Punta Cana ATTRACTIONS See all

Parque Nacional del Este

The sandy beaches of Saona island are a highlight of a visit to Parque Nacional del Este, along with the tropical moist forest and limestone karst landscape of the mainland. The range of biodiversity preserved in this park is incredible, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 261 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mcbond37

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Tour guide did not speak very good English. The trip to the under ground cavern was a waste of time. Meal was fantastic. Tour of the church and Columbus palace were also very good.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Melinda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The catamaran ride was fantastic. From the moment we boarded the boat, the crew was full of life and so welcoming. They made sure everyone had something to drink and was having fun. The island BBQ was delicious and seeing the star fish was great. Saona was beautiful! I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Molly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a blast!!! Totally worth it and the water is beautiful!!!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Shelva G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the most amazing tour and highly recommend this trip

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

TUBA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Super fun! Our guide was very knowledgable. Everything went on time as planned.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Elizabeth H Brasil

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very good sightseeing of the old city. Recommended to people who likes history.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Rainer H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful Island, Trip was too loud, but this seems to be common practise wihtin the spring break- Unusual for europeans like me especially when loving a more quite sailing thru the caribean sea wih a smooth breeze in the canvas:-

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

pepperjackm United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Day trip worth doing but needs organization, better equipment, no off loading to , better trip and nicer beach Saona Island.

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo

Randall B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

too long of day and the 3 languages on the bus was driving up nuts. I would not do this again or tell people to go in it

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Timothy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A lot of steps that was not explained on web site. Other wise EXCELLENT!!!!

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Phillip H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Lovely cruise and beautiful beach a bit touristy but good.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Michael A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Loved it. Could eliminate the last stop at the island and stay longer at the lunch stop beach.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Butch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Driver took great care to make the trip as comfortable as possible. Our tour guide was outstanding, he spoke impeccable english, gave us so much information about the island and each village we passed through. His attitude and enthusiasm kept us fully engaged. The tour team stayed with us the entire day making us feel very secure. We highly recommend Viator w/Grey Line Tours.

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo

Samie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I and my group of 4 were very impressed with the whole tour in general. The food was not great but it did not take away from the great driving, amazing tour guide Faust I, super planning. This will be a first of many tours on Viator.

Samie Friesen

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an excellent way to spend the day. The tour can begin a tad early if you're still recovering from travel, but the pickup outside of hotel or apartment where yo're staying can help mitigate that. The ride from Santo Domingo to La Romana takes about 1:302:00, but our guide Jean Carlos pointed our plenty of sights along the way and was generally very good company and conversation and the ride passed quickly. We also stopped along the way for food, drinks, or snacks to bring to the island. Once we reached La Romana, we boarded a boat with roughly 30 fellow passengers and set out. Off the coast of the island, we dropped anchor for about 3045 minutes for snorkling over a shallow reef where we saw lots of fish the water was remarkably clear. Then we headed ashore. The beach was quite lovely, and there were plenty of lounging seats to lay down and sun yourself. Jean Carlos kept an eye on all of our belongings while we were in the ocean and was very helpful. Lunch was also provided in form of typical dominican fare, but was quite good. All in all, the day trip was a lot of fun and I recommend it fully. The only reservation I would express is that if you're planning on going and you have fair skin, be sure that you wear sun screen!

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo

h.stkitts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a wonderfully relaxing full day excursion. The tour guide Mota was superfriendly and very knowledgeable about all things Dominican and happily explained historical facts to us en route. The bus from Bavaro to La Romana was very comfortable and a smooth ride the whole way. We then boarded the catamaran and sailed to Saona Island for 2.5 hours of relaxation on the beautiful and tranquil island. The buffet lunch was very nice. There are some vendors on the island but they truly don't harass you and if you wish to purchase anything they are happy to sell their wares. We then took a speedboat to a little shallow cove to see starfish. We didn't see that many, but the boat crew dove down to find some for us to see. We then took the speedboat back the rest of the way which was a lot of fun! On the way back to Bavaro we stopped a little market/mall for half an hour. A very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

CINDY N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Nice trip, good staff, very nice catamaran. The island is beautiful, the food was good, very relaxing excursion.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Marlene A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

There were some issues with our pick-up from Nexus. Another Nexus driver had to send for a bus for us. The stop to see starfish was somewhat disappointing. The island was very scenic and beautiful. Great lunch provided, open bar, and lots of lounge chairs.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Linda W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This was booked for Friday and we went down to the meeting area and I had my voucher for all of us and checked with all drivers and our NAME wasn't on any list again. This was like 4 bookings and our name wasn't on any list and two of the bookings we never went on. Anyway finally had a Nexus driver take us with some others and he got us to another Hotel where we had to get on another bus and go from there. Well it was a little scary as we weren't sure this was the right tour. The tour guide was amazing Mato spoke 5 languages and he was funny and knew everything. We get to our destination where we debark and head to a boat that will take us to our Catamaran and they had people helping you onto it that was scary also. The actually Catamaran really didn't have enough room for everyone to sit comfortably it was okay. Took about 2 hours or less to get to Saona Island get there and get on another boat to take us to the Island not bad. Island was amazing beautiful. They had a BBQ for us for lunch, it wasn't just a BBQ it had chicken, hot dogs, fish, sausages and other awesome food lots of it too very good. Free beer while there. We stayed 2 hours and they had shops you could look around at and you could swim also. Once we left there we got on a speed boat and that took us to an area where you could get off and swim and touch starfish and just relax. Wished we could of stayed there a little longer. Once back on speed boat back to debarking and heading back to our hotels. Once back on bus we stopped at a shopping area for about half an hour and then back on bus but then because of our resort we had to get back off and go on another smaller bus to our resort. Overall a long day but worth it. I think they could spend less time on the Island and more time swimming with the starfish.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

It was extremely nice. From the pick up to the dock and beyond. The staff was very accomodating and very good. Had a wonderful time. Would do it again.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Hammy

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

The guide was not very engaged with the group on the bus. He spoke to the group some, but did not offer much background on Punta Cana as we travelled. Once we got to the dock, we took a speedboat ride out to where we were to see starfish. On the way, our guide did stop along the way to tell us about the nature park. Then we went to the natural pool to Marvel at the flexible, five-armed creatures, Viator webite. The web site should have advised you to bring your own snorkel gear. But they probably don't want you to because all the starfish are dead. Yes, dead. The guides jumped into the water as soon as we arrived to plan the starfish and then magically located them for photo opportunities. They didn't want you to keep them out of the water for longer than 5 seconds, because they would die. Too late. Anyway, back on to the boat to go to Saona Island. The island was beautiful, but over run with Hey, Joe's selling overpriced jewelry, massages, and cigars. The only way to get away is to escape to the water. Lunch was good, but not exceptional. Back to the catamaran for a beautiful ride back to the dock. Overall, the trip ok. Go if you want to spend much of the day on the water and see a beautiful island. Don't waste your time if you want to see starfish.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Sharondeyhle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour is good but hotel pick up stressful, drivers speak no English.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Mayur P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was one of my most memorable one during my Punta Cana vacation. Island is beautiful, well maintained. Catamaran cruise was enjoyable too, nice music, dance and drinks!!! Other best part if the natural swimming pool in the middle of ocean, where we can see starfishes, was pretty awesome. We had rainfall for half the day, so did not fully enjoy the place, but there is very little anyone can do about the weather in DR.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Lou-Anne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My husband and I loved this tour. It and #39;s a long day, but well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message