Puerto Plata or “Port of Silver” was so named by Christopher Columbus in 1502 because of the misty silver hue created by the leaves of an indigenous tree.  While the island might not have had any silver back then, it is raking in the moolah from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Staff was good! Only rum drinks. Catamaran needed my social legs.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Guide was hard to understand. Didn't make things very clear . Amber museum run down, cigar factory just part of museum. Jewelery shop try to sell sell sell. No cable car ride canceled .

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

It was terrible.Why would you call a sand bar an island.Also I don't think it was safe.As I was getting out of the boat the driver took off.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Great crew. Nice boat. Very enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very good but we had rainy weather

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved this trip. It was a long ride from Sousa but worth it. Paridise island was one of my favorite parts of our trip.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide was very nice and did not attempt to hustle for a big tip at the end.He deserved it and he received it.This city tour is quick but highlights everything you expect.The cable car ride to see the replica of was the scariest yet most amazing thing I have every experienced.The rum factory stop was cool because we got some good deals in the store after the brief tour and free samples.The amber factory was intresting and included a cigar rolling experience for some.Overall,good tour but wish we could have explored the Mount Isabella site more.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

ONE OF THE GUIDES WAS GREAT, HE TOOK MY FRIEND AND I DOWN ALONG THE REEF AND AWAY FROM THE GROUP SO WE COULD SEE MOST OF THE AREA AS WE SNORKELED.IT WAS BEAUTIFUL.I FELT HE WENT OVER AND BEYOND SHOWING US THE AREA SO WE HAD A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Awesome trip! a bit too long and lacking in the food and beverage options, but beautiful tour! great staff!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

UNFORTUNATELY THE CABLE CAR WAS SHUTDOWN FOR MAINTENANCE. TOO MANY AGGRESSIVE VENDORS ON SOSAU BEACH TO ENJOY THE SCENERY BUT THE REST OF THE TOUR WAS GREAT and EDUCATIONAL!!!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very nice the best vacation ever

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was a blast. The crew was awesome and made sure we had an amazing time. The snorkeling was a lot of fun. One of the crew helped teach me how to go all the way under the water when snorkeling which ive always wanted to try.
We surely will be booking another catamaran through them.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Was AMAZING! The boat tour of the mangrove trees was very cool, the drive was fun and the snorkeling breathtaking. Everyone is super friendly and makes sure you have Cuba Libre in hand anytime you are not fully submerged ;) The lunch was disappointing but I was also not feeling the best that day, so maybe combo. Overall I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was advertised as going to the beach of Sosua, not stopping 2 miles shy of the shore. There were several people who all felt the same way on the catamaran which showed that there was a big lack of communication by the company hosting. Overall it was a waste for me, as I wanted to explore the shore as well.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message