Punta Cana ATTRACTIONS See all

Parque Nacional del Este

The sandy beaches of Saona island are a highlight of a visit to Parque Nacional del Este, along with the tropical moist forest and limestone karst landscape of the mainland. The range of biodiversity preserved in this park is incredible, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 211 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommended!! Very historic place!!

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent trip but bring plenty of water with you.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Day Trip from La Romana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best part of our trip was this tour! A must do for all ages! Natural pool is AMAZING! Lunch served was the best we ate while vacationing! Don't waste your time buying the lobster it wasn't worth the 30 didnt prepare it properly

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great. The tour guide Fausto provided information in both Spanish and English. Santa Domingo is a very historic city and it is a must see while in Dominican Republic.
The choo-cho ride around the city was nice as it was very hot and a walking tour would have been miserable.
In all, the places visited on this tour is as described.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a really nice outstanding excursion. A must do thing to do.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great tour: the Catamaran cruise was wonderful but there were too many people onboard and we couldn't fully appreciate the cruise because of that what a pity.
Isla Saona is amazing, a true paradise, one more hour would be great to enjoy the place.
The natural pool is also amazing and I hope we had stayed there a bit more.
Overall, a very enjoyable tour!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

This trip could have been completed in less than half the time. We spent a lot of extra time at each stop. When everyone was ready to go, we just waited and waited until the tour guide decided it was time to go. The buffet lunch was mediocre. If someone wants to see Santo Domingo, I'd recommend getting a private driver/guide, not doing this tour.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Day Trip from La Romana

Maggie M
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour was great. Guide provided info in both English and Spanish. It was a long day but very interesting for the most part. The caves at the beginning weren't that appealing to us. The food at lunch was very good. There was appropriate amount of time to walk around on our own. The bus has A/C!

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TRIP. WE LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT IT. THE TOUR GUIDE THOMAS was both knowledgeable and friendly, spoke English, went out of his way to accommodate us and kept count and control of his large group at all times. We loved the sailboat ride and enjoyed the staff as they shared drinks and enjoyed their dancing and cheerfulness. The speedboat ride was also very enjoyable. We enjoyed our trip to the island. The island was a paradise. We enjoyed our lunch and complimentary drinks, as well as the dancing and music. Our next experience was to see the starfish in the water and swim in shallow beautiful blue waters. We took many photos to remember our experience. On the way back we observed some of the fish in the water feeding. During the trip, our guide Thomas kept us informed where we were as well as history of the island. On our return trip, we were given the opportunity to visit shops to acquire souveniers. Our guide kept careful watch of our group and guided us to the appropriate bus to take us back to our hotel.
THE TRIP WAS A 5 OUR GUIDE WAS A 5 THE EXPERIENCE WAS 5 PLUS PLUS. THIS TRIP WAS ALSO VERY AFFORDABLE, ANOTHER 5

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a blast! Best day of our trip. The crew and tour guide were great! If you can only do one excursion this is the one for you. Just bring a towel, sunblock, snorkel gear and money. They have lost of stuff to buy on the island and you will wish you brought your money! I give it a big thumbs up!!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well worth your time, guide was very informative and the highlights of Santo Domingo were well represented.
Really enjoyed the train ride through the streets. Ample time and frequency for rest periods given the climate can be exhausting. Highly recommend as a must do.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Bascically a beach day on one of the most beautiful spots in the world. Speed boat out to our beach and a relaxing Catamaran criuse return. Party time if you are up to it. Lunch was good and drinks provided. What more could I ask for. Loved it!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing. Started by being picked up at our resort by a representative from the tour company in Punta Cana. We drove for approximately 1 1/2 hours to board a Catamaran to head to Saona Island. The Catamaran ride was also 1 1/2 hours and there was dancing, drinking and an all around good time. Saona island was a secluded island in the middle of the Caribbean Sea and it was beautiful. We had lunch and then spent some time laying on the beach and enjoying the views. We then took a speed boat to a natural pool and got to see Starfish at the bottom of the natural pool. We spent a short while there until we boarded the speed boat once again to head back to shore. We then boarded the bus once again for the ride back to our resort. On the way back we stopped at a souvenir shop for a short while if there was anything that we wanted to purchase. Overall this tour was amazing and would highly recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Isla Saona es super linda, vale la pena el tour. Buen servicio! Sólo verifique muy bien la hora de salida con tiempo esto no es con Viator, sino con la empresa que estos contratan.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day out - tour guide excellent and very knowledgeable. highly recommended

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day out - tour guide excellent and very knowledgeable. highly recommended

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding! Enjoyed! Folks were great. Only downfall was the walk from the bus to the boat. Not that it was a long walk but there was trash all over the place.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Me and girl friends went for a weekend and it was a blast, a day trip away from the hotel. We were picked up from our hotel and picked up by the bus, I forgot the name of our tour guide but he was very informative.They has unlimited booze and music, some dance lesson too at the boat to Saona Island beautifful island very relaxing, had some fresh coconuts cut for us. We relaxed by the water and then we had lunch... sooo yummy.. some real dominican food, i was surprised not see any mangu dishes, other wise the food was good and another thing I was suprised they werent serving dominican beer presidente . Then we took a speed boat to the natural pool and saw some star fish. When they dropped as off to get back to the bus, there were people on the street who were willing to pay our feet to get the sand off for a dollar, that was annoying. We got back to our hotel, exhausted. Me and my girls liked it. Def worth to do for a day.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The trip is very well organized and the beach is beautiful. But my wife and I did not find this trip to be worth it. I tried to describe the whole day but I ran out of characters so here is the short version:

The van driver picked us at 7:35am. We drove to 2 more hotels to pick people up. We arrived at a parking lot around 9:00am where we left the van and boarded a coach bus. We took the bus for an 1 hours and 15 minutes during this time we told to look left for some mango trees and right for some sugar canes farms and got a brief history of DR. We arrived at our destination and walked for about 5 minutes before getting to the beach. Took it for about 5 minutes to a catamaran. We boarded the catamaran around 10:20am. 5 minutes into our catamaran ride, they started to blast music and serving alcohol/non-alcoholic beverages. Neither my wife nor I drink alcohol, but drinking at 10:30am it is a bit much in my opinion. This torture lasted for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. We got off the catamaran and boarded the speedboat again and it took us to the island. We arrived at the island around 11:50am. There was about 70-100 people between the 3 catamarans and 6 speedboats. Side note: the trip to the island itself took 4 hours and 25 minutes...our flight from NYC JFK airport took 3 hours and 30 minutes. We were served lunch around 1pm which was okay. The whole time we were there, we felt like it was a tourist trap and people are trying to selling you nonsense the whole time. Our tour guide hung out with the locals for the most part, had lunch, and then took a nap until 2:45pm when we left the Island. The way back things picked up, we took the speedboat back which was much more pleasant then the catamaran. They took us to see some fish and hold some starfish. As we approached the beach again, the captain slowed down the boat to collect tips and only after everyone gave he pulled to shore. I don't mind tipping for good service, but don't hold me hostage.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide and driver were very good. Everything was on time and proceeded as planned. The tour was informative and interesting. The only problem encountered was the earphones at the cathedral.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing deal! I was extremely impressed with the amount of things we got to see and do for the price. There are a lot of steps at the caves and quite a lot of outdoor walking but you get time to shop, lunch, transportation, a train ride, see a bunch of sight. It was great

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an all-inclusive sightseeing tour which was worth the price. I enjoyed all facets, including the cave, Columbus Lighthouse monument, Cathedral, train ride, lunch, Columbus museum. The tour guide was informative and the ride to Santa Domingo was on a nice motorcoach. I would do it again.

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

To long of a trip, was just OK

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message