Mexican sunshine, Pacific sea and white-sand beaches are just some of the reasons behind Puerto Vallarta’s fame. Set on beautiful Banderas Bay, and backed by the mountains of the Sierra Madre, the resort combines cultural traditions and outdoor ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Clayton S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Chef and family were wonderful. The food was fresh and extremely tasty. The tour of the market was most interesting and I would recommend this tour even if you are not a cook. Bravo!!!

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Cooking Class: Market Shopping, Lesson and Tastings

Jeremy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour, info, food and drinks.
Would recommend to do this tour early in your holiday as it gives you insight into the whereabouts of places of interest and also restaurants to try.
Thanks to Miguel our guide, really nice guy.

Doing what: Taco Adventure Evening Food Tour in Puerto Vallarta

John V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

This tour was disappointing. We learned nothing about the different areas of the city or its history. We saw the church, then were dumped at a silver store then and hour into the jungle for more commercial attempts including the Predator location and lunch. Although we wanted an Englush guide, most if the conversation was in Spanish. This tour did not come close to the Viator tours we have enjoyed around the world. A complete waste of money, d not bother to go on this one.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta City Tour

Joseph T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My wife and I were extremely pleased by the food tour! What a fantastic way to learn a city. There was a great variety of food and you walk away very very full. It was a great value and for the rest of our trip we went back to town to eat from the various vendors we visited. Thanks guys!

Doing what: Downtown Puerto Vallarta Food Tour

Michelle K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was very knowledgeable and attentive. He was also a lot of fun. We were greeted openly by everyone and everywhere we went. The food was extraordinary and we really felt like we got to see the entire city and get a feel for what life there is like. I would highly recommend this tour and this company!!

Doing what: Taco Adventure Evening Food Tour in Puerto Vallarta

WENDY P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Rosie is a wonderful chef, teacher and host. Her garden is spectacular. She constantly feed us information about cooking and Mexico. Our meal was fantastic and abundant!

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Cooking Class: Market Shopping, Lesson and Tastings

diane c

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

nice small group - enjoyed our instructor and the company of other travelers.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Cooking Class: Market Shopping, Lesson and Tastings

JEAN U

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Nice day. Went to a local market and then our guide/teacher brought us to her home. We cooked in her kitchen. There were only four of us and we did much of the chopping and preparation but none of the cooking. We ate the meal together and enjoyed each others company. Our host was very gracious and gave us each a cook book.
It was a good experience. I would recommend it.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Cooking Class: Market Shopping, Lesson and Tastings

Randy P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

This is a great start to your vacation: learn your way around early on, it will help you find your way around. It is also a great preview of things to do in PV!

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta City Tour

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Awesome. Kids 9 and 12 were able to make it down. 14 lines. The best zip lines of the three in the area.

Doing what: Ziplining in Puerto Vallarta: Original Canopy Tour

babydenver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great time and learned a lot. From going to the market to the different vendors to learn about their goods to their home to help make and then eat what we made WHICH WAS GREAT.
We HIGHLY RECOMMENDED this excursion. Enricie sorry about the spelling,his wife and sister-in-law all make you feel like part of the family and this was a high time of our entire vacation.
Side note-when your are done and if you like dogs ask to go to the back yard-three really great and friendly dogs.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Cooking Class: Market Shopping, Lesson and Tastings

Crabby Joe United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a nice experience. Ricardo was our guide for this tour. Not only did he go to tour guide school. but he was a history major in school and was able to expound on various historical questions we asked. There were six of us on the tour. Bring good waking shoes - there is quite a bit of walking and some uneven ground. We went to more places that were on the itinerary and each was a unique experience. Ricardo explained the uniqueness of each place, the number of years in business, how they prepared the food, the history of the dishes, and so on. There were probably 10 or so different small portion samples from mostly small business owners. The food and historical perspectives made this a tour I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Downtown Puerto Vallarta Food Tour

Edward M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed the tour. The food was great and we returned to some of the restaurants to enjoy more delicious food. Ricardo was a great guide and seemed to have all the answers to any question about PV. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Downtown Puerto Vallarta Food Tour

Erin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour guides were great! Everything ran smoothly and the guides made it an amazing and fun experience. After the zipline, we had fun feeding the monkeys in the little animal rescue/ zoo area. The owner came around as we were sitting for lunch and made sure we had a good time and to see if we needed anything. The whole experience was easy and fun. I'd definitely do this again!

Doing what: Ziplining in Puerto Vallarta: Original Canopy Tour

John N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Our guide, Marco Antonio was great. Personable and knowledgeable, he did all that he could to see that we had a nice tour. We learned a lot of PVR history and saw many sites that we had never seen before in our previous ten trips to the city. However, there wasn't much food involved in the food tour. One small carnitas taco, one small barbacoa taco delicious!, one fresh tortilla at the tortilla factory, a piece of candy and a stop for dessert in three and a half hours. Oh, yes, and a beer at an opal store where we felt encouraged to buy jewelry. The tour information advised patrons to eat very lightly beforehand as the tour would fully satiate everyone's hunger. Not quite true in...we ended up going to a restaurant immediately after the tour because we were hungry. I think the tour designer needs to more closely examine food tours in other cities and other countries to ensure this tour's future viability. A good start, but not close to a finished product yet, and definitely not worth the cost compared to the many other food tours we have taken.

Doing what: Food Tour in Puerto Vallarta: Off-the-Beaten Path Experience

Lynnette S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This cooking class was a great experience. We enjoyed shopping in the local marketplace and Enrique taught us how to purchase the foods there. The cooking experience with his family was wonderful. I am now an expert at making fresh tortillas! We learned how to make tamales and salsas and enjoyed the meal when it was complete. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Cooking Class: Market Shopping, Lesson and Tastings

Melanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My friends and I had a wonderful day cooking with Enrique and his wife. We started with a trip to a local market and enjoyed the shops and colorful persons we met. The food we prepared was delicious and the chance to meet this lovely family was a treat.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Cooking Class: Market Shopping, Lesson and Tastings

curtinchitwn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This class was great. We will definitely be taking a class with Chef, once more, when we return to Puerto Vallarta. Highly Recommended CJ in Chicago.

Doing what: Puerto Vallarta Cooking Class: Market Shopping, Lesson and Tastings

JoAnne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide, Alex, was funny, informative and loved sharing stories with our group. He guided us along a route that held samples of many types of Mexican cuisine and beverage, from fresh coconut milk and seasoned coconut, a drink called Tuba, Mexican sweets stores and a fresh tortilla factory. We moved on to share tequila shots and tortilla soup and 2 types of mole complex and interesting flavors. There was a civeche restaurant as well as street food Birra sorry for the spelling. Thanks go out to the tour company and the vendors and restaurants who accommodated my vegetarian lifestyle. This was a fun and informative tour and we'd do it again in a minute! We booked this for a cruise stop and were not rushed.

Doing what: Downtown Puerto Vallarta Food Tour

Timothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Take this tour if you want a fun time and love food.

Doing what: Taste of Pitillal Food Tour

Stephen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour. Lobo did a fantastic job leading our tour. He was very knowledgeable about the foods, the culture, the history of the area, and he made the tour a lot of fun!

I would highly recommend this tour for those visiting Puerto Vallarta.

Doing what: Taco Adventure Evening Food Tour in Puerto Vallarta

Dawn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful time and I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting PV for the first time or 15th! We had some amazing food, wonderful service and our tour guide was informative and fun. A great experience!

Doing what: Downtown Puerto Vallarta Food Tour

Russell R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a great time was has by all. The staff was excellent and lots of fun. Would love to do it again.

Doing what: Ziplining in Puerto Vallarta: Original Canopy Tour

Vincent C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was just the wife and I . Been wanting to try street food for years. Manuel was great explaining what was next. The sauces were great don't be shy about the hot ones more flavor than heat. Nice walking tour after dark meeting the locals and tasting what they eat daily is what makes our tris rememirable

Doing what: Taco Adventure Evening Food Tour in Puerto Vallarta

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message