• USD ($)
  • English
Dolphin Island Punta Cana is a destination island attraction aimed at giving visitors what they want – an experience swimming with man’s most beloved sea mammal – the dolphin. Jump into these amazing creatures’ natural habitat and begin your ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! Well organized and you get lots of interaction with the dolphins! A must do!

Doing what: Half-Day Dolphin Island Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was wonderful- my wife enjoyed it every minute. The staff was very attentive and nice. You can snorkel around nurse sharks and stingrays and other fish, they have snorkels. With the dolphin each couple/person had time to spend with it. Very nice. Highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Half-Day Dolphin Island Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

AMAZING!!!!!! The aquarium habitat is in the middle of the ocean. We took a speed boat out to it. Not only did we get to swim with dolphins, but we started our excursion snorkeling with 3 nurse sharks and a large sting ray! The dolphins are phenomenal and so well trained. The first half of the time with the dolphins, we stood on a ledge half way submerged in the water with life jackets on and the dolphins swam by in front of us so we could pet them and then they did numerous tricks for us which were so fun! Then the second half of our time with the dolphins we swam out to the middle of the water for them to swim in front of us as we pet them. Loved it!

Doing what: Half-Day Dolphin Island Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Amazing! I highly recommend this adventure to swim with dolphins,touch and even get to kiss them! The staff was extremely helpful especially due to the fact that I had an ankle injury and made sure my husband and I got to enjoy the full experience! Even had a swimmer in the water to help me!

Doing what: Half-Day Dolphin Island Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This is a huge rave not only for the Dolphin Island Tour, but also for Viator.com itself! I called with a few questions and concerns. The viator representative I spoke to didn't know the answer, but three way called Punta Cana to find out the information for me before booking. They were nothing but pleasant and everything was exactly as it should've been.

As for the Dolphin Island Tour, it was fantastic. You can tell all the trainers are passionate about what they do and treat the dolphins with the utmost respect and care which was a huge concern of mine. The bus ride was long though. Not gonna lie, the bus ride was about an hour and a half since we stopped at several different resorts to pick up guests. It was okay though since the shuttle was free, I couldn't complain too much. Everything was very clean and new and safe. You get to spend about 1/2 hour in the water with the dolphins in total though. We had about 15 minutes of swimming with the sharks and sting rays and then went over to start our dolphin tour. So "half-day" is mostly referring to the bus ride and waiting around on the beach, which is fine, since they had drinks and snacks available. Sodas were free, alcohol was extra- I think $2 for a bottle.

Doing what: Half-Day Dolphin Island Tour from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Nice experience to swim with dolphins, sand sharks and stingrays. The crew were very nice and offer to take pictures with our camera. Our only complain was that the dolphins were damaged. Don't know if that is how they were captured or was a resault of the way they were captured.

Doing what: Half-Day Dolphin Island Tour from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Although the dolphins are amazing I did not like how they had this set up. seemed rushed and they were all about the money then they won't let you take pictures and at the end they only sell packages from 40 for one person to 90 for the four in my family...that is it you can't buy one or two pictures and they only give you the same amount of pictures in both packages. They give you a little time with the stingray and shark but then you are bombarded by others...they are herding you like cattle. you basically just stand in the dolphin area and put your hand out and touch them as they swam by....that is it. :(

Doing what: Half-Day Dolphin Island Tour from Punta Cana

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The dolphin swim was so much fun, but the Vendors were pushy and desperate (almost too aggressive). The front gate staff came across as disinterested and robotic. The animals were beautiful, the people caring for and training the animals were great. I just hated running the gauntlet of vendors in-between the moments of enjoying the animals .

Doing what: Manati Park with Optional Dolphin Swim

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The snorkeling was not what I expected. I wanted to snorkel out in the open ocean and it was very rushed. Also, I wanted to swim with the dolphin and instead we were being told where to stand and pose the entire time. Very expensive for the type of experience. Would not recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Half-Day Dolphin Island Tour from Punta Cana

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

In several aspect this fell short. First, it is entirely scripted such that you only do things with the dolphins that they can take pictures of to try to sell to you. Second, it is about 2 hours of activity (including transport) that they spread over 4 hours. Third, the actuality of it doesn't justify the price point. Essentially, you'd enjoy your time on the beach a lot more than you would this excursion.

Doing what: Half-Day Dolphin Island Tour from Punta Cana

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

I would NEVER recommend this tour to anyone. My husband and I did a "swim with dolphins" in Cabo, in February and it was wonderful. I brought my daughter to Punta Cana for a post graduation mother/daughter trip. The one thing that she had always wanted to do was to swim with dolphins. I booked the trip to dolphin island. We were "packed" into this little boat (at least 25 of us) and herded onto this man made dock that they call dolphin island. The dolphins are contained in this very small space, which is cruel, to say the least. We are then herded onto these platforms on each side of the cage. There are another 25 people or so on the other side of the cage. The platform feels slimy and the water smells. We barely got to touch a dolphin. Our dolphin kept swimming off and would swim by us so fast and so far away that we couldn't even touch her. In Cabo, it was a very small group of 6 people and we had 45 minutes of contact, and got to ride on the dolphin. The dolphins in Cabo were in a tremendous sized pool, which was also very clean. I can't believe I payed $300 for this excursion. To make matters worse, the staff appeared "very irritated" that we would not pay the $60 to buy the pictures. Oh, I almost forgot. The website states that they provide transportation from MOST Bavaro hotels. They do not give you a list of the hotels. When I called, of course they "do not provide transportation from my hotel". I had to pay an additional $80 for a cab. What a waste of time and money!!!!!!

Doing what: Half-Day Dolphin Island Tour from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message