• USD ($)
  • English

Punta Cana ATTRACTIONS See all

Bavaro Beach (Playa Bavaro)

The unrivaled beaches of Punta Cana focus on Bavaro, the home of resort vacations in the Dominican Republic. Most of Punta Cana’s resort hotels cluster around the long stretch of white sand Bavaro Beach (or Playa Bavaro) and its small ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 78 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

We had problems booking this trip because it was one adult and one child in two different boats. There wasn't a way to do it online and even when we called it was an issue. But we thought once we got it resolved via phone it wouldn't be an issue. Well, when we got there, we had our vouchers. Problem was it only said "one adult"...there was no child on the voucher. It seemed like it was an issue but it eventually got worked out.

The snorkeling was ok. The reef isn't very colorful nor does it have a variety of coral or fish. The snuba was great! Because I'm a diver, I was able to go down with a guide solo with him. That was great!

The speedboats were fun too. Overall it was a good experience and I'd probably do it again. I just don't like trying to be proactive and do things right before I travel then have to deal with problems once I get there.

Doing what: Bavaro Splash Speedboat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was by far the most fun excursion we did on vacation!!! Great time if you like to party and have fun!

Doing what: Happy Hour Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise in Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had a fantastic time. The speed boats were a blast and the snuba was awesome. The staff was extremely helpful and lots of fun. The scenery underwater and all of the fish were a sight to see. We enjoyed this trip and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The speed boat was a bit choppy on the water, but was still fun! Snuba-ing was a new adventure and quite fun. Our guide on the boat (Tommy) took great care of us!

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Speedboat Ride, Snuba and Snorkeling

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

A nice way to get out of the resort for the afternoon. Staff on Cruise was great

Doing what: Happy Hour Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise in Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was one of the better tours on our trip because you get to relax while choosing from the different activities you want to do, when you want to do them, No schedule, no rush. We got to do everything as described from swimming with the stingrays (stingrays are de-barbed) to exploring the reef further out on a guided tour. And the massage was included as well, no extra cost. For those who can’t swim (like myself), everyone was required to wear a floatation bubble while in the water and for lunch there were some finger foods and blended drinks (no alcohol) so eat before you go. The staff was friendly and accommodating and if all the activities aren’t quite your thing there is always the option to relax on a lounge chair, soak in the scenery and read a book. Perfect for the family.

Doing what: Punta Cana Reef Explorer: Power Snorkeling, Paddleboarding and Kayaking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The trip was great and so much fun!!

Doing what: Happy Hour Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise in Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Everything was absolutely brilliant. Trip was very well run and plenty of experts on hand to help with the snuba experience etc well worth the money and cheaper to book in advnce with Viator than if you waited until you got there!

Doing what: Bavaro Splash Speedboat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great excursion!

We are a couple, both 25 and enjoyed our trip.

We had our hotel concierge (we stayed at the majestic colonial) call the number provided to us by our confirmation to set up the hotel pick up, the ride to the dock took about 40 minutes with us picking up family at another resort.

The trip we took was the Marinarium Sunny Day Cruise.The snorkeling is very minimal, lasted about 40 minutes, and wasn't particularly good, so if you're looking for a good snorkeling trip this isn't the one.

After the snorkeling, the booze was broken out and the party started. We were on the trip with about 5 couples from Alabama, a couple from Indiana, and a family of five. The family of five actually left the boat about 2 hours into the trip and took a cab back to their resort.

The drinks flow all day and the crew takes very good care of you. They do dances, get you drinks, and facilitate an all around good time. We ended up drinking the boat of of beer- twice!

We were supposed to go to a large inflatable slide, but the weather didn't permit it, so we just got to wade around at a beach for a little while to boat restocked the beer.

We then went to the "natural pool" which was just a area of the ocean that was shallow to wade around in and drink and have lunch. The lunch was simple, but good. They have sandwiches, chicken wings, kabobs, potato salad and other simple picnic-esque foods. They put drinks of a tray and bring it into the water for you to have.

Then we cruised around some more and kept the drinks flowing.

Bottom Line:
This isn't a snorkeling trip, its a booze cruise.
This isn't a family trip.
The boat moves slowly, which the family that left complained about, but you're on vacation, so just sit back enjoy it and drink some booze!
The crew was AWESOME, they really provided a good trip.
Would highly recommend to 20-somethings and young 30 somethings.

Doing what: Punta Cana Day Cruise with Snorkeling

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Not enough explanation on Snuba

Doing what: Bavaro Splash Speedboat Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Not exactly what I was expecting, but we did have fun by the end. The guides were fantastic, but the skorkeling was just a little ways from the beach so we didn't see much at all. Of course the beer and music made it all worth it, but I wouldn't do it again.

Doing what: Happy Hour Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise in Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Cruise was close to shore and snorkeling was shallow but guides did good job of attacting fish and bring up items from the bottom for us to look at. Lunch was simple but good tasting. After Lunch we stopped at nice beach and we were left on our own. Other boats in area were organizing games and had a party atmosphere but our crew did not interact or organize anything so we all floated around for like 45 minutes. There were no slides or games like in previous reviews.

Doing what: Punta Cana Day Cruise with Snorkeling

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

This trip was OK. I have done several other snorkeling cruises and they were much better. There were less than 20 people on the boat and it was very boring much of the time. The staff was really fun the few minutes that they entertained us, but they spent most of the cruise sitting on the back of the boat talking to each other and ignoring the guests. I had booked this particular cruise because I had read the water slide was fun and it was not that great. Maybe if there had been more people on the cruise the staff would have been more entertaining.

Doing what: Punta Cana Day Cruise with Snorkeling

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

This was a great (day) trip to enjoy the sunshine, Caribbean waters and experience the flavor of Punta Cana beachlife. The trip had lots of relaxing moments and the crew were very cordial and friendly. I would definitely recommend this trip if you're looking for a relaxing time in the Punta Cana sun.

Doing what: Punta Cana Day Cruise with Snorkeling

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2013

The staff tried really hard to make it a good trip but the snorkeling sucked and they blasted techno. Spanish music from crackly speakers while trying to get u drunk so u would think u enjoyed the trip plus they no longer go to the ship wreck which they advertise

Doing what: Punta Cana Day Cruise with Snorkeling

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message