Punta Cana ATTRACTIONS See all

Parque Nacional del Este

The sandy beaches of Saona island are a highlight of a visit to Parque Nacional del Este, along with the tropical moist forest and limestone karst landscape of the mainland. The range of biodiversity preserved in this park is incredible, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 169 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

I would have to say it was a beautiful day but felt like we were in a tourist trap for the whole day! The island is amazing by the 12 hour day was very long! Have to ride the bus for an hour picking up at different hotels was not good and then being sold everything from hats to run was a bit much!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

We didn't get to snorkel, the beach was all people trying to sell you there stuff, they were pretty pushy and aggressive.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Not an amazing tour. The trip to get to the marina took two hours, so anticipate a twelve hour day away from your resort. The boats are old that toy take so be careful getting in and anticipate no room on the power boat portion to move PR comfortably sit. The island is overun with vendors.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a wonderful day. The catamaran and speedboat were amazing but it was very annoying being constantly hassled by locals trying to sell us rubbish

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The 'train' was a waste the rest was fine.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

A lovely day albeit a long day. The only negative I would say was that we had to keep changing from speed boat to catamaran and vice versus and the sea was quite rough and the transfer was quite difficult. Anyone with mobility issues would really struggle with this trip. But the staff and Island were both amazing and a good day was had by all. Also the final trinket shop stop was probably not needed after a long tiring day all you wish to do is get back to your hotel.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Seems things were a bit unorganized from the beginning. We're supposed to be in the lobby by 6:45 am, but didn't get picked up until about 8 am. Then there was a delay when we arrived at our embarking. We were transferred from the shore on "speedboats" to the catamaran and again to make it ashore to the island and the then reverse. That's a bit tough for us older people and we struggled to make the transfers (the last catamaran we took was from a dock).Then on the way back to the hotel, the guide wanted to stop at a shopping mall which wasn't on the agenda. Nearly all the bus passengers balked, so we didn't stop. Apparently there may have been a kick-back involved. The food on the island was quite good for what they had to work with.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Good value for money',well organised ,highly recommend (just remember to take a towel/change of clothes)
Will definatley use Viator excursions on all future holidays

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It is a really good experience, Island is very beatiful

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

An early start, but worth it, great day. Thomas our guide was very informative, helpful and polite.

Nice lunch, catamaran trip out to the island, speed boat back.

Arrived back at Excellence Punta Cana at 6.30pm, tired!

Really worth the trip, book it!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The Island is stunning. Very disappointed in the 'Natural Pool' lagoon. It is advertised as being famous for its abundance of starfish; however the only starfish we saw were the two that the guide "found" and passed around to us. Boarding the speedboat was very unorganized. We waited on the beach for more than 40 minutes to get on our speed boat while others who had just arrived boarded their boats with very little wait time. Lunch on the island was very good with a wide variety of meat and pasta. Beverages were supplied on the catamaran; however there was no fruit provided (as advertised). It was a very quiet catamaran ride back as the crew only began getting things going about 30 minutes before the ride was over.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

It was a very nice tour however a very long day too much time wasted with the bus ride there and the bus ride back and very crowded nice tour if you're staying in Punta Cana for a week where you can dedicate a full day today left at 7 AM didn't get back to 7.30 pm

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message