Puerto Plata, or “Port of Silver” was discovered by Columbus way back in 1502, but has only recently become popular as more and more tourists have begun to discover it since the 1980s. Each year thousands of travellers descend on its shores for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 307 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

angela.d.houston

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This was a really nice tour and what made it the best was the tour guide, Pedro! He was so informative and although he was translating both English and German, he made sure that no one felt left out at any point. When communicating with the company to verify my accommodations they responded right away and my hotel pick up was right on time. The reason I did not give it 5 stars is because I purchased this tour because of the horseback riding, which not only did they not do, the company said they did not offer it and to contact Viator. I'm awaiting a response from Viator now.

Doing what: Santiago and Jarabacoa Waterfalls

Gladys Fuentes ...  United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We drove around the city and sightseeing places , we went to the grocery store to stock up on food, water and beer. Visited the rich town, then we went to the Larimar Amber Cigar factory, passed by the Brugal rum factory, the Port of San Felipe and end the cablecar Teleferic. It was interesting to learn about the city of Puerto Plata, but what I liked most was the ride on the cable car where I could see the whole city, sightseeing and its beaches, the most beautiful was Christ the Redeemer equal to or copy of Rio de Janeiro . I recommend this tour very interesting.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Francesca G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience! Captain and crew were tons of fun!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Deborah C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Our trip was great. Wish we had seen more of the island though.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Lisa B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Loved the boat ride through the mangrove forest

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

Simon O

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Nice and safe tour, but in my opinion a shoppingtour for all-inclusive tourists!!!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Andrea S Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very well organized and executed tour.

Doing what: Ocean World Puerto Plata Day Pass

jess

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome crew. Amazing time snorkeling. Would highly reccommend this catamaran excursion!!!

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

SUSAN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great experience taking the City Tour with Cable car ride.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Poduska

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is a must to see the real Domincan Republic. Kenny was a great tour guide, explaining everything, making the tour very enjoyable.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

Veronika S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A lot of to see in one short day! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

Ernest B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The tour was nice but a bit rushed. We could have had some more time at each stop, especially at the top of the hill - so much to see in just a few minutes! Also, the trip was advertised as including a visit to the Brugal rum factory but that did not happen. At least we did stop by a supermarket to get our booze.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

chefkerry

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This was a nice day on a Catamaran. The crew was personable and went out of their way to make sure that everyone had a good time.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Dena E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

This was a great tour, but not at all as described. There was no luxury yacht, but a catamaran. No information about any early settlement, but a very enjoyable ride in the ocean. No banana boat at all. We did anchor and swim for a while, in beautiful water. No speedboat, we stayed on the catamaran the entire trip. No El Morro -- or if we saw it, we didn't know it.

This would've been a great tour if it had been advertised as it was. VERY incorrect description. When I asked about it, they discounted it, saying the info was just way out of date on the website. I was upset for having been mislead however, we did truly enjoy the day once we got over the disappointment of false advertising.

Doing what: Puerto Plata Luxury Yacht Cruise to Punta Rusia and Cayo Paraiso

Mercedez C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Eric C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The beach was really nice and the water beautiful. i did expect that the private island that we were snorkeling off of was going to be more of an island and not a sand bar with some huts. I would include that in the description so people know not to bring a lot with them. The boat ride to a from the sand bar was also very rough on the buttocks. I would tell people to bring extra towels to sit on during the ride. Other than those small things it was a great day out

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

LaNita G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

This tour was awesome. Our guide was great. The only thing is that they take you to places where they want you to buy things. It was very commercial.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Beautiful BOAT. Delicious food. Amazing water. The island was extremely busy, but the snorkeling was out of this world! Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and relaxed, which made everyone so comfortable! I would do this again in a heartbeat, worth every penny!

Doing what: Puerto Plata Luxury Yacht Cruise to Punta Rusia and Cayo Paraiso

Mary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great time in the city and the view from the cable car is breath taking.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If you want to learn about the culture in the Dominican this is THE tour for you. We absolutely loved getting out and seeing places that were beyond our resort! Andy was a great guide and answered all of our questions. And our driver was amazing -- I still have no idea how he navigated all those hills and steep declines.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

Regina Ann N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Really good trip. Was a bit disappointed that they no longer take you to the rhum factory. But the guide took us to a supermarket where the rhum prices were really good. They were not pushy and didn't request a tip. Very friendly guide with lots of interesting facts about the city.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Allan United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A fascinating, fun and educational day spent traveling through and stopping off at places surrounding the Punta Cana region in an open back truck. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire day and would recommend this trip to anyone. Youll learn about and sample the produce of the region. Everything from roasting coffee and cacao/cocoa, cigars, sugar cane, vanilla, pineapples, bananas, mangos, homemade chocolate and much more! Youll also have a chance to sample the famous mamajuana liquor and maybe some pineapple wine! With options to purchase some locally produced co-op things to take home. The plantation is incredible! It also had wonderfully clean WC facilities.

Youll also learn about the plantation owner, his family and see their prime example of a traditional Dominican house. We also travelled to a lodge high in the rainforest hills for a delicious home cooked Dominican lunch. Then back into the city of Higuey for a guided tour inside the large cathedral there -Basílica Catedral Nuestra Señora de la Altagracia!

For the last stop of the day we went to Macao beach, further west down the coast from Bavaro/Punta Cana. Here we did some body-boarding in the lovely blue surf, boards provided. All in all an amazing day, full of activities, things to see/do, learn about, sample and just take in a more authentic side of this wondrous country, its rich culture and lovely people. The travel duration isnt too much, as the whole day is hop on/off style and theres plenty to see en route. Refreshments, including soft drinks, beer and rum were served throughout the day by the truck driver and guide. This is the second time I have done this trip, it seems seasonally different each time. Last time we also visited a rural school, this time was during schools holidays. I would definitely do this trip again and recommend it to anyone new to, or a returning traveller to this region.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

Gillian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Nice view of both the ocean and sea lives. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed every minute of it.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message