What was once gold-miners territory is now one of New Zealand’s most scenic tour destinations--with breathtaking mountain views and the always beautiful Shotover River, Skipper’s Canyon presents a great opportunity to splurge in fantastic sites of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This one was adrenelin packed with the added bonus of earthquake rapid. The helicopter hike was great with a little swing in movement up to Skippers Canyon. Friendly setup.

Doing what: Queenstown Shotover River Helicopter Ride and White Water Rafting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Very beautiful location, lots of interesting facts about Skippers Canyon. Driver?Guide was great, very knowledgeable. Jet boat ride was really fun! The drive in is a bit crazy, mountain road, very steep.

Doing what: Skippers Canyon and Shotover River Jet Boat Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The reason we didn't give this one a five is because of the very scary drive up through Skippers Canyon, it was a very narrow track with a sheer drop. If we had realised this before hand we wouldn't have booked this tour. However once we arrived at Shotover River the jet boat trip was really exciting and safe. Commentary on the area and the history of the mining was second to none.

Doing what: Skippers Canyon and Shotover River Jet Boat Adventure

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

The shotover jet was ah-mazing! Definately glad we booked this. The Skippers canyon tour was okay, it was cool to see the fifth generation kids running the tour. Our group ranges from 27 to 35 yrs old, so we weren't too interested in learning all the historical facts about the gold rush and seeing the old artifacts, more into the shotover adventure!

Doing what: Skippers Canyon and Shotover River Jet Boat Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The tour was excellent. Our guide Deon was great, he had the knowledge of the area n history. We had a good time exploring d skippers canyon, taking pictures along d way while stepping in d pages of history. 30 mins of jet ride was an exhilarating experience.must recommend 4 any1 visiting queenstown

Doing what: Skippers Canyon and Shotover River Jet Boat Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We thought we were going to be thrilled with a jet boat ride we weren't disappointed, what we didn't count on was the thrilling journey to Skippers Canyon along a very narrow windy mini bus ride up a mountain with spectacular views plus it was a small group.

Doing what: Skippers Canyon and Shotover River Jet Boat Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Awesome and informative trip. Ride to Skippers canyon was exciting given there are no barriers on that road. Guides told some interesting background stories about the location and during the rafting. Rapids were enough of a challenge and still provided a relief when we made it past them.

Doing what: Queenstown Shotover River White Water Rafting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

It was our first day at Queenstown and it really was unforgettable. Skippers Canyon was just amazing. We experienced four seasons in just one afternoon. Perfect scenery for photo. One of the best things to do at Queenstown. Our guide was just excellent. He was very informative and passionate. Overall a very professional tour. Would recommend it for everyone.

Doing what: Skippers Canyon 4WD Tour from Queenstown

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

I want to let you know how much we enjoyed our recent trip on the tour 'Skippers canyon heritage 4WD' while in Queenstown, New Zealand. Our guide was the best. Very professional and informative on the canyon and local area. He made our tour one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand. Thanks from Tom & Kathy!

Doing what: Skippers Canyon 4WD Tour from Queenstown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message