Punta Cana ATTRACTIONS See all

Parque Nacional del Este

The sandy beaches of Saona island are a highlight of a visit to Parque Nacional del Este, along with the tropical moist forest and limestone karst landscape of the mainland. The range of biodiversity preserved in this park is incredible, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 156 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome !
The crew were very charming and hospitable.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The one down side was trying to get confirmation of a pick-up time from the hotel and even after a time was given they were 50 minutes late.

Once on the bus (which was extremely comfortable) the rest of the tour was really good. Weather was rubbish but unfortunately you can't control that. Barbecue on the beach was excellent.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Dan R
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Good value, well organized and lots of fun.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

I can't imagine being that close and not seeing Santa Domingo but, that being said, it was definitely not my favorite part of our Punta Cana trip. If you're a museum person you will love it because it's a lot of learning the history and such. The bus was very comfortable, although it was very hard to hear our guide (and we were only about 2/3 of the way back) so we missed a lot of what was being said. Be prepared for a lot of walking and air conditioning is minimal so dress very lightly. Don't worry about covering your shoulders and knees for the Cathedral, they will give you a wrap at the entrance if needed. They seemed to only be concerned with short shorts/skirts and spaghetti straps. After visiting the oldest area of Santa Domingo the day ends with a trip through the newer downtown which my husband and I both agree could have been skipped. It's about a 2 1/2 hour drive but it's broken up both ways with a bathroom break so the bus ride itself is very tolerable. Long day for sure!

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Too much of a party. The travel time to ans from the island was longer than the amount of time spent on the island.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is a must do while you are in Dominican Republic! I thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Our tour guide Fausto #2 was very informative and showed us the true beauty of Dominican Republic from Punta Cana to Santo Domingo. I would recommend taking snacks to have with you on your trip, we didn't stop to eat lunch until around 2pm and the tour started pretty early. Also, a lot of other reviews mentioned the people selling items on the streets and yes there were a lot but if you said no and kept walking they weren't a problem and they didn't get in the way of the tour which was great. I would also recommend you wear comfortable shoes. There's a lot of walking and the cave had many up and down areas that would bother you if you wear sandals.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a long trip to Santo Domingo but it was worth it. The tour was smooth from start to finish, enough breaks in between to use the restroom, sightseeing and shopping. The tour guides were knowledgable and provided good history of the places visited. Highly recommended for visitors wanting to learn more about Dominican Republic. We purchased additional tours with another tour company but very dissatisfied with the outcome where we have to cancel the other half of the excursions and we now have to try to get a refund. We recommend that you buy your excursions ahead of time with Viator if you know where you want to visit or do, work around your schedule, to avoid problems in the future.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Guide was very friendly and told us a lot about Dominican Republic. Saona Island is a must see. Great day out for the whole family!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This excursion was a good respite from the drudgery of sun and food at the resort. It was a beautiful day. The day starts with an early morning bus ride of about 1 1/2 hours, stopping at other hotels to pick up guests. Once at the fishing village where the day really starts, we were assaulted by numerous vendors selling hats, booze, towels, and anything else you could want. They are PERSISTENT! Our guide seemed friendly for the most part, however he was obviously tired (napping while on the catamaran). The staff managing the boat were great, interacting with the tourists, dancing, and having fun. After the catamaran ride to the island, you get lunch (reasonably good - lobster for an extra $35 - $45 USD), and hang around on the beach. Then, into the speedboats to a lagoon where we saw starfish. In all cases, there are LARGE GROUPS of people, all going to the same place, starting at the same time, etc. The ride back was long after a day in the sun. Everyone seemed a bit pissed that the bus stopped at a tourist center for "potty break" with only 10 minutes left to get back to our resort and relax. The guide explained that he was required by the tour company to do this. We were NOT happy about the stop.

All-in-all, a good day.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

we had a great time!!! they took us in a catamaran, we danced, drank, laughed!!!then we got to the island and it was beautiful and relaxing. they gave us lunch and drinks, the food was good. went swimming for a while on the turquoise beach, but there were a lot of rocks in the sand so you have to be careful. then they took us on a speed boat in the middle of the ocean, they stop so we could swim and take pictures with sea stars. the water was warm and the ocean was calm, overall the trip was great!! you won't regret it if you take it.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very informative. Faulsto the tour guide was great. He was ver accommodating to all languages and very patient.
Ride to and from was very comfortable..

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great place to visit. It is beautiful

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, get to know the most important places of the capital

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour was not what was expected. It was very hot and the bus had no water. We walked in no shade and tour director did not have a plan - he would say we'll go here but then change along the way. Saw a lot of stuff but did not enjoy it.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent tour! The host was welcoming and caring. His team was entertaining as well. The catamaran ride and the speed boat ride were awesome! The water is gorgeous with that white sand. Would do it again!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message