Adventure in the tropical forests of the Dominican Republic is just a quick ride away to the magnificent underground tunnels of Fun Fun Cave. Nestled in the Los Haitises National Park, these landmark treasures wind 65 feet underground and make some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was top-notch from hotel pickup to return. I am a 62 year old somewhat out of shape and at times a bit uncoordinated. However, guides Gary and Hendry made sure that all bases were covered assuring that I had a fantastic experience. My wife also was given great attention by both to assure that all safety procedures were understood and that none of the history and highlights of the tour were overlooked. The horseback ride to the cave entrance was one of the best rides I have experienced. My horse, Orlando Bloom, knew his way and always kept with the group. I was a bit apprehensive about the trek from the horse drop off to the cave entrance but all went extremely well. Even clumsy me did very well and kept up with the group with little problem. I did need one little rest but the guides made sure that I was in good hands at all times. At the cave entrance, all instructions were covered and then it was time to rappel. Wow, what a fantastic and fun experience! Down in the cave you have your helmet and headlamp that lets you see nature at its very best. After the cave walk, you come out into a refreshing water area where you can relax before your horseback ride to the food area where you are given a delicious Dominican Republic culturally oriented prepared meal. This tour should not be missed! Both Gary and Hendry spoke excellent English and like previously said always went above and beyond. Thanks to both - my wife and I had a wonderful day!!

Doing what: Adventure Day Trip to Fun Fun Cave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was an awesome excursion. It's approx a 3 hour drive from the hotels in Bavaro, Punta Cana, then 30 mins on horseback, 45 mins hike up the hills, an hour or so in the depths of the cave (after having rappelled down) then back to the horseride, lunch and drive back to the hotel. Guides (Gary and team) were excellent. Just something to be aware of - you need to be in decent physical shape especially for the hike. Total duration of the trip is close to 12 hours. Also it's pronounced Foon Foon cave.

Doing what: Adventure Day Trip to Fun Fun Cave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My husband and I are a young couple, but we love to hike so we decided to book this day trip. At first based on the name we didn't expect this trip to be so amazingly adventurous! our tour guides was Gary and Hendrickson, they were absolutely fabulous!! They ensured everyone was safe and they guided the hike with such enthusiasm. they loved it and we loved it. It is quite a long ride to the ranch but you get a very good idea and scene of how some of the Dominican people live. This day trip is very adventurous but they will provide you with gear. Bring mosquito repellant for sure. This trip was well worth the buck! We will definitely come back again!

Doing what: Adventure Day Trip to Fun Fun Cave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour is for the relatively fit. There is 45 minutes of hiking through rocky/trail terrain which is highly wooded. The horse back riding portion at the beginning and end was great. We repelled into a cave which was safe to do. The tour guides were fun, knowledgeable and funny. This is a 38 million year old cave which is more recently discovered. I was worried about the bug/spider situation in the cave, but it wasn't an issue. The bugs are relentless on the trail, so bring big spray. The cave and bats are really cool. A ham sandwich snack was offered when we got there. After the tour, the lunch was great: red beans and rice, jerk chicken, pork, coleslaw salad, fruit, potatoes, etc. Water, pop, and beer are also offered. Tip: wear a swim suit/board shorts. They give you a "prison-like" jump suit to wear for the tour along with rubber boots. They say bring extra socks. This is because the rubber boots need to be drained out several times do to the water. When done with the tour, you can wear dry socks for your shoes back home. Flip flops to change out of would also work. Bring a change of clothes (shorts/shirt) to wear over your bathing suit afterwards would also be helpful. Lockers and changing rooms are offered at the location. This was my favorite tour in Punta Cana and highly recommended. Tip: Water cameras only! They will video tape the tour for purchase of $40 U.S. currency.

Doing what: Adventure Day Trip to Fun Fun Cave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

AMAZING! If you love adventure this is the trip. Beautiful scenic drive through the dominican republic, horse back riding, hiking, repelling into a cave, cave exploration and yes you will get wet in the cave. Some of the best home cooked dominican food awaits you at the end of your adventure.
I highly recommend this excursion to anyone. Everyone associated with assisting us was incredibly helpful. the driver, amazing guid and super funny. Quick Tips: Bring cash, they film everything and you can buy a dvd copy, bring a waterproof camera and lastly bring enough to tip your guides and driver since they are extremely helpful and make the experience happen.

Doing what: Adventure Day Trip to Fun Fun Cave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

This was the most amazing adventure ever. Be prepared though it is not for the weak. It was a three hour drive to the ranch. We rode horseS up and down hills, hiked up and down hills and the crawled around on our stomachs in the caves. If you are adventorous, this tour is for you.

Doing what: Adventure Day Trip to Fun Fun Cave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Wow! This was AMAZING! The bus drive to the ranch was a bit sketchy (3 hour drive in and the driver didn’t say a word) but we got the opportunity to see many different walks of life and life styles. Once you get to the location you pass two gates to get onto the ranch and the driver opens them manually and hops back in the small bus. Once you’re there you’ll never forget your trip!! This was a dream and quite the adventure. Horse ride through streams, hike up the mountain (with full gear on), exploring the caves, diving under water in the caves and beers waiting for us at the end of the cave. The lunch they provide at the end of the adventure was the BEST meal I ate while in Dominican. Do IT! You won’t regret it. It is a life experience. Enjoy  Oh, and bring bug repellant.

Doing what: Adventure Day Trip to Fun Fun Cave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This trip was the best thing about our trip to the Dominican Republic! First you start out with a horse back ride, then hike through the hills, then repel down into a cave where you hike some more, then after you're out of the cave the horses are waiting for you to take you back to the ranch. Carlos, the guide, was absolutely incredible! Very knowledgeable and funny! This trip is not for the faint of heart! One thing to note... remember a water proof camera. When you're in the cave, you dive under water so you can't bring anything that can't get wet!! However, there is a videographer who tapes the entire thing and sells the DVDs for $40. We bought one and have watched it 3 times already... TOTALLY worth it!! Great memories... couldn't have asked for a better excursion!

Doing what: Adventure Day Trip to Fun Fun Cave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This was a fun-filled day of activities. We did horseback riding, hiking in the forest, repelled down the entrance of the cave, and explored the cave itself. Equipment was provided free of charge. The experienced staff was multilingual and attentive to every detail. The meals were simply delicious.

Doing what: Adventure Day Trip to Fun Fun Cave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

My wife and I took this trip in August 2012, and it was great. The guides kept the trip memorable and were funny and intelligent about their country, the jungle, and the cave. The trip there took a while from Punta Cana, but you get to really see the country. The horses were a lot of fun to ride and it was awe inspiring to be in the cave and really explore it. You get to go through the cave waters and take tons of pictures. Make sure you bring a waterproof camera because the pictures are worth it.

Doing what: Adventure Day Trip to Fun Fun Cave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

It is approximately just a little over three hours by bus from Hotel zone, with one break on the way. After arrival to the field, they served a late breakfast. Then, I changed into the overalls that were provided. Horseback riding experience lasted approximately one hour. This was very fun. Horses take to you well. After the horse ride, we walked for 45 minutes. It is slightly hot here, but not too bad. We ended up at the cave. I have not experienced anything like it in the past. A swimsuit is needed, there is a place to jump into the water. I came back by horseback riding again. Then I had a late lunch. Almost everything you need is provided. Finally they made a DVD of the experience. This is fun too. I had a very fun experience.

Doing what: Adventure Day Trip to Fun Fun Cave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

THE MOST amazing experience of my life! This is one that should not EVER be missed Gadiele and Hendrix were amazing guides and even though I argued w him at first that I couldn't do it I felt safe and found out how FUN and EASY the repelling was. NOTE you can ONLY take a waterproof camera so don't miss out!

Doing what: Adventure Day Trip to Fun Fun Cave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This was a great trip. We were able to partake on a great experience. The guides were local and very knowledgable. They made the trip so much more fun. The only disappointment was that the photograph did not show up, so we were not give the opportunity to have a cd / dvd of the experience.

Doing what: Adventure Day Trip to Fun Fun Cave

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

3 hour bus ride is a bit much, but the cave was awesome and the tour guides were great.

Doing what: Adventure Day Trip to Fun Fun Cave

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We had a great time and would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Adventure Day Trip to Fun Fun Cave

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message