Punta Cana ATTRACTIONS See all

Parque Nacional del Este

The sandy beaches of Saona island are a highlight of a visit to Parque Nacional del Este, along with the tropical moist forest and limestone karst landscape of the mainland. The range of biodiversity preserved in this park is incredible, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 169 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a wonderful day. The catamaran and speedboat were amazing but it was very annoying being constantly hassled by locals trying to sell us rubbish

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The 'train' was a waste the rest was fine.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

A lovely day albeit a long day. The only negative I would say was that we had to keep changing from speed boat to catamaran and vice versus and the sea was quite rough and the transfer was quite difficult. Anyone with mobility issues would really struggle with this trip. But the staff and Island were both amazing and a good day was had by all. Also the final trinket shop stop was probably not needed after a long tiring day all you wish to do is get back to your hotel.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Seems things were a bit unorganized from the beginning. We're supposed to be in the lobby by 6:45 am, but didn't get picked up until about 8 am. Then there was a delay when we arrived at our embarking. We were transferred from the shore on "speedboats" to the catamaran and again to make it ashore to the island and the then reverse. That's a bit tough for us older people and we struggled to make the transfers (the last catamaran we took was from a dock).Then on the way back to the hotel, the guide wanted to stop at a shopping mall which wasn't on the agenda. Nearly all the bus passengers balked, so we didn't stop. Apparently there may have been a kick-back involved. The food on the island was quite good for what they had to work with.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Good value for money',well organised ,highly recommend (just remember to take a towel/change of clothes)
Will definatley use Viator excursions on all future holidays

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It is a really good experience, Island is very beatiful

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

An early start, but worth it, great day. Thomas our guide was very informative, helpful and polite.

Nice lunch, catamaran trip out to the island, speed boat back.

Arrived back at Excellence Punta Cana at 6.30pm, tired!

Really worth the trip, book it!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The Island is stunning. Very disappointed in the 'Natural Pool' lagoon. It is advertised as being famous for its abundance of starfish; however the only starfish we saw were the two that the guide "found" and passed around to us. Boarding the speedboat was very unorganized. We waited on the beach for more than 40 minutes to get on our speed boat while others who had just arrived boarded their boats with very little wait time. Lunch on the island was very good with a wide variety of meat and pasta. Beverages were supplied on the catamaran; however there was no fruit provided (as advertised). It was a very quiet catamaran ride back as the crew only began getting things going about 30 minutes before the ride was over.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

It was a very nice tour however a very long day too much time wasted with the bus ride there and the bus ride back and very crowded nice tour if you're staying in Punta Cana for a week where you can dedicate a full day today left at 7 AM didn't get back to 7.30 pm

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Guide did not wait till everyone together to start talking. Lunch was dreadful. Train ride was OK, but coould not hear a word they said. Audio in museum very poor, missed a lot of it. Not worth the money I paid.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome !
The crew were very charming and hospitable.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very informative tour, I loved all the historic sites that we visited, Fausto I was our tour guide, he is the best. We enjoy the whole trip, the high light of it was the visit to the first cathedral, the wood and stone work is amazing. The choo-choo ride was fun and part of the tour. I think it was a well round tour.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The Santo Domingo trip from Punta Cana was educational and an active one. We visited many historical sites and learned many important facts. In town, we walked the streets and also used a train to get around. Lunch was provided as part of the package which was okay but far better than sandwiches.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message