Queenstown ATTRACTIONS See all

Walter Peak High Country Farm

Experience the tranquility of New Zealand’s South Island farm life with a visit to Walter Peak High Country Farm, a working sheep and cow station. The remote farm sits across Lake Wakatipu from Queenstown, along a section of lakeshore largely ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 78 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sendit2matt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Food was excellent and cruising across the lake in style aboard a real steamship :-

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

Annice5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a fantastic day from the cruise over where the staff were fantastic as was the steamer. Everything was of a very high standard. At the farm we were greeted warmly and our guide/ shepherd who was Peter was lovely. His commentary was funny and informative it did not feel like a mass trip but personal and individual. The afternoon tea was delicious and the sheep dog demonstration and shearing of the sheep was a highlight. The ladies in the shop were a delight and the shop was very reasonably priced. We steamed back to Queenstown a very happy group of Ellen people thank you xxx

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

Gabrielle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A really lovely trip. Most beautiful scenery. Driver was very informative and helpful. Good stops for photos. We loved it all!

Doing what: Queenstown Super Saver: Milford Sound Nature Cruise plus Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour

angela.hackett

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had a lovely cruise out to Walter peak. Dinner has a great selection of foods to keep everyone satisfied.

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

Suhairi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amazing cruise, lovely scenic view and beautiful farm country!

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

susan v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lovely old boat, nice scenic cruise. The dinner at Walter Peak was outstanding

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

shazakiew

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

First time on a steamship. Very unique. Cruise across lake to farm took approx 30 mins. Stunning views.
Walter peak farm is a hidden gem surrounded by gorgeous mountains. Farm tour was interesting. Our host is very friendly and welcoming. Loved the sheep shearing and sheep herding demonstration. Getting close and feeding the farm animals was lovely. Morning tea was delicious. Best scones, yum!

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

Nicolette J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We thoroughly recommend this activity. Every aspect was excellent, the trip over and back a special experience on board the TSS Earnslaw. On arriving at Sir Walter Peak Station the view was stunning. The station is set at the end of Lake Wakatipu, with beautifully presented buildings and gardens. The food was truly amazing, top quality and plenty of choice. Service was also excellent.

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

Philip G C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great interest in steamship. Farm tour and tea were very well done. Would recommend it for a gentle alternative to the high adrenalin activities

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

pegdavidson2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A wonderful evening with delicious food followed by some history of the area, the sheep and a mini sheep herding display. The sheep shearing was a bonus.

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

Joanne J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic ,very well organised. Such a perfect way to spend my husbands 60 th birthday the sun was shining so a added bonus .

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

Pam R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A unique and wonderful experience, a must do if you visit Queenstown

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

subir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It is worth touring the paradise of the Earth by using Viator

Doing what: Queenstown Super Saver: Doubtful Sound Cruise plus Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour

Christina H Y L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour is awesome and educational . Scones and jam afternoon tea was delicious.

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

Vikas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Loved every second of it- food on both cruises and morning tea was great

Doing what: Queenstown Super Saver: Milford Sound Nature Cruise plus Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent! Boat ride was very cool on the TSS Earnslaw; arrived to the Farm for dinner-Buffet Dinner was very good; then did a short walk around before the Sheep Dog show and shearing of a Sheep demonstration which were both excellent. Totally recommend this trip.

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

jaicat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

WOW!
Having been to Queenstown before and missing out on travelling on the TSS Earnslaw I was keen to make this booking with Dinner at Walter Peak. Our cruise across Lake Wakatipu was fantastic and the TSS Earnslaw is such a lovely steamship - my partner loved the fact that you could actually watch the coal being loaded to power the ship.
Once we arrived at the Walter Peak station our night continued to be great. The station restaurant was set up beautifully and decorated lovely. The staff were so attentive and friendly and the food was absolutely exquisite. We were lucky to have a table for 2 in the outside area with a lovely view over the lake complementing our faultless meal. We enjoyed the fact that the chef did come around to have a chat at the end of the meal to see how we were enjoying the night.
After our meal we got to experience a bit of farm life, watching some cattle dogs in action and a sheep shearing performance. You could really tell that all of the staff at the station took pride in their work and were passionate about what they did.
We really didn't want the night to end, it was a fantastic experience that we would love to do again when returning to Queenstown.
By far.. this was the best meal that we had whilst in NZ, all should be commended!

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

Jill B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, great tea and scones. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour there.

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

Tracy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What an enjoyable afternoon. Stunning cruise in the lake with all its incredible views. Turned a corner to find the homestead. Cant wait for it to be opened as a B and B. Peter was a fantastic tour guide. Natural setting, tranquil, enjoyable. Lovely touch to have afternoon tea in the homestead.

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Really good host, amusing and interesting. I enjoyed the Devonshire tea during the break, which was followed by the shearing.

Doing what: Walter Peak High Country Farm Tour and Cruise from Queenstown

Lorna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I can highly recommend the trip over and dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm. The food was unequalled, the service friendly and efficient and the after dinner show a real treat.

We enjoyed the entire experience, from the moment we boarded the steam ship we felt transported back in time. The dining farm buildings and gardens are beautiful and have been lovingly maintained. The meal offered a large range of choices and catered for people with special dietary requirements (I am gluten free). Most amazing desserts I have ever had!!!

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

FAYE B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The cruise across the lake on the steamboat was relaxing and comfortable. The buffet meal had a wide selection of fish/meats, salads and vegetables plus lovely desserrs and there was ample to choose from - certainly did not leave the table hungry. We enjoyed the sheep show and then we returned over the lake under the starry skies - a good evening - a tour which was good value for money

Doing what: Dinner at Walter Peak High Country Farm and Cruise from Queenstown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message