Puerto Plata, or “Port of Silver” was discovered by Columbus way back in 1502, but has only recently become popular as more and more tourists have begun to discover it since the 1980s. Each year thousands of travellers descend on its shores for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 244 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Danna Boy was excellent! Danny was very well informed and great sense of humor. Made everyone feel at home. Louis The driver safe and friendly. I would go on another tour and my wife and I felt it was our best money spent on the trip. Great Tour, great staff and excellent equipment. Randy and Deana B.

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The ad shows horseback riding and driving thru a river........... we DID NOT do this ! The rest was ok !

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

It was terrible.Why would you call a sand bar an island.Also I don't think it was safe.As I was getting out of the boat the driver took off.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The Zipline was my favorite event of my trip LOVED it.

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a really nice tour of the jungle and what all the types of chocolate, coffee, and fruits and vegtables are grown there. Because you walk through a real jungle, I would never recommend that anyone wear bright clothing or shorts or flip flops (as some did), because the jungle contains mosquitos. My son, who wore bright clothing, shorts, and flip flops got bit 13 times. I guess he was trying to look "cool". I - on the other hand - have had experience in jungles, where I wore long jungle-type pants, a black long sleeved shirt, and real shoes and never got bit one time! I would rather be bite-free than "cool". Other than that, this tour is well worth the money and extremely educational. "Kenny" the tour guide really went out of his way to make everyone very comfortable and welcomed, plus he has a great sense of humor! Good stuff!!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Great crew. Nice boat. Very enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

I REALLY LIKED THE ZIPLINING, THE GUIDES WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL AND MY EXPERIENCE WAS VERY SIMILAR TO WHAT I EXPERIENCED IN THE US. I THOUGHT THEY TOOK CARE OF THEIR VISITORS VERY WELL AND I LIKED HOW THEY TOOK CARE OF THE CHILDREN THAT WERE IN MY GROUP. THE HORSEBACK RIDING WAS OK, I THOUGHT THEY SHOULD HAVE BEEN MORE CAREFUL WITH HOW WE RODE THE HORSES(THE SPEED AND WHICH THE HORSES RAN AT TIMES)ESPECIALLY WITH THE FIRST TIME RIDERS IN THE GROUP.

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very good but we had rainy weather

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved this trip. It was a long ride from Sousa but worth it. Paridise island was one of my favorite parts of our trip.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

IT WAS GREAT!!! The staff was great and very friendly... It was everything i hope it could be....

Doing what: Ocean World Dolphin Swim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide was very nice and did not attempt to hustle for a big tip at the end.He deserved it and he received it.This city tour is quick but highlights everything you expect.The cable car ride to see the replica of was the scariest yet most amazing thing I have every experienced.The rum factory stop was cool because we got some good deals in the store after the brief tour and free samples.The amber factory was intresting and included a cigar rolling experience for some.Overall,good tour but wish we could have explored the Mount Isabella site more.

Doing what: Puerto Plata City Tour with Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

ONE OF THE GUIDES WAS GREAT, HE TOOK MY FRIEND AND I DOWN ALONG THE REEF AND AWAY FROM THE GROUP SO WE COULD SEE MOST OF THE AREA AS WE SNORKELED.IT WAS BEAUTIFUL.I FELT HE WENT OVER AND BEYOND SHOWING US THE AREA SO WE HAD A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very organized. Tour guide Eddy was very nice and also informative. Horseback riding was fun as was the zip line. Very clean and well cared for. Only thing was that I emailed before our tour to ask pick up time and no one emailed back, had to call. Overall very nice and I'd recommend it

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message