Puerto Plata, or “Port of Silver” was discovered by Columbus way back in 1502, but has only recently become popular as more and more tourists have begun to discover it since the 1980s. Each year thousands of travellers descend on its shores for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 276 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great time! Alex and Miguel are the best. Very informative and lots of fun!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I am scared to death of heights but figured that this tour was a must when in Puerto Plata. It was scary as hell but well worth it! I booked a few tours through Viator and was extremely satisfied with the service provided and value for the money!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a wonderful time, boat ride is exciting, beach was busy, snokeling was amazing. Also enjoyed the bus ride thru the countyside it was long about an hour from puerto plata.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great. We had tons of things to do and feel we got a wide range of Dominacan live both our driver and our host were spectacular. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dominican Outback Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were shown a great time by our tour guides. The sandbar and snorkeling is a great experience, especially for not experienced snorkelers. You get all of your equipment on the sandbar/island, and you have a guide with you at all times. If you want, I'd suggest buying an underwater camera there as the guide will take pictures of you while you're beyond the reef. Also, Alberto was a great guide giving fun facts and solid info as we went along. A great trip all around

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour. Luis was a good guide. Nice trip out into the countryside to see some real life.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I bought this trip for my boyfriend's birthday.
His words were: " this is the best gift Ever" :)
Amazing experience, the tour guides explain everything and treat you like royalty. Hopefully you get to ride with Andy Flores and his crew!! We had soooo much fun we went back two days later :)

Doing what: Puerto Plata Luxury Yacht Cruise to Punta Rusia and Cayo Paraiso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was the best, and we really enjoyed the village tour and just everything. This was the best

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Matias our guide was amazing and very knowledgable of the area! Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour. The people were friendly and very helpful. I'm slightly older and a little overweight and they helped me up part of a climb. The horseback ride is short but after zip lining it was all I needed. The views are beautiful and my family and I truly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful!!!! But wear sunblock! Got the most sunburned out this trip. Best snorkeling experience and speed boat experience.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was ok but it's more of a shopping tour than a historical one so be sure to bring money!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a great tour guide...nice clean bus. It was exactly what we were looking , would recommend to any one.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The only reason this tour gets 1 stars is because the crew on the boat was amazing and paradise island was so beautiful. Let me start with this is not a 12 hour tour we were not even picked up till 830 am then over an hour bus ride. Only on the water 10a-3p. And NOT a YACHT just a regular boat.

Doing what: Puerto Plata Luxury Yacht Cruise to Punta Rusia and Cayo Paraiso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

LOVED this excursion!!! We learned so much about the Domincan Republic and had fun doing it. Danny Boy was our tour guide and was wonderful. I can't stop talking about this tour!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour... the guide was awesome...do the full day tour.. it is worth the money

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a excellent time. Tour guide was very informative and funny. Great experience.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was awesome. I will highly recommend this tour to any one. Our tour guide Alex was the best very informative about the Dominican culture. Lunch was also delicious beautiful view was spectacular...We are so looking forward to doing this tour again next year with our friends...

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was wonderful. Our guide was Junior he was funny, personable and just great. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dominican Outback Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was extremely well done. My 86-year-old father chose this excursion and it was just what he and we wanted. Comfortable, well-organized and a fascinating insight into Dominican life. Glad we could contribute to the school we visited. Bring books, pencils, whatever a school might need. They will be most grateful.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great tour! We saw many aspects of Puerto Plata and the downtown area, the trip up the mountain side was spectacular!! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message