When you think "Dominican Republic," picture beautiful warm weather, pristine white sand beaches, turquoise waters and countless palm trees. Punta Cana beaches are all this and more, offering spectacular locales and ideal getaways for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 246 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michelle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding adventure!!! Fun times on the catamaran, great drinks, music and fun!! BEWARE - take LOTS of bug spray. You have to walk through a little bit of a jungle to get to the beach party on the island and they ate me ALIVE!!!! But a fabulous time overall - I would definitely go again!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

EUNYOUNG H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Trip was very nice. But lunch is umm.. soso.
Saona Island is good and beautiful!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Jeffrey J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Everything was solid. The bus was a few minutes late arriving to pick us up at our hotel but once it got there all was well. Saona Island was beautiful and lots of fun. And a great lunch with open bar the whole time! My only complaints are Fausto II our tour guide was about five minutes premature leaving Saona and then once we returned to Punta Cana we had to spend 20 minutes at a shopping area with the intent of us spending more money on tourist items. At that point we just wanted to get back to the hotel. But overall it was a fun, very worthwhile excursion and I recommend it!!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Robert S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The staff was awesome, but my family and I really needed a little training before we began using our equipment. Maybe let those who did not know how to snorkel to do it from the shore line - with assistance. I also wished we swam with more than one shark. Having sharks in a cage next door in the water is not swimming with sharks. Again, the staff was awesome and entertaining on the boat.

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Michelle F

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Good adventure but it was a bit rushed. BEWARE - you should be a very good swimmer as the ocean current was very strong when we went!

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Mystie D

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Isla Saona is breathtaking! it was a long day...12 hours i think. And they could have done better figuring out logistics, we were picked up really early then waited 1 1/2 hours for the rest of the people to start the trip. Consider purchasing the DVD and CD of pictures, a little pricey but i think worth it. You will basically have a private photo shoot by a professional photographer.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Olivia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Favourite tour of whole two week trip! Tour guide, driver, speedboats, catamaran, food, drinks all were PERFECT! strongly recommend

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Olivia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Favourite tour of whole two week trip! Tour guide, driver, speedboats, catamaran, food, drinks all were PERFECT! strongly recommend

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Sue F

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great day out, well worth getting up early for!!! Fantastic scenery, good bbq, informative guide

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Melinda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The catamaran ride was fantastic. From the moment we boarded the boat, the crew was full of life and so welcoming. They made sure everyone had something to drink and was having fun. The island BBQ was delicious and seeing the star fish was great. Saona was beautiful! I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Molly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a blast!!! Totally worth it and the water is beautiful!!!!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Shelva G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the most amazing tour and highly recommend this trip

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Rainer H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful Island, Trip was too loud, but this seems to be common practise wihtin the spring break- Unusual for europeans like me especially when loving a more quite sailing thru the caribean sea wih a smooth breeze in the canvas:-

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Sujit V

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Frank M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The experience with thedivers and manager were great for exception of one who grabbed my wife's leg and tried to touch her on another occasion. Once he saw I was with her and disappeared. snack was good the mixed drinks were watery. a

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Phillip H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Lovely cruise and beautiful beach a bit touristy but good.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Michael A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Loved it. Could eliminate the last stop at the island and stay longer at the lunch stop beach.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

h.stkitts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a wonderfully relaxing full day excursion. The tour guide Mota was superfriendly and very knowledgeable about all things Dominican and happily explained historical facts to us en route. The bus from Bavaro to La Romana was very comfortable and a smooth ride the whole way. We then boarded the catamaran and sailed to Saona Island for 2.5 hours of relaxation on the beautiful and tranquil island. The buffet lunch was very nice. There are some vendors on the island but they truly don't harass you and if you wish to purchase anything they are happy to sell their wares. We then took a speedboat to a little shallow cove to see starfish. We didn't see that many, but the boat crew dove down to find some for us to see. We then took the speedboat back the rest of the way which was a lot of fun! On the way back to Bavaro we stopped a little market/mall for half an hour. A very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

CINDY N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Nice trip, good staff, very nice catamaran. The island is beautiful, the food was good, very relaxing excursion.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Marlene A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

There were some issues with our pick-up from Nexus. Another Nexus driver had to send for a bus for us. The stop to see starfish was somewhat disappointing. The island was very scenic and beautiful. Great lunch provided, open bar, and lots of lounge chairs.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Linda W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This was booked for Friday and we went down to the meeting area and I had my voucher for all of us and checked with all drivers and our NAME wasn't on any list again. This was like 4 bookings and our name wasn't on any list and two of the bookings we never went on. Anyway finally had a Nexus driver take us with some others and he got us to another Hotel where we had to get on another bus and go from there. Well it was a little scary as we weren't sure this was the right tour. The tour guide was amazing Mato spoke 5 languages and he was funny and knew everything. We get to our destination where we debark and head to a boat that will take us to our Catamaran and they had people helping you onto it that was scary also. The actually Catamaran really didn't have enough room for everyone to sit comfortably it was okay. Took about 2 hours or less to get to Saona Island get there and get on another boat to take us to the Island not bad. Island was amazing beautiful. They had a BBQ for us for lunch, it wasn't just a BBQ it had chicken, hot dogs, fish, sausages and other awesome food lots of it too very good. Free beer while there. We stayed 2 hours and they had shops you could look around at and you could swim also. Once we left there we got on a speed boat and that took us to an area where you could get off and swim and touch starfish and just relax. Wished we could of stayed there a little longer. Once back on speed boat back to debarking and heading back to our hotels. Once back on bus we stopped at a shopping area for about half an hour and then back on bus but then because of our resort we had to get back off and go on another smaller bus to our resort. Overall a long day but worth it. I think they could spend less time on the Island and more time swimming with the starfish.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

It was extremely nice. From the pick up to the dock and beyond. The staff was very accomodating and very good. Had a wonderful time. Would do it again.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

Hammy

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

The guide was not very engaged with the group on the bus. He spoke to the group some, but did not offer much background on Punta Cana as we travelled. Once we got to the dock, we took a speedboat ride out to where we were to see starfish. On the way, our guide did stop along the way to tell us about the nature park. Then we went to the natural pool to Marvel at the flexible, five-armed creatures, Viator webite. The web site should have advised you to bring your own snorkel gear. But they probably don't want you to because all the starfish are dead. Yes, dead. The guides jumped into the water as soon as we arrived to plan the starfish and then magically located them for photo opportunities. They didn't want you to keep them out of the water for longer than 5 seconds, because they would die. Too late. Anyway, back on to the boat to go to Saona Island. The island was beautiful, but over run with Hey, Joe's selling overpriced jewelry, massages, and cigars. The only way to get away is to escape to the water. Lunch was good, but not exceptional. Back to the catamaran for a beautiful ride back to the dock. Overall, the trip ok. Go if you want to spend much of the day on the water and see a beautiful island. Don't waste your time if you want to see starfish.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana

James C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

It was good to see a nurse shark and a ray but time is limited in the tank and most of the excursion involved us sailing pointlessly around on the boat. Not worth the money and I wouldn't recommend this to anyone else

Doing what: Marinarium Shark and Ray Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message