The marine life of the Dominican Republic’s prized offshore reefs is preserved and exhibited at the Marinarium marine park. Marinarium snorkel cruises head out to the reef, and the Reef Explorer provides all the facilities of a mini island at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The staff was awesome, but my family and I really needed a little training before we began using our equipment. Maybe let those who did not know how to snorkel to do it from the shore line - with assistance. I also wished we swam with more than one shark. Having sharks in a cage next door in the water is not swimming with sharks. Again, the staff was awesome and entertaining on the boat.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Michelle F

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Good adventure but it was a bit rushed. BEWARE - you should be a very good swimmer as the ocean current was very strong when we went!

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Sujit V

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Frank M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The experience with thedivers and manager were great for exception of one who grabbed my wife's leg and tried to touch her on another occasion. Once he saw I was with her and disappeared. snack was good the mixed drinks were watery. a

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

James C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

It was good to see a nurse shark and a ray but time is limited in the tank and most of the excursion involved us sailing pointlessly around on the boat. Not worth the money and I wouldn't recommend this to anyone else

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Linda S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The crew was fun but I wish I had known that I had to climb up a 4foot ladder to get back in the boat. Then I wouldn't have wasted my money on this one. If I could have actually done the snorkeling it might have been fun

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Megan W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We had so much fun on this excursion! Our guide took my camera and got us some really amazing pics, I really appreciated that because it would have been hard to keep up while trying to take pics! Everybody was very friendly and spoke many languages. Saw some cool fish, sharks, and even held a ray!

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic day! I would recommend this - not for smaller children. A lot of swimming and activity. The crew was fabulous friendly and very up beat! The boat was spotless and the crew constantly mopped the floors and kept everything immaculate. There was a photographer on board - were able to view and buy pictures after if you wanted to. Fresh sandwiches were served along with drinks no alcohol until after snorkeling.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Rose G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I thought this excursion was a lot of fun but the price is a bit high per person for what you actually get. You don't get to swim with the sharks and stingrays as long as I had expected.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

speedyt28

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My wife and I did this excursion on our honeymoon and we had a fantastic time! The whole trip was a lot of fun from the drinks and music on the boat ride to the snorkeling and sharks and sting rays. One crew member stood out to us, Andre. He was always helpful and even took many good pictures of us apart from the crowd. We had a blast and would definitely recommend this trip!

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Vicki

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We went on this tour last year. My 80 year old dad who is in excellent health came with us this year because he wanted to cross off snorkeling from his bucket list. We all had a great time.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Alan W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

This tour is nothing like you would expect. If you are going to hang out on a boat for most of the day and drink alot then this is for you, but i personally went to see stingrays and sharks and that just did not happen. We stayed and the wyndam and it was nice to have hotel pick up because it was an hour drive to the boat dock area for this excursion so that is the only plus about this excursion. Once we got to the boat it was about 30 minutes to get to the marinarium. We docked the boat out in the middle of the ocean and you had jump out and swim about 500 feet over into the enclosure where the stingrays and sharks are. The waters were super super rough so if you are not a strong swimmer this isnt for you. When we booked this i anticipated we would see multiple stingrays and actually swim with them/touch them as well as see the sharks. Unfortunately the water was so cloudy we couldnt see a thing below us, and as far as the sting rays go, all they do is the guide picks up a stingray and makes the group get in a line and one by one we got to stand with the stingray for .5 seconds and take a photo that you cannot take yourself you must let them take the photo so you have to purchase there single 4x5 print for 15 after it is your turn for the photo you are done...there is nothing else, thats it. No more stingrays, nothing, you go back to the boat and spend the next 2-3 hours on the boat watching the crew dance to songs and try to get everyone super drunk so they can get a better tip. It was the biggest waste of money and i have done a swim with dolphin excursion before that was exceptional. So do not waste your money on this unless , like i said, you want to spend most of your day on a boat with strangers drinking and dancing. Would def not recommend if you actually are wanting to see and experience the sting rays and nurse sharks.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Max G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a really awesome experience! I'd probably not recommend it for kids just because it is more of a booze cruise. Everyone was super nice and friendly

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Dolores F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Marinarium Snorkel Cruise from La Romana

Jennifer R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The overall excitement of finally being able to get into the water to swim with the sharks and rays was quickly taken away as we felt like we were cattle being herded through the enclosures. I would have loved it a lot more if we were able to take our time and really explore on our own.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Tracy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a blast! Lots of fun on the boat and a very thrilling snorkeling experience.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Marty B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Coral was all dead but was a great experience for first time snorklers

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Corliss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I had a WONDERFUL time on this excursion. The water is beautifully clear!! We got LOADS of underwater pictures with our camera...The staff were genuinely friendly and made sure we all had a great time. We bought the CD package and LOVED it!!! WOULD DEFINITELY ENCOURAGE ANYONE TO GO!!

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Samantha W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This trip was everything stated in the description. It was a lot of fun. However, the snorkeling portion of the trip was not long enough. I expect to be able to snorkel and then see the sharks and rays. You get to snorkel as you swim to the area where the rays are, but you have to be moving the whole time. I felt I didn't to stop to look at anything without being hurried to a different area.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Wendy C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The experience was a good one, but based on the pictures it seemed that we would be put on the dock and then go in the tank. One of the girls with us is not a good swimmer, so being let off the boat just using a rope to get to the tanks were not the best or expected.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

trulie g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

WOW! Totally loved this trip. Fantastic snorkeling on the reef first then into the Marinarium to snorkel with the nurse sharks and rays followed by a party in the ocean at a beautiful shallow area safely away from the reef. The staff were all great. Ecellent day out. It was totally fine to use your own camera apart from a staged picture oppertunity with a ray.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

cord1937

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Like the tour but you did not mentioned how long your in the water. Why do they asked how well you can swim. The guy did not sure if I can swim with the strong swimmer. They did not tell me what there difference was. You did not follow through with the reservations and I told the guy on the phone that I can not use my cell phone. Lucky lots of people went and I had to asked the guy if this is the tour. He said it is and We are not on the list. Then had to call and confirm the trip. I am disappointed in your service due to lack follow up. I only book two difference trips and neither one you follow through.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Anton J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Place was great. Getting there was a procedural nightmare. We confirmed pickup 48 hours ahead, they never picked us up. We got there on another bus and they could not find our reservation. Finally we got it worked out. Trip was wonderful. The rest was not.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Carol R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The snorkeling and boat trip was great. Very friendly and fun staff! When I had to call to arrange a pick up I had a very difficult time communicating with the phone operator. They did not understand English very well. We had to have a hotel staff member make the call and then it still took 15 to 20 minutes to arrange a pick up time. When our driver arrived to pick us up he had our name listed wrong and after gathering other information we figured it out and were on our way. I would recommend that if you are interested in this trip you wait and arrange it after you arrive at your hotel. They have people selling excursions on location.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Kelly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was excellent! The views, the boat ride, the sting rays and sharks and the crew were all great!
I am not the best of swimmer so I wasn't too sure about getting off the boat with my family to adventure off to see the sting rays and sharks, but Jefferson (one of the staff) helped me the entire time. There were fish all around us and then when we entered the shark and sting ray area, it was amazing. They were right there in front of you. Then they help you hold one of the sting rays to take a picture. I didn't like that we couldn't use our own cameras, but of course I paid the $15 for the 4x6 picture! After snorkeling, we took a boat ride down the coast - gorgeous! Then we stopped at an area that was like party boat central. Everyone was in the water and had a great time. Then there was some dancing on the boat on the way back. The staff was great and I am so thankful that Jefferson helped me because it was definitely an experience! I would highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message