If you're seeking the thrill of a fine glass of wine or a round of golf then Central Otago could be just your place. The hottest, coldest and driest part of New Zealand is also home to some of its most adorable towns and finer vineyards. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

JENNIFER K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a wonderful wine tour through the most beautiful countryside. Very generous with wine tastings. All four wineries were first class but all differed from each other. Lunch was basically a large tasting plate between three to four people. Definitely a must.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Just great that fact we went on two trips speaks for it self.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Hassle free travel we liked it

Doing what: Queenstown to Mount Cook Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A must do. The tour was fantastic.

Doing what: Otago Central Rail Trail Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Love it. Great guide and great experience. Can't recommend it enough

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Nice sized tour group lead by a very knowledgeable and personable guide, David. Great wines representing boutique and larger vineyards. The lunch at Carrick was delicious and the view and grounds lovely!

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Exellent tour, guide/driver was very knowledgable. A good range of wine and wineries. Food provided for lunch was great.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We were disappointed. Your company made us feel ripped off and stupid !!! The details about the tour on the website and in email that you informed us before the tour start went wrong and made us confused and upset !!! First, you didnt provide hotel pick up and drop off as promised on the first and the last day !!! We just knew that we have to make our own way to bus station before the pick up time one hour !!! And we knew that because we called you !! Your staff told us over the phone that your company mailed by post us two days ago before the tour start to inform the changes !! But we didn't get any mail !!! We have asked the hotel staff ... nobody found any mail !!! I just don't understand why didnt't you call us or email us !!! You asked for those contact detail !!! And my phone was on international roaming service to stand by to get any urgent information from you !!! Second, on website you mentioned that tour will operated by coach. I think it's quite tricky !!! Because coach made us though that you would provide a coach for a specific group of people. But it turn out to be a inter-city bus that opened for the public !! After all, we did research about the cost of everything accommodation, activity, transportation cost and we found out that your company overcharged us 355 per person !!! I know and understand that the travel agent need to make profit from arrangement those kind of things for the customer. But don't you think that too much !!! How can you do that ??? At first I saw your company profile and I though you are a good one. We decided to buy more than one package from you. We bought another two packages Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown Swimming with Dolphins in Akaroa from your company. They were good. And the price are reasonable !!!! However, after experience 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train
I decided not to recommend anyone to buy your services anymore !!!

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The view during the entire trip was truly fabulous! One thing is you would have almost a day off during this trip which you have to plan yourself. I rent a bicycle in Fox Glacier and spend the 1st days' afternoon enjoyed the sun and the Lake Matheson. After the dinner my friend and I went to the nearby forest for glowworm which was so amazing! 2nd day you would only have the valley walk which was interesting and not dangerous at all, so my friend and I went for the helicopter and enjoyed the view of the Glacier during the rest of day which was soooooo awesome! But I have to say helicopter thing cost me a bunch of money, but who cares right! We still got a lot of time left, but my friend was a bit sick so we spend the rest of time relax and wander around the main road and forest. The 3rd day's main point was the TranzAlpine Train! The highlight of the trip! However, I did spend a lot of extra money during the trip as I got a lot of free time while I love to do anything I could possibly do.

Doing what: 3-Day Queenstown to Christchurch including West Coast Glaciers and the TranzAlpine Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a simply fantastic experience on this tour! Our guide was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and the wineries we traveled to served some excellent wines. I highly recommend doing this tour when you're in Queenstown!

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a good tour. Private wine tasting was helpful and informative. Lunch was very good and our driver/leader was pleasant and helpful.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic tour. Highly recommended

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A great way to sample this region's wines. We visited four wineries and tasted a variety of their wines, mostly Pinot Noir but also some white wines. In one of the wineries we had a nice lunch featuring local produce. The guide was knowledgeable and quite friendly. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent day. Penny was superb.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Really enjoyed the relaxed pace of the tour. The winery with the cheese plate in the morning was particularly welcome to manage to wine intake at that time of the morning.
Our guide provided a nice manner, plenty of information, not over the top, obviously had good understanding of the region and the wine industry.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Another couple cancelled and the tour ended up with just the two of us and the tour guide. He was a fantastic guide, giving us both the history of the region as well as all of the wineries that we visited and passed by. We chose the lunch tour and received an amazing selection of various meats, cheeses, and other delicious food to make the day a wonderful tour overall.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The wine touring of Central Otago was amazing! My wife and I had a great time sampling the many flavours of Pinot Noir and Pinot Gris in the area and the other guests on the tour were a great group to talk with. Everyone from the driver to the staff in the wineries were very accommodating and knew their stuff when it came to both wine making and the history of the area. I was very glad I made the effort to take this trip nd would definitely do it again when I return.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

IT WAS GREAT!!!
Penny our driver pick some of the best vineyards for us to visit. All of the wines were of New Zealands best!
The last vineyard our tour was the BEST. Our host and his wines were great and he was a very good spokesperson. I never had a Sov Blanc before. Very interesting wine it was.
Thanks
Steve Coy

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Wonderful. Wines were excellent, tour guide was just great, lots of info regarding where we were, where we were going to.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

It was an experience I will never forget!

Doing what: Queenstown to Mount Cook Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Had a great time a small group is a must.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

Karen Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Excellent afternoon visiting 4 wineries - scenery of the way was beautiful too. All wineries were quite different known for their reislings and pinot noirs. Excellent Value

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Wow what a fantastic afternoon! Our guide Keren was knowlegable and friendly, she took us too 4 fantastic winery's where we tried some delcious pinot noir, pinot gris, riesling and a few other verieties, the lunch we had was also delicious and thats is saying something coming from me as I love good food and dine out a lot. Thank you so much Keren for such a lovely day.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

It was a great full day of wine exploration. Almost all the wines and cheeses that we had were superb. I was cracking my brains on which to bring home. So many of them. However, some parts of the journey seems a little rush. No much time to decide on what wines we should get, or just have a few more pictures taken. Other than that, it was a perfect day out.

Doing what: Central Otago Wine Tours from Queenstown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message