Puerto Plata, or “Port of Silver” was discovered by Columbus way back in 1502, but has only recently become popular as more and more tourists have begun to discover it since the 1980s. Each year thousands of travellers descend on its shores for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 238 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Manny is a great tour guide, this tour is a must!!! You will see/learn the Dominican Country life.

Doing what: Dominican Outback Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Swimming with the dolphins was AMAZING!!! When I found out it was 22 feet of water, I was a little (well, a lot) nervous because I can't swim, but the life jackets they supply held me up. I think the price was very reasonable considering you get transportation to and from Ocean World, lunch, admission to the park and all the other shows. Everyone was great, making this a wonderful experience. If you ever get the opportunity, I would definitely recommend swimming with the dolphins.

Doing what: Ocean World Dolphin Swim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very nice the best vacation ever

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Is a good oportunity to have fan all day

Doing what: Ocean World Puerto Plata Day Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

This is a good trip if you like to get dirty and explore the land.

Doing what: Puerto Plata Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the best excursion we took BY FAR. Kenny was awesome and made sure everyone had a great time. This excursion was a great way to see how the local people live and get a chance to sample the local crops and cuisine. We passed several other safari trucks during the day and none of them seemed to be having as much fun as our truck was. Make sure you ask for "Uncle Kenny"!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was a blast. The crew was awesome and made sure we had an amazing time. The snorkeling was a lot of fun. One of the crew helped teach me how to go all the way under the water when snorkeling which ive always wanted to try.
We surely will be booking another catamaran through them.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Was AMAZING! The boat tour of the mangrove trees was very cool, the drive was fun and the snorkeling breathtaking. Everyone is super friendly and makes sure you have Cuba Libre in hand anytime you are not fully submerged ;) The lunch was disappointing but I was also not feeling the best that day, so maybe combo. Overall I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was advertised as going to the beach of Sosua, not stopping 2 miles shy of the shore. There were several people who all felt the same way on the catamaran which showed that there was a big lack of communication by the company hosting. Overall it was a waste for me, as I wanted to explore the shore as well.

Doing what: Bay of Sosua Catamaran Cruise and Snorkeling

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was great the guides were good and the zipline omg was funnn.

Doing what: Zipline and Horseback Riding Combination Tour in Puerto Plata

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Our guide spoke at least 5 languages, it was amazing! He was very informative about the island, it's history, the people, the sites - lots of interesting facts. Paradise Island was a bit on the small side due to high tide so it was a lot of people crowded together, but it was still fun and saw lots of beautiful fish. I wouldn't recommend this excursion who may not like speed boats. We went pretty fast on a smaller boat that held about 10 people per boat. It was fun! Alcohol was only included on Paradise Island, not the mainland. Bring a waterproof camera or they'll charge you for any photos they take.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good experience and wonderful tour . The tour guides were excellent . Would recommend this to friends going to Dominican republic.

Doing what: Dominican Outback Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour of the local side of Punta Cana...We enjoyed the sites, gift bargains, and beach!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was amazing! Our guide/boatdriver (Carlos I believe) was awesome.

Doing what: Cayo Paraiso Deserted Island Tour from Puerto Plata

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message