The national park-protected Saona Island (or Isla Saona) lies just off the southern coast of the Dominican Republic. Lovely beaches fringe this remote slice of heaven, with the best swimming at Mano Juan and Punta Gorda. It’s an ideal beach ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 189 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mayur P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was one of my most memorable one during my Punta Cana vacation. Island is beautiful, well maintained. Catamaran cruise was enjoyable too, nice music, dance and drinks!!! Other best part if the natural swimming pool in the middle of ocean, where we can see starfishes, was pretty awesome. We had rainfall for half the day, so did not fully enjoy the place, but there is very little anyone can do about the weather in DR.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Sharondeyhle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour is good but hotel pick up stressful, drivers speak no English.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Carmen V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

AMAZING excursion. Francis was our Tour leader and did a fantastic job!!! Saona was beautiful, but the private island time even more exciting, and the starfish at the off coast swim were amazing. HIGHLY recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

ScorpionQueen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our pick up time was great and the ride was a nice and comfortable one. I loved the experience and the weather and accommendations were excellent. The food was good however they should think about nets or covers for the food with the insects and flies. Other than that it was a wonderful time and when I go back to Punta Cana I wouldn't mind going on another tour.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Simone F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide was amazing, the tour was great organized. we spend a great day! I would book it again!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

rosaalove7 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

booked my tour through Viator whom use a local tour operator for the Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana. First we were picked up by our bus 10 mins late but that alright they work on Dominican time. Its hard to tell its there bus. The bus is very nice and air conditioned. The ride down to get to port was nice. Once we got to port we were directed to get on a small boat that took us to the Catamaran. Then we set sail on the catamaran the staff would hand Dixie cups of either coke, sprite, water, or rum. two staff member danced and try to get other too.We just enjoyed the ride. We then got off onto another small boat and went to the Blue lagoon first WOW! is all i can say the water here is amazing. we has lunch at 12:30. It was nice but watch out lots of fly's seem to come quickly. we enjoyed the beach for another 30 mins and then got a speed boat drove maybe 5 mins to the natural pool. at first we thought the starfish were fake but people around us had snorkeling gear and just kept finding one after another. we took picture with 2 different ones. we did this for about 20 mins and then off to Saona Island. I got to say thank god we did the Blue Lagoon first and for longer cause Saona wasn't as breathtaking it was more like the water back in Punta Cana and lots of annoying Vendors. i did get a massage from one lady and it was nice. They are expensive but haggle them down. Also there is an amazing tree covered in butterfly. you shake it and butterflies just come flying off. We were on Saona for only an hour and headed back to port at 3:30. we got back on the bus but first stopped at a shopping Center in Punta Cana our tour guide whom was fantastic Yoni Gutierrez stated 20 mins. we waited 45 mins for 2 people who took off. they did not return and we could not wait any longer. The market was small we took some kool pics next to some statues. we got back about 6:20. which can make for a long day make sure to take snack which we did. Overall

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Allan United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A perfect day of fun and sailing with some of the most beautiful exotic island scenes I have ever witnessed in my life. If youve not been to Dominican Republic before and only plan on doing one excursion Id make it this one.

The journey from our Punta Cana resort to La Romana harbour wasnt too long with the new roads in the region. It took around 1.5 hours with a brief comfort stop.

The catamaran for the outward trip to the island was large with a part open and part shaded deck, with nets to the front and was not overloaded. The boat crew served drinks frequently and encouraged a fun atmosphere. The island itself is pretty much perfect and paradise-like. National Park status helps it stay free of resorts, shops and being developed. On the island we had a couple of hours free time and an open beach bar whilst we relaxed, swam, snorkelled and waited for lunch to be cooked. It was delicious, served buffet style on the beach with BBQ fish and meats. There was also rice, beans, vegetables, Dominican spaghetti, salads and plenty of fresh cut fruit.

After lunch we had some more free time around the beach. We enjoyed a lovely reasonably priced haggle coconut oil massage from local ladies who were set up in beach huts for the day. For a few s we also bought a fresh coconut from a guy with a wheelbarrow full who cut the top and added a dash of rum to enjoy with the water inside, delicious!

When it was time to head back, we boarded speedboats for a fast-paced trip back to the mainland. We stopped along the way in the natural swimming pool. Its a waist deep area of calm turquoise sea. Here you can look for starfish. We found at least 3! They also serve drinks from the back of the speedboats. After that is done its time for a final speedy dash back to the port in La Romana before getting the coach back to resort.

Ive done the Saona excursion 3 times now with various operators, all do a similar itinerary for the day. The Viator trip was top notc

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Sweetladytee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a really nice outstanding excursion. A must do thing to do.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Isha W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best part of our trip was this tour! A must do for all ages! Natural pool is AMAZING! Lunch served was the best we ate while vacationing! Don't waste your time buying the lobster it wasn't worth the 30 didnt prepare it properly

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

mitchjunk1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding! Enjoyed! Folks were great. Only downfall was the walk from the bus to the boat. Not that it was a long walk but there was trash all over the place.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

MARGARET B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day out - tour guide excellent and very knowledgeable. highly recommended

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

MARGARET B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day out - tour guide excellent and very knowledgeable. highly recommended

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Natalie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Isla Saona es super linda, vale la pena el tour. Buen servicio! Sólo verifique muy bien la hora de salida con tiempo esto no es con Viator, sino con la empresa que estos contratan.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Arlene L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Bascically a beach day on one of the most beautiful spots in the world. Speed boat out to our beach and a relaxing Catamaran criuse return. Party time if you are up to it. Lunch was good and drinks provided. What more could I ask for. Loved it!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Deann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a blast! Best day of our trip. The crew and tour guide were great! If you can only do one excursion this is the one for you. Just bring a towel, sunblock, snorkel gear and money. They have lost of stuff to buy on the island and you will wish you brought your money! I give it a big thumbs up!!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing. Started by being picked up at our resort by a representative from the tour company in Punta Cana. We drove for approximately 1 1/2 hours to board a Catamaran to head to Saona Island. The Catamaran ride was also 1 1/2 hours and there was dancing, drinking and an all around good time. Saona island was a secluded island in the middle of the Caribbean Sea and it was beautiful. We had lunch and then spent some time laying on the beach and enjoying the views. We then took a speed boat to a natural pool and got to see Starfish at the bottom of the natural pool. We spent a short while there until we boarded the speed boat once again to head back to shore. We then boarded the bus once again for the ride back to our resort. On the way back we stopped at a souvenir shop for a short while if there was anything that we wanted to purchase. Overall this tour was amazing and would highly recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Barbara D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TRIP. WE LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT IT. THE TOUR GUIDE THOMAS was both knowledgeable and friendly, spoke English, went out of his way to accommodate us and kept count and control of his large group at all times. We loved the sailboat ride and enjoyed the staff as they shared drinks and enjoyed their dancing and cheerfulness. The speedboat ride was also very enjoyable. We enjoyed our trip to the island. The island was a paradise. We enjoyed our lunch and complimentary drinks, as well as the dancing and music. Our next experience was to see the starfish in the water and swim in shallow beautiful blue waters. We took many photos to remember our experience. On the way back we observed some of the fish in the water feeding. During the trip, our guide Thomas kept us informed where we were as well as history of the island. On our return trip, we were given the opportunity to visit shops to acquire souveniers. Our guide kept careful watch of our group and guided us to the appropriate bus to take us back to our hotel.
THE TRIP WAS A 5 OUR GUIDE WAS A 5 THE EXPERIENCE WAS 5 PLUS PLUS. THIS TRIP WAS ALSO VERY AFFORDABLE, ANOTHER 5

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

M Esther S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely fantastic! My daughter and I went on a couple of other tours but this was by far the best. The bus ride from Punta Cana was about 45 minutes and then you're on the water.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Karen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

One of the most beautiful places on earth. I could have stayed on the island all day. In fact, I wish the stay on the island was longer, I could have done without going to the blue lagoon and spent more time on Saona Island. I would recommend this trip to anyone going to Punta Cana. I was so pleased and happy with the day trip.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Camila S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Anita P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a wonderful day. The catamaran and speedboat were amazing but it was very annoying being constantly hassled by locals trying to sell us rubbish

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message