The Dominican Republic is known for its spectacular beaches, and Punta Cana is no exception. But Punta Cana differs from other beaches in the region because of its year-round pleasant weather that makes its white sand beaches and aquamarine waters ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 440 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was outstanding! Jose and his team are wonderful. The meal was the best food we had the whole trip. I would definitely do this one again.

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was one of the major highlights of my trip. The gentlemen who picked us up at the resort were cheerful and personable from the get go. As we were heading around to pick up other resort bookings, he kept spirits high with jokes. Once we got on the road and got to the cigar factory, he made sure to tell us about the area we were in including how the people live etc. which is always great. From the Cigar Factory (they were so NICE), we headed up to the horses. When you first drive up, it can be a bit disconcerting but the horses are well taken care of and clearly well loved by this family run outfit. The guide was sure to ask who had been and hadn't been on a horse before, and stayed attentive the whole way out. The horseback ride was a major highlight of this tour for me and the area you ride through is stunning. The views are just lush and beautiful. Once we arrived at the area where we would be ziplining and having lunch, lunch was served quite quickly (bonus: all home cooked food) and off to ziplining. They were incredibly safety conscious and professional - and kept up the jokes trying to make those of us (read: me) who were scared of heights and trying this for the first time more comfortable. The view is lovely. This is a family run outfit and I would actually do any tour they came up with. Jose showed us how they make the cocoa and what chocolate actually looks like in the pods. So cool. I highly recommend this tour for people who want a more personal experience than you get with large tour companies. This is well worth every penny and if I went back to the DR, I would do it again.

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome !
The crew were very charming and hospitable.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a really nice tour of the jungle and what all the types of chocolate, coffee, and fruits and vegtables are grown there. Because you walk through a real jungle, I would never recommend that anyone wear bright clothing or shorts or flip flops (as some did), because the jungle contains mosquitos. My son, who wore bright clothing, shorts, and flip flops got bit 13 times. I guess he was trying to look "cool". I - on the other hand - have had experience in jungles, where I wore long jungle-type pants, a black long sleeved shirt, and real shoes and never got bit one time! I would rather be bite-free than "cool". Other than that, this tour is well worth the money and extremely educational. "Kenny" the tour guide really went out of his way to make everyone very comfortable and welcomed, plus he has a great sense of humor! Good stuff!!

Doing what: Dominican Republic Mega Truck Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Incredible !
the Tour Operator know how to show you a good time. Jose and his siblings were terrific.

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It didn't just rain but POURED on us during the buggy ride but it made it that much better and more muddy! Then it cleared off just in time for the relaxing catamaran cruise where we were able to take beautiful pictures and warm up from being frozen by the rain. The excursion was long, but since there were so many activities you never felt bored.

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Off-Road Buggy and Catamaran with Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It didn't just rain but POURED on us during the buggy ride but it made it that much better and more muddy! Then it cleared off just in time for the relaxing catamaran cruise where we were able to take beautiful pictures and warm up from being frozen by the rain. The excursion was long, but since there were so many activities you never felt bored.

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Off-Road Buggy and Catamaran with Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It didn't just rain but POURED on us during the buggy ride but it made it that much better and more muddy! Then it cleared off just in time for the relaxing catamaran cruise where we were able to take beautiful pictures and warm up from being frozen by the rain. The excursion was long, but since there were so many activities you never felt bored.

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Off-Road Buggy and Catamaran with Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It didn't just rain but POURED on us during the buggy ride but it made it that much better and more muddy! Then it cleared off just in time for the relaxing catamaran cruise where we were able to take beautiful pictures and warm up from being frozen by the rain. The excursion was long, but since there were so many activities you never felt bored.

Doing what: Punta Cana Combo Tour: Off-Road Buggy and Catamaran with Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The one down side was trying to get confirmation of a pick-up time from the hotel and even after a time was given they were 50 minutes late.

Once on the bus (which was extremely comfortable) the rest of the tour was really good. Weather was rubbish but unfortunately you can't control that. Barbecue on the beach was excellent.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Dan R
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Good value, well organized and lots of fun.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

I can't imagine being that close and not seeing Santa Domingo but, that being said, it was definitely not my favorite part of our Punta Cana trip. If you're a museum person you will love it because it's a lot of learning the history and such. The bus was very comfortable, although it was very hard to hear our guide (and we were only about 2/3 of the way back) so we missed a lot of what was being said. Be prepared for a lot of walking and air conditioning is minimal so dress very lightly. Don't worry about covering your shoulders and knees for the Cathedral, they will give you a wrap at the entrance if needed. They seemed to only be concerned with short shorts/skirts and spaghetti straps. After visiting the oldest area of Santa Domingo the day ends with a trip through the newer downtown which my husband and I both agree could have been skipped. It's about a 2 1/2 hour drive but it's broken up both ways with a bathroom break so the bus ride itself is very tolerable. Long day for sure!

Doing what: Santo Domingo Sightseeing Tour from Punta Cana

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

For the experience it was cool. Kind of commercialized but a worthwhile experience overall.

Doing what: Half-Day Dolphin Island Tour from Punta Cana

Dan R
Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Great experience but not great value. Must do the best option they offer or you'll be disappointed. If I return I will try a different option as we did 3 excursions and this was the poorest value.

Doing what: Half-Day Dolphin Island Tour from Punta Cana

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Too much of a party. The travel time to ans from the island was longer than the amount of time spent on the island.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message