we did find a XXXL bathing suit up there!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

This was definitely a young person's booze Cruise. We were the oldest people on the trip. It was enjoyable but the snorkelling was only average. Too many people all in the same spot. The crew was wonderful and if you are young and looking for a fun-filled day, this is the trip to take.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

We generally enjoyed the tour but were told in the description and again on the voucher that lunch was included. No lunch, and 7 hours it to long to go with nothing to eat or even a bottle of water

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Pushed purchasing photos a little too much.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Beautiful water. Friendly guides. Good tour for inexperienced swimmers or snorkelers who want to see a reef.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

So much fun! We had perfect weather and Captain" Rico Suave" and his crew were the best. The snorkeling was great with lots of brightly colored fish and coral reefs to see. I would recommend this to everyone!!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We had a great time crew was awesome

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Although it was overcast and actually rained - we still had a great deal of fun.
The snorkeling was excellent, the crew was such fun, and the sail back was a perfect ending. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

I gave it a 3 stars rating to be generous. Most of the time is spent in rum and jewelry factories that mask the store trying to sell the products. It is like going shopping experience, even thought the amber and Larimar museums are nice to see. There was no lunch includded, even thought it was mentioned like part of the deal. The best part for me was the visit to the city center and the cable car ride with amazing views. I would recommend adding more sightseen of the beautiful Puerto Plata area and surroundings, and less shopping experience.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Great trip! This is definitely not a trip for anyone with a weak stomach or someone who could get sea sick. Snorkeling was great! We stopped at 2 different locations and saw a jelly fish at one of them.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Very nice tour. We saw alot of different places. Be aware of the people who act as security at the church area....they offer to take your pictures but want "tipped" for it afterwards.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Everything about it was excellent! Just a wonderful day!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

It was a great trip. We weren't rushed at all. I just wish we could truly see more of the city. Visiting 3 different jewelry shops was not my idea of a city tour at all. I would not by this option again or recommend it until that changes.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message