Kick Up Dust Zip through the beautiful countryside in a manual transmission dune buggy! Departing from Punta Cana, you’ll travel past colorful houses and across the breathtaking landscape of banana plantations and farmland. Editor's Note: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 354 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

aaron b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This is the first time I ever felt obligated to take the time and write a review. This was the BEST adventure excursion I ever had. Certainly worth every penny and this will be the best memory of your vacation! Charlie was fantastic and passionate about safety, having fun and his buggies. Magic7

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

Bonita F Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

this trip was great! Charlie was an excellent guide and I loved seeing how people in Punta Cana live.

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

MARY E S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really enjoyed the Dune Buggy Ride. Tour Guide was great...saw lots of back roads of the DR, a beautiful beach, snacked in town...places we would not have seen without the guide. The Dune Buggy riding itself...too much fun. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

Lindsay G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Leader too aggressive for our group that had kids

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

Lindsay G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Definitely not geared to what the customer was expecting

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

Alex R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was fantastic and I highly recommend it. The staff was friendly and each adventure was extremely organized. The only issue we had was not knowing who was picking us up from our hotel due to the fact we booked it online. So if you book through here make sure you call the number given and confirm who is picking you up. Other than that the zip lining was amazing and the Hoyo Azul everyone has to see at least once! Definitely something to put on a list of things to see.

Doing what: Hoyo Azul and Zipline Adventure in Punta Cana

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were a little apprehensive booking this trip, due to the fact it wasn't available through our resort. Only to come find out later the reason is, they do not pay a commission to the resorts. We were pleased beyond belief with the excursion. The phone number that Horseplay provides you is a direct cell number to the people picking you up in the morning. So don't be cheap call the phone number if you have any questions or concerns about being picked up. We called at 9:00am and Jose answered the phone and said they will be there in five minutes. And he was!

We were picked up at the resort about 9:05am. We then went to a few other resorts to pick up other executioners. It was absolutely wonderful because we sat in an raised open air'd Horseplay vehicle. Then we drove through the country side and small towns/villages to Rancho Real cigar making factory. They met us in the parking lot to explain what was about to happen, and handed out cigars for our enjoyment. We learn about cigar making and watched them rolled cigars, then were were able to roll our own. There is a small gift store to by souvenirs, cigars, and rum at a very reasonable price. Without pressure to make a purchase.

After the cigar demonstration, Jose and team brought us to our horses. Jose asked us about our riding level and matched us to the appropriate horse. They helped us get saddled. They were very, very, very helpful in every way. For instance, one of the excursioners was an elderly lady, and a trail guide rode next to her the entire time holding a lead rope for her. We rode through some jungle and over the river a few times to the Ranch, which was about an hour and half away. You were able to ride side by side, or in a line, trot, or gallop. However you felt comfortable.

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

Joshua A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Best day we had on the island! The tour was a absolute wonderful time. Very well managed and organized. They really go out of the way to make sure you are enjoying your experience.

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

lisa d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent. Safety !! Fun, staff very helpful. Well worth the money. My daughter was sick on Wednesday, and I spoke with driver and he let us reschedule for Friday. Called office and they were helpful to change the date also.

Doing what: Hoyo Azul and Zipline Adventure in Punta Cana

Eric M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great tour! This was such an eye-opening experience with observing the Dominican culture. We were able to try homemade cigars, cocoa beans, chocolate, hot chocolate, and mama juana. Everything was so delicious and we had opportunities to purchase the items we sampled. My husband and I loved the hot chocolate and purchased some for ourselves. The authentic Dominican meal that was cooked for us was also delicious and we did not leave hungry! The horseback riding was very exciting! There were several guides that selected horses for us based upon our sizes. We rode for an hour before stopping to eat and hangout. The scenery that we rode through was absolutely gorgeous. At several points throughout the ride the guides whooped and hollered to make the horses start trotting/galloping. I was not very fond of this! The brochure said that we could either run with our horses or just walk, but this was not the case. The horses were so trained that they did whatever the guides' horses did. My husband was very excited to be able to get his horse to gallop and go fast, but I was definitely not. The only downfall to this tour was being unable to have your horse go at your own pace. The zip lining was awesome though! After eating lunch, we all went on two zip lines that were about 400 meters each. One of the lines went over a field of plantain trees. We felt very safe with the guides and the zip lines. The guides definitely knew what they were doing and explained the whole process before we started. This was an amazing tour and we would definitely do it again, I just had to get used to galloping with my horse!

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

Jennie C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Nice taste of real Dominican life. Good look at life in this area. Food and staff were exceptional. Only two zip-lines and trails were very muddy.

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

Salina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had such a wonderful time doing this tour. The guide was so informative, entertaining and welcoming. Every one involved was friendly. The horse riding experience is a true riding experience through the forest and cross the river. What beautiful sighthing to see. This tour is worth the money.

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

Ncfcboy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Although the weather was very wet, unusual for whole day in the Dominican Republic, this did not spoil the experience. Charlie is passionate about his buggies and the island and safety is paramount. This did not detract from the overall experience, just offered more reassurance that we would be safe. We had a fantastic day and had more fun than others we spoke to who had been on the average buggy days that just used quads instead of buggies like Charlie's. We saw and learnt things we are sure we would never of experienced on a run of the mill tour. Would recommend the DVDs photos of your trip that give you action shots that keep the memories on disc for a long time. Well worth the money. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Punta Cana Half-Day Dune Buggy Adventure

Ncfcboy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Unbelievable! By far the best day we had in the Dominican Republic. From the cigar factory to the lunch at the ranch to the zip line and ride back we had the most memorable day. It rained pretty much all day but we just didn't care. The whole experience was a once in a lifetime day. Well worth the money. The horses were sound but not ploddy. Very responsive but not head strong. We learnt about cigars and the industry. Chocolate and Mamajuana, what's not to love! All the guides were fantastic. Entertaining but not pushy. The zip lines were fantastic. Not short and gone in a blink of the eye but high and long and over a ravine and banana plantation, we actually got to go on them twice. The lunch was delicious and the ride back was fun through rivers and rainforests. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

Benjamin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a fantastic day long excursion and one that is an EXCELLENT VALUE! While the pickup was a little behind we were apologized to several times. The guide Jose was engaging and made sure that each customer received individual attention and he made sure everyone had a great time. The first stop was a cigar factory where everyone got a free sample cigar and was then given a very detailed demonstration 15 - 20 min and then was allowed to roll their own cigar free of charge as a souvenir. Next was the 45 min horseback ride to the zip line. The animals are well taken care of and safety was the 1 concern. You can trot or ride at a full gallop if you want, there are several guides so everyone can ride at their own comfort level, Once at the zip line we were treated to a wonderful home cooked lunch and free drinks beer is 3. Warning bring your own bottled water if you are wary of the purified water provided. Next was the zip line which you can do once or twice if you want I recommend 2x. The cocoa demonstration was informative and the end product, which is made right in front of you, is nothing like you have ever tasted. There are items for sale and tips are accepted, but bring small denominations since they do not have change. The ride back was shorter which was fine as sitting in a saddle for several hours can be a little uncomfortable if you aren't used to it. We were then dropped off at our respective resorts after we had to stop to fix a flat there was no extra charge for that part of the trip All told our total excursion started a 9am and we were back at about 5. Like I said it is well worth the money as a regular zip line tour was about the same price and uses the same line that we used. A big thanks to the staff for a great day!

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

Ivy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amazing staff and really fun times.

Doing what: Hoyo Azul and Zipline Adventure in Punta Cana

mark c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

we had a great time, the horseback riding was a beautiful ride thru the woods and rivers..the cigar rolling was a great experience...the lunch was excellent, learning about the cocoa and zip lining...all was amazing!! highly recommended!!

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

Joy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I had an EXCELLENT time on this excursion. The driver was great and the tour guide was pleasant and very knowledgeable. Good sense of humor too. Overall, a wonderful time. I would highly recommend to others.

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

Minesh G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Hotel pick up was about 20 mins late to begin with however the location to the ranch was about 30 mins away and the ride was very fun! No water or drinks provided so make sure you bring your own. Cigar making and tour was very good and informative. Horse ride was fantastic with a chance to gallop! Scenic ride. The Zip line was really good, even though there are only two zip lines. They are decent distance and scenic. Ride back was excellent with a finishing of the tour of cocoa making and some mamjuana! Highly recommend this tour and the guide was a real laugh!

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

catvond

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Relaxed day out staff very friendly, horses as chilled out as staff, traditional meal very good. Zip line so good tried 3 times to make sure. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

Marcelle L.D.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Although we had purchased the tickets prior to arriving in DR, when we went to confirm the pick-up time our names were not in the system. We spent an hour calling different entities with the tour coordinators at our resort, Punta Cana Princess Franklin and Jose are amazing for having put up with this to try and rectify the issue for us. In the end, we weren't able to take the excursion although we had bought the tickets in advance because we were only able to be fit in at 8am when we already had another excursion booked. I will note, however, this is not the fault of Viator but rather whoever the third-party was. It was very disappointing to say the least.

Doing what: Bavaro Splash Speedboat Ride

Christopher N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Horsepen did a excellent job with catering and crafting this tour and experience where you get a history lesson, small factory tour of how cigar and coco are made. The guides were amazing, showing us help ppl of the DR live and work. It was a humbling tour that good great local food as well.

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

Nichole P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great time. The guides really helped me relax and enjoy myself. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

Phillip M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour...excellent horses, friendly guides. A.

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I recommend this trip to anyone who is visiting the area. We packed a variety of activities into one day, however, it felt relaxed and unhurried. The owner of the ranch, Kathy, made me feel welcome and even sat down to lunch, had a chat with the group and joined in on the ziplining. It was a nice personal touch. All of the staff are friendly and there was no pressure to buy anything. The horses are very well behaved, which is a good thing because I had never ridden before. Definitely a highlight of my holiday and an experience I will remember for a long time to come.

Doing what: Punta Cana River Horseback Riding and Zipline Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message