This tiny island just 1.5 miles off the mainland provides a peaceful respite for those looking to escape the hustle of Dominican Republic’s busier city streets. Most hotels offer shuttle buses to boat docks. A reasonable ride delivers passengers to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What a great deal this excursion was. We were picked up on time and taken to our boat. When we boarded the boat the drinks were flowing and everyone was very nice. The snorkeling was great and Catalina Island was beautiful. One of the nicest beaches I and #39;ve ever seen! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Best Catalina Island Snorkel Excursion from Punta Cana

Amber M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The first stop was a little choppy as they drop you off in the middle of the ocean to snorkel. On the second stop you arrive at the beautiful island of Catalina. The lunch was amazing beans, meat, fruit, etc.. The water was absolutely beautiful and there was a lot of fish swimming right around you. I had a wonderful time!

Doing what: Best Catalina Island Snorkel Excursion from Punta Cana

Elizabeth N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was awesome. Catalina Island is the bomb! I recommend if you are in Cap Cana you call first to see what days they schedule to come pick you up. They had to reschedule to pick me us up but they made it happen.

Doing what: Catalina Island and Chavon River Catamaran Cruise from Punta Cana

Cynthia S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Run by Seapro. Great experience. Loved the catamaran crew, had lots of energy and we enjoyed dancing and watching the fun. Snorkeling was great at first stop. Can Snorkel more in Catalina! DR workers should focus on minimizing environmental impact with garbage and touching coral in a protected reef!

Doing what: Best Catalina Island Snorkel Excursion from Punta Cana

Hasnain V

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

My wife and I had a wonderful time on this excursion, despite the very bumpy start. (On the way to the first snorkel location, the very choppy water caused us both to get seasick.) The excursion takes you first to a dive site where the divers go and do their thing for about 45 minutes. The snorkelers on the excursion are supposed to snorkel but the water (at least on my excursion) was incredibly choppy. Most of the snorkelers went into the water for about 5-10 minutes before coming back out. It was practically impossible to snorkel.

After waiting for the divers to come back, we finally made it to Catalina Island. The snorkelers are offloaded via a smaller boat and sent to the island for some relaxation and snorkeling on the beach. This part was absolutely amazing. The beach is wonderful, they have chairs set up, open bar with coconuts (that are reasonably priced), fresh lobster prepared on a grill, clean bathrooms, and just peace and quiet. After a few hours on the beach, you get back on the boat and make your way back to reality.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this. My only reason for not giving this 5 stars was that I felt this was more of a diver excursion than snorkeling. The first site is really meant for divers and snorkelers are just meant to kill the time. The second stop for snorkelers is really just snorkeling on the beach while the divers make their second dive. I wish this excursion actually took the snorkelers to a good location. Unfortunately, they didn't. Either ways, the trip was a lot of fun and the money was well spent. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Best Catalina Island Snorkel Excursion from Punta Cana

Jenndinsmore

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We had a great time on our trip. The boat staff was accommodating and the dancing was very fun! Isla Catalina was gorgeous.

Doing what: Best Catalina Island Snorkel Excursion from Punta Cana

Cmkaddy

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We stayed at the Majestic Colonial in Punta Cana. The bus picked us up promptly and it was about a 90 minute ride to La Romana. Once there, we boarded the boat and were offered beverages. We made our way out to the coast of Catalina Island which took about 30 minutes. All the while our guides were giving instructions about where we should go as there were snorkelers and scuba divers on this excursion. Snorkelers and scuba divers got in the water at the first stop. The water was rough. I don't know if this is the case all the time, but some people had to use life vests and noodles to help them navigate the water. We did see a lot of fish and coral! I am not sure if this is worth noting, but 3 people including myself, became sea sick due to the rough waters. The second site was for the scuba divers only. The rest of us were shipped off to spend the afternoon on the beach at Catalina. There was some ok snorkeling to do off the beach. I would highly recommend water shoes! The lunch was delicious. We were served rice, veggies, noodles, chicken and pork. Rum, beer, water and various sodas were offered throughout the trip. After lunch we had about another hour to relax on the beach and then headed back to La Romana. The staff was extremely enthusiastic and fun, on the way back there was a lot of dancing and drinking! The bus ride home was pleasant enough, although it can be lengthy because you may have to wait while other guests are dropped off at their individual hotels.

Doing what: Best Catalina Island Snorkel Excursion from Punta Cana

paula d

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

I now understand why one of the reviews said they 'didn't get this tour'. We called the third party pick up company and after quite a bit of discussion, finally arranged our pickup from our hotel. However, from there forward, there was utter confusion on their part. They had no idea where to bring us to get on the tour. Ridiculous since they were hired to bring us to this tour and had our booking confirmation information, which should have assured proper coordination. They drove for 10 minutes, parked along the highway, spoke on the phone, turned around, drove back 15 minutes, parked again, spoke on the phone, turned a different direction, drove and parked and then told us to get on a bus that had pulled over. We found out that they had simply been trying to find any tour bus with an opening that was on it's way to Catalina Island. This was NOT the tour we paid for. The part of the tour we were MOST interested in was the cruise down the Chavon River and we did not even get to do this! We searched and searched for a tour with this cruise and even paid 20 extra dollars to get the river cruise. Very, very disappointed in the coordination of getting their clients on the CORRECT cruise. Viator needs to do a much better job of telling the company they hire to pick up their clients where to bring them. In fact, put that information on the voucher, in Spanish, so the people who are still confused know where to bring you. The third party tour company we found ourselves with, Scuba Quatics, did a nice tour i just wish that was the tour we had intended to go on. So if you want the Catalina Island Catamaran Cruise, ask for Scuba Quatics.

Doing what: Catalina Island and Chavon River Catamaran Cruise from Punta Cana

Noel H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

This tour was interesting.The staff and crew were helpful and professional.However the stop at catalina was terrible.There were flies there that bit me to pieces and left my legs bloody.The lounge chairs were uncomfortable and generally the stop could have been skipped.

Doing what: Best Catalina Island Snorkel Excursion from Punta Cana

Debra D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

We didn't get this tour, we ended up on the catamaran to Catalina Island snorkel experience not the tour up the chavon river. The trip we did was very good but we paid £135.28 for a tour which only cost £118.22.

Doing what: Catalina Island and Chavon River Catamaran Cruise from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message