• USD ($)
  • English

Punta Cana ATTRACTIONS See all

Parque Nacional del Este

The sandy beaches of Saona island are a highlight of a visit to Parque Nacional del Este, along with the tropical moist forest and limestone karst landscape of the mainland. The range of biodiversity preserved in this park is incredible, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was the best tour we could take. Our guide, Fausto 2, was the best along with the people preparing the bbq on the island, serving drinks and taking pictures. The Blue Lagoon experience with the starfish was amazing!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

everything is about making money for them. The beach there is too rocky to go in the water. The food was very good. Unless your willing to pay for pictures then it was soso.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We are so glad we took this tour. Our tour guide and driver were phenomenal, very informative, nice, polite and his directions were very clear, (ie after lunch we went to a Church and he told us not to go shopping after lunch but after the church tour and that we would have plenty of time, even though one person from our tour didn't listen and left 20 people waiting for her to finish her purchase). One person fell (she didn't notice she was on a platform 2 inches off the ground and broke her fall with her wrist), he took her for emergency care and someone else from the tour popped by to make sure we all found our bus at the end of our shopping. Extremely professional, lunch was great, but it is a long day, basically from sunrise to sunset but loved every moment of it. Make sure you tip the tour guide and the bus driver, they are well worth every penny. Will definitely recommend this tour to everybody and willing to take this tour again. (You visit a lagoon which was featured in Jurassic Park)

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was outstanding. The tour guide was the greatest. The only problem was 80% of the group was German and the balance English. This was of course was not he fault of the tour guide who spoke both, but it would have been better to on be on an all English tour.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We enjoyed this tour. The guide gave us a good overview of past and current history from the area, including the political structure. He spoke very good English and French. The bus ride was long. One bathroom stop each way would have been enough for a person who doesn't like to shop. It was difficult to enjoy lunch when there wasn't enough seating at the time we arrived. I would still recommend this tour to anyone visiting the Dominican Republic.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Very neat to see all the historic places and hear all the history of the Dominican!

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The sights we visited were quite interesting. Our guide was very informative. We particularly enjoyed the fact that there was a good pace to the tour - we didn't waste time with overly-extended rest stops.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had a really good time on this trip 2/19/2014. Guide was fluent in multiple languages and provided good info. Biggest con: The lunch wasn't great and the lines at the cafe took way too long.
I would recommend this tour to others. It's great to get away from the all-inclusives and see a bit more of the real D.R. It's a long day. Wear comfortable shoes/clothes.
Only difficulty we had was reaching the tour operator in advance to schedule the hotel pick-up (which they mandate). They weren't very fluent/friendly and struggled to put me in touch with the right person. I had to have the hotel concierge contact them once we arrived.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

It was OK. Too long a day. The guide's English was almost incomprehensible as was his French. Catamaran had 90 on board. No party atmosphere. Only rum and coke available to drink. Island was beautiful but the beach was so packed as was the 'bathing pool' area. Must have been 50+ coaches in the car park at the little harbour town. Comfort break on the way to the boat was one big tourist market.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

Seems the main objective of the tour provider was to upsell me souveniers, picture cd, video cd, rum.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

If you hoping to have a relaxing time walking the beaches of Saona island, Forget it. the trip was rushed and disorganized. when we arrived they had to find us boats to take us to the island.They crammed as many people on the Catamaran as posssible. The boats were older and not what you see on the pictures. Our time on the Island was cut to two hours( I recall the pamphlet saying three hours). We were told to stay on a a couple hundred foot stretch of the beach to stay out the way of other tour operator areas. (there were many tours on the island ) Our time with the star fish was OK although they only produced one star fish and passed it around from tour to tour. I did nearly step on a stingray. That was actually the high point of the tour for me.. The people are polite. Food was good. If you are staying near Punta Cana on the beach, Stay at your hotel and enjoy your day. this trip is not worth the trouble for what you get.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was excellent. Saona Island is a beautiful place and well worth the trip. The combination of speed boat there and Catamaran back gave a good balance.
For anyone told to book through their own agents please don't bother - the trip was almost identical to those parties from travel agents (same boats same time spans same bbq food etc), the only slight variation being a pick up in a taxi before heading to a shopping mall for transfer onto a coach (direct drop off on way back). We waited maybe 20 minutes for the final few passengers but aside from that we got the same enjoyment and service having paid £60pp than our fellow First Choice Customers did paying nearer to £125pp. A great company and will use again on our next holiday.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message