Puerto Plata, or “Port of Silver” was discovered by Columbus way back in 1502, but has only recently become popular as more and more tourists have begun to discover it since the 1980s. Each year thousands of travellers descend on its shores for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 279 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Perfect! We were a party of two adults, two teens and a 12 year old. Everybody enjoyed it thoroughly. Our guide Junior was lovely and really looked after everybody. Very knowledgeable and we got to have a more authentic taste of the island - some history, geography, horticulture as well as swimming and body boarding. Lunch was delicious! Take some money to purchase local souvenirs which help the community. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Dominican Outback Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thru trial and error, this is the only tour that worked well for our group because of our location Cap Cana Green Village. Very good tour. I Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour, I would highly recommend this trip. No pressure to purchase anything or even tip. The guide and the driver were both great fun and very informative. The food was pretty good and drinks were offered regularly. A real MUST!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The tour was fine. We got to see a lot of things and our guide was great. I was expecting to see a lot of animals since it is called a Safari. We only saw some caged animals at lunch.

Doing what: Dominican Outback Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great time! Alex and Miguel are the best. Very informative and lots of fun!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I am scared to death of heights but figured that this tour was a must when in Puerto Plata. It was scary as hell but well worth it! I booked a few tours through Viator and was extremely satisfied with the service provided and value for the money!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and over view of Puerto Plata and the surrounding area. Hugo was a great guide and gave us real information about living in the Dominican Republic.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a wonderful time, boat ride is exciting, beach was busy, snokeling was amazing. Also enjoyed the bus ride thru the countyside it was long about an hour from puerto plata.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great. We had tons of things to do and feel we got a wide range of Dominacan live both our driver and our host were spectacular. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dominican Outback Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were shown a great time by our tour guides. The sandbar and snorkeling is a great experience, especially for not experienced snorkelers. You get all of your equipment on the sandbar/island, and you have a guide with you at all times. If you want, I'd suggest buying an underwater camera there as the guide will take pictures of you while you're beyond the reef. Also, Alberto was a great guide giving fun facts and solid info as we went along. A great trip all around

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour. Luis was a good guide. Nice trip out into the countryside to see some real life.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I bought this trip for my boyfriend's birthday.
His words were: " this is the best gift Ever" :)
Amazing experience, the tour guides explain everything and treat you like royalty. Hopefully you get to ride with Andy Flores and his crew!! We had soooo much fun we went back two days later :)

Doing what: Puerto Plata Luxury Yacht Cruise to Punta Rusia and Cayo Paraiso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was the best, and we really enjoyed the village tour and just everything. This was the best

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Matias our guide was amazing and very knowledgable of the area! Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour. The people were friendly and very helpful. I'm slightly older and a little overweight and they helped me up part of a climb. The horseback ride is short but after zip lining it was all I needed. The views are beautiful and my family and I truly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful!!!! But wear sunblock! Got the most sunburned out this trip. Best snorkeling experience and speed boat experience.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was ok but it's more of a shopping tour than a historical one so be sure to bring money!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a great tour guide...nice clean bus. It was exactly what we were looking , would recommend to any one.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The only reason this tour gets 1 stars is because the crew on the boat was amazing and paradise island was so beautiful. Let me start with this is not a 12 hour tour we were not even picked up till 830 am then over an hour bus ride. Only on the water 10a-3p. And NOT a YACHT just a regular boat.

Doing what: Puerto Plata Luxury Yacht Cruise to Punta Rusia and Cayo Paraiso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

LOVED this excursion!!! We learned so much about the Domincan Republic and had fun doing it. Danny Boy was our tour guide and was wonderful. I can't stop talking about this tour!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message