Punta Cana ATTRACTIONS See all

Parque Nacional del Este

The sandy beaches of Saona island are a highlight of a visit to Parque Nacional del Este, along with the tropical moist forest and limestone karst landscape of the mainland. The range of biodiversity preserved in this park is incredible, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 242 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Butch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Driver took great care to make the trip as comfortable as possible. Our tour guide was outstanding, he spoke impeccable english, gave us so much information about the island and each village we passed through. His attitude and enthusiasm kept us fully engaged. The tour team stayed with us the entire day making us feel very secure. We highly recommend Viator w/Grey Line Tours.

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo

Sharondeyhle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour is good but hotel pick up stressful, drivers speak no English.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Mayur P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was one of my most memorable one during my Punta Cana vacation. Island is beautiful, well maintained. Catamaran cruise was enjoyable too, nice music, dance and drinks!!! Other best part if the natural swimming pool in the middle of ocean, where we can see starfishes, was pretty awesome. We had rainfall for half the day, so did not fully enjoy the place, but there is very little anyone can do about the weather in DR.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Lou-Anne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My husband and I loved this tour. It and #39;s a long day, but well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Kimmy

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Long drive from Punta Cana but good cultural experience. Tourists tend to only see their resort so this gets you out to see the country.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Lanello

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

An educational tour of Santo Domingo, despite the long almost 3 hour drive to and from Punta Cana.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Miguel Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Avoid at all costs...Long but worth the read.

We followed the instructions to confirm the pick up time with Nexus our local contact and were told 8:20am. No one showed. We found a Nexus representative at the resort who said it was actually 8:45am, then another couple had an email with a 9am pickup time. Bus shows at 9:15am.

Nexus actually sub-contracts the trip to a company called RepTours Dominicana using a Caribe Tours Bus. The tour guide gets off and asks for our vouchers when the confirmation from Viator stated we did not need one. He says he is not letting us on the bus, as Nexus has a history of not paying them if they do not have vouchers. After getting loud with us, the representative basically tells us both to shut-up and he will handle it. He makes a call and passes the phone to the tour guide, who then lets us on and waits to apologize until we are well on our way. Mind you when we arrive at our first stop in SD and walking toward the second, the tour guide is still on the phone with his manager and boss, not actually doing his job. He has us just go in to the tomb of the unknown by ourselves.

We were rushed to shop and are actually left behind by the group on their way to have lunch, only to later find out that another 4 then 2 people were also left behind at the stores. This was the only excursion where there was no water or drinks on the vehicle. Everyone was thirsty We arrive at the cathedral and there are not enough earphones, so we walk alone unguided. Mind you the company that we had booked our other excursions with had their own headphones here and at the other stops.

Finally, on our way back to our resort, we make a stop at a resort where no one on the tour was staying, and arrived much later at our own resort than expected.

This was the only excursion we booked where we did not leave a gratuity. Much better experience with Runners Adventures. Make it right Viator!

Doing what: Santo Domingo Day Trip from La Romana

Jennifer B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Our trip was ok nothing over the top. Our tour guide was very uninteresting he slept on the beach and did not interact with anyone on the tour. We kept getting off and on the boat going from place to place and we did not spend more than an hour in any one place. They were late picking us up from the hotel and then when we got to our meeting point to meet up with the rest of the group to leave we waited there for over another half an hour. The best part was the catamaran ride. I have definitely done better tours in Punta Cana.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Simone F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide was amazing, the tour was great organized. we spend a great day! I would book it again!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great day - long but you do get a stop over both ways. The city of Santa Domingo is beautiful and is improving every year.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

ScorpionQueen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our pick up time was great and the ride was a nice and comfortable one. I loved the experience and the weather and accommendations were excellent. The food was good however they should think about nets or covers for the food with the insects and flies. Other than that it was a wonderful time and when I go back to Punta Cana I wouldn't mind going on another tour.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Carmen V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

AMAZING excursion. Francis was our Tour leader and did a fantastic job!!! Saona was beautiful, but the private island time even more exciting, and the starfish at the off coast swim were amazing. HIGHLY recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Juan G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very good and informative experience.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Frank F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Good guide, lots of information on history of republic. Good overview of Santo domingo

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Jenny O

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Was good, more history was missing during the tour.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

karpathos5

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Upon collection we realised our trip consisted of people from various countries so our guide Fausto 2 had to give all info in English, French and Spanish, all spoken at 100mph. this became very annoying as the day went on. We drove to the port and what greeted us was a scruffy marina jam packed with boats setting off on various trips. We boarded a small boat which took us to a very nice catamaran, our trip on this to Saona Island was nice with music, dancing and drinks all a bit odd at 9 a.m. However, It was rather spoiled by the Company camera men who were very annoying and in your face taking endless photos to sell to you later.. Saona island is no longer a paradise but a scruffy beach with hundreds of tourists all vying to get in the shade. The sea is full of sharp rocks so not good for the feet and I was badly bitten by insects when on the sand. Lunch was surprisingly very nice BBQ meats chicken and fish with salad. There were also gift shops to look around. After a couple of hours we left by speedboat and were taken to a natural lagoon however this was very deep so was no good for non swimmers to get off the boat, those who did were picking up starfish for photos unfortunately they die if they're out of the water for more than 10 seconds. We returned to the port and then drove to a shopping centre where we could buy yet more over priced gifts before returning to our hotels. Having done this trip in 2003 I was totally gutted at how the Island has changed from what was a paradise to a scruffy beach you could find anywhere.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Joan P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

I WOULD RATE THIS SIGHTSEEING TOUR ABOUT TWO. IT WAS SUPPOSE TO BE AN ENGLISH TOUR
AND 90 WAS ALL SPANISH. WE COULD NOT UNDERSTAND ANYTHING. VERY POOR.
RUPERT AND JOAN PARENT

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Roxana V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Everything was ok, I have been on better boats for the price. The snorkeling area was nice, but not a wide variety of fish, but the water was warm and clear and therefore enjoyable. The island lunch was terrible. No running water, which made me wonder how the food handlers cleaned thier hands, flies all over the food, with only half hearted attempts to shoo them away..my husband got sick after because he was not as cautious as I was. So yes for snorkeling, but I suggest you bring your own food, and definitely hand sanitizers

Doing what: Catalina Island Day Trip from Santo Domingo

Kanar M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

The guide was very nice and informative. But the tour itself was average. The Sauna Island itself was beautiful but to crowded and we only stopped at the star fish place also crowded.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Pamela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My husband and I enjoyed the tour. We had a very knowledgeable tour guide. It was worth the money. Pamela and Edward Marshall

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Joshua B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The guide was very informative and provided all of the details effortlessly in English, Spanish, and French. We were able to see multiple historic sites inside the capital city and never felt rushed by the guides at any point. There is time available for shopping around the historical plaza as well, which was adequate.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Puntacana

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

this tour was very interesting,didn't care for lunch.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Diana N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We really enjoyed the whole day. Not sure if the star fish we held were really alive. Never saw movement. The water was beautiful. The boat rides were fun and the crew was great. The only thing I was a tad upset about is they went around and put these skull caps on you then came back and asked you to pay for them. That is something they should tell you up front... I would have told them no.. but the stupid thing was already on my head. Food was good. The trip is well organized. It would be better if there was snorkeling involved. The water at our first stop had a funny odor so not sure what that was about.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Steve R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

We were picked up at the resort by a van, ending up at a local mall parking lot where we transferred to a regular size tourist bus without a bathroom. The tour guide let us know that he would be translating everything into English, Spanish, and French. He would repeat everything in three languages over the microphone. But then he turned off the microphone and repeated what he said in German. It became very irritating to have everything repeated, and the guide limited what he was saying since he would repeat it in 4 languages. I suggest you book a trip that only deals with two languages at the most!

After driving for an hour, we stopped off at a tourist trap to use the bathrooms and visit a gift shop and snack shop. Then we drove another 2 hours to get to Santo Domingo. First stop was the caves. The cave tour guide let us know that he wasn't paid by anyone and would appreciate tips. He wasn't very informative, but we tipped. The caves were pretty, but it was crowded. The bathrooms at the caves were without toilet seats. The tour ended by walking through a gift shop with aggressive sales people.

We got on the bus and drove by the Christopher Columbus lighthouse and the Dominican Republic's white house. Then we got off the bus and toured the Columbus castle. The Castle was neat, and they are trying hard to make it into a tourist destination, but it is small and a short tour.

We then walked across the square to another gift shop where the lunch buffet was served. The buffet had a poor choice of food, and we were given 1.5 hrs to eat and shop.

Then we toured a beautiful cathedral, the best part of the trip. Next was a ride on a choo choo that was a gas powered train on tires that rode around the decrepit city. Then it was immediately on the bus to start home. Some asked for a bathroom, and were told no. They had to wait 2 hrs until we got back to the same tourist trap we visited in the morning.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Allan United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A perfect day of fun and sailing with some of the most beautiful exotic island scenes I have ever witnessed in my life. If youve not been to Dominican Republic before and only plan on doing one excursion Id make it this one.

The journey from our Punta Cana resort to La Romana harbour wasnt too long with the new roads in the region. It took around 1.5 hours with a brief comfort stop.

The catamaran for the outward trip to the island was large with a part open and part shaded deck, with nets to the front and was not overloaded. The boat crew served drinks frequently and encouraged a fun atmosphere. The island itself is pretty much perfect and paradise-like. National Park status helps it stay free of resorts, shops and being developed. On the island we had a couple of hours free time and an open beach bar whilst we relaxed, swam, snorkelled and waited for lunch to be cooked. It was delicious, served buffet style on the beach with BBQ fish and meats. There was also rice, beans, vegetables, Dominican spaghetti, salads and plenty of fresh cut fruit.

After lunch we had some more free time around the beach. We enjoyed a lovely reasonably priced haggle coconut oil massage from local ladies who were set up in beach huts for the day. For a few s we also bought a fresh coconut from a guy with a wheelbarrow full who cut the top and added a dash of rum to enjoy with the water inside, delicious!

When it was time to head back, we boarded speedboats for a fast-paced trip back to the mainland. We stopped along the way in the natural swimming pool. Its a waist deep area of calm turquoise sea. Here you can look for starfish. We found at least 3! They also serve drinks from the back of the speedboats. After that is done its time for a final speedy dash back to the port in La Romana before getting the coach back to resort.

Ive done the Saona excursion 3 times now with various operators, all do a similar itinerary for the day. The Viator trip was top notc

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message