Puerto Plata or “Port of Silver” was so named by Christopher Columbus in 1502 because of the misty silver hue created by the leaves of an indigenous tree.  While the island might not have had any silver back then, it is raking in the moolah from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 86 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Antoine B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Happy with the tour. The hosts are ambassadors, nothing but the best.

Doing what: Puerto Plata Safari Adventure

Gladys Fuentes ...  United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We drove around the city and sightseeing places , we went to the grocery store to stock up on food, water and beer. Visited the rich town, then we went to the Larimar Amber Cigar factory, passed by the Brugal rum factory, the Port of San Felipe and end the cablecar Teleferic. It was interesting to learn about the city of Puerto Plata, but what I liked most was the ride on the cable car where I could see the whole city, sightseeing and its beaches, the most beautiful was Christ the Redeemer equal to or copy of Rio de Janeiro . I recommend this tour very interesting.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Francesca G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience! Captain and crew were tons of fun!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Deborah C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Our trip was great. Wish we had seen more of the island though.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Lisa B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Loved the boat ride through the mangrove forest

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

Simon O

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Nice and safe tour, but in my opinion a shoppingtour for all-inclusive tourists!!!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

jess

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome crew. Amazing time snorkeling. Would highly reccommend this catamaran excursion!!!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

SUSAN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great experience taking the City Tour with Cable car ride.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Ernest B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The tour was nice but a bit rushed. We could have had some more time at each stop, especially at the top of the hill - so much to see in just a few minutes! Also, the trip was advertised as including a visit to the Brugal rum factory but that did not happen. At least we did stop by a supermarket to get our booze.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

chefkerry

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This was a nice day on a Catamaran. The crew was personable and went out of their way to make sure that everyone had a good time.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Mercedez C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Tara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

HIGHLY recommend this trip for you if you love the sun, the sand, and snorkeling. So much fun and so worth it.

Doing what: Cayo Arena Day Trip from Puerto Plata

Eric C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The beach was really nice and the water beautiful. i did expect that the private island that we were snorkeling off of was going to be more of an island and not a sand bar with some huts. I would include that in the description so people know not to bring a lot with them. The boat ride to a from the sand bar was also very rough on the buttocks. I would tell people to bring extra towels to sit on during the ride. Other than those small things it was a great day out

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

LaNita G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This tour was awesome. Our guide was great. The only thing is that they take you to places where they want you to buy things. It was very commercial.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Mary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great time in the city and the view from the cable car is breath taking.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Regina Ann N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Really good trip. Was a bit disappointed that they no longer take you to the rhum factory. But the guide took us to a supermarket where the rhum prices were really good. They were not pushy and didn't request a tip. Very friendly guide with lots of interesting facts about the city.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Gillian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Nice view of both the ocean and sea lives. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed every minute of it.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

W. Felton A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The tour was great. A little too long for the elderly. It was not easy getting in and out of bus. No buildings with elevators and stairs are hard. This should be understood at the time of booking.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

DAWN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I am scared to death of heights but figured that this tour was a must when in Puerto Plata. It was scary as hell but well worth it! I booked a few tours through Viator and was extremely satisfied with the service provided and value for the money!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and over view of Puerto Plata and the surrounding area. Hugo was a great guide and gave us real information about living in the Dominican Republic.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Donna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a wonderful time, boat ride is exciting, beach was busy, snokeling was amazing. Also enjoyed the bus ride thru the countyside it was long about an hour from puerto plata.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were shown a great time by our tour guides. The sandbar and snorkeling is a great experience, especially for not experienced snorkelers. You get all of your equipment on the sandbar/island, and you have a guide with you at all times. If you want, I'd suggest buying an underwater camera there as the guide will take pictures of you while you're beyond the reef. Also, Alberto was a great guide giving fun facts and solid info as we went along. A great trip all around

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

Stephanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Matias our guide was amazing and very knowledgable of the area! Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Jayne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful!!!! But wear sunblock! Got the most sunburned out this trip. Best snorkeling experience and speed boat experience.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

Evelyn M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was ok but it's more of a shopping tour than a historical one so be sure to bring money!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message