Puerto Plata, or “Port of Silver” was discovered by Columbus way back in 1502, but has only recently become popular as more and more tourists have begun to discover it since the 1980s. Each year thousands of travellers descend on its shores for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 249 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Danna Boy was excellent! Danny was very well informed and great sense of humor. Made everyone feel at home. Louis The driver safe and friendly. I would go on another tour and my wife and I felt it was our best money spent on the trip. Great Tour, great staff and excellent equipment. Randy and Deana B.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Driver and guide were great stops and lunch wonderful just did not appreciate so much emphasis on drinking and the off-color comments not everyone in this world driven by sex and drink thx

Doing what: Dominican Outback Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Best day of our vacation! My husband and I and our 12 yr old son were the last to be picked up at our hotel around 9:30am. Everyone on the bus was friendly and Manny spoke very good English. He even translated to French for one couple. First stop is a typical Dominican house in the countryside, very interesting and we ate fresh fruit and learned about all kinds of plants. Then we went to a school that is supported by Outback Safari - bring school supplies, but no candy or money! We had a fabulous lunch chicken wings and rice and beans at a crocodile farm, then went boogie boarding in the ocean. If you don't want to swim, you can get a massage for free on the beach, but the boogie boarders had a blast! Oh yeah, unlimited beer and rum the whole day, don't forget to drink water too! A must see, and ask for Manny!
Marilyn from Texas

Doing what: Dominican Outback Safari

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Horseback ride was rocky an uneven terrain. Not much of a ride.
Ziplines good scary, staff was very helpful.

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Staff was good! Only rum drinks. Catamaran needed my social legs.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Guide was hard to understand. Didn't make things very clear . Amber museum run down, cigar factory just part of museum. Jewelery shop try to sell sell sell. No cable car ride canceled .

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

It was terrible.Why would you call a sand bar an island.Also I don't think it was safe.As I was getting out of the boat the driver took off.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The Zipline was my favorite event of my trip LOVED it.

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a really nice tour of the jungle and what all the types of chocolate, coffee, and fruits and vegtables are grown there. Because you walk through a real jungle, I would never recommend that anyone wear bright clothing or shorts or flip flops (as some did), because the jungle contains mosquitos. My son, who wore bright clothing, shorts, and flip flops got bit 13 times. I guess he was trying to look "cool". I - on the other hand - have had experience in jungles, where I wore long jungle-type pants, a black long sleeved shirt, and real shoes and never got bit one time! I would rather be bite-free than "cool". Other than that, this tour is well worth the money and extremely educational. "Kenny" the tour guide really went out of his way to make everyone very comfortable and welcomed, plus he has a great sense of humor! Good stuff!!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Great crew. Nice boat. Very enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

I REALLY LIKED THE ZIPLINING, THE GUIDES WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL AND MY EXPERIENCE WAS VERY SIMILAR TO WHAT I EXPERIENCED IN THE US. I THOUGHT THEY TOOK CARE OF THEIR VISITORS VERY WELL AND I LIKED HOW THEY TOOK CARE OF THE CHILDREN THAT WERE IN MY GROUP. THE HORSEBACK RIDING WAS OK, I THOUGHT THEY SHOULD HAVE BEEN MORE CAREFUL WITH HOW WE RODE THE HORSES(THE SPEED AND WHICH THE HORSES RAN AT TIMES)ESPECIALLY WITH THE FIRST TIME RIDERS IN THE GROUP.

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very good but we had rainy weather

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message