Puerto Plata, or “Port of Silver” was discovered by Columbus way back in 1502, but has only recently become popular as more and more tourists have begun to discover it since the 1980s. Each year thousands of travellers descend on its shores for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 245 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved this trip. It was a long ride from Sousa but worth it. Paridise island was one of my favorite parts of our trip.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

IT WAS GREAT!!! The staff was great and very friendly... It was everything i hope it could be....

Doing what: Ocean World Dolphin Swim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide was very nice and did not attempt to hustle for a big tip at the end.He deserved it and he received it.This city tour is quick but highlights everything you expect.The cable car ride to see the replica of was the scariest yet most amazing thing I have every experienced.The rum factory stop was cool because we got some good deals in the store after the brief tour and free samples.The amber factory was intresting and included a cigar rolling experience for some.Overall,good tour but wish we could have explored the Mount Isabella site more.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

ONE OF THE GUIDES WAS GREAT, HE TOOK MY FRIEND AND I DOWN ALONG THE REEF AND AWAY FROM THE GROUP SO WE COULD SEE MOST OF THE AREA AS WE SNORKELED.IT WAS BEAUTIFUL.I FELT HE WENT OVER AND BEYOND SHOWING US THE AREA SO WE HAD A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Really good tour and the ziplining was very well organised. Beautiful views and experience.
Would have liked if they had taken photographs during the ziplining which could then be purchased, only a video was offered which was a little bit disappointing.

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Awesome trip! a bit too long and lacking in the food and beverage options, but beautiful tour! great staff!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This tour was shorter than they had it listed and you do a lot of driving. I highly recommend bringing plenty of school supplies for the school kids as they are in great need and it was nice to see the look of joy on their faces. The places we went to were nice to see no high pressure sales it just seemed like we spent more time driving that anything. All in all not a bad tour our tour guide was ok.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Manny is a great tour guide, this tour is a must!!! You will see/learn the Dominican Country life.

Doing what: Dominican Outback Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Swimming with the dolphins was AMAZING!!! When I found out it was 22 feet of water, I was a little (well, a lot) nervous because I can't swim, but the life jackets they supply held me up. I think the price was very reasonable considering you get transportation to and from Ocean World, lunch, admission to the park and all the other shows. Everyone was great, making this a wonderful experience. If you ever get the opportunity, I would definitely recommend swimming with the dolphins.

Doing what: Ocean World Dolphin Swim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very nice the best vacation ever

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Is a good oportunity to have fan all day

Doing what: Ocean World Puerto Plata Day Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

This is a good trip if you like to get dirty and explore the land.

Doing what: Puerto Plata Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the best excursion we took BY FAR. Kenny was awesome and made sure everyone had a great time. This excursion was a great way to see how the local people live and get a chance to sample the local crops and cuisine. We passed several other safari trucks during the day and none of them seemed to be having as much fun as our truck was. Make sure you ask for "Uncle Kenny"!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was a blast. The crew was awesome and made sure we had an amazing time. The snorkeling was a lot of fun. One of the crew helped teach me how to go all the way under the water when snorkeling which ive always wanted to try.
We surely will be booking another catamaran through them.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message