When you think "Dominican Republic," picture beautiful warm weather, pristine white sand beaches, turquoise waters and countless palm trees. Punta Cana beaches are all this and more, offering spectacular locales and ideal getaways for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 235 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melinda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The catamaran ride was fantastic. From the moment we boarded the boat, the crew was full of life and so welcoming. They made sure everyone had something to drink and was having fun. The island BBQ was delicious and seeing the star fish was great. Saona was beautiful! I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Molly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a blast!!! Totally worth it and the water is beautiful!!!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Shelva G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the most amazing tour and highly recommend this trip

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Rainer H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful Island, Trip was too loud, but this seems to be common practise wihtin the spring break- Unusual for europeans like me especially when loving a more quite sailing thru the caribean sea wih a smooth breeze in the canvas:-

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Phillip H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Lovely cruise and beautiful beach a bit touristy but good.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Michael A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Loved it. Could eliminate the last stop at the island and stay longer at the lunch stop beach.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

h.stkitts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a wonderfully relaxing full day excursion. The tour guide Mota was superfriendly and very knowledgeable about all things Dominican and happily explained historical facts to us en route. The bus from Bavaro to La Romana was very comfortable and a smooth ride the whole way. We then boarded the catamaran and sailed to Saona Island for 2.5 hours of relaxation on the beautiful and tranquil island. The buffet lunch was very nice. There are some vendors on the island but they truly don't harass you and if you wish to purchase anything they are happy to sell their wares. We then took a speedboat to a little shallow cove to see starfish. We didn't see that many, but the boat crew dove down to find some for us to see. We then took the speedboat back the rest of the way which was a lot of fun! On the way back to Bavaro we stopped a little market/mall for half an hour. A very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

CINDY N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Nice trip, good staff, very nice catamaran. The island is beautiful, the food was good, very relaxing excursion.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Marlene A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

There were some issues with our pick-up from Nexus. Another Nexus driver had to send for a bus for us. The stop to see starfish was somewhat disappointing. The island was very scenic and beautiful. Great lunch provided, open bar, and lots of lounge chairs.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Linda W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This was booked for Friday and we went down to the meeting area and I had my voucher for all of us and checked with all drivers and our NAME wasn't on any list again. This was like 4 bookings and our name wasn't on any list and two of the bookings we never went on. Anyway finally had a Nexus driver take us with some others and he got us to another Hotel where we had to get on another bus and go from there. Well it was a little scary as we weren't sure this was the right tour. The tour guide was amazing Mato spoke 5 languages and he was funny and knew everything. We get to our destination where we debark and head to a boat that will take us to our Catamaran and they had people helping you onto it that was scary also. The actually Catamaran really didn't have enough room for everyone to sit comfortably it was okay. Took about 2 hours or less to get to Saona Island get there and get on another boat to take us to the Island not bad. Island was amazing beautiful. They had a BBQ for us for lunch, it wasn't just a BBQ it had chicken, hot dogs, fish, sausages and other awesome food lots of it too very good. Free beer while there. We stayed 2 hours and they had shops you could look around at and you could swim also. Once we left there we got on a speed boat and that took us to an area where you could get off and swim and touch starfish and just relax. Wished we could of stayed there a little longer. Once back on speed boat back to debarking and heading back to our hotels. Once back on bus we stopped at a shopping area for about half an hour and then back on bus but then because of our resort we had to get back off and go on another smaller bus to our resort. Overall a long day but worth it. I think they could spend less time on the Island and more time swimming with the starfish.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

It was extremely nice. From the pick up to the dock and beyond. The staff was very accomodating and very good. Had a wonderful time. Would do it again.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Hammy

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

The guide was not very engaged with the group on the bus. He spoke to the group some, but did not offer much background on Punta Cana as we travelled. Once we got to the dock, we took a speedboat ride out to where we were to see starfish. On the way, our guide did stop along the way to tell us about the nature park. Then we went to the natural pool to Marvel at the flexible, five-armed creatures, Viator webite. The web site should have advised you to bring your own snorkel gear. But they probably don't want you to because all the starfish are dead. Yes, dead. The guides jumped into the water as soon as we arrived to plan the starfish and then magically located them for photo opportunities. They didn't want you to keep them out of the water for longer than 5 seconds, because they would die. Too late. Anyway, back on to the boat to go to Saona Island. The island was beautiful, but over run with Hey, Joe's selling overpriced jewelry, massages, and cigars. The only way to get away is to escape to the water. Lunch was good, but not exceptional. Back to the catamaran for a beautiful ride back to the dock. Overall, the trip ok. Go if you want to spend much of the day on the water and see a beautiful island. Don't waste your time if you want to see starfish.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

James C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

It was good to see a nurse shark and a ray but time is limited in the tank and most of the excursion involved us sailing pointlessly around on the boat. Not worth the money and I wouldn't recommend this to anyone else

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Sharondeyhle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour is good but hotel pick up stressful, drivers speak no English.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Mayur P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was one of my most memorable one during my Punta Cana vacation. Island is beautiful, well maintained. Catamaran cruise was enjoyable too, nice music, dance and drinks!!! Other best part if the natural swimming pool in the middle of ocean, where we can see starfishes, was pretty awesome. We had rainfall for half the day, so did not fully enjoy the place, but there is very little anyone can do about the weather in DR.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Linda S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The crew was fun but I wish I had known that I had to climb up a 4foot ladder to get back in the boat. Then I wouldn't have wasted my money on this one. If I could have actually done the snorkeling it might have been fun

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Megan W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We had so much fun on this excursion! Our guide took my camera and got us some really amazing pics, I really appreciated that because it would have been hard to keep up while trying to take pics! Everybody was very friendly and spoke many languages. Saw some cool fish, sharks, and even held a ray!

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Jennifer B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Our trip was ok nothing over the top. Our tour guide was very uninteresting he slept on the beach and did not interact with anyone on the tour. We kept getting off and on the boat going from place to place and we did not spend more than an hour in any one place. They were late picking us up from the hotel and then when we got to our meeting point to meet up with the rest of the group to leave we waited there for over another half an hour. The best part was the catamaran ride. I have definitely done better tours in Punta Cana.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic day! I would recommend this - not for smaller children. A lot of swimming and activity. The crew was fabulous friendly and very up beat! The boat was spotless and the crew constantly mopped the floors and kept everything immaculate. There was a photographer on board - were able to view and buy pictures after if you wanted to. Fresh sandwiches were served along with drinks no alcohol until after snorkeling.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Simone F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide was amazing, the tour was great organized. we spend a great day! I would book it again!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

ScorpionQueen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our pick up time was great and the ride was a nice and comfortable one. I loved the experience and the weather and accommendations were excellent. The food was good however they should think about nets or covers for the food with the insects and flies. Other than that it was a wonderful time and when I go back to Punta Cana I wouldn't mind going on another tour.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Carmen V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

AMAZING excursion. Francis was our Tour leader and did a fantastic job!!! Saona was beautiful, but the private island time even more exciting, and the starfish at the off coast swim were amazing. HIGHLY recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Rose G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I thought this excursion was a lot of fun but the price is a bit high per person for what you actually get. You don't get to swim with the sharks and stingrays as long as I had expected.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

karpathos5

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Upon collection we realised our trip consisted of people from various countries so our guide Fausto 2 had to give all info in English, French and Spanish, all spoken at 100mph. this became very annoying as the day went on. We drove to the port and what greeted us was a scruffy marina jam packed with boats setting off on various trips. We boarded a small boat which took us to a very nice catamaran, our trip on this to Saona Island was nice with music, dancing and drinks all a bit odd at 9 a.m. However, It was rather spoiled by the Company camera men who were very annoying and in your face taking endless photos to sell to you later.. Saona island is no longer a paradise but a scruffy beach with hundreds of tourists all vying to get in the shade. The sea is full of sharp rocks so not good for the feet and I was badly bitten by insects when on the sand. Lunch was surprisingly very nice BBQ meats chicken and fish with salad. There were also gift shops to look around. After a couple of hours we left by speedboat and were taken to a natural lagoon however this was very deep so was no good for non swimmers to get off the boat, those who did were picking up starfish for photos unfortunately they die if they're out of the water for more than 10 seconds. We returned to the port and then drove to a shopping centre where we could buy yet more over priced gifts before returning to our hotels. Having done this trip in 2003 I was totally gutted at how the Island has changed from what was a paradise to a scruffy beach you could find anywhere.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message