The marine life of the Dominican Republic’s prized offshore reefs is preserved and exhibited at the Marinarium marine park. Marinarium snorkel cruises head out to the reef, and the Reef Explorer provides all the facilities of a mini island at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Marinarium Snorkel Cruise from La Romana

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Plenty of activities to keep you busy. Activities can be done at your own pace or with an organized group. Friendly and helpful staff. Very cool to swim so close to the sharks and stingrays. Food was okay. Massage was nice. I got a foot massage and my husband the stone massage. I was glad to be the first to get a foot massage, as the massagers did not wash their hands in between customers. Overall a good time, but felt like it was a little over priced.

Doing what: Punta Cana Reef Explorer: Power Snorkeling, Paddleboarding and Kayaking

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The overall excitement of finally being able to get into the water to swim with the sharks and rays was quickly taken away as we felt like we were cattle being herded through the enclosures. I would have loved it a lot more if we were able to take our time and really explore on our own.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fun excursion - the massages were amazing! We were able to hold the stingrays and really enjoyed snorkeling over the coral reef. We used the power snorkels briefly but didn't really need them in order to enjoy the animals. Tour guides were also really friendly - had no troubles with pickups, reservations, etc... as mentioned in earlier reviews.

Doing what: Punta Cana Reef Explorer: Power Snorkeling, Paddleboarding and Kayaking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a blast! Lots of fun on the boat and a very thrilling snorkeling experience.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Coral was all dead but was a great experience for first time snorklers

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I had a WONDERFUL time on this excursion. The water is beautifully clear!! We got LOADS of underwater pictures with our camera...The staff were genuinely friendly and made sure we all had a great time. We bought the CD package and LOVED it!!! WOULD DEFINITELY ENCOURAGE ANYONE TO GO!!

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

15 min complimentary massage. freedom to do whatever whenever. the overall tour is very well accustomed to non-spanish speaking tourists, so you will feel comfortable and secure.

Doing what: Punta Cana Reef Explorer: Power Snorkeling, Paddleboarding and Kayaking

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This trip was everything stated in the description. It was a lot of fun. However, the snorkeling portion of the trip was not long enough. I expect to be able to snorkel and then see the sharks and rays. You get to snorkel as you swim to the area where the rays are, but you have to be moving the whole time. I felt I didn't to stop to look at anything without being hurried to a different area.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The experience was a good one, but based on the pictures it seemed that we would be put on the dock and then go in the tank. One of the girls with us is not a good swimmer, so being let off the boat just using a rope to get to the tanks were not the best or expected.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

They never announce who they are...they didn't pick us up the first time so we had to go later in the day. the sharks swam on the outer edge so you really don't see them...they motorized part is only in the shark tank...not any fun in that regard. then you go on a guided tour around the outer edge of the man made island and they take you so fast you can't enjoy it. The massage was nice...food was ok but not great. you can kayak or paddle board...it's ok if you have nothing else to do....go on pirate cruise you won't regret that...or buggies or horse play those are the greatest.

Doing what: Punta Cana Reef Explorer: Power Snorkeling, Paddleboarding and Kayaking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

WOW! Totally loved this trip. Fantastic snorkeling on the reef first then into the Marinarium to snorkel with the nurse sharks and rays followed by a party in the ocean at a beautiful shallow area safely away from the reef. The staff were all great. Ecellent day out. It was totally fine to use your own camera apart from a staged picture oppertunity with a ray.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Like the tour but you did not mentioned how long your in the water. Why do they asked how well you can swim. The guy did not sure if I can swim with the strong swimmer. They did not tell me what there difference was. You did not follow through with the reservations and I told the guy on the phone that I can not use my cell phone. Lucky lots of people went and I had to asked the guy if this is the tour. He said it is and We are not on the list. Then had to call and confirm the trip. I am disappointed in your service due to lack follow up. I only book two difference trips and neither one you follow through.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Place was great. Getting there was a procedural nightmare. We confirmed pickup 48 hours ahead, they never picked us up. We got there on another bus and they could not find our reservation. Finally we got it worked out. Trip was wonderful. The rest was not.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The snorkeling and boat trip was great. Very friendly and fun staff! When I had to call to arrange a pick up I had a very difficult time communicating with the phone operator. They did not understand English very well. We had to have a hotel staff member make the call and then it still took 15 to 20 minutes to arrange a pick up time. When our driver arrived to pick us up he had our name listed wrong and after gathering other information we figured it out and were on our way. I would recommend that if you are interested in this trip you wait and arrange it after you arrive at your hotel. They have people selling excursions on location.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message