The city of Puno is rarely considered most beautiful destination on Lake Titicaca; the modern and somewhat scruffy city is a working port town. It is a destination not only for tourists, but also lake dwellers here to market their wares and shop ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

yvonne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great trip, but quite strenuous maybe there should be a note about this. We learned so much about the Uros and Taquile people. I', so glad we added Lake Titicaca to our Peru trip.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Shay H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We had a fantastic guide in Sylvia. It was very interesting to hear and see about the culture and life on the Uros Islands and then to go on to Taquille which is so different. Strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

yvonne

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

I was a little wary about taking the Tourist Bus, but it turned out to be a great way to get from Puno to Cusco. Hotel pick up was prompt. We were delivered to the door of the bus, so there was no confusion. We were met by the driver in Cusco. All very simple... The best part was the stops along the way. We had a full day of touring, but didn't end up where we started!

Doing what: One-Way Scenic Bus Transfer to Cusco from Puno

Elizabeth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this day trip! While most of the tourists onboard were Spanish-speaking, our guide, Jorge, made sure to repeat everything in English to ensure I understood.

The trip to Uros was great - we learned from the locals about life on the island and how the island is made. We then got to play dress up with a local lady and try on some of her traditional garb! Be sure to bring plenty of cash. The locals make their living on selling their wares after the island tour - it's a bit of a hustle but well worth the nominal price for a fantastic souvenir.

Taquile was so beautiful! Lunch was delicious and it was great to learn about their heritage in textiles and the unique meaning the various apparel has in their community and traditions.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

naim z

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

it was well organised,it is easy for people who couldn't walk ,the guide was very friendly ,the area visited was beautiful. transportation was good and comfortable

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Alan S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Good despite thunder and lightening towards end which made things uncomfortable

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Sillustani from Puno

Thomas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was really interesting and informative. Great tour

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Sillustani from Puno

donald C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Guides were great. Very helpful an knowledgeable. Food was good and plentiful. They came to the hotel the night before to help with the paperwork. It was a good experience. I would be happy to use this service again.

Doing what: Lake Titicaca and Sun Island Overnight Catamaran Cruise from Puno

Sarah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

interaction with the locals was amazing!

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Steven T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great cruise and tour of the Sun Island. Several bonuses were unexpected, such as a great museum tour on Sun Island. Super-friendly and helpful staff.
FYI: I was unaware of the fees for US Citizens for me, 160 to receive a Bolivian Passport. Also, make sure that the staff know to take you back to Puno -- the default destination for this tour is La Paz, Bolivia.

Doing what: Lake Titicaca and Sun Island Catamaran Cruise from Puno

Judy E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our group had a wonderful guide and beautiful weather. We greatly enjoyed the floating island visit. The people were informative and welcoming. The Taquile Island was also very interesting and our lunch was delicious. Overall, it was a lovely experience and well worth the effort.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Steven F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a 10-hour boat tour of 2 floating islands and a trip to Taquilos Island for lunch and a demonstration of local customs and crafts. While the tour operator spoke English with a heavy accent, he was personable and described a wide array of topics. The trip was quite informative and enjoyable!

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

c j b

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Fascinating to visit these unique man - made islands and mingle with the locals, though the pressure to buy some artefacts was fairly intense but all part of the experience I guess it was also nice to trip out further into the heart of the lake to Taquile Island where we were served a magnificent lunch out in the open up on the side of the hill by the locals in trad costumes, of freshly grilled trout with the trimmings.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Rob G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

A bit too commercial. Felt pressure to buy souvenirs from Uros people. Think the trip could have been shortened to four hours by cutting out shopping.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Sarah P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Tore was great but as we were only English speakers on the boat most commentary was in Spanish which was a shame as we thought we had booked an English speaking tour. Still a great day though.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Lynskye Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

No one came to pick us up at 6:50 am by 7:30 the hotel called the local tour company and we were picked up and were advised to join a Contikii tour at 8:30 am. This made our whole trip unsettled and stopped me booking future tours to sacred valley and the to Macchu Picchu with Viator. For $263:10 I had expected a more professional service and should be compensated. Very disappointing. Our other tours in buenos aires and cusco were great with viator staff. I had chosen this tour operator bc of the normally fluent English guides and overall professionalism, even though other tour groups were cheaper. Therefore hesitant about using this company in South America again. Cheers Lyn

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Tanja G Croatia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour was very interestimh

Doing what: One-Way Scenic Bus Transfer to Cusco from Puno

Patience M

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This tour was very expensive for what actually happened. We had a three hour drive to Copacabana, Bolivia. the only real tour was of a church there. I was not interested in the tour, and even though I went along with it, I was very allergic to the flowers in the church. The catamaran part of our tour was late -the boat was not there. Our market 'tour' was a quick walk through a couple of streets, with no time to stop and shop. The catamaran was lovely, and the service became very good. I enjoyed the little that I saw of Isla del Sol. I would recommend changing the itinerary on this tour. I would skip the reed boat, which most of us in our group had already done at Uros, and instead make time to actually tour the Temple of the Sun. It was not the tour's fault that the day we went to Bolivia, there was a strike in Bolivia. It made us a couple of hours late. (a 14 hour day) I highly recommend also, that Viator offer the option which some other guests chose, of staying on the catamaran overnight so that they could see Isla del Sol completely. I would have loved to do that, and I think that this is the main reason I am only giving this a 3 star. All of the options are not offered. Saying all of this, I am grateful to have had the chance to get to the Isla del Sol, with help at the border.

Doing what: Lake Titicaca and Sun Island Catamaran Cruise from Puno

Adolfo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It's a fantastic experience, you'll see a different culture, a folk who lives in a floating island. You'll have lunch in a rustic big table facing beatiful landscape view.

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Tanya R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

The worst trip I've ever. A 2 hour bus ride to start with bus transfer, no consistency in respect to guests, loud, obnoxious guids that also kept changing... A 1 hour wait and foot walk over the boarder in a terrifying neighbourhood. Then another 1 hour to just get to the catamaran. Don't do it!

Doing what: Lake Titicaca and Sun Island Catamaran Cruise from Puno

kokopeli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were very pleased with this tour an our guide, from Kontiki, Abel, he was very good. We could not communicate with Viator before our arrival in Puno and we were a bit worried about the location and pick-up time. However, when we arrived at our hotel in Puno, we learned that Viator already arranged everything, the time of the pick-up, the location (our hotel), all functioned so good ! Thanks Viator !

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! You are able to see two completely different cultures - those of the Uros and the local who live on Taquile. A fun day out and a glimpse into some of the various cultures and people that call Peru home. Definitely not to be missed when in Puno!

Doing what: Uros and Taquile Islands Day Trip from Puno

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Perfect, organized service. No need to wait, everything went as planned.

Doing what: Private Round-Trip Transfer: Puno Bus or Train Station to Puno Hotel

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Reliable and safe - what more can you ask for?

Doing what: Private Round-Trip Transfer: Puno Bus or Train Station to Puno Hotel

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wow! Amazing! Probably my favorite day on my trip in Peru. I needed to get from Puno to La Paz and I'm so glad I booked the catamaran cruise! Of course there is the option to travel on land via bus, but that's boring! You may as well do a sightseeing cruise and see Lake Titicaca. Sun Island was beautiful and the highlight - it's a bit of a climb to high altitudes, but so worth it. Lunch was great, the catamaran very comfortable and the guide was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. 5 stars! Thank you!

Doing what: Lake Titicaca and Sun Island Catamaran Cruise from Puno

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message