Queenstown ATTRACTIONS See all

Walter Peak High Country Farm

Experience the tranquility of New Zealand’s South Island farm life with a visit to Walter Peak High Country Farm, a working sheep and cow station. The remote farm sits across Lake Wakatipu from Queenstown, along a section of lakeshore largely ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent! Boat ride was very cool on the TSS Earnslaw; arrived to the Farm for dinner-Buffet Dinner was very good; then did a short walk around before the Sheep Dog show and shearing of a Sheep demonstration which were both excellent. Totally recommend this trip.

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

WOW!
Having been to Queenstown before and missing out on travelling on the TSS Earnslaw I was keen to make this booking with Dinner at Walter Peak. Our cruise across Lake Wakatipu was fantastic and the TSS Earnslaw is such a lovely steamship - my partner loved the fact that you could actually watch the coal being loaded to power the ship.
Once we arrived at the Walter Peak station our night continued to be great. The station restaurant was set up beautifully and decorated lovely. The staff were so attentive and friendly and the food was absolutely exquisite. We were lucky to have a table for 2 in the outside area with a lovely view over the lake complementing our faultless meal. We enjoyed the fact that the chef did come around to have a chat at the end of the meal to see how we were enjoying the night.
After our meal we got to experience a bit of farm life, watching some cattle dogs in action and a sheep shearing performance. You could really tell that all of the staff at the station took pride in their work and were passionate about what they did.
We really didn't want the night to end, it was a fantastic experience that we would love to do again when returning to Queenstown.
By far.. this was the best meal that we had whilst in NZ, all should be commended!

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, great tea and scones. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour there.

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What an enjoyable afternoon. Stunning cruise in the lake with all its incredible views. Turned a corner to find the homestead. Cant wait for it to be opened as a B and B. Peter was a fantastic tour guide. Natural setting, tranquil, enjoyable. Lovely touch to have afternoon tea in the homestead.

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Really good host, amusing and interesting. I enjoyed the Devonshire tea during the break, which was followed by the shearing.

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I can highly recommend the trip over and dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm. The food was unequalled, the service friendly and efficient and the after dinner show a real treat.

We enjoyed the entire experience, from the moment we boarded the steam ship we felt transported back in time. The dining farm buildings and gardens are beautiful and have been lovingly maintained. The meal offered a large range of choices and catered for people with special dietary requirements (I am gluten free). Most amazing desserts I have ever had!!!

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The cruise across the lake on the steamboat was relaxing and comfortable. The buffet meal had a wide selection of fish/meats, salads and vegetables plus lovely desserrs and there was ample to choose from - certainly did not leave the table hungry. We enjoyed the sheep show and then we returned over the lake under the starry skies - a good evening - a tour which was good value for money

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The boat trip was fantastic and very interesting and the farm tour was informative. We all had a great time.

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent trip which I would highly recommend. Apart from the wonderful views from the ship the Information given and sheep shearing demonstration was very interesting. Dinner was excellent with good choice and quality of food.

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Booked via viator day before cruise on arrival reception could not find us, boat waiting to go, thank you to the guy who said hop on we will sort this as for a moment I thought we were not going to be allowed on unless as reception suggested they took our credit card details again, sorted before arrival at destination. Really loved this, steam boat history and engineering amazing, scenic ride across, gentle and timeless with accompanying piano. Do wander to front of boat to find info and look at engines. Don't take BYO on board, we did, and were told not permitted. The meal was super, better than expected, absolutely excellent, would highly recommend as such a high standard but be prepared to wait a while to be invited to start - plenty of time to enjoy all though so no rush required, the shearing... well we are well used to, but was a good demo by an interested guide.

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were lucky enough to have a fine, sunny day when we recently travelled on the SS Earnslaw to Walter Peak Farm. My husband was fascinated by the steam engine on board the ship and I enjoyed the magnificent scenery along the way. Our Guide was most informative and entertaining when demonstrating both the sheep shearing and dog mustering techniques and our morning tea of scones and date loaf was made all the more enjoyable by the beautiful views from the old farm house verandah. I found Real Joirneys to be a most efficient Tour Company with all the tours we did with them during our stay in Queenstown. It is such a beautiful place to visit we are already planning our next trip.

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

Satyakam Guha
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Highly Recommended Tour. Loved it . Its a must

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Real Journeys is the best!
Everything perfect, staffs were so wonderful :)
We will go back and visit them again and again.
Kind Regards,
P Clinton

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This is a wonderful tour, well worth the time and money, I had a fantastic time

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Delightful day! Every activity was high class. Informative and well worth the price of the ticket.

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message