Puerto Plata or “Port of Silver” was so named by Christopher Columbus in 1502 because of the misty silver hue created by the leaves of an indigenous tree.  While the island might not have had any silver back then, it is raking in the moolah from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved this trip. It was a long ride from Sousa but worth it. Paridise island was one of my favorite parts of our trip.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide was very nice and did not attempt to hustle for a big tip at the end.He deserved it and he received it.This city tour is quick but highlights everything you expect.The cable car ride to see the replica of was the scariest yet most amazing thing I have every experienced.The rum factory stop was cool because we got some good deals in the store after the brief tour and free samples.The amber factory was intresting and included a cigar rolling experience for some.Overall,good tour but wish we could have explored the Mount Isabella site more.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

ONE OF THE GUIDES WAS GREAT, HE TOOK MY FRIEND AND I DOWN ALONG THE REEF AND AWAY FROM THE GROUP SO WE COULD SEE MOST OF THE AREA AS WE SNORKELED.IT WAS BEAUTIFUL.I FELT HE WENT OVER AND BEYOND SHOWING US THE AREA SO WE HAD A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Awesome trip! a bit too long and lacking in the food and beverage options, but beautiful tour! great staff!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very nice the best vacation ever

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was a blast. The crew was awesome and made sure we had an amazing time. The snorkeling was a lot of fun. One of the crew helped teach me how to go all the way under the water when snorkeling which ive always wanted to try.
We surely will be booking another catamaran through them.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Was AMAZING! The boat tour of the mangrove trees was very cool, the drive was fun and the snorkeling breathtaking. Everyone is super friendly and makes sure you have Cuba Libre in hand anytime you are not fully submerged ;) The lunch was disappointing but I was also not feeling the best that day, so maybe combo. Overall I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was advertised as going to the beach of Sosua, not stopping 2 miles shy of the shore. There were several people who all felt the same way on the catamaran which showed that there was a big lack of communication by the company hosting. Overall it was a waste for me, as I wanted to explore the shore as well.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Our guide spoke at least 5 languages, it was amazing! He was very informative about the island, it's history, the people, the sites - lots of interesting facts. Paradise Island was a bit on the small side due to high tide so it was a lot of people crowded together, but it was still fun and saw lots of beautiful fish. I wouldn't recommend this excursion who may not like speed boats. We went pretty fast on a smaller boat that held about 10 people per boat. It was fun! Alcohol was only included on Paradise Island, not the mainland. Bring a waterproof camera or they'll charge you for any photos they take.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was amazing! Our guide/boatdriver (Carlos I believe) was awesome.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was good. Our tour guide is very nice, friendly and would definitely like to use them again when we go back to Dominican Republic.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

There were good parts about this excursion as well as fairly dull and forgettable parts. The stop at the brewery was really worthless. We got off of the bus, and were asked to stand outside for about a half hour or so listening to an in-house guide going over everything that goes on in the facility; of which you're not allowed to see. And then of course you're generously invited to buy the beer at the shop. The amber/mineral was only slightly better; at least they had items to touch and feel. They could have easily skipped both places and given everyone more free time to spend walking around the city itself. I did find the Amber Museum and Cigar factory interesting. The fortress was nice for taking pictures. Of course the highlight of the excursion was the Cable Car ride up the mountain.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The speaker was too loud to fully understand everything the commentator said, but it was informative. The bus was comfortable and the driver competent. The speed boat driver was polite and competent. The stay on the island was a tad long given the lack of things to do. The drive through the mangrove was awesome ! The cigar factory visit was informative but we were disappointed with the mama juana -- it tastes terrible, not like the pleasant drink we were offered on arrival. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We got to see lots of Puerto Plata. Unfortunately we had to spend some of our day shopping as our suitcases did not arrive with us two days before and we were desperate to shop for things like a bathing suit. Our Guide was wonderful in helping us do this. The top of the mountain was shrouded in clouds so we couldn't see anything from above - but we did find a XXXL bathing suit up there!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message