• USD ($)
  • English
Puerto Plata, or “Port of Silver” was discovered by Columbus way back in 1502, but has only recently become popular as more and more tourists have begun to discover it since the 1980s. Each year thousands of travellers descend on its shores for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 194 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

There were good parts about this excursion as well as fairly dull and forgettable parts. The stop at the brewery was really worthless. We got off of the bus, and were asked to stand outside for about a half hour or so listening to an in-house guide going over everything that goes on in the facility; of which you're not allowed to see. And then of course you're generously invited to buy the beer at the shop. The amber/mineral was only slightly better; at least they had items to touch and feel. They could have easily skipped both places and given everyone more free time to spend walking around the city itself. I did find the Amber Museum and Cigar factory interesting. The fortress was nice for taking pictures. Of course the highlight of the excursion was the Cable Car ride up the mountain.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The speaker was too loud to fully understand everything the commentator said, but it was informative. The bus was comfortable and the driver competent. The speed boat driver was polite and competent. The stay on the island was a tad long given the lack of things to do. The drive through the mangrove was awesome ! The cigar factory visit was informative but we were disappointed with the mama juana -- it tastes terrible, not like the pleasant drink we were offered on arrival. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Amazing excursion! We got to see a lot in one day! Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My wife and I were very pleased with this tour. As we were one of the first hotels to be picked up, we had the longest time in the pickup vehicle, but this was not a problem. We were able to see the town of Puerto Plata as well as other villages along the way. We would not have had the opportunity to see other parts of the island without this trip. The tour itself was very professional. The facility was good, the horses looked fed, and the zip lines looked very safe. It was a very well done excursion location. We had read about the horseback ride being only 15 minutes. This is not the case. Even after waiting for everyone to get on the horses, our trip was at least a half an hour. If you only want to ride horses, then this might not be enough for you, but we definitely felt like it was a good amount of time to combine with the ziplining. The ziplining was terrific. There were 8 lines and were a lot of fun. They had water and sometimes soda at multiple spots during the trip. There is a lot of climbing, so you should be reasonably capable to climb. You will get a little tired sometimes. "Papa Alex" was a great guide. He explained everything very well, and even gave us a tour of some local plants and explained them. Overall a great tour. DO NOT MISS THIS ONE!

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We got to see lots of Puerto Plata. Unfortunately we had to spend some of our day shopping as our suitcases did not arrive with us two days before and we were desperate to shop for things like a bathing suit. Our Guide was wonderful in helping us do this. The top of the mountain was shrouded in clouds so we couldn't see anything from above - but we did find a XXXL bathing suit up there!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

This was definitely a young person's booze Cruise. We were the oldest people on the trip. It was enjoyable but the snorkelling was only average. Too many people all in the same spot. The crew was wonderful and if you are young and looking for a fun-filled day, this is the trip to take.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

We generally enjoyed the tour but were told in the description and again on the voucher that lunch was included. No lunch, and 7 hours it to long to go with nothing to eat or even a bottle of water

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I enjoyed the tour very much the guide was very informative and asked if we had questions. The stops we made wad so remarkable and fun of all the food was the best we had while in Dominican Republic. I would do this tour again rate it a 10

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Beautiful!!!! Paradise island was really a paradise. Snorkeling was awesome. The lunch was good. There was unlimited drinks the while time. I don't drink but my husband does and he enjoyed that part. The workers were very pleasant and kind, always serving with a smile.

Doing what: Puerto Plata Luxury Yacht Cruise to Punta Rusia and Cayo Paraiso

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Pushed purchasing photos a little too much.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

this was very good but it was a long day bring lots of water interesting on seeing how coffee , chocolate and cigars are made in the jungle

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I will start by saying that this is a GREAT tour for anyone who doesn’t mind the outdoors and wants to see and learn more about the beautiful country and culture of the DR. Just be prepared for a LONG day full of activities and a VERY bumpy ride. We got to see the school (kids were on summer break), a traditional home, the processing of coffee, etc., horseback riding and swimming at the beach, so don’t forget your swim suits as we did. However, in spite of all that we stayed on the bus where the bus driver kept the beer and rum flowing. This is also where you are going to find the BETTER DEALS on any items (coffee, vanilla, etc.) you may want to bring home. Just be sure to sample it before you buy. Our tour guide Alex was GREAT! Very informative and made sure that everyone was taken care of. While I highly recommend this tour I will say that we had HORRIBLE customer service upon scheduling our pick-up when we arrived thru Nexxus tours. They scheduled p/u at the wrong hotel, blamed the mix up on us and made us take a cab to catch the bus at the next p/u without compensation. If it wasn’t for Alex scheduling the pick-ups for the rest of our excursions (which is not in his job description) I’m not sure we would have been picked up for the rest of our tours.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Beautiful water. Friendly guides. Good tour for inexperienced swimmers or snorkelers who want to see a reef.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

So much fun! We had perfect weather and Captain" Rico Suave" and his crew were the best. The snorkeling was great with lots of brightly colored fish and coral reefs to see. I would recommend this to everyone!!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very low key place to visit. A very relaxing an enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Ocean World Puerto Plata Day Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message