Punta Cana ATTRACTIONS See all

Parque Nacional del Este

The sandy beaches of Saona island are a highlight of a visit to Parque Nacional del Este, along with the tropical moist forest and limestone karst landscape of the mainland. The range of biodiversity preserved in this park is incredible, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 163 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Good value for money',well organised ,highly recommend (just remember to take a towel/change of clothes)
Will definatley use Viator excursions on all future holidays

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It is a really good experience, Island is very beatiful

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

An early start, but worth it, great day. Thomas our guide was very informative, helpful and polite.

Nice lunch, catamaran trip out to the island, speed boat back.

Arrived back at Excellence Punta Cana at 6.30pm, tired!

Really worth the trip, book it!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The Island is stunning. Very disappointed in the 'Natural Pool' lagoon. It is advertised as being famous for its abundance of starfish; however the only starfish we saw were the two that the guide "found" and passed around to us. Boarding the speedboat was very unorganized. We waited on the beach for more than 40 minutes to get on our speed boat while others who had just arrived boarded their boats with very little wait time. Lunch on the island was very good with a wide variety of meat and pasta. Beverages were supplied on the catamaran; however there was no fruit provided (as advertised). It was a very quiet catamaran ride back as the crew only began getting things going about 30 minutes before the ride was over.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

It was a very nice tour however a very long day too much time wasted with the bus ride there and the bus ride back and very crowded nice tour if you're staying in Punta Cana for a week where you can dedicate a full day today left at 7 AM didn't get back to 7.30 pm

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Guide did not wait till everyone together to start talking. Lunch was dreadful. Train ride was OK, but coould not hear a word they said. Audio in museum very poor, missed a lot of it. Not worth the money I paid.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome !
The crew were very charming and hospitable.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very informative tour, I loved all the historic sites that we visited, Fausto I was our tour guide, he is the best. We enjoy the whole trip, the high light of it was the visit to the first cathedral, the wood and stone work is amazing. The choo-choo ride was fun and part of the tour. I think it was a well round tour.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The Santo Domingo trip from Punta Cana was educational and an active one. We visited many historical sites and learned many important facts. In town, we walked the streets and also used a train to get around. Lunch was provided as part of the package which was okay but far better than sandwiches.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The one down side was trying to get confirmation of a pick-up time from the hotel and even after a time was given they were 50 minutes late.

Once on the bus (which was extremely comfortable) the rest of the tour was really good. Weather was rubbish but unfortunately you can't control that. Barbecue on the beach was excellent.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Dan R
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Good value, well organized and lots of fun.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This was a long day but worth it. Get to see a large part of the capital. Lunch was good and guide for the day was very informative. Was a good day.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

I can't imagine being that close and not seeing Santa Domingo but, that being said, it was definitely not my favorite part of our Punta Cana trip. If you're a museum person you will love it because it's a lot of learning the history and such. The bus was very comfortable, although it was very hard to hear our guide (and we were only about 2/3 of the way back) so we missed a lot of what was being said. Be prepared for a lot of walking and air conditioning is minimal so dress very lightly. Don't worry about covering your shoulders and knees for the Cathedral, they will give you a wrap at the entrance if needed. They seemed to only be concerned with short shorts/skirts and spaghetti straps. After visiting the oldest area of Santa Domingo the day ends with a trip through the newer downtown which my husband and I both agree could have been skipped. It's about a 2 1/2 hour drive but it's broken up both ways with a bathroom break so the bus ride itself is very tolerable. Long day for sure!

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Too much of a party. The travel time to ans from the island was longer than the amount of time spent on the island.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is a must do while you are in Dominican Republic! I thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Our tour guide Fausto #2 was very informative and showed us the true beauty of Dominican Republic from Punta Cana to Santo Domingo. I would recommend taking snacks to have with you on your trip, we didn't stop to eat lunch until around 2pm and the tour started pretty early. Also, a lot of other reviews mentioned the people selling items on the streets and yes there were a lot but if you said no and kept walking they weren't a problem and they didn't get in the way of the tour which was great. I would also recommend you wear comfortable shoes. There's a lot of walking and the cave had many up and down areas that would bother you if you wear sandals.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message