Puerto Plata, or “Port of Silver” was discovered by Columbus way back in 1502, but has only recently become popular as more and more tourists have begun to discover it since the 1980s. Each year thousands of travellers descend on its shores for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 322 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Abigail P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

High recommend this. Amazing crew. Just touch up on better music to play for the younger crowd 20-30 yr olds.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Leah D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

my friends and I had an amazing time with Andy, Pinky, and Mimo!

The boozy cruise with music, snorkeling around Paradise Island, swimming with Pinky delivering drinks with a floating bar, lunch on the sandy beaches of Punta Rusia - all made an unforgettable amazing day! make sure you bring enough sunscreen!

Doing what: Puerto Plata Luxury Yacht Cruise to Punta Rusia and Cayo Paraiso

jayne f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good trip

Doing what: Dominican Outback Safari

jayne f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great morning out well worth doing

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

amholms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a large group and the guides were wonderful. The weather wasn't very helpful so a few people weren't feeling well and the crew took exceptionally good care of them while entertaining the rest of the passengers. They kept everyone's spirts up and really enjoyed what they did.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Jessica P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Hugo was amazing. He told us who to avoid and what to look out for. Great guy!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Michelle H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This experience was wonderful. The view from the zip line was spectacular. I would have given 5 stars except the process to get pictures failed miserably. There should be a way to download the pictures online or actually see them after the tour.

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

jayne f

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great trip out go in the morning

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Garreisha W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was worth the $50 you get a guide into the city. You visit a cigar shop, Amber factory, and cable car. It was an all day tour but it was worth it if you have never done it.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Caspar v

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Can't rate this trip as we didn't go: It was extremely difficult to get a departure/pick up time of the local organisers. Once we got this, they arrived to pick us up one and half hour late. By then we were doing something else and weren't able to join.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

Olivia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really insightful trip, yummy lunch and lots to see/do! highly recommend

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

Dana O

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very fun. The Cayo Paraiso part was the best. We didn't do the speed boat or banana boat as advertised, and it was a catamaran not a yacht... But that stuff didn't matter as I think we got extra swim/snorkel time on Cayo Paraiso. They were on time picking us up and the trip lasted all day. Food was decent. Only alcohol they had at the open bar was rum not surprising or beer. In any event, would definitely recommend.

We had a relatively overcast day, so it wasn't too hot and there wasn't too much direct sun. Only warning I would give is that if it is not overcast, BRING SUNSCREEN. I got a bit of color with the sun not being out, I would have been a lobster if it was really sunny.

Doing what: Puerto Plata Luxury Yacht Cruise to Punta Rusia and Cayo Paraiso

Ryan E

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good for it's price although they should do the cable car in the morning and give you more time at top of mountain. Reason for going in morning is cause it always gets cloudy by about noon and it's not all day like stated...

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Amanda M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This was a really good tour but was not a full 8 hours. There also was no Brugal tour. Please update your site on that. Everything else was amazing. Beautiful views from the cable car. And the San Felipe Fort was awesome.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Richard R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I will go to social media if you do not contact me.
The tour was poor and the tour was 4 hours not 8 as you advertised.
Richard

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

angela.d.houston

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This was a really nice tour and what made it the best was the tour guide, Pedro! He was so informative and although he was translating both English and German, he made sure that no one felt left out at any point. When communicating with the company to verify my accommodations they responded right away and my hotel pick up was right on time. The reason I did not give it 5 stars is because I purchased this tour because of the horseback riding, which not only did they not do, the company said they did not offer it and to contact Viator. I'm awaiting a response from Viator now.

Doing what: Santiago and Jarabacoa Waterfalls

Gladys Fuentes ...  United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We drove around the city and sightseeing places , we went to the grocery store to stock up on food, water and beer. Visited the rich town, then we went to the Larimar Amber Cigar factory, passed by the Brugal rum factory, the Port of San Felipe and end the cablecar Teleferic. It was interesting to learn about the city of Puerto Plata, but what I liked most was the ride on the cable car where I could see the whole city, sightseeing and its beaches, the most beautiful was Christ the Redeemer equal to or copy of Rio de Janeiro . I recommend this tour very interesting.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Francesca G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience! Captain and crew were tons of fun!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Deborah C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Our trip was great. Wish we had seen more of the island though.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Lisa B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Loved the boat ride through the mangrove forest

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

Simon O

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Nice and safe tour, but in my opinion a shoppingtour for all-inclusive tourists!!!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Andrea S Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very well organized and executed tour.

Doing what: Ocean World Puerto Plata Day Pass

jess

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome crew. Amazing time snorkeling. Would highly reccommend this catamaran excursion!!!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

SUSAN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great experience taking the City Tour with Cable car ride.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Poduska

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is a must to see the real Domincan Republic. Kenny was a great tour guide, explaining everything, making the tour very enjoyable.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message