• USD ($)
  • English
Clear blue waters and white sandy beaches make Macao an ideal spot to experience the real Caribbean.  Because it’s public, this beach attracts both far-off travelers and close-to-home locals. Visitors won’t have to worry about aggressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure was an excellent trip. We would definitely do this again for maybe longer next time. The day was expertly organized and what made it very special was the small group which was myself and my husband along with another couple. The buggies are very comfortable and safe on and off road. We were on country roads, highways and beaches. Lots of different places were visited and the information from the guide was very interesting and fun. We drank beautiful coffee and snacked on biscuits and cheese. Also, got covered in mud but did have change to wash off at the end of the trip when swimming in the sea. This trip comes highly recommended from us and we can´t wait to do it all again one day soon.............

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The dune buggy adventure was AWESOME! The buggys are the real deal and the guides are super knowledgeable. You go through the countryside of the DR, meet the locals, understand how they live, all while getting covered from head to toe in mud. I left my clothes in the hotel garbage after this day. You never feel rushed and it truly is a great tour of the real Dominican Republic. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to do something other than lay on the beach and likes getting a little dirty. I never felt unsafe. Bring a Go-Pro if you have one or a waterproof camera. Something to cover your mouth is helpful too--sometimes you ride through cow poo. There is a place to put your belongings on the buggys so when you make stops, you can access it. Don't worry about a change of clothes, they will take you back to the hotel dirty, and there is no where to change anyway. Very cool experience--would totally do it again! Thanks Xtreme Dune Buggys!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was amazing, best part of our trip. Love the dunne buggies felt great driving around the countryside seeing how the people live. The beach and the tour guide were all amazing. We wished we had done a full day tour.
thanks Charlie, your Dune Buggy excursion was the best :D

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What an awesome time! We have done many excursions on different islands and this was one of my favorites! Angela and Charlie (the owners) take great care of you. Angela picked us up at our hotel and took us to meet Charlie and get our dune buggy. We adventured off along the country side - you drive these buggies off road, beach, streets and even their new highway. It was great that we had a small group - Charlie in his buggy and three more cars following. Don't wear any good clothes because it's dusty and muddy. It had not rained when we did our tour so we had to search for the mud puddles, but it was great. You learn about the area and get to visit their true lifestyles. I am glad I read previous reviews because I took a large bag of candy and was able to hand out to the kids as we went through their village. They were so appreciative! The ride through a quarry, the towns and then an amazing beach are all so worth it! Charlie gives you foam cushions so the ride is actually not rough. If we ever go back, this will be the first excursion we sign up for - we had a blast!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My wife and two adult children thoroughly enjoyed our Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure! We highly recommend this beach-day alternative for something fun and different. My wife and daughter enjoyed getting mud-caked during the dirt road portion of the drive even more than my son and I who shared driving duty through the Dominican Republic countryside. Be prepared to get wet and dirty, but you will never have more fun! Our Buggy Tour Guide was fabulous and provided interesting comments about the people and countryside we visited during our tour. He took great pictures of all of us as well! If you are looking for a great way to break up your time on the beach, this is definitely it!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

DEFINITELY a great, fun trip! one piece of advice; book it early - we waited thinking there'd be space and we were lucky to get in - this was a high-point of our trip. Charlie is a fun, well-spoken tour guide. You'll stop at local spots, Charlie likes to introduce you to the local culture, which we never would have experienced. The beach stop is amazing. GO!!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Best excursion I have ever been on! The tour guides are awesome too! Great way to see the town, the jungle, and the beach. Absolutely loved this!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Really fun and educational for kids and adults to see how Dominican really live... Maybe a bit too much county for some but great fun... Make sure you ask to get to Macao beach with pleanty of time it is beautiful beach
Owner Charlie and Angela were great! Definitely recommend this company

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What a great time! Not only was the ride itself a blast (you get head to toe dirty), but we learned a lot about the locals and the culture. My favorite part was getting to see the little kids' faces light up when we gave them candy as we rode past their homes, then the most beautiful beach I've ever seen (Macao). Definately must do this excursion to see the real Dominican Republic!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We did the half day nice small group. Expect to get dirty and wear a bathing suit or something you can swim with because we stopped at a nice beach for a short time . The buggys are a blast ! This is a must do.

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

An awesome family experience. Went with our 10yo and 13 yo, and they loved it! Warning, wear old or ok to get dirty clothing. You will be covered in mud but the beach rinses you off. Totally recommend. English speaking guides a total plus.

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

This tour is a fantastic way to see the real countryside of the Dominican Republic. These buggies are vastly superior to the tiny things the other tour operators have. If you actually want to drive and have a real engine with real power then this is the tour for you!

The half day tour we booked took us through many areas of the country that would otherwise be inaccessible to "normal" vehicles. We got away from all the tourist stuff and got to see how people really live in this beautiful country. We drove through farm country, saw plenty of locals and got to see what day to day life would be.

Definitely prepare to get dirty - there was a heavy rain the night before our trip, leaving the roads extremely muddy. When you book they tell you to bring a towel and to wear a bathing suit under your clothing - they're not kidding. Definitely bring your least favorite shoes too! The operators will provide you with goggles and waterproof coats, but we were silly and declined the coats at first. Remember, no fenders means lots of splashing!

Towards the end of the tour we stopped at one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen and took a dip in the ocean to clean ourselves off. Definitely a great idea - that way when we got to the end of the tour we were somewhat de-mudded.

If (when?) I'm back in the Dominican Republic I'll definitely be booking another trip!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

i recommend this dune buggy excursion over all the other ones. small group, and Charlie was the greatest! fun and very knowledgeable about the land and the "true Dominican Republic". it was an amazing experience for my family and myself. Charlie took us to a private ranch and showed us all about how the people live with relatively nothing. we made a few stops along the way, and he gave us great insight about everything we saw. at the end, he took us to the most beautiful beach, to cool off in the water( as well as clean all the mud off of us). overall, it was a great experience and an even better adventure.

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

This was an awesome excursion. Charlie our guide/owner did an excellent job taking us on a great ride throughout the countryside of DR. He was very informative and knowledgeable about the life and was very happy to answer all the questions we had. The dune buggies were well maintained and very fun to drive. We were going fast enough to shift into 4th gear. Visited villages, local stores, had a bite to eat, had local coffee, great trip to Macao Beach for a quick dip. Overall experience was great and we are glad that we chose this excursion instead of the others that were only atv's or go-carts! His vehicles were the gold old vw chasis. Highly recommend! He also takes lots of pictures and a group picture.

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

It was great - more than 4 hours. Good guide, fun times; however, I felt it was a little too long. I would recommend it regardless. Be prepared to get VERY dirty. Off road driving, city driving and a beach finale! REALLY good!

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message