Clear blue waters and white sandy beaches make Macao an ideal spot to experience the real Caribbean.  Because it’s public, this beach attracts both far-off travelers and close-to-home locals. Visitors won’t have to worry about aggressive vendors or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Super Fun time!!! Charlie is a great tour guide. We got to see a beautiful beach, a local grocery store, a home in the countryside (complete with cock fighting ring). Very interesting and soo much fun to ride in the dune buggies! Fair warning though, if it's rained at all you will get very dirty so don't wear anything light colored. It was a super fun time. Would recommend to all.

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Unbelievable! We actually got to see what the Dominican Republic is really like and Charlie gave an awesome tour. Be ready to get muddy and to see the most beautiful beach ever too :)

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had a great day good guide!!!! Got to see some of the country side and a beautiful beach to wash off at!!! Thanks for the memories and good times!!! Would recommend this excursion to everyone!!!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Don't let the ride to the shop fool you, this was perhaps the best excursion our family ever took while traveling out of the US. Karl was an Excellent guide and there was no way we could have imagined the places he would take us; from the quaint rural everyday lives of most of the island people to the majesty of the abuttment at Macao beach. Every stop, and there were many, included interesting facts, things you would not read in a travel brochure. We forgot, but take candy or trinkets for rural children!!!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We live in the country of United States and this tour was exceptional. We were able to see a lot of the backcountry and different types of agriculture and we cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed this tour. They let you drive the carts all around the island on all kinds of roads. You end at a very beautiful beach however you don't drive the car on the sand

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure was an excellent trip. We would definitely do this again for maybe longer next time. The day was expertly organized and what made it very special was the small group which was myself and my husband along with another couple. The buggies are very comfortable and safe on and off road. We were on country roads, highways and beaches. Lots of different places were visited and the information from the guide was very interesting and fun. We drank beautiful coffee and snacked on biscuits and cheese. Also, got covered in mud but did have change to wash off at the end of the trip when swimming in the sea. This trip comes highly recommended from us and we can´t wait to do it all again one day soon.............

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The dune buggy adventure was AWESOME! The buggys are the real deal and the guides are super knowledgeable. You go through the countryside of the DR, meet the locals, understand how they live, all while getting covered from head to toe in mud. I left my clothes in the hotel garbage after this day. You never feel rushed and it truly is a great tour of the real Dominican Republic. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to do something other than lay on the beach and likes getting a little dirty. I never felt unsafe. Bring a Go-Pro if you have one or a waterproof camera. Something to cover your mouth is helpful too--sometimes you ride through cow poo. There is a place to put your belongings on the buggys so when you make stops, you can access it. Don't worry about a change of clothes, they will take you back to the hotel dirty, and there is no where to change anyway. Very cool experience--would totally do it again! Thanks Xtreme Dune Buggys!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was amazing, best part of our trip. Love the dunne buggies felt great driving around the countryside seeing how the people live. The beach and the tour guide were all amazing. We wished we had done a full day tour.
thanks Charlie, your Dune Buggy excursion was the best :D

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What an awesome time! We have done many excursions on different islands and this was one of my favorites! Angela and Charlie (the owners) take great care of you. Angela picked us up at our hotel and took us to meet Charlie and get our dune buggy. We adventured off along the country side - you drive these buggies off road, beach, streets and even their new highway. It was great that we had a small group - Charlie in his buggy and three more cars following. Don't wear any good clothes because it's dusty and muddy. It had not rained when we did our tour so we had to search for the mud puddles, but it was great. You learn about the area and get to visit their true lifestyles. I am glad I read previous reviews because I took a large bag of candy and was able to hand out to the kids as we went through their village. They were so appreciative! The ride through a quarry, the towns and then an amazing beach are all so worth it! Charlie gives you foam cushions so the ride is actually not rough. If we ever go back, this will be the first excursion we sign up for - we had a blast!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My wife and two adult children thoroughly enjoyed our Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure! We highly recommend this beach-day alternative for something fun and different. My wife and daughter enjoyed getting mud-caked during the dirt road portion of the drive even more than my son and I who shared driving duty through the Dominican Republic countryside. Be prepared to get wet and dirty, but you will never have more fun! Our Buggy Tour Guide was fabulous and provided interesting comments about the people and countryside we visited during our tour. He took great pictures of all of us as well! If you are looking for a great way to break up your time on the beach, this is definitely it!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

DEFINITELY a great, fun trip! one piece of advice; book it early - we waited thinking there'd be space and we were lucky to get in - this was a high-point of our trip. Charlie is a fun, well-spoken tour guide. You'll stop at local spots, Charlie likes to introduce you to the local culture, which we never would have experienced. The beach stop is amazing. GO!!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Best excursion I have ever been on! The tour guides are awesome too! Great way to see the town, the jungle, and the beach. Absolutely loved this!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Really fun and educational for kids and adults to see how Dominican really live... Maybe a bit too much county for some but great fun... Make sure you ask to get to Macao beach with pleanty of time it is beautiful beach
Owner Charlie and Angela were great! Definitely recommend this company

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What a great time! Not only was the ride itself a blast (you get head to toe dirty), but we learned a lot about the locals and the culture. My favorite part was getting to see the little kids' faces light up when we gave them candy as we rode past their homes, then the most beautiful beach I've ever seen (Macao). Definately must do this excursion to see the real Dominican Republic!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We did the half day nice small group. Expect to get dirty and wear a bathing suit or something you can swim with because we stopped at a nice beach for a short time . The buggys are a blast ! This is a must do.

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message