Puerto Plata, or “Port of Silver” was discovered by Columbus way back in 1502, but has only recently become popular as more and more tourists have begun to discover it since the 1980s. Each year thousands of travellers descend on its shores for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was advertised as going to the beach of Sosua, not stopping 2 miles shy of the shore. There were several people who all felt the same way on the catamaran which showed that there was a big lack of communication by the company hosting. Overall it was a waste for me, as I wanted to explore the shore as well.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was great the guides were good and the zipline omg was funnn.

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Our guide spoke at least 5 languages, it was amazing! He was very informative about the island, it's history, the people, the sites - lots of interesting facts. Paradise Island was a bit on the small side due to high tide so it was a lot of people crowded together, but it was still fun and saw lots of beautiful fish. I wouldn't recommend this excursion who may not like speed boats. We went pretty fast on a smaller boat that held about 10 people per boat. It was fun! Alcohol was only included on Paradise Island, not the mainland. Bring a waterproof camera or they'll charge you for any photos they take.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good experience and wonderful tour . The tour guides were excellent . Would recommend this to friends going to Dominican republic.

Doing what: Dominican Outback Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour of the local side of Punta Cana...We enjoyed the sites, gift bargains, and beach!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was amazing! Our guide/boatdriver (Carlos I believe) was awesome.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. Luis, Victor and Jay really enjoyed their jobs which made everyone feel comfortable. It was an all day tour which included a lot of history, met local people, got to taste samples and the lunch was good.
We would recommend this tour but wear sneakers, sunscreen, bug spray plus the ride is bumpy.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I really enjoyed our tour guide on this trip. They made sure we had everything we need. I learned lots of interesting information. It was a great full day.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It Was Great, Kenny was very informative and funny.

We really recommend this tour.

Carlos and Manuela Morales

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was good. Our tour guide is very nice, friendly and would definitely like to use them again when we go back to Dominican Republic.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour. Very enlightening as well and entertaining. Great Guide - Alex. In the description of the tour
it would be nice to really elaborate on the donations for the village. Enjoyed lunch and especially the hammocks afterwards.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Enjoyed the tour very much. Very professional. On time. Very educational and a much enjoyed trip for me and my family

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Awesome, wonderful!! I have been going to Puerto Plata for 6 years and never visited Ocean World.It was amazing!!! I never thought I would have enjoyed swimming with the ddolphind s as much as I did. Great!!Worth upgrading to the Royal Swim..

Doing what: Ocean World Dolphin Swim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The zipline had only six lines however, they were a good distance. The last run is 800 meters.

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

AMAZING! Best day of our whole trip! Just be prepared to get VERY muddy!!!! Such a great way to see the island and how the people live! If your into motorsports this is a must do!!!!

Doing what: Puerto Plata Dune Buggy Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message